Bazemore, Edward.
Picking Cotton.
research.library.gsu.edu
http://research.library.gsu.edu/
pickingcotton
Information about the book, Picking Cotton, the star of this years' GP C Reads, its authors, GP C Reads events, and books and articles related to this year's G PC Reads work.
Eileen H. Kramer
Rakoczy, Rebecca and Mary Helen O'Connor.
G PC Reads
Georgia Perimeter College
Now Perimeter College at Georgia State University
Defunct Link to GP C Reads
GP C Reads began in the Fall of 2010 with the intention of connecting those within the school and surrounding areas under a common love of literature, fostering an active and engaged community. GP C Reads is a book club open to students, faculty, staff, and community members with the goal of connecting our community of readers with authors so that the discussions begun in the campus-based groups can continue right on through the authors’ visits.
Defunct Link to GP C Reads
Thompson-Cannino, Jennifer, Ronald Cotton, and Erin Tomeo.
Picking Cotton.
https://www.pickingcottonbook.com/
The official website for the book, Picking Cotton, featuring author bios, news about awards the book has received, a film trailer, and more.
Eileen H. Kramer
Torneo, Erin and Valerie Krause
The Bridal Wave
http://www.thebridalwave.com/
Published in 2007, ?The Bridal Wave is Erin Tomeo's other book, and this is that book's official web site.
Eileen H. Kramer
Innocence Network Inc.
The Innocence Network
http://www.innocencenetwork.org/
The Innocence Network is an affiliation of organizations dedicated to providing pro bono legal and investigative services to individuals seeking to prove innocence of crimes for which they have been convicted and working to redress the causes of wrongful convictions.
http://www.innocencenetwork.org/
Innocence Project
The Innocence Project
http://www.innocenceproject.org/
The Innocence Project is a national litigation and public policy organization dedicated to exonerating wrongfully convicted individuals through DNA testing and reforming the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice.
http://www.innocenceproject.org/
Eyewitness Identification Reform Litigation Network
eyeID.org.
http://www.eyeid.org/
EyeID.org provides a comprehensive resource for defense attorneys litigating identification cases. The site provides a repository of trial pleadings, expert transcripts and affidavits, training materials, a list of research articles, police procedures, and other resources to support litigation reform efforts in the area of eyewitness identification.
http://www.eyeid.org/
Innocence Project
Reevaluating Lineups: Why Witnesses Make Mistakes
and how to Reduce the Chance of a Misidentification.
The Innocence Project
http://www.innocenceproject.org/
docs/
Eyewitness_ID_Report.pdf
This report provides a historical overview of how
eyewitness misidentification came to be recog-
nized as a leading cause of wrongful conviction,
it examines the shortcomings of traditional
eyewitness identification procedures, and it
describes how simple improvements to proce-
dures can alleviate the problem, with examples
of cities and states across the country that have
successfully implemented procedural reforms.
http://www.innocenceproject.org/
docs/
Eyewitness_ID_Report.pdf
Technical Working Group for Eyewitness Evidence.
Eyewitness Evidence: A Guide for Law Enforcement
United States Department of Justice National Institute of Justice.
http://eyewitness.utep.edu/
Documents/
TWG99EyewitnesssGuide.pdf
The National Institute of Justice convened
a technical working group of law enforcement and legal practitioners,
together with these researchers, to explore the development of improved
procedures for the collection and preservation of eyewitness evidence
within the criminal justice system.
http://eyewitness.utep.edu/
Documents/
TWG99EyewitnesssGuide.pdf
National Sexual Violence Resource Center.
National Sexual Violence Resource Center.
Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape.
http://www.nsvrc.org/
The NSVRC staff collects and disseminates a wide range of resources on sexual violence including statistics, research, position statements, statutes, training curricula, prevention initiatives and program information. With these resources, the NSVRC assists coalitions, advocates and others interested in understanding and eliminating sexual violence.
http://www.nsvrc.org/
about/
national-sexual-violence-resource-center
Rape Abuse and Incest National Network.
Rape Abuse and Incest National Network.
https://www.rainn.org/
RAINN (Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network) is the nation's largest anti-sexual violence organization and was named one of "America's 100 Best Charities" by Worth magazine. RAINN created and operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline (800.656.HOPE and online.rainn.org) in partnership with more than 1,100 local rape crisis centers across the country and operates the DoD Safe Helpline for the Department of Defense. RAINN also carries out programs to prevent sexual violence, help victims and ensure that rapists are brought to justice.
https://www.rainn.org/
about-rainn
James, Larry.
Forgiveness…What is it For?
CelebrateLove.com
http://www.celebratelove.com/
forgive.htm
Forgiveness is an act of the imagination. It dares you to imagine a better future, one that is based on the blessed possibility that your hurt will not be the final word on the matter.
http://www.celebratelove.com/
forgive.htm
To see other displays stop by the DISPLAY ARCHIVE
Picking Cotton is the 2014 GP C Reads featured title, and this display deals with the college-wide and campus events; the featured work's three authors; and the topics of: rape, violent crime, false accusations, the criminal justice system, forensic evidence, and eye witness testimony.
Thompson-Cannino, Jennifer, Ronald Cotton, and Erin Torneo
Picking Cotton: Our Memoir of Injustice and Redemption.
New York: St. Martin's Press, 2009
Call Number: HV6568.B87 T56 2009
The story behind the unlikely friendship which developed between the accused rapist Ronald Cotton--who served eleven years in prison for a crime he didn’t commit--and his accuser, Jennifer Thompson, raped at knifepoint by a man who broke into her apartment while she slept.
Note: Multiple copies available.
Source:
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Thompson-Cannino, Jennifer, Ronald Cotton, and Erin Torneo
Picking Cotton: Our Memoir of Injustice and Redemption.
Old Saybrook, CT: Tantor Audio, 2009.
info
Call Number: Nonprint CD HV6568.B87 T562 2009
In July of 1984 in Burlington, North Carolina, Jennifer Thompson was raped in her own bed by an armed assailant. Not two months later, Thompson identified Ronald Cotton as the attacker, who was tried and sentenced to life in prison. However, after eleven years behind bars, Cotton was found innocent through DNA testing. Some time later, the two met and forged an unlikely friendship.
Source:
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Free, Marvin D.
Racial Issues in Criminal Justice: The Case of African Americans.
Westport, CT: Rpaeger, 2003.
Call Number: HV9950 .R33 2003
To understand how the dynamics of disproportionate minority confinement came to exist, one must examine the historical and cultural antecedents that affected (and continue to affect) this group. Examining proposed solutions and providing alternative perspectives, this volume addresses the overrepresentation of African Americans in the criminal justice system by critically examining the significance of race in American society and criminal justice responses to crime and African Americans.
Source:
http://books.google.com
Gabbidon, Shaun L., Helen Taylor Greene, and Venetta D. Young.
African American Classics in Criminology and Criminal Justice.
Thousand Oaks: Sage, 2002.
Call Number: HV6197.U5 A38 2002
From W.E.B. Dubois through Lee Brown, this anthology provides a collection of the key articles in criminology and criminal justice written by black scholars.
Source:
http://www.sagepub.com
Kalven, Jamie.
Working with Available Light: A Family's World After Violence.
New York: W.W. Norton, 1999.
Call Number: HV6568.C4 K35 1999
On a golden autumn afternoon, photographer Patricia Evans, out for a run on Chicago's lakefront, was attacked by a man who severely beat and sexually assaulted her. Evans's husband, Jamie Kalven, has written the story of a family shipwrecked in the midst of everyday life, each struggling in his or her own way to make sense of the violence that has entered their lives.
Source:
http://www.amazon.com
Kittleson, Mark J. and Kathryn Hilgenkamp.
The Truth about Rape.
New York: Facts on File, 2005.
Call Number: HV6558 .T73 2005
Although comprehensive in coverage and clear in presentation, the information included here is arranged as a mini-encyclopedia rather than in a logical progression of articles and chapters. Topics include different types of rape, prevention, sexual assault, statistics, abusive relationships, the roles of male and female as perpetrator and victim, drugs and alcohol, the law, and educating the public.
Source:
http://www.amazon.com
Leuders, Bill.
Cry Rape: The True Story of One Woman's Harrowing Quest for Justice.
Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 2006.
Call Number: KF225.B66 L84 2006
Other books have dealt with how police and prosecutors bend and break the law in their zeal to prevail. This one focuses instead on how the gravest injustice can be committed with the best of intentions, and how one woman’s bravery and persistence finally triumphed.
Source:
http://books.google.com
Back to the top of the page.
Peterson, Ruth D., Lauren Joy Krivo, and John Hogan.
The Many Colors of Crime: Inequalities of Race, Ethnicity, and Crime in America.
New York: New York University Press, 2006.
Call Number: HV6789 .M34 2006
In this authoritative volume, race and ethnicity are themselves considered as central organizing principles in why, how, where and by whom crimes are committed and enforced. The contributors argue that dimensions of race and ethnicity condition the very laws that make certain behaviors criminal.
Source:
http://nyupress.org
Raine, Nancy Venable.
After Silence: Rape and my Journey Back.
New York: Crown, 1998.
Call Number: HV6561 .R33 1998
After Silence is Nancy Venable Raine's eloquent, profoundly moving response to her rapist's command to "shut up," a command that is so often echoed by society and internalized by rape victims. Beginning with her assault by a stranger in her home in 1985, Raine's riveting narrative of the ten-year aftermath of her rape brings to light the truth that survivors of traumatic experiences know--a trauma does not end when you find yourself alive.
Source:
http://www.amazon.com
Reddington, Frances P. and Betsy Wright Kreisel.
Sexual Assault: The Victims, the Perpetrators, and the Criminal Justice System.
Durham, NC: Carolina Academic Press, 2005.
Call Number: HV6561 .S475 2005
Authors Reddington and Kreisel approach the topic of sexual assault in a unique way by examining it from a criminal justice perspective. In giving an overview of sexual assault, examining its victimology, discussing the sexual offender, and looking at the role the criminal justice system plays, this book presents a comprehensive and thoroughly informative study of the crime.
Source:
http://www.amazon.com
Williams, Joyce E., and Karen A. Holmes.
The Second Assault: Rape and Public Attitudes.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1981.
Call Number: HV6561 .W54
The first in-depth empirical study that goes beyond the initial trauma of rape and considers the interplay between society and the experience of rape, the interaction between the victim and her own social world.
Source:
http://books.google.com
Back to the top of the page.
Alexander, Michelle.
The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness.
New York: Perseus, 2010.
Call Number: HV9950 .A437 2010
As the United States celebrates the nation's "triumph over race" with the election of Barack Obama, the majority of young black men in major American cities are locked behind bars or have been labeled felons for life. Although Jim Crow laws have been wiped off the books, an astounding percentage of the African American community remains trapped in a subordinate status - much like their grandparents before them.
Source:
http://books.google.com
Free, Marvin D. and Mitch Ruesink.
Race and Justice: Wrongful Convictions of African American Men.
Boulder, CO: Lynne Reinner Publishers, 2012.
Call Number: HV9950 .F744 2012
This comprehensive volume on the wrongful conviction of African American men in the American judicial system provides a detailed collection of statistical data and analysis on specific aspects of these miscarriages of justice that are increasingly being brought to light.
Source:
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Garrett, Brandon.
Convicting the Innocent: Where Criminal Porescutions go Wrong.
Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2011.
Call Number: KF9756 .G37 2011
DNA exonerations have shattered confidence in the criminal justice system by exposing how often we have convicted the innocent and let the guilty walk free. In this unsettling in-depth analysis, Brandon Garrett examines what went wrong in the cases of the first 250 wrongfully convicted people to be exonerated by DNA testing.
Source:
http://www.amazon.com
Simon, Taryn, Peter J. Neufeld, and Barry Scheck.
The Innocents.
New York: powerHouse Books, 2003.
Call Number: KF9756 .S56 2003
Offers the faces and voices of individuals falsely accused and convicted of crimes, presenting the stories of innocent men and women who were imprisoned for years before they obtained postconviction exonerations.
Source:
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Vollen, Lola, et. al.
Surviving Injustice: America's Wrongfully Convicted and Exonerated.
San Francisco: McSweeney's, 2008.
Call Number: KF9756 .S87 2008
In the tradition of Studs Terkel's oral histories, this book collects the voices and stories of the exonerees for whom life — inside and out — is forever framed by extraordinary injustice
Source:
http://www.amazon.com
Westervelt, Saundra Davis and John A. Humphrey.
Wrongly Convicted: Persepctives on Failed Justice.
New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2001.
Call Number: KF220 .W76 2001
The American criminal justice system contains numerous safeguards to prevent the conviction of innocent persons. The Bill of Rights provides nineteen separate rights for the alleged criminal offender, including the right to effective legal representation and the right to be judged without regard to race or creed. Despite these safeguards, wrongful convictions persist, and the issue has reverberated in the national debate over capital punishment.
Source:
http://books.google.com
Back to the top of the page.
Downs, J.C. Upshaw, and Anjali Runadive Swienton.
Ethics in Forensic Science.
Burlington: Elsevier Science, 2012.
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOHost HV8073 .E84 2012
This work will draw upon the expertise of the editors as authors and various contributors in order to present several different perspectives with the goal of approaching and understanding when ethical lines are crossed. In order to achieve this goal, comparisons of various canons of ethics from related fields such as medicine, law, the military, science and politics will be examined and applied. Case studies will be presented throughout to illustrate ethical dilemmas and challenge the reader with the goal of greater understanding.
Source:
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Kirby, Lorne T.
DNA Fingerprinting: an Introduction.
New York: W.H. Freeman, 1992.
Call Number: RA1057.55 .K57 1992
DNA Fingerprinting is a practical guide to basic principles and laboratory methods as applied to a variety of fields including forensic analysis, paternity testing, medical diagnostics, animal and plant sciences, and wildlife poaching.
Note: This book is twenty years old and its practical aspects are probably out of date.
Source:
http://www.amazon.com
Krimsky, Sheldon and Jeremy Gruber.
Genetic Explanations: Sense and Nonsense.
Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2013.
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOHost QH426.5 .G46 2013
Crime scene DNAs subject to the same manipulation and mistakes as other forensic evidence, and has been the cause of its own batch of wrongful convictions.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer
Lee, Henry C. and Frank Tirnady
Blood Evidence: how DNA is Revolutionizing the way we Solve Crimes.
Cambridge, MA: Perseus Publishing, 2003.
Call Number: RA1057.55 .L44 2003
From O. J. Simpson's "trial of the [20th] century" to the recent [2001] disappearance of Chandra Levy and the reopening of the Edward De Salvo case, the collection and use of DNA in criminal investigations has become a controversial and often confusing burden of proof. Blood Evidence explains the principles and science behind DNA testing and shows how it has both helped solve some of the most puzzling criminal cases in recent history and been used to discredit eyewitness accounts and physical evidence found at the crime scene.
Source:
http://books.google.com
Loftus, Elizabeth.
Eyewitness Testimony.
Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1996.
Call Number: KF9672 .L63 1996
By shedding light on the many factors that can intervene and create inaccurate testimony, Elizabeth Loftus illustrates how memory can be radically altered by the way an eyewitness is questioned, and how new memories can be implanted and old ones altered in subtle ways.
Source:
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Parks, Peggy J. and Gale Group.
DNA Evidence and Investigation.
San Diego: ReferencePoint Press, 2010.
Call Number: Gale Virtual Research Library HV8073.8 .P44 2010
Examines why DNA is a powerful law enforcement tool that is used to solve a wide variety of crimes.
Source:
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Pena, S.D.J. and 2nd International Conference on DNA Fingerprinting.
DNA Fingerprinting: State of the Science.
Boston: Birkhauser Verlag, 1993.
Call Number: RA1057.55 .D637 1993
Today [1993] DNA typing systems are routinely used in public and commercial forensic laboratories in at least 25 different countries and have replaced conventional protein markers as the methods of choice for solving paternity disputes and criminal cases. Moreover, DNA fingerprinting has emerged as a new domain of intense scientific activity, with myriad applications in just about every imaginable territory of life sciences.]
Note: This book is more than twenty years old and its practical aspects are probably out of date.
Source:
http://books.google.com
Back to the top of the page.
Enright, Robert D.
Forgiveness is a Choice: A Step-by-Step Process for Resolving Anger and Restoring Hope.
Washington: American Psychological Association, 2001.
Call Number: BF637.F67 E57 2001
This groundbreaking work demonstrates how forgiveness, approached in the correct manner, benefits the forgiver far more than the forgiven. Filled with wisdom and warm encouragement, the book leads the reader on a path that will bring clarity and peace.
Source:
http://www.amazon.com
Keltner, Dacher, Jason Marsh, and Jeremy Adam Smith.
. The Compassionate Instinct: The Science of Human Goodness.
New York: W.W. Norton, 2010.
Call Number: BF637.H4 C65 2010
A collection of personal stories and empirical research, The Compassionate Instinct will make you think not only about what it means to be happy and fulfilled but also about what it means to lead an ethical and compassionate life.
Source:
http://books.google.com
Luskin, Fred.
Forgive for Love: The Missing Ingredient in a Healthy and Lasting Relationship.
New York: HarperOne, 2007.
Call Number: New York: HarperOne, 2007.
This groundbreaking book from the frontiers of psychology offers startling new research about the one missing factor that is vital to relationships—forgiveness. A national bestselling author and leading expert on forgiveness, Dr. Fred Luskin shows that no matter how much two people may love each other, their relationship will not succeed unless they practice forgiveness—an approach that most relationship experts continue to ignore.
Source:
http://books.google.com
Matin, William.
The Tao of Forgiveness: The Healing Power of Forgiving Others and Yourself.
New York: Penguin, 2010.
Call Number: BL1900.L36 M325 2010
With the devastating personal and societal damage caused by resentment, anger, guilt, and shame in mind, Martin patiently and compassionately helps readers overcome the ills of "holding on" with the openness of the Tao. In this accessible work, he illustrates how forgiveness is freedom and that the pathway to overcoming anger is also the way to spiritual liberation.
Source:
http://www.amazon.com
McCullough, Michael E.
Beyond Revenge: The Evolution of the Forgiveness.
San Francisco, CA : Jossey-Bass, c2008.
Call Number: BF637.R48 M43 2008
Psychologist Michael McCullough argues that the key to a more forgiving, less vengeful world is to understand the evolutionary forces that gave rise to these intimately human instincts and the social forces that activate them in human minds today.
Source:
http://www.amazon.com
Worthington, Everett.
Dimensions of Forgiveness: Psychological Research & Theological Perspetives.
Philadelphia: Templeton Foundation Press, 1998.
Call Number: BF637.F67 D53 1998
The scientific study of forgiveness is a new approach to an age-old problem. For thousands of years, people have practiced forgiveness within religious systems. Now, the new field of scholarly research of forgiveness reveals the beneficial aspects of the process.
Source:
http://books.google.com
Back to the top of the page.
