Aldis Harry G.
"The Printed Book."
Lost Crafts -- Preserving the Crafts of Yesterday,
Phoenix Garage Doors,
ttp://www.lostcrafts.com/
Printed-Book/Book-Main.html
A series of chapters within a multi-eBook cite that covers the history of the craft of making books.
Eileen H. Kramer
Carlier, Ellen.
Papier-Mache Art,
Ellen Carlier,
http://users.sfr.be/
ellen/index.htm
The principal objective of this site is to show how interesting it can be to work with papier-mache, as it is an outstanding material to create various objects according to one's own inspiration.
http://users.sfr.be/
ellen/pm/howto.htm
Dormody, Deb and If'n Books + Marks.
Making,
Deb Dormody,
http://ifnbooks.tumblr.com/
Take a tumble through high definition photos of book binding as high and gorgeous art.
Eileen H. Kramer
Hwang, Cheong-Ah
Papernoodle,
Cheong-Ah Hwang
http://www.papernoodle.com/
The paper relief sculptures (or "paper sculpture" for short) I make usually have multiple layers of paper that are cut, creased, or embossed. The image is depicted on a flat surface like 2 dimensional art, creating an illusion of 3 dimensions by assembling the layers at different depths.
http://www.papernoodle.com/
nternational Museum of Collage, Assemblage and Construction
nternational Museum of Collage, Assemblage and Construction
nternational Museum of Collage, Assemblage and Construction
http://collagemuseum.com/index.html
The IMCAC is dedicated to the collection, study and exhibition of collage, assemblage, construction, montage, photo-montage, digital collage, concrete poetry, collage poetry, film, sound collage, and other constructive arts. Collage and Assemblage art covers a wide gamut from modern art to pop art to abstract art, it can show up in mail art, avant garde art, constructivist art and often is the preferred medium of the revolutionary artist through the juxtaposition of elements to create a jarring or shocking effect.
http://collagemuseum.com/index.html
Matthews, Kim.
Kim Matthews: Sculptor,
Kim Matthews
http://www.kimmatthewsart.com/
There is nearly no writing on this site, but the images of sculptures, free standing, hanging, small and larage, speak volume. So too do the drawings. Get ready to feast your eyes!
Eileen H. Kramer
North American Quilling Guild.
North American Quilling Guild,
North American Quilling Guild,
http://www.naqg.org/
membergallery/
gallerymain.htm
Quilling, also known as Paper Filigree, Filigrana or filigree work, is the result of rolling or coiling thin strips of paper into delicate-looking shapes and using these pieces to form a design. This art form is very old and is traceable to the 15th century and possibly as early as the 13th or 14th century...Although quilling appears delicate and ornate, it is amazingly simple and inexpensive. Great satisfaction is gained from the versatility of creating unlimited designs.
http://www.naqg.org/
membergallery/
gallerymain.htm
Paper Crafts
The Spruce Crafts
https://www.thesprucecrafts.com/paper-crafts-4162893
A gateway to short, illustrated articles on an assortment of craft projects made of paper. Projects include scrapbooking, collage, origami, card making, and more.
http://www.philobiblon.com/
This is the home of the Book Arts Web which features links to a large selection of book arts related sites on the web, including educational opportunities, professional organizations, tutorials, reference materials, and galleries with images.
http://www.philobiblon.com/site.shtml
To see past Clarkston library displays, please visit the Display Archives.
|
Students in a fine arts course at Perimeter College (Clarkston) of GSU tore apart books...and made them into something more. Besides images of the students' work, this display features books and web sites on the history of books, bookmaking, card making, paper crafts, and origami. | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Brenni, Vito Joseph.
The Art and History of Book Printing: A Topical Bibliography.
Greenwood Press, 1984.
Call # Z117 .B82 1984
Included in this topical bibliography are 1,060 citations of books, theses, articles, and library, exhibit, and sales catalogs in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and other languages. Topics include reference works, printers' manuals, machinery and materials, printers' marks, and a general history of book printing. Special attention is given to the printing of books in mathematics, medicine, music, religion, and science.
http://books.google.com
Cave, Roderick, and Sara Ayad.
The History of the Book in 100 Books.
Firefly Books, 2014.
Call # Z4 .C38 2014
The e-book age has taken 'the book' to a turning point, but in fact, casting off old technologies and taking on new ones has been part of the history of the book since Egyptian times. At this crucial time for the future of books as we know them, this volume tells their story from the very beginning.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Dahl, Svend.
The History of the Book. 2nd English ed.,
Scarecrow Press, 1968.
Call # Z4 .D133 1968
rom cave paintings to computers, this overview of the history of books and communication is written for the layperson and student. It provides clear information on how books shaped and reflected major social, political, and literary developments. As a general guide, it moves from the earliest writing in the Middle East and Egypt to Greece, Rome, and early Christian contributions to book production and literacy. Major sections discuss publishing during the Middle Ages and how the invention of printing drastically changed and improved the distribution of knowledge. Later chapters take the reader from the age of encyclopedias in the seventeenth century to the great technological advances of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
http://books.google.com
Greenfeld, Howard., and Barbara Hennessy.
Books: From Writer to Reader.
Crown, 1976.
Call # Z116.A2 G74 1976
Follows a book through the various stages of publishing, printing, and marketing.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Husayn, Muhammad Ahmad.
Origins of the Book; Egypt's Contribution to the Development of the Book from Papyrus to Codex.
New York Graphic Society, 1972.
Call # Z5 .H913 1972
Deep in antiquity, or perhaps before, Egypt was ground zero for the birth of publishing. This slim, but well illusrated, volume recounts the book's history from rolled up scrolls of papyrus, to parchment codex, to familiar paper volumes in the Islamic Middle Ages.
Eileen H. Kramer
Lyons, Martyn.
Books: A Living History.
J. Paul Getty Museum, 2011.
Call # Z4 .L95 2011
From the first scribbling on papyrus to the emergence of the e-book, this wide-ranging overview of the history of the book provides a fascinating look at one of the most efficient, versatile, and enduring technologies ever developed.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Olmert, Michael., and Christopher De Hamel.
The Smithsonian Book of Books. 1st ed.,
Smithsonian Books, 1992.
Call #: Z4 .O54 1992
rom earliest attempts at writing to the newest electronic computer-books; from sumptuous illuminated and bejeweled medieval manuscripts to Gutenberg and the invention of movable type; from the diverse arts and crafts of bookmaking to the building of magnificent libraries for housing treasured volumes; from the ancient epic of Gilgamesh to the plays of Shakespeare and the tales of Beatrix Potter, the author highlights the evolution of the commercial value of books and of the passion for book collecting.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Back to the top of the page.
Cambras, Josep.
Bookbinding: Techniques and Projects.
Barron's, 2007.
Call # Z271 .C2613 2007
Describes the history, techniques, and processes of bookbinding along with instructions for seventeen bookbinding projects.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Diehn, Gwen.
Real Life Journals: Designing & Using Handmade Books. 1st ed.,
Lark Books, 2010.
Call # Z271 .D54 2010
Diehn shows you how to design and create a custom-made journal that will both inspire you and enhance the experience you're documenting.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Ekrem, Erica.
Bound: Over 20 Artful Handmade Books.
Lark Books, 2015.
Call # Z271 .E38 2015
Bind a book beautifully, with these whimsical and stylish projects from bookbinder extraordinaire Erica Ekrem! With her novel approach to traditional techniques, and the use of repurposed materials, Ekrem has devised creative fun for book artists of all levels. Choose from three categories: Vintage, Nature, and Leather. Make books from mason jars and seashells, a classic leather-bound photo album, and other works of art.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
LaPlantz, Shereen.
Cover to Cover Creative Techniques for Making Beautiful Books, Journals & Albums.
Lark Books, 2000.
Call # Z271 .L44 2000
A treat for lovers of books, papers, handcrafted beauty!...Even a beginner can start right out producing uniquely charming and elegant journals, albums, scrap books, and baby books as gifts or for their own writings...favorite poems...photos...keepsakes. 170 photos and hundreds of illustrations guide you through the basics of an almost infinite variety.
http://books.google.com
Taylor, Terry.
The Artful Storybook: Mixed-Media Artists Create Handmade Tales. 1st ed.
Lark Books, 2008.
Call # TT157 .T43 2008
Once upon a time... storybooks held a special place in our lives, filling our hearts with wonder. Thanks to this extraordinary crafting anthology we can experience that magic again in a marvelous new way by recreating and reinterpreting the picture book. An overview outlines a variety of structures and techniques, from simple collage to gluing. But above all, these highly visual pages offer ideas and inspiration, with talented artists presenting lovingly designed story spreads and covers.
http://books.google.com
Tourtillott, Suzanne J. E.
500 Handmade Books: Inspiring Interpretations of a Timeless Form. 1st. ed.,
Lark Crafts, 2008.
Call # Z246 .A14 2008
To qualify for inclusion, each piece had to function like a book, but a number of the works also curl, hang, or swirl. While there are rectangular volumes, you'll find others that are circular, shaped like a house, and in completely abstract forms that will delight the eyes and imagination. Fine craftsmanship, of course, was another consideration and is evident in this collection, whether it's a finely tooled leather cover embellished with traditional gold leaf lettering or an exotic Ethiopian binding where a netting of waxed linen weaves together to create a show-stopping open spine. The content varies as well. Some of the pages are blank, while others contain elaborate, content-driven narratives
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Wotzkow, Helm.
The Art of Hand-Lettering, Its Mastery & Practice.
Dover Publications, 1967.
Call # NK3620 .W68 1967
Author Helm Wotzkow, a commercial artist specializing in advertising, leads readers step by step from beginning to advanced skills. His extensive experience provides so many helpful suggestions and tips that even professional letterers will find useful new ideas on almost every page. Wotzkow begins with advice on the tools necessary to hand-lettering. He then proceeds to a detailed discussion and analysis of roman majuscule and minuscule characters, the lettering upon which most styles are based. Both pen and brush lettering are covered.
http://books.google.com
Back to the top of the page.
Andrus, Julia.
Paper Transformed: A Handbook of Surface-Design Recipes and Creative Paper Projects.
Quarry Books, 2007.
Call # TT870 .A476 2007
More than 100 of the latest recipes and techniques for making beatiful handmade paper designs.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Badalucco, Laura.
Kirigami: The Art of 3-Dimensional Paper Cutting. 1st pbk. ed., Sterling Pub. Co., 2001.
Call # TT870 .B22 2000
n the Japanese art of kirigami it takes just a cut and a fold to form three-dimensional trees, animals, and buildings, as well as an array of decorative cards, household items, and drawings. With the techniques, projects, and templates provided here, shape such magical designs as a Christmas landscape, a delightful circus set, a "Window on Paris," birthday cards, a pencil holder, and much more!
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Berry, Jill K.
Making Art from Maps/
Quarto Publishing Group, USA, Inc., 2016.
Call # TT870 .B4674 2016
From origami to paper cutting and decoupage, love of paper crafting has soared, and with it the variety of paper types used by artists. Among these are maps - an apt choice for any crafter: they're easy to find, often free, meant to be folded, and their colorful surfaces add an allure of travel to every project. Making Art from Maps is equal parts inspiration and fun
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Birmingham, Duncan.
Pop-up Design and Paper Mechanics: How to Make Folding Paper Sculpture.
Guild of Master Craftsman, 2010.
Call # TT870 .B536 2010
Duncan Birmingham's totally new and accessible approach to pop-up theory and practice distils the numerous mechanisms into a logical set of underlying shapes, and the techniques for building these shapes is methodically explained with step-by-step pictures and text.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Boerens, Trice.
The Complete Photo Guide to Paper Crafts.
Creative Pub. International, 2009.
Call # TT870 .B585 2009
Most books on paper crafting are specific by technique or end result (card making, stamping, paper embellishments, collage). This book explores a wide range of techniques and end products, making it a valuable reference for any crafter.
http://www.amazon.com
Browning, Marie.
Paper Crafts Workshop. A Beginner's Guide to Techniques & Projects.
Sterling Pub., 2007.
Call # TT870 .B754 2007
hanks to a variety of new products and fresh designs, this comprehensive look at an age-old craft offers exciting projects with contemporary style! The first in the Paper Crafts Workshop series, it showcases a wide variety of beautiful creative techniques to try. There’s paper tole, quilling, collage, femmage (collage art that incorporates textiles), parchment crafting, papier-mache , and chicari (rice paper that is torn, colored, then glued down to form a picture). Each section includes a history of the form, and then presents all the modern tools and materials available for crafting. More than 40 exhaustively photographed projects are included, along with patterns.
http://books.google.com
Duvall, Carol., et al.
Paper Crafting with Carol Duvall.
DRG Publishing, 2007.
Call # TT870 .D89 2007
The Queen of Crafting turns her attention to one of today's hottest crafting mediums, Paper! Paper Crafting with Carol Duvall contains chapters on cards, containers, photo displays, home decor, paper & beads and a special section devoted to paper--plus! Step-by-step instructions make the more than 55 projects quick and easy to complete. Carol also reveals her favorite hints and tips for working with paper.
http://books.google.com
Back to the top of the page.
Garner, Lynne.
The Complete Book of Papercraft: Over 50 Designs for Handmade Paper, Cards, Gift-Wrapping, Decoupage, and Manipulating Paper. 1st. US ed.,
St. Martin's Griffin, 2006.
Call # TT870 .G37 2006
Comprehensive Collection of Papercrafts Ideas, Designs and Techniques, With Over 300 Projects. Paper is the ideal medium to experiment with because of its versatility and availability. This craftbook explores and explains all the principal papercraft techniques including papier mache, decoupage and origami.
http://www.amazon.com
Gummer, Arnold E.
Trash-to-Treasure Papermaking : Make Your Own Recycled Paper from Newspapers & Magazines, Can & Bottle Labels, Discarded Gift Wrap, Old Phone Books, Junk Mail, Comic Books, and More-.
Storey Publishing, 2011.
Call # TS1124.5 .G78 2011
Grummer presents a simple, inexpensive, and practical procedure for making beautiful paper from newspapers and magazines, can and bottle labels, comic books, and more.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Lark Crafts, editor.
Beautiful Paper Cutting: 30 Creative Projects for Cards, Gifts, Decor, and Jewelry.
Lark, 2015.
Call # TT870 .B255 2015
asy, beautiful, and inspiring, these projects come from more than a dozen of Etsy's finest paper designers. Cynthia Shaffer, Ellen Deaking, Rachel & Morgan, and other top artists have created fun-to-make cut-paper items that range from a pretty frame decorated with paper flowers to lanterns, mobiles, stationery, garlands, and matryoshka dolls. Simple, accessible, and affordable, this colorful collection will delight paper crafters.
http://books.google.com
Leisure Arts, Inc.
The Ultimate Paper Crafts Collection: Clever Cards and Paper Crafts for Every Occasion.
Call # Leisure Arts, Inc., 2005.
Presenting over 650 inspiring projects and ideas from Paper crafts magazine and its Stamp it! special editions, with a wealth of keepsake cards, albums, tags and other paper crafts to make for loved ones on all occasions.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Spray Paint Paper Crafts: Creative Fun with Krylon. 1st. ed.,
Lark Books, 2006.
Call # TT870 .S6735 2006
Krylon's state-of-the-art and easy-to-use spray paints and finishes are great tools for taking paper crafting from ho-hum to innovative. Use them to beautifully enhance scrapbook layouts, creatively alter books, expertly enhance cards and tags, and magnificently decorate home accessories. Every project will look unique!
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Back to the top of the page.
Dawson, Sophie.
The Art and Craft of Papermaking.
Running Press, 1992.
Call # TS1094 .D39 1992
Discusses the history of papermaking and provides instructions for making a variety of different kinds of paper, and for using paper as an artistic medium.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Heller, Jules.
Papermaking.
Watson-Guptill, 1978.
Call # TS1105 .H54 1978
Whether you're a working artist or craftsperson who wants to make paper for a specific purpose, an experimenter who's eager to try out new art forms, a teacher looking for fresh and stimulation classroom projects, or a student exploring all art forms, Papermaking will provide you with a new source of innovative ideas. All you'll ever need to know about making paper by hand is right here."
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Hiebert, Helen.
The Papermaker's Companion: the Ultimate Guide to Making and Using Handmade Paper.
Storey Publishing, 2000.
Call # TS1124.5 .H53 2000
This valuable reference covers everything, from the basics to more advanced techniques like shaped sheets, embossing, laminating, and watermarking. Included are extensive step-by-step instructions on processing pulp, building papermaking equipment, and making paper-based projects like cards, lamp shades, and sculpture.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Toale, Bernard.
The Art of Papermaking.
Davis Publications, 1983.
Call # TS1109 .T596 1983
Both the craft and the art of papermaking are explored in this book. You'll find detailed coverage of traditional Oriental and European papermaking methods. Exciting examples accompany complete coverage of contemporary sculptural techniques, such as sprayed pulp, plaster and latex casting, vacuum table casting and more.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Back to the top of the page.
Bolton, Vivienne.
The Big Book of Handmade Cards and Gift Wrap: Over 50 Step-by-Step Projects.
North Light Books, 2004.
Call # TT872 .B658 2004
Handmade cards are a delight both to give and to receive, and coordinating gift wrap adds an extra special touch. This book presents a range of beautiful and fun cards, boxes, bags, and gift wrap suitable for all occasions
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Fox, Tanya.
10-Minute Cards to Give & Share.
House of White Birches, 2006.
Call # TT872 .A115 2006
Each of the 100+ projects in this book are designed to be created in 10 minutes or less and look like they took hours to complete.
http://www.amazon.com
Hickey, Julie.
Handmade Metal & Wire Greetings Cards.
Search Press, 2002.
Call # TT872 .H526 2002
Step-by-step photographs and patterns, together with easy-to-follow instructions teach all the essential skills involved, encouraging beginners, and more experienced artists, to make their own original designs. A fun-filled, practical and inspiring series offering a range of designs that will appeal to anyone wanting to send someone special something special. Packed with exciting ideas, this book illustrates all you need to know to create wonderful designs.
http://books.google.com
Hickey, Julie.
Quick & Clever Handmade Cards.
David & Charles, 2004.
Call # TT872 .H53 2004
A guide to creating handmade cards that includes step-by-step instructions for eighty cards for various occasions.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Back to the top of the page.
Aytüre-Scheele, Zülal.
The Great Origami Book.
Sterling Pub. Co., 1987.
Call # TT870 .A9813 1987
Provides step-by-step instructions for making flowers, snowflakes, birds, mice, people, planes, baskets, dogs, cows, dragons, horses, snails, and sailboats out of folded paper.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Beech, Rick.
Decorative Origami Boxes.
Call # Dover Publications, 2007.
A well-known British origami expert, Rick Beech is the author of several books. These unusual and imaginative designs appeal to paperfolders at every level of experience. This book features fifteen different patterns for boxes, along with some lid variations and decorative accents, offering a useful, affordable way to expand your origami repertoire.
http://books.google.com
Mitchell, David.
Complete Origami: Easy Techniques, 25 Great Projects.
Firefly Books, 2009.
Call # TT870 .M468 2009
Presents a general overview of origami, offers tips for interpreting diagrams, and features step-by-step instructions for projects ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Nguyen, Duy.
Über Origami: Every Origami Project Ever!
Sterling Innovation, 2010.
Call # TT870 .N488226 2010
32 great projects include: butterfly, elephant, vulture, cockatoo, seahorse, blue shark, octopus, giraffe, orangutan, rattlesnake, hippopotamus, stegosauraus [sic], cyclops, mermaid, unicorn, vampire bat, rodeo cowboy, Abraham Lincoln, Apache helicopter, aircraft carrier, carrier jet, Christmas candle, alien, spaceship, halloween skull, and many more!
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Park, Won.
Extreme Origami.
Race Point Pub., 2012.
Call # TT870 .P369 2012
on Park has taken the ancient art of origami to a whole new level. Using American currency, Park transforms dollar bills into creative works of art. He relies on the fibrous quality of the paper to fold, bend and twist hundreds of times per model without tearing. With no cutting and no pasting, Park is able to incorporate the details on the bills into his model designs. His signature koi fish is folded in such a way that the patterns on the dollar bill become the scales on the fish, and even the facial features fall in exactly the right place.
http://books.google.com
Robinson, Nick.
Picture-Perfect Origami: All You Need to Know to Make Dozens of Origami Creations Shown in Step-by-Step Photos.
St. Martin's Griffin, 2008.
Call # TT870 .R5724 2008
Teaches how to make three-dimensional origami designs using larger illustrations and step-by-step instructions, along with information on basic folds, types of paper, and tools.
http://gifind.gsu.edu
Temko, Florence.
Origami Note Cards. 1st ed.,
Tuttle Pub., 2007.
Call # TT870 .T4463 2007
Anyone receiving a note folded up in a mysterious way will get an extra lift of anticipation. Origami Note Cards shows how to fold paper into all kinds of different shapes. Instead of searching for a printed greeting card at a store, you may enjoy spending a few minutes folding a piece of ordinary paper into a very personal origami message.
http://books.google.com
Back to the top of the page.
Center for Biological Diversity.
Endangered Species Condoms
Center for Biological Diversity.
https://www.endangeredspeciescondoms.com/
he rapid growth of our human population is pushing other species off the planet in what most scientists are calling the sixth mass extinction crisis. Yet this population explosion is too often ignored by the public, the media and even the environmental movement, while it continues to drive all the major environmental problems that plague our planet — including climate change, habitat loss, ocean acidification and resource depletion.That’s why the Center for Biological Diversity launched our Endangered Species Condoms project in 2009, and since then has distributed hundreds of thousands of free condoms across the United States. Wrapped in colorful, wildlife-themed packages (with artwork by Shawn DiCriscio), Endangered Species Condoms offer a fun, unique way to get people talking about the link between human population growth and the species extinction crisis.
https://www.endangeredspeciescondoms.com
/condoms.html
Chivian, Eric., et al.
Sustaining Life : How Human Health Depends on Biodiversity.
Oxford University Press, 2008.
Call # QH541.15.B56 S96 2008
The Earth's biodiversity-the rich variety of life on our planet-is disappearing at an alarming rate. And while many books have focused on the expected ecological consequences, or on the aesthetic, ethical, sociological, or economic dimensions of this loss, Sustaining Life is the first book to examine the full range of potential threats that diminishing biodiversity poses to human health.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Hutchins, Michael, et al., editors.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. 17 vols. 2nd ed.,
Gale, 2003.
Call # Gale Virtual Reference Library
Some reviewers call Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia the best reference work on animals ever published. Others call it the legacy left to us by famed zoologist and animal lover, Bernhard Grzimek. The accolades and praise go on for the newest addition to Gale's line of reference titles. The original 13-vol. set, published in Germany in the late 1960s, is internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom.
http://books.google.com
Infobase, film distributor, and PBS.
Ocean Animal Emergency
Arlington, VA, PBS, 2018.
Call # Films on Demand
The world's oceans are in trouble. Warming seas and man-made pollutants are combining to unleash toxic algae blooms that are decimating whales, sea lions and other marine mammals. In a high-action film, NOVA explores this crisis through the exploits of Dr. Frances Gulland, a San Francisco veterinarian who runs the equivalent of a West Coast ER for marine mammals.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Network Ireland Television
ees and Biodiversity: The Science Squad.
Films Media Group, 2015,
Call # Films on Demand
Those who have been paying attention to environmental news over the past couple years know that honey bees have been disappearing at an alarming rate, and according to Einstein, "if the bee disappeared off the surface of the globe then man would only have four years of life left. No more bees, no more pollination, no more plants, no more animals, no more man." It’s a sobering thought! We speak to Jane Stout from TCD to find out the true extent of the problem and what the consequences might be in terms of biodiversity, and feature the work of Irish scientists in Galway who are working on products that could improve the health of honeybees.
Films on Demand
One Health: People, Animals, and the Environment, edited by Ronald M. Atlas, and Stanley Maloy,
ASM Press, 2014.
Call # Ebook Central RA639 .O53 2014
Written by scientists working in the field, this book will provide a series of "stories" about how disruption of the environment and transmission from animal hosts is responsible for emerging human and animal diseases. Explains the concept of One Health and the history of the One Health paradigm shift . Traces the emergence of devastating new diseases in both animals and humans. Presents case histories of notable, new zoonoses, including West Nile virus, hantavirus, Lyme disease, SARS, and salmonella. Links several epidemic zoonoses with the environmental factors that promote them. Offers insight into the mechanisms of microbial evolution toward pathogenicity. Discusses the many causes behind the emergence of antibiotic resistance. Presents new technologies and approaches for public health disease surveillance. Offers political and bureaucratic strategies for promoting the global acceptance of One Health.
Ebook Central
Ray, Justina C.
Large Carnivores and the Conservation of Biodiversity.
Island Press, 2005.
Call # EBSCOHost Ebook Collection
Large Carnivores and the Conservation of Biodiversity brings together more than thirty leading scientists and conservation practitioners to consider a key question in environmental conservation: Is the conservation of large carnivores in ecosystems that evolved with their presence equivalent to the conservation of biological diversity within those systems?
EBSCOHost Ebook Collection
Stokland, Jogeir N., et al.
Biodiversity in Dead Wood.
Cambridge University Press, 2012.
Call # QK46.5.D58 S88 2012
Fossils document the existence of trees and wood-associated organisms from almost 400 million years ago, and today there are between 400,000 and 1 million wood-inhabiting species in the world. This is the first book to synthesise the natural history and conservation needs of wood-inhabiting organisms.
Ebook Central
Swan, Norman et. al.
The Human Microbiome, Ancient Remedies, Homeopathy, and More.
Films Media Group, 2011.
Call # Films on Demand
In Tonic, Dr. Norman Swan leads a team of reporters who cover all aspects of health, from lifestyle to complementary medicines to the most recent medical discoveries. Topics covered in this episode include: The Human Microbiome and What We Do to It: Did you know that you and I are only one percent human? We've 90 trillion cells that don't belong to us. Have you ever wondered what it means to be human? It turns out that only a tiny percentage of what you and I are made of is actually human-and we need our nonhuman bits to survive. This part of us now has a name-it's called our microbiome. But we're doing dreadful things to this hidden majority, and it's damaging our health as a result.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
To see past Clarkston library displays, please visit the Display Archives.
| What is sustainability? Is it saving endangered animals and plants, spending time gardening and nature, recycling instead of discarding, investing responsibly, or cleaning up pollution? The answer, as far as there is an answer, is that it is all those things and more. This display presents, books, streaming movies, articles, and web pages about various aspects of sustainability, though it probably does not begin to cover everything. |
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Arbor Day Foundation.
Arbor Day Foundation
Arbor Day Foundation,
https://www.arborday.org/
We inspire people to plant, nurture, and celebrate trees. This is the mission statement of the Arbor Day Foundation, a 501(c)3 nonprofit conservation and education organization. Founded in 1972, the centennial of the first Arbor Day observance in the 19th century, the Foundation has grown to become the largest nonprofit membership organization dedicated to planting trees, with over one million members, supporters, and valued partners.
https://www.arborday.org/generalinfo/about.cfm
Beston, Henry.
Herbs and the Earth.
D.R. Godine, Publisher, 1990.
Call # SB351.H5 B4 1990
This is not strictly a gardening book (although there is plenty for the gardener to learn in it), but the reflections of a man thinking not only about what he grows but how it grows, its roots in religion, the Bible, history and medicine. Beston described his efforts as "part garden book, part musing study of our relation to nature through the oldest group of plants known to gardeners." The book was written at the Maine homestead, Chimney Farm. Illustrated with the woodcuts of American stone cutter/letter designer/craftsman John Howard Benson.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Davidson, Jonathan R. T., and Kathryn M. Connor.
Herbs for the Mind : What Science Tells Us about Nature's Remedies for Depression, Stress, Memory Loss, and Insomnia.
Guilford Press, 2000.
Call # RM666.H33 D378 2000
Studies the effectiveness and safety of taking St. John's Wort for depression, kava for stress or anxiety, ginkgo for memory loss, or valerian for insomnia.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Harmonious Technologies.
Backyard Composting: Your Complete Guide to Recycling Yard Clippings. 1st. ed.,
Harmonious Press, 1992.
Call # S661 .B33 1992
omposting allows you to do something for the part of the Earth you live with day by day: your own back garden. This book follows basic values, such as putting things where they belong and not making a mess. Composting at home reduces your personal volume of rubbish, conserves water, increases plant growth, replaces the need for toxic chemical fertilizers and pesticides, and is also fun. While you may not win an environmental hero of the year award, your trees, earthworms, butterflies and other flora and fauna will be grateful for your composting achievements.
http://books.google.com
Infobase, film distributor, and National Geographic Digital Media.
Storming Antarctica.
National Geographic Digital Media, 2017.
Call # Films on Demand
Six different teams of scientists, each studying different areas and aspects of Antarctica, arrive on the continent after years in the planning and millions of dollars of expense. The continent is home to the coldest, windiest, driest conditions on the planet, and without Scott Base, the hub of Antarctica New Zealand's missions these teams couldn't survive.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Sardet, Christian, et al.
Plankton: Wonders of the Drifting World.
University of Chicago Press, 2015.
Call # QH90.8.P5 S2713 2015
sequence of elaborate close-up photographs of a diverse range of plankton organisms displays their phosphorescent beauty and translucent colors against contrasting black backgrounds while offering historical and scientific discussions for each depicted species.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Stuppy, Wolfgang, et al.
Fruit : Edible, Inedible, Incredible.
Earth Aware Editions, 2013.
Call # QK660 .S98 2013
Examines why fruits exist and how their short lives are critical to the natural order. Features razor-sharp cross-sections by visual artist Rob Kesseler using special light and scanning electron microscopy to create astonishing images of a variety of fruits and the seeds they shelter.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Back to the top of the page.
Baird, Lori.
Don't Throw It out :Recycle, Renew, and Reuse to Make Things Last.
Rodale, 2007.
Call # TX303 .B35 2007b
You'll discover: more than a thousand ways to maximize the value of everything you own, from furniture and fishing reels, to cell phones and ceiling fans, to iPods and earrings, and much more; practical, money-saving ideas for making things last longer-from giving batteries staying power to keeping a washing machine in top condition; fix-it-fast tips for making simple, inexpensive repairs when belongings go on the fritz; learn how to say good-bye to possessions when it's time, whether by recycling, donating, selling, or tossing
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Crowe, Thomas Rain., and Christopher Camuto.
University of Georgia Press, 2005.
Call # PS3553.R5924 Z478 2005
After a long absence from his native southern Appalachians, Thomas Rain Crowe returned to live alone deep in the North Carolina woods. This is Crowe’s chronicle of that time when, for four years, he survived by his own hand without electricity, plumbing, modern-day transportation, or regular income.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Films Media Group, et al.
Sustainabile Packaging.
Films Media Group, 2011.
Call # Films on Demand
A container should protect a product, attract customers, and be relatively cheap to produce. And, it should satisfy consumer demand for goods that do not contribute to the billions of tons of waste produced every year. This program shows how designers are meeting all of these goals by reducing packaging, choosing more recycled materials, and sometimes, completely rethinking a product's design.
Films on Demand
Gabrys, Jennifer.
Digital Rubbish: A Natural History of Electronics,
University of Michigan Press, 2013
Call # Ebook Central TD799…
This is a study of the material life of information and its devices; of electronic waste in its physical and electronic incarnations; a cultural and material mapping of the spaces where electronics in the form of both hardware and information accumulate, break down, or are stowed away. Electronic waste occurs not just in the form of discarded computers but also as a scatter of information devices, software, and systems that are rendered obsolete and fail.
Ebook Central
Georgia State Uniersity Office of Sustainability.
Georgia State University Sustainability.
Georgia State University
https://sustainability.gsu.edu/
Working with partners across campus and beyond, the Georgia State University Office of Sustainability serves as a hub to create and communicate innovative solutions to our most pressing global challenges. We act as the catalyst for creating a culture of sustainability at GSU through enhancing living-learning laboratory opportunities on campus, exploring techniques to lower our resource use and costs and empowering our students to become global leaders in sustainability.
https://sustainability.gsu.edu/about-us/
Gravel, Ryan.
Where We Want to Live : Reclaiming Infrastructure for a New Generation of Cities.
St. Martin's Press, 2016.
Call # Atlanta HT167 .G73 2016
After decades of sprawl, many American city and suburban residents struggle with quality of life issues related to traffic and its accompanying pollution and time drain, divided neighborhoods, and a non-walkable life. Architect Ryan Gravel argues that this can change. Cities have the infrastructure and capability to create a healthier, more satisfying way of life by remodeling and augmenting different parts of cities to connect neighborhoods and communities. Gravel came up with a way to do just that in his hometown with the Atlanta Beltline project, a 22-mile looped path built on long-dormant intersecting rail lines.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Khan, M. M., and M. R. Islam.
Zero Waste Engineering: A New Era of Sustainable Technology Development,
John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2016.
Call # Ebook Central TD793.9 .K436 2017
Is "zero waste engineering" possible? This book outlines how to achieve zero waste engineering, following natural pathways that are truly sustainable. Using methods that have been developed in various areas for sustainability purposes, such as new mathematical models, recyclable material selection, and renewable energy, the authors probe the principles of zero waste engineering and how it can be applied to construction, energy production, and many other areas of engineering.
Ebook Central
Back to the top of the page.
Lange, Alexandra.
" Thinking About the Box."
New York Times, Jun 10, 2018, p. SR 6,
Proquest New York Times,
https://search.proquest.com/docview/
2052510802?accountid=11226
Technology companies' embrace of cardboard's cool suggests something parents and teachers never forgot: The box is an avatar of inspiration, no charging required. Cardboard is the ideal material for creativity, and has been since the big purchase, and the big box, became a fixture of American postwar homes.
Lange, Alexandra. "Thinking about the Box." New York Times, Jun 10, 2018, p. SR 6, ProQuest New York Times, https://search.proquest.com/docview/2052510802?accountid=11226.
Linowes, Jonathan, and Matt Schoen.
Cardboard VR Projects for Android.
Packt Publishing, 2016.
Call # EBSCOHost Academic Ebook Collection
Learn how to build practical applications for Google's popular DIY VR headsetBuild a reusable VR graphics engine on top of the Cardboard Java SDK and OpenGL ES graphics librariesThe projects in this book will showcase a different aspect of Cardboard development―from 3D rendering to handling user inputWho This Book Is ForThe book is for established Android developers with a good knowledge of Java.
EBSCOHost Academic Ebook Collection
Maclay, William.
The New Net Zero: Leading-Edge Design and Construction of Homes and Buildings for a Renewable Energy Future.
Chelsea Green Publishing, 2014.
Call # TH880 .M32 2014
he new threshold for green building is not just low energy, it's net-zero energy. In The New Net Zero, sustainable architect Bill Maclay charts the path for designers and builders interested in exploring green design's new frontier net-zero-energy structures that produce as much energy as they consume and are carbon neutral; In a nation where traditional buildings use roughly 40 percent of the total fossil energy, the interest in net-zero building is growing enormously-among both designers interested in addressing climate change and consumers interested in energy efficiency and long-term savings.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Smith, Eric, and Philip Schmidt.
DIY Solar Projects - Updated Edition : Small Projects to Whole-home Systems: Tap Into the Sun.
Quayside Publishing Group, 2017.
Call # Ebook Central TH7414 .S658 2016
earn how to make your own solar-powered appliances and additions to your home with the step-by-step instructions you'll find in this updated edition of DIY Solar Projects! Put the sun to work in your home with the new, expanded edition of the popular 2011 title DIY Solar Projects. Like the original, this edition offers small-scale, achievable solar projects that homeowners can build and install themselves. From cooking in solar ovens, to mounting solar panels on your roof, this book teaches how to take advantage of solar energy.
Ebook Central
Tolinski, Michael.
Plastics and Sustainability: Towards a Peaceful Coexistence Between Bio-Based and Fossil Fuel-Based Plastics,
John Wiley & Sons, In., 2011.
Call # Ebook Central TP1120 .T65 2012
Clearly lays out the issues related to plastics' effects on the environment, while also serving as a practical, non-academic guide for making sustainability decisions about plastics recycling and the newest bio-based plastics
Ebook Central
Back to the top of the page.
Baker, H. Kent, and John R. Nofsinger.
Socially Responsible Finance and Investing : Financial Institutions, Corporations, Investors, and Activists,
John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2012.
Call # Ebook Central HG4515.13 .B35 2012
A detailed look at the role of social responsibility in finance and investing The concept of socially responsible finance and investing continues to grow, especially in the wake of one of the most devastating financial crises in history. This includes responsibility from the corporate side (corporate social responsibility) as well as the investor side (socially responsible investing) of the capital markets. Filled with in-depth insights and practical advice, Socially Responsible Finance and Investing offers an important basis of knowledge regarding both the theory and practice of this ever-evolving area of finance.
Ebook Central
BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT, and Books24x7, Inc.
Green IT Managing Your Carbon Footprint.
British Informatics Society Limited, 2012.
Call # Books 24/7 (Skillsoft)
Whether you're looking to sustainably manage and procure IT assets, ethically recycle hardware, or use IT to enable carbon footprint reduction, this book offers advice on how to incorporate sustainable practices into your business strategy.
Books 24/7 (Skillsoft)
Girling, Robert Henriques., et al.
The Good Company: Sustainability in Hospitality, Tourism, and Wine,
Business Expert Press, 2015.
Call # Ebook Central G156.5.S87.G574 2016
The Good Company tells the stories of over 30 inspiring companies around the world that are among the ethical leaders in the industry. The broad positive message is encouraging and enervating; each of the companies seeks to live up to the highest standard. The authors tell the steps they have taken and what has motivated them or enabled them to pursue such noble aims.
Ebook Central
Henderson, Hazel, et al.
Green Banking and Investing.
Films Media Group, 2013.
Call # Films on Demand
n this program, Hazel Henderson and Ken LaRoe, CEO of Florida-based First Green Bank, discuss how investments and loans are shifting toward green, energy-efficient LEED Certified real estate development and outpacing traditional real estate and construction. Why? Because energy-efficiency has a huge and swift payback in saving money! This was obscured by faulty economic models and fossil fuel industry lobbying.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Henderson, Hazel, et al.
Making Ethical Investing the New Normal.
Ethical Markets Media, 2015.
Call # Films on Demand
Until recently "ethical," "responsible,""green" investing has been a niche asset class in most progressive portfolios. Henderson explores the potential for this to become 100% of portfolios with two successful, ethical, "green" asset managers.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Infobase, film distributor, and Ethical Markets Media.
Responsible Investors Transforming of Finance, Hazel Henderson narrator,
Ethical Markets Media. 2017.
Call # Films on Demand
Hazel Henderson discusses the evolution of the ethical, responsible, green investment movement with British pioneer investor Tessa Tennant.Tennant founded the first green U.K. mutual fund as well as the Social Investment Forum.She reviews the early obstacles, as she founded ASRIA, the first such group in Asia. An inspiring personal story!
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Mochin, Tim.
Changing Business from the Inside Out : A Treehugger's Guide to Working in Corporations,
Berrett-Koehler Publishers, Incorporated, 2012.
Call # Ebook Central HD60 .M64 2012
In Changing Business from the Inside Out he's written the first practical, authoritative insider's guide to creating a career in corporate responsibility. Mohin describes how to get started and what the day-to-day experience of being "the designated driver at the corporate cocktail party" is really like. He recounts colorful case studies from his own career, provides advice on how CSR workers can have greater impact, and even looks into how employees in other corporate functions can make a difference.
Ebook Central
Back to the top of the page.
3DD Entertainment. "Apollo 11."
1968: A Year of War, Turmoil & Beyond.
Call # Films Media Group, 2018.
On Christmas Eve, 1968, the NASA mission captured images of Earth from the moon. Time Magazine named crew members men of the year.
This photo became an iconic symbol of the war against pollution and the environmental movement -- Eileen H. Kramer
Films on Demand
BBC Worldwide Ltd., production company, and Films Media Group.
Horizon Guide to Climate Change.
BBC Worldwide Ltd, 2015.
Call # Films on Demand
Whatever your views, climate change is now a familiar part of everyday conversation. We all know what it is, even if we don't all agree on what we think about it. But 50 years ago, the science of climate change was an academic backwater. The journey from scientific obscurity to the full glare of publicity has been fascinating, full of strange twists, extreme natural disasters, ambitious theories and changing fashions.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Collin, Robert William.
Trash Talk: an Encyclopedia of Garbage and Recycling Around the World,
ABC-CLIO, LLC, 2015.
Call # Ebook Central TD791 .C655 2015
This detailed reference--one of the most comprehensive resources available on the subject--examines garbage disposal on a global level, from the history of waste management, to the rise of green movements and recycling programs, to the environmental problems caused by incineration and overflowing landfills.
Ebook Central
Goldsmith, Mike.
Discord: The Story of Noise,
Oxford University Press USA, 2012.
Call # Ebook Central QC225.15 .G65 2012
Noise is a widely recognized problem and health concern in the modern world. Given the importance of managing noise levels and developing suitable 'soundscapes' in contexts such as industry, schools, or public spaces, this is an area of active research for acousticians.
Ebook Central
Infobase, film distributor, and TED. TEDTalks.
Triona McGrath—How Pollution Is Changing The Ocean's Chemistry with Triona McGrath,
TED, Conferences LLC., 2018.
Call # Films on Demand
As we keep pumping carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, more of it is dissolving in the oceans, leading to drastic changes in the water's chemistry. Triona McGrath researches this process, known as ocean acidification, and in this talk she takes us for a dive into an oceanographer's world. Learn more about how the "evil twin of climate change" is impacting the ocean—and the life that depends on it.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Laws, Edward A.
Aquatic Pollution : An Introductory Text, .
John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2017.
Call # Ebook Central TD420 .L397 2017
Recognizing, controlling, and mitigating aquatic pollution on a global scale is one of the most important and most difficult challenges facing society today. Fully updated to reflect current understanding and discussing these major recent developments, this fourth edition of Aquatic Pollution covers every aspect of pollution associated with urban runoff, acid rain, sewage disposal, pesticides, oil spills, nutrient loading, and more.
Ebook Central
Vallero, Daniel.
Fundamentals of Air Pollution,.
Elsevier Science & Technology, 2014.
Call # Ebook Central
Fundamentals of Air Pollution is an important and widely used textbook in the environmental science and engineering community. This thoroughly revised fifth edition of Fundamentals of Air Pollution has been updated throughout and remains the most complete text available, offering a stronger systems perspective and more coverage of international issues relating to air pollution. Sections on pollution control have been reorganized and updated to demonstrate the move from regulation and control approaches to green and sustainable engineering approaches. The fifth edition maintains a strong interdisciplinary approach to the study of air pollution, covering such topics as chemistry, physics, meteorology, engineering, toxicology, policy, and regulation.
Ebook Central
Back to the top of the page.
