Maya Angelou: Global Renaissance Woman.
Maya Angelou.
http://mayaangelou.com/
Dr. Maya Angelou is one of the most renowned and influential voices of our time. Hailed as a global renaissance woman, Dr. Angelou is a celebrated poet, memoirist, novelist, educator, dramatist, producer, actress, historian, filmmaker, and civil rights activist.
http://mayaangelou.com/bio/
Remembering Maya Angelou.
Ophrah.com
Harpo Productions Inc.
http://www.oprah.com/app/maya-angelou.html
Oprah shares her thoughts on the passing of the woman she called mentor-mother-sister-friend.
http://www.oprah.com/app/
maya-angelou.html
Rose Charlie and Maya Angelou.
Interview with Maya Angelou.
Youtube.com
http://www.youtube.com
Acclaimed poet Maya Angelou discusses the inspiration and process for writing her inaugural poem for President Clinton. She also talks about her new book, Wouldn't Take Nothing for My Journey Now, a collection of essays based on Angelou's own experiences which make a plea for tolerance and understanding.
http://www.youtube.com
Gabriel Garcia Marquez: Macondo.
The Modern Word.
http://www.themodernword.com/gabo/index.html
Whether writing short stories, epic novels, or nonfiction, Gabo is above all a brilliant storyteller, and his writing is a tribute to both the power of the imagination and the mysteries of the human heart.
http://www.themodernword.com/
gabo/index.html
Garcia Marquez and Katie Davis.
Commentary: Meeting Gabriel Garcia Marquez
.
National Public Radio
npr.org
http://www.npr.org
Twenty years ago, commentator Katie Davis had a chance to sit down with Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Afterwards she wasn’t sure whether she had conducted an interview or participated in a piece of fiction.
http://www.npr.org
The Nobel Prize in Literature 1982
Nobelprize.org
http://www.nobelprize.org
The Nobel Prize in Literature 1982 was awarded to Gabriel García Márquez for his novels and short stories, in which the fantastic and the realistic are combined in a richly composed world of imagination, reflecting a continent's life and conflicts.
http://www.nobelprize.org/
nobel_prizes/literature/
laureates/1982/
To see other displays stop by the DISPLAY ARCHIVE
|
This display celebrates the lives, work, and literary context of Maya Angelou and Gabriel Garcia Marquez. It feagures books about them, books by them, and biographical and tribute web sites as well as interviews. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Angelou, Maya.
All God's Children Need Traveling Shoes.
New York: Random House, 1997.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z463 1997
In 1962 the poet, musician, and performer Maya Angelou claimed another piece of her identity by moving to Ghana, joining a community of "Revolutionist Returnees" inspired by the promise of pan-Africanism. All God's Children Need Walking Shoes is her lyrical and acutely perceptive exploration of what it means to be an African American on the mother continent, where color no longer matters but where American-ness keeps asserting itself in ways both puzzling and heartbreaking.
http://books.google.com
Angelou, Maya.
Celebrations: Rituals of Peace and Prayer.
New York: Random House, 2006.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 C45 2006
An anthology of poems captures the extraordinary qualities that transcend everyday life and includes such acclaimed works as "On the Pulse of Morning," "Amazing Peace," "A Brave and Startling Truth," and "Mother."
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Angelou, Maya.
The Complete Collected Poems of Maya Angelou.
New York: Random House, 1994.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 A17 1994
This complete collection of poems shows why Maya Angelou was a treasure. She makes you feel the struggle of the civil rights movement, the hate between the oppressor and the oppressed. But she never loses site of the need for understanding and love between more than the races- it's a need that goes far beyond that.
http://www.goodreads.com
Angelou, Maya.
Even the Stars Look Lonesome.
New York: Random House, 1997.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 E94 1997b
Even the Stars Look Lonesome is Maya Angelou talking of the things she cares about most. In her unique, spellbinding way, she re-creates intimate personal experiences and gives us her wisdom on a wide variety of subjects. She tells us how a house can both hurt its occupants and heal them. She talks about Africa.
http://books.google.com
Angelou, Maya.
Gather Together in my Name.
New York: Random House, 1974.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z464 1974
In this incredible second book in a series of autobiographies, the poet, still in her teens, gives birth to a son, tries to keep a job, falls in love, dances, falls out of love, chases after her kidnapped baby, and goes to work in a house of prostitution thinking she is helping the man she loves.
http://books.google.com
Angelou, Maya.
Hallelujah! The Welcome Table: A Lifetime of Memories with Recipes.
New York: Random House, 2004.
Call Number: TX715 .A5697 2004
Combining reminiscences with more than sixty of her personal recipes, the acclaimed author reflects on important moments of her life that centered around the dinner table.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Angelous, Maya.
The Heart of a Woman.
New York: Random House, 1981.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z465 1981
Maya Angelou has fascinated, moved, and inspired countless readers with the first three volumes of her autobiography, one of the most remarkable personal narratives of our age. Now, in her fourth volume, The Heart of a Woman, her turbulent life breaks wide open with joy as the singer-dancer enters the razzle-dazzle of fabulous New York City. There, at the Harlem Writers Guild, her love for writing blazes anew.
http://books.google.com
Angelou, Maya.
I Know why the Caged Bird Sings.
New York: Random House, 2002.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z466 2002
The poet recalls the anguish of her childhood in Arkansas and her adolescence in northern slums.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Back to the top of the page.
Angelou, Maya.
Just Give me a Cool Drink of Water 'Fore I Diie.
New York: Random House, 1997.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 J8 1997
Another remarkable collection of poetry from one of America's masters of the medium. The first part gathers together poems of love and nostalgic memory, while Part II portrays confrontations inherent in a racist society.
http://books.google.com
Angelou, Maya.
Mom & Me & Mom.
New York: Random House Audio, 2013.
Cll Number: CD PS3551.N464 Z462 2013
For the first time, Maya Angelou reveals the triumphs and struggles of being the daughter of Vivian Baxter, an indomitable spirit whose petite size belied her larger-than-life presence - a presence absent during much of Angelou's early life. When her marriage began to crumble, Vivian famously sent three-year-old Maya and her older brother away from their California home to live with their grandmother in Stamps, Arkansas. Their reunion a decade later began a story that has never before been told.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Angelou, Maya.
. Oh Pray my Wings are Gonna Fit me Well.
New York: Random House, 1997.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 O5 1997
This collection of thirty-six poems is, once again, eloquent evidence of Maya Angelou's continuing celebration of life: Here are poems of love and memory; poems of racial confrontation; songs of the street and songs from the heart.
http://books.google.com
Angelou, Maya.
On the Pulse of Morning..
New York: Random House, 1993.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 O53 1993
The latest collection of poems from the renowned African American author features some of her best work to date.
http://books.google.com
Angelou, Maya.
Phenomenal Woman: Four Poems Celebrating Women.
New York: Random House, 1994.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 P48 1994
Phenomenal Woman is a phenomenal poem that speaks to us of where we are as women at the dawn of a new century. In a clear voice, Maya Angelou vividly reminds us of our towering strength and beauty.
http://books.google.com
Angelou, Maya.
Shaker, Why Don't you Sing?
New York: Random House, 1983.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 S52 1983
Lyrical and cadent, dramatic and sometimes playful, these poems speak of love, longing, parting; of freedom and shattered dreams; of Saturday-night partying and the smells and sounds of Southern cities.
http://books.google.com
Angelou, Maya.
Singin' and Swingin' and Getting' Merry Like Christmas.
New York: Random House, 1976.
Call Number: E185.97.A56 A33
In this third self-contained volume of her autobiography, which began with I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, Maya Angelou moves into the adult world, and the white world as well, as she marries, enters show business, and tours Europe and Africa in Porgy and Bess.
http://books.google.com
Back to the top of the page.
Angelou, Maya.
A Song Flung up to Heaven.
New York: Random House, 2002.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z476 2002
In a sixth memoir, the author and poet describes her return from Africa to the U.S., her work with the civil rights movement, and the writing of her first autobiographical work, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Angelou, Maya.
Wouldn't Take Nothing for my Journey Now.
New York: Random House Audiobooks, 1993.
Call Number: CD PS3551.N464 W682 1993b
In a voice that vibrates with strength and pierces with honesty, Maya Angelou serves up the essence of her thoughts about how spirit and spirituality move and shape her life; about service and grace and giving, about how she celebrates the spirit of her people and the earthy sensuality of the sisterhood. She talks about family, discusses how her people have gone astray, and how they can regain the way. These are her lessons in living, lessons from which we all can learn.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Angelou, Maya and Jeffrey M. Elliot.
Conversations with Maya Angelou.
Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi, 1989.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z4635 1989
Interviews with the poet, actress, and playwright share her views on her life, her career, her approach to writing, and the Civil Rights movement
http://books.google.com
Angelou, Maya and Tom Feelings.
Now Sheba Sings the Song.
New York: Plume, 1994.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 N67 1994
A seamless collaboration between renowned Inaugural poet Maya Angelou and Caldecott Award-winning illustrator Tom Feelings, this intensely sensuous work combines verse with sepia-toned illustrations in a beautiful paean to Black women.
http://books.google.com
Back to the top of the page.
Beaulieu, Elizabeth Ann
Writing African American Women: An Encyclopedia of Literature by and about Women of Color.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2006.
Call Number: PS153.N5 W756 2006
From Lucy Terry who wrote the first known work of literature by an African American to popular contemporary novelists Bebe Moore Campbell and Terry McMillan, black women have been telling their stories for centuries.
Beaulieu, Elizabeth Ann. "Preface." Writing African American Women. Elizabeth Ann Beaulieu ed. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2006. x. Print.
Bloom, Harold.
Maya Angelou.
New York: Bloom's Literary Criticism, 2009.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z7635 2009
Angelou succeeded in her objectives and set a positive example for the present generation and probably for many generations to come. She prefered to teach her readers deliberately and simply lived what she taught. In her essay on aging, she closes with lines of homey wisdom: "Mostly, what I have learned so far about aging, despite the creakiness of one's bones and the cragginess of one's once-silken skin, is this: do it. By all means, do it."
Thursby, Jacqueline S. "Angelou, Maya." Critical Companion to Maya Angelou: A Literary Reference to Her Life and Work, Critical Companion. New York: Facts On File, Inc., 2011. (Updated 2014.) Bloom's Literature. Web. 14 July 2014.
Giillespie, Marcia, Rosa Johnson Butler, and Richard A. Long
Maya Angelou: A Glorious Celebration.
New York: Doubleday, 2008.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z67 2008
An unusual and irresistible look at Maya Angelou's life as well as her myriad interests and accomplishments by the people who know her best--her longtime friends Marcia Ann Gillespie and Richard Long, and her niece Rosa Johnson Butler. Features over 150 sepia portraits, family photographs, and letters.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Megna-Wallace, Joanne.
Understanding I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings : A Student Casebook of Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z79 1998
This interdisciplinary collection of documents and commentary explores the historical and social context, as well as the contemporary issues and controversies raised by Angelou's autobiography.
http://books.google.com
Page, Yolanda Williams. .
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007.
Call Number: PS153.N5 E49 2007
The Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers provides a comperhensive reference to literature by African American women. One hundred and sixty-eight writers are included in this sourcebook. While this work is by no means exhaustive, it does provide coverage of many African American women writers. Many of them are estblished and canonized, others are emerging.
Page, Yolanda Williams. "Preface." Encylopedia of African American Women Writers. Yolanda Williams Page ed. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007. xiii. Print.
Williams, Mary E.
Readings on Maya Angelou.
San Diego: Greenhaven Press, 1997.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z84 1997
Critical essays examine the life of African-American author Maya Angelou, and explore her use of autobiographical fiction.
http://books.google.com
Back to the top of the page.
Gracia Marquez, Gabriel.
El Amor en los Tiempos del Colera.
New York: Vintage Books, 2003.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 A8 2003
The story of a fantastic wedding, the return of the bride to her parents in disgrace, her brothers' resolve to seek revenge on her corruptor, and the townspeoples' refusal to depart from routine.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Garcia Marquez, Gabriel.
Autumn of the Patriarch.
New York: Harper & Row, 1976.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 O813
From charity to deceit, benevolence to violence, fear of God to extreme cruelty, the dictator of The Autumn of the Patriarch embodies the best and the worst of human nature. Gabriel García Márquez, the renowned master of magical realism, vividly portrays the dying tyrant caught in the prison of his own dictator-ship.
http://books.google.com
Garcia Marquez, Gabriel.
Chronicle of a Death Foretold. .
New York: Knopf, 2004.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 C6813 2004
Angela Vicario's husband returns his new bride to her family hours after the marriage, claiming she is a dishonored woman. Angela's family forces her to reveal her first lover's name, and her twin brothers set out to murder the man, Santiago Nasar. As the murder is planned, no one in the town tries to stop the crime, which results in an entire society put on trial for the murder.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Garcia Marquez, Gabriel.
Collected Stories.
New York: Harper & Row, 1984.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 A27 1984
Collected here are twenty-six of Gabriel Garcia Marquez's most brilliant and enchanting short stories, presented in the chronological order of their publication in Spanish from three volumes: Eyes of a Blue Dog,Big Mama's Funeral, and The Incredible and Sad Tale of lnnocent Eréndira and Her Heartless Grandmother. Combining mysticism, history, and humor, the stories in this collection span more than two decades, illuminating the development of Marquez's prose and exhibiting the themes of family, poverty, and death that resound throughout his fiction.
http://books.google.com
Garcia Marquez, Gabriel.br>
Living to Tell the Tale.
New York: Knopf, 2003.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 Z47813 2003
The author traces his life from his birth in 1927 to his 1950 proposal to his wife, discussing such topics as his love for Colombia, the impact of literature and music on his life, and how his written works reflect his life.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Garcia Marquez, Gabriel.
Love in a Time of Cholera.
New York: Vintage Books, 2003.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 A813 2003
The story of a fantastic wedding, the return of the bride to her parents in disgrace, her brothers' resolve to seek revenge on her corruptor, and the townspeoples' refusal to depart from routine.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Garcia Marquez, Gabriel.
No One Writes to the Colonel and Other Stories.
New York : Perennial Classics, 2005.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 A23 2005
Written with compassionate realism and wit, the stories in this mesmerizing collection depict the disparities of town and village life in South America, of the frightfully poor and outrageously rich, of memories and illusions, and of lost opportunities and present joys.
http://books.google.com
Garcia, Gabriel Marquez.
Of Love and Other Demons.
New York: Knopf, 1995.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 D4513 1995
Of Love and Other Demons is set in a South American seaport in the colonial era, a time of viceroys and bishops, enlightened men and Inquisitors, saints and lepers and pirates. Sierva Maria, only child of a decaying noble family, has been raised in the slaves' courtyard of her father's cobwebbed mansion while her mother succumbs to fermented honey and cacao on a faraway plantation. On her twelfth birthday the girl is bitten by a rabid dog, and even as the wound is healing she is made to endure therapies indistinguishable from tortures. Believed, finally, to be possessed, she is brought to a convent for observation. And into her cell stumbles Father Cayetano Delaura, the Bishop's protege, who has already dreamed about a girl with hair trailing after her like a bridal train; who is already moved by this kicking, spitting, emaciated creature strapped to a stone bed.
http://books.google.com
Garcia Marquez, Gabirel.
One Hundred Years of Solitude.
New York: Harper Collins, 2003.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 C513 2003
The evolution and eventual decadence of a small South American town is mirrored in the family history of the Buendias.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Back to the top of the page.
Bell-Villada, Gene H.
Gabriel Garcia Marquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude: A Casebook.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 C5323 2002
Gabriel García Márquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude is arguably the most important novel in twentieth-century Latin American literature. This Casebook features ten critical articles on García Márquez's great work.
http://global.oup.com/academic
Bloom, Harold.
Gabriel Garcia Marquez.
New York: Chelsea House, 2007.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 Z673 2007
A collection of essays about the writer's works and style with emphasis on Garcia-Marquez' Latin American background and on magical realism.
Eileen H Kramer
Garcia Marquez, Gabriel and Gene H. Bell-Villada. br>
Conversations with Gabriel Garcia Marquez.
Jackson, MS: Univesity Press of Mississippi, 2006.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 Z467 2006
Conversations with Gabriel García Márquez starts with the years of his early phenomenal success and continues through his most recent, turn-of-the-century exchanges. He speaks of his impoverished childhood, his life as an indifferent student, his apprenticeship as a journalist, the inspiration that led to the writing of his most renowned novel, the difficulties brought by fame, and his leftist opinions.
http://books.google.com
McNerney, Kathleen.
Understanding Gabriel Garcia Marquez.
Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina Press, 1989.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 Z724 1989
Garcia marquez is a master at telling us univeral truths that amaze us with candor and charm. His matter-of-fact style of narrating the most incredible happenings makes everything seem possible, and indeed inevitable.
Mcnerney, Kathleen. "Preface and Acknowledgements." Understanding Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina Press, 1989. 3. Print.
Oberhelman, Harley D.
Gabriel Garcia Marquez: A Study of the Short Fiction.
Boston: Twayne Publishers, 1991.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 Z6735 1991
This volume is the first in either Spanish or English to concern itself exclusively with the short fiction of the Colombian writer. It focuses on the evolvement of García Márquez's concern with solitude and death, with the irrational forces that control the lives of his protagonists, and with his dubious estimation of science and technology. The society he describes is one beset by the jolting effects of civil strife and exploitation. His characters struggle to comprehend the role in life that fate has decided they must play.
"Preface." Gabriel García Márquez: A Study of the Short Fiction. Harley D. Oberhelman. Boston: Twayne Publishers, 1991. xi-xii. GVRL. Web. 8 July 2014.
Reinholtz, Eric L. and Harold Bloom.
How to Write about Gabriel Garcia Marquez.
New York: Bloom's Literary Criticism, 2010.
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 Z9253 2010
The works of Gabriel Garcia Marquez attracts the interest of both historians and literary critics as his fiction has helped bring greater exposure of Latin American culture to the rest of the world. This book explores his works, including One Hundred Years of Solitude, Love in the Time of Cholera, and The General in His Labyrinth.
http://books.google.com
Back to the top of the page.
