American and Japanese images of kamikaze pilots differ greatly. This web site explores diverse portrayals and perceptions of the young men who carried out suicide attacks near the end of World War II.
Library of Congress American Memory.
Veterans History Project.
United States Library of Congress.
The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.
Private Art: A Collection of World War II Letters from the Home Front .
This account is unique we believe, as it portrays a first hand personal spin on the day by day - month by month - chronicle of a Private in the U.S. Army during the Great war in Europe.
Rutgers History Department.
Rutgers Oral History Archives.
Rutgers University School of Arts and Sciences. .
The Rutgers Oral History Archives of World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War and the Cold War, directed by Sandra Stewart Holyoak, is an enterprise to record the personal experiences of the men and women who served on the home front and overseas.
School of Journalism.
To his readers, Ernie Pyle was a master of telling the story of the little guy, of describing the fears and daily strife of soldiers fighting in World War II. He was not just a passionate writer, however. An early "embedded journalist," he worked alongside the troops, experiencing much of what they did, placing himself in danger as they did. His columns captured the scene and his reporting humanized the war for many of his readers.
Smithsonian Air and Space Museum.
World War II Aviation.
The story of World War II is too big for a single gallery, so this one focuses on land-based fighter aviation. The fighter planes on display are a British Supermarine Spitfire, German Messerschmitt Bf 109, Italian Macchi C.202 Folgore, U.S. North American P-51 Mustang, and Japanese Mitsubishi A6M Zero. Also on exhibit are engines, bombs, armament, ammunition, aircrew and service uniforms from several nations, and personal memorabilia.
World War II on the Home Front: Civic Responsibility.
The Smithsonian Institution.
A lesson plan that uses posters and artifacts to teach about the United States' government's campaign to enhance morale and fight the war on the home front.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer
Smithsonian Magazine World War II.
A collection of readable World War II articles from the pages of Smithsonian Magazine. Topics covered include the war in Europe, Anne Frank, German V-2 rockets, the Tuskegee Airmen, and much more.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer
As the Jewish people’s living memorial to the Holocaust, Yad Vashem safeguards the memory of the past and imparts its meaning for future generations. Established in 1953, as the world center for documentation, research, education and commemoration of the Holocaust, Yad Vashem is today a dynamic and vital place of intergenerational and international encounter.
Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.
This display not only features scale military models from Dr. Bill LaHaise' collection, but also books, web sites and DVD's about World War II's major battles; life on the homefront; minorities and women; and music, the arts, and literature during the 1940's.
To see other displays stop by the DISPLAY ARCHIVE
Ballard, Robert D.
Robert Ballard's Guadalcanal. Edison, NJ: Chartwell Books, 2007.
Call Number: Georgia Highlands College DU850 .B35 2007
This book will stand the test of time as a literary work and outstanding account of one of the major naval battle zones of the Pacific in WW2. There are modern photographs including a number taken from the air, historic photographs (American, Australian, Japanese and local) of the places, the personalities, the ships, aircraft and soldiers, some incredible paintings of the night actions that took place, pictures of Ballard's crew as they go about their work and his advanced equipment being deployed and used. There is also a picture of a very young John F. Kennedy in his PT-109.
Beik, Mildred A.
Labor Relations. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2005.
Call Number: HD5324 .B39 2005
Over one-hundred annotated primary documents present compelling and informative snapshots of the shifting and often contentious role played by workers and organized labor in American politics, economics, and history. Shaped by wars, depressions, government policies, judicial rulings, and global competition, the history of worker's rights and labor relations often offers a grim picture of the pursuit of the American Dream.
Breyer, Siegfried and Gerhard Koop.
The Battleships. West Chester, PA: Schiffer, Pub., 1989.
Call Number: Auburn University VA 513 .B713 1989 vol. 1
Covers all of the main German battleships of WWII, including Bismarck, Gneisenau, Scharnhorst, Tirpitz and other big ships in over 300 photos.
Halsey's Typhoon: The True Story of a Fighting Admiral, an Epic Storm, and an Untold Rescue. New York: Atlantic Monthly Press, 2007.
Call Number: University of Georgia D773 .D78 2007
Thanks to documents that have been declassified after sixty years and dozens of first-hand accounts from survivors--including former President Gerald Ford--one of the greatest World War II stories, and a riveting tale of survival at sea, can finally be told.
Favreau, Marc. Ed.
A People's History of World War II: The World's Most Destructive Conflict as Told by the People who Lived Through It. New York: New Press, 2011.
Call Number: D811.A2 P46 2011
The most destructive war in human history, World War II continues to haunt American memory with its stories of suffering, sacrifice, and unparalleled heroism. The wartime experience has also generated a rich trove of historical material, writings, and first-person recollections, which are essential to any appreciation of this most pivotal of historical events.
Back to the top of the page.
How to Lose a Battle: Foolish Plans and Great Military Blunders. New York: Harper 2006
Call Number: Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System
From the ancient Crusades to the modern age of chemical warfare and smart bombs, history is littered with horribly bad military ideas. This compendium of great military disasters and ill-advised battle plans highlights the worst military decisions throughout history and the world.
The CIO Challenge to the AFL. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1960.
Call Number: HD6508 .G28
Walter Galenson has written an exceedingly good and useful book on the history of American trade unionism during its most significant period. The Great Depression had carried on the deterioration in the labor movement which had characterized the I920'S. Only an optimist could have looked forward to an early regeneration of union activity and a resumption of a vital union role on the American scene. Yet, between I935 and our entry into World War II, this is precisely what happened.
Source: Stein, Emmanuel. "The CIO Challenge to the AFL: A History of the American Labor Movement, 1935-1941 byWalter Galenson." Journal of Economic History 21.1 (1961): 100-101. JSTOR. Web. 3 November 2011.
Hornfischer, James D.
The Last Stand of the Tin Can Sailors: The Extraordinary World War II Story of teh U.S. Navy's Finest Hour. New York: Bantaom Books, 2004.
Call Number: Ebrary D774.L48 H67 2004
Chronicles the October 1944 battle off Samar between a vastly outnumbered fleet of American warships and a flotilla of the Japanese Navy, a struggle that changed the course of World War II in the Pacific.
Mills, Harry A. and Emily Clark Brown.
From the Wagner Act to Taft-Hartley: A Study of National Labor Policy and Labor Relations. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1950.
Call Number: HD7834 .M55
This monumental book represents the fruit of seven years' study of the Wagner Act by Professor Brown, and the joint efforts of Professor Brown, the late Harry A. Millis and Seymour Z. Mann in appraising the changes in national labor policy effected since 1947 by the Taft- Hartley Act. The authors leave no doubt that, if forced to choose between the Wagner Act and Taft-Hartley, they much prefer the former.
Source: Northrup, Herbert R. "From the Wagner Act to Taft-Hartley: A Study of National Labor Policy and Labor Relations." Political Science Quarterly 65.4 (1950): 613-615. JSTOR. Web. 3 November 2011.
Parshall, Jonathan B.
Shattered Sword: The Untold Story of the Battle of Midway. Washington, DC: Potomac Books, 2005.
Call Number: University of Georgia D774 .M4 P37 2005
Many consider the Battle of Midway to have turned the tide of the Pacific War. It is without question one of the most famous battles in history. Now, for the first time since Gordon W. Prange’s bestselling Miracle at Midway, Jonathan Parshall and Anthony Tully offer a new interpretation of this great naval engagement.
A Glorious Way to Die: The Kamikaze Mission of the Battleship Yamamato, April 1945. New York: Newmarket Press, 1981.
Call Number: Dunwoody D777.5.Y33 S68
Told from both Japanese and Allied points of view, this critically acclaimed World War II classic documents the tragic final days of the Japanese battleship Yamato and its doomed last mission.
Sea of Thunder: Four Commanders and the Last Great Naval Campaign. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2006.
Call Number:Decatur & Newton D770 .T43 2006
An account of the Battle of Leyte Gulf in October 1944 is told through the commands of four naval leaders, including two American commanders and two Japanese admirals, and offers insight into how the war reflected profound cultural differences.
Total War: The Decisive Battles of our Time. London: Quercus, 2009.
Call Number: Cherry Creek School District. Greenwood Village, Colorado.
The twentieth century witnessed the most violent conflicts in world history. From 1905, via all the key battles of World Wars I and II, to Operation Desert Storm, Tools of War tells of the conflicts that changed the course of modern history and shaped the twenty-first century.
Back to the top of the page.
Rosie and Mrs. America: Perceptions of Women in the 1930s and 1940s. Minneapolis, MN: Twenty-First Century Books, 2008.
Call Number:HQ1420 .G68 2008
Looks at the roles of American women in the 1930s and 1940s seen in the stereotypes of the strong, patriotic "Rosie the Riveter" and the frugal homemaker "Mrs. America" and illustrates how they were reflected in the magazines, catalogs, and films of the time.
They also Served: American Women in World War II. Seacaucus, NJ: Carol Pub. Group, 1995.
Call Number: D810.W7 G67 1995
There is no doubt that military women today owe much of their advancement in the services to those women who served in WW II and provided to be a real force in service.
Hartmann, Susan M.
The Home Front and Beyond: American Women in the 1940s. Boston, MA: Twayne Publishers, 1982.
Call Number: HQ1420 .H34 1982
In Home Front and Beyond, Susan Hartmann has combined research into popular media, government reports and private paper, to reconstruct the changing pattern of women's lives in this decade.
Hohn, Maria and Martin Klimke.
A Breath of Freedom: The Civil Rights Struggle,African American GIs and Germany. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.
Call Number: E185.63 .H64 2010
This moving and beautifully illustrated book, developed from an award-winning research project, examines the experience of African-American GIs in Germany since 1945 and the unique insights they provide into the civil rights struggle at home and abroad.
Holm Jeanne M. and Judith Bellafaire Eds.
In Defense of a Nation: Servicewomen in World War II. Arlington, VA: Vandamere Press, 1998.
Call Number: D810.W7 I53 1998
Maj. Gen. USAF (Ret.) Jeanne M. Holm has, with the assistance of a dedicated group of former and current servicewomen, written a history of American servicewomen in WW2 that is a credit to their sometimes unacknowledged but heroic performance. To read the richly photographed text, one sees the scope of such service.
Homan Lynn M. and Thomas Reilly.
The Tuskegee Airmen Charleston, SC: Arcadia, 1998.
Call Number: UG834.A37 H65 1998
In 1941, Tuskegee, Alabama, was selected as the site of an important new development in military training. For the first time, black Americans were to be allowed to serve their country as members of the United States Army Air Corps.
Creating Rosie the Riveter: Class, Gender, and Propaganda During World War II. Amherst, MA: University of Massachusetts Press, 1984.
Call Number: HQ1420 .H66 1984
Examines advertisements and fiction published in the Saturday Evening Post and True Story in order to show how propaganda was used to encourage women to enter the work force
Back to the top of the page.
Keil, Sally V.
Those Wonderful Women in their Flying Machines: The Unknown Heroines of World War II. New York: Four Distinctions Press, 1990.
Call Number: D810.W7 K43 1990
If you think the skies belong to birds and men, you might want to consider a different notion. Ladybirds and Ladybirds II is a history of American women in every aspect of aviation from a woman balloonist of 200 years ago, to the early days of Anne Morrow Lindbergh and Amelia Earhart, to today's commercial women airline pilots (co-author Lori Griffith is a Boeing 737 captain with USAir). Those Wonderful Women and Their Flying Machines hones in on World War II to recount the story of the over 1,000 women pilots who flew in the military as part of the Women's Air Force Service Pilots (WASP).
Moore, Brenda L.
To Serve my Country, To Serve my Race: The Story of the Only African American WACS Stationed Overseas During World WAr II. New York: New York University Press, 1996.
Call Number: UB418.A47 M66 1996
To Serve My Country, To Serve My Race is the story of the historic 6888th, the first United States Women's Army Corps unit composed of African American women to serve overseas.
Japanese American Interment during World War II: A History and Reference Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Call Number: D769.8.A6 N4 2002
The internment of thousands of Japanese Americans during World War II is one of the most shameful episodes in American history. This history and reference guide will help students and other interested readers to understand the history of this action and its reinterpretation in recent years, but it will also help readers to understand the Japanese American wartime experience through the words of those who were interned.
Okihiro, Gary Y. and Joan Myers.
Whispered Silences: Japanese Americans and World War II. Seattle, WA: University of Washington Press, 1996.
Call Number: D769.8.A6 O36 1996
Joan Myers, haunted by her first glimpse of one of the American detention camps to which Japanese were exiled during World War II, set out to unearth the human story hidden in the remains of the camps.
Ottley, Roi and Mark A. Huddle.
Roi Ottley's World War II: The Lost Diary of an African American Journalist. Lawrence, KS: University of Kansas, 2011.
Call Number: D811.5 .O86 2011
When black journalist Vincent “Roi” Ottley was assigned to cover the European theater in World War II, he provided a perspective shared by few other war correspondents. But what he really saw has taken more than sixty years to come to light.
Wakatsuki, Jeanne and James D. Houston.
. Farewell to Manzanar: A True Story of Japanese American Experience during and after World War II. Boston, MA: Houghton Mifflin, 2002
Call Number: D769.8.A6 H68 2002
The American-born author describes her family's experience and impressions when they were forced to relocate to a camp for the Japanese in Owens Valley, California, during World War II.
Our Mother's War: American Women at Home and at the Front During World War II. New York: Free Press, 2005
Call Number: D810.W7 Y45 2005
Our Mothers' War is a stunning and unprecedented portrait of women during World War II, a war that forever transformed the way women participate in American society.
Back to the top of the page.
Crowther, Bruce and Mike Pinfold.
The Big Band Years. New York: Facts on File Publications, 1988.
Call Number: ML3518 .B5 1988
Jazz critics Crowther and Pinfold here collaborate with Driggs, owner of a noted jazz picture archive, to produce, in words and photos, a history of big band music in the 20th century.
Chasin' the Bird: The Life and Leagcy of Charlie Parker. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
Call Number: ML419.P4 P72 2006
Charlie Parker was one of the influential musicians in jazz, and was the main architect of the jazz revolution of the 1940s. Addicted to drugs and alcohol, and with a tangled private life, he died young. This biography of Charlie Parker provides a discussion of performances and recordings, with discography, notes and bibliography.
Groovin' High: The Life of Dizzy Gillespie. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
Call Number: ML419.G54 S55 1999
In this first full biography, Alyn Shipton covers all aspects of Dizzy's remarkable life and career, taking us through his days as a flashy trumpet player in the swing bands of the 1930s, his innovative bebop work in the 1940s, the worldwide fame and adoration he earned through his big band tours in the 1950s, and the many recordings and performances which defined a career that extended into the early 1990s.
Pearl Harbor Jazz: Change in Popular Music in the Early 1940s. Jackson, MS: University of Mississippi, 2007.
Call Number: ML3918.J39 T7 2007
This book is a study of a crucial period in the life of American jazz and popular music. Pearl Harbor Jazz analyses the changes in the world of the professional musician brought about both by the outbreak of World War II and by long-term changes in the music business, in popular taste and in American society itself.
Swing Shift: "All-girl" Bands of the 1940s. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 2000.
Call Number: ML82 .T83 2000
The forgotten history of the "all-girl" big bands of the World War II era takes center stage in [this book]. American demand for swing skyrocketed with the onslaught of war as millions-isolated from loved ones-sought diversion, comfort, and social contact through music and dance.
Charlie Parker: His Music and Life. Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan Press, 1996.
Call Number: ML419.P4 W65 1996
Essentially a minutely detailed analysis of excerpted phrases taken from recordings made between 1940 and 1954, this book opens with a 47-page biographical sketch that takes us from Parker’s birth and childhood through the obscure period marking his years as a developing musician, all the while attempting to clear up the many gaps and contradictions that have long hampered our understanding of his growth.
Back to the top of the page.
Auden, W.H. and Edward Mendelson.
Collected Poems. New York: Random House, 1976.
Call Number: PR6001.U4 A17 1976
This volume includes all the poems that Auden wished to preserve, in a text that includes his final revisions, with corrections based on the latest research.
Baker, Patricia and Robert Price.
Fashions of the Decade: The 1940's. New York: Facts on File, 1992.
Call Number: Reference GT596 .B32 1992
Chronicles clothing trends of the 1940s and the influence of World War II on styles of dress, availability of many fabrics, and the new ideas of "designers at war."
The Bridge Over the River Kwai. New York: Vanguard Press, 1954.
Call Number: PQ2603.O754 B7 1954
In a prison camp, British POWs are forced into labor. The bridge they build will become a symbol of service and survival to one prisoner, Colonel Nicholson, a proud perfectionist. Pitted against the warden, Colonel Saito, Nicholson will nevertheless, out of a distorted sense of duty, aid his enemy. While on the outside, as the Allies race to destroy the bridge, Nicholson must decide which will be the first casualty: his patriotism or his pride.
50 Poems. New York: Groset & Dunlap, 1940.
Call Number: PS3505.U334 F5 1971
The most enchanting poem that can be read at the moment is in Cummings's new book. In musical delight and inventiveness of phrase it is as charming a poem as a poem can be.
Source: Jack, Peter Monro. "Fifty New Poems by E.E. Cummings." New York Times. New York Times. 13 April 1941. Web. 3 November 2o11.
Go Down Moses. New York: Modern Library, 1955.
Call Number: Dunwoody PS3511.A86 G6 1955
Faulkner examines the changing relationship of black to white and of man to the land, and weaves a complex work that is rich in understanding of the human condition.
For whom the Bell Tolls. New York: Scribner, 1940.
Call Number: PS3515.E37 F6 1940
The story of Robert Jordan, a young American in the International Brigades attached to an antifascist guerilla unit in the mountains of Spain, it tells of loyalty and courage, love and defeat, and the tragic death of an ideal.
Hendricks, Barkley L.
Birth of the Cool. Durham, NC: Nasher Museum of Art, Duke University, 2008.
Call Number: ND237.H47 A4 2008
Accompanies the career retrospective of the American artist Barkley L Hendricks, on view at the Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University from February 7, 2008 through July 13, 2008.
The Naked and the Dead. New York: Reinhart, 1948.
Call Number: PS3525.A4152 N3 1948
Written in gritty, journalistic detail, the story follows a platoon of Marines who are stationed on the Japanese-held island of Anopopei.
Back to the top of the page.
The Heart is a Lonely Hunter. New York: Modern Library, 1993.
Call Number: PS3525.A1772 H4 1993
Story of deaf-mute John Singer, who becomes the confidant for all various types of misfits in a Georgia mill town during the 1930s. Each one yearns for escape from small town life. When Singer's mute companion goes insane, Singer moves into the Kelly house, where Mick Kelly, the book's heroine (and loosely based on McCullers), finds solace in her music.
The Human Comedy. New York: Harcourt, Brace and Company, 1943.
Call Number: PS3537.A826 H7
The place is Ithaca, in California's San Joaquin Valley. The time is World War II. The family is the Macauley's—a mother, sister, and three brothers whose struggles and dreams reflect those of America's second-generation immigrants…In particular, fourteen-year-old Homer, determined to become one of the fastest telegraph messengers in the West, finds himself caught between reality and illusion as delivering his messages of wartime death, love, and money brings him face-to-face with human emotion at its most naked and raw.
Ida: A Novel. New York: Cooper Square Publishers, 1971.
Call Number: PS3537.T323 I3 1971
Gertrude Stein wanted Ida to be known in two ways: as a novel about a woman in the age of celebrity culture and as a text with its own story to tell.
Warren, Robert Penn.
All the King's Men. New York: Modern Library, 1953.
Call Number:PS3545.A748 A65 1953
A dynamic backwoods lawyer batters his way into the governor's mansion, where he uses his unprincipled charm to become a brutal dictator.
The Glass Menagerie. New York: New Directions, 1999.
Call Number: PS3545.I5365 G5 1999
A strong willed woman attempts to impose her shattered dreams into the life and personality of her shy, reclusive daughter.
Native Son. New York: Harper & Row, 1969.
Call Number: PS3545.R815 N3 1969
Right from the start, Bigger Thomas had been headed for jail. It could have been for assault or petty larceny; by chance, it was for murder and rape. Native Son tells the story of this young black man caught in a downward spiral after he kills a young white woman in a brief moment of panic. Set in Chicago in the 1930s, Wright's powerful novel is an unsparing reflection on the poverty and feelings of hopelessness experienced by people in inner cities across the country and of what it means to be black in America.
Back to the top of the page.
African American Heroes of WWII.
OnDeck Home Entertainment, 1995.
Call Number: : DVD D811.A2 W356 2007
African-American airmen in World War II are credited with the destruction (or damage) of 409 enemy aircraft. The valiant 332nd Fighter Group, comprised of the 99th, 100th, and 302nd Fighter Squadrons, distinguished themselves, culminating in a Presidential Unit Citation issued on March 24, 1945.
Burns, Ken and Lynn Novick.
The War. Prod. Sarah Botstein. Screenplay by Geoffrey C. Ward. PBS Home Video, 2007. DVD.
Call Number: DVD D811.A2 W356 2007
Tells the story of ordinary people in four quintessentially American towns - Waterbury, Connecticut; Mobile, Alabama; Sacramento, California; and Luverne, Minnesota - and examines the ways in which the Second World War touched the lives of every family on every street in every town in America.
Prod. Hal B. Wallis. Dir. Michael Curtiz. Screenplay by Julis J. Epstein, Philip G. Epstein, and Howard Koch. Perf. Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman. Warner Home Video, 1999. DVD.
Call Number: DVD PN1997 .C372 1999
In World War II Morocco, seething with European refugees desperate for passage to neutral Lisbon, only a world-weary and bitter nightclub owner can help his former lover and her Resistance-hero husband escape from the Nazis.
Prod. Orson Welles. Screenplay by Herman J. Mankiewicz and Orson Welles. Dir. Orson Welles. Warner Home Video, 2001. DVD.
Call Number: DVD PN1997 .C525 2001
An all-powerful press magnate, Kane, dies in his fabulous castle Xanadu, his last word being "Rosebud", which leads a reporter to seek the meaning behind the word and find the meaning of Kane. Prominant publisher, William Randolph Hearst, saw the film as a thinly disguised version of his career and attempted to suppress it.
The History Channel.
World War II. History Channel, 2006 DVD.
Call Number: DVD D743 .W6496 2006
Presents a collection of nearly thirty World War II documentaries, covering the war in Europe, the Pacific, a biography of General Douglas MacArthur, the final battle at Okinawa, the war planes produced by the American aviation industry, the Nuremberg trials, and errors and bungled opportunities that changed the course of history.
Foyle's War. Prod. Simon Passmore and Jill Green. Dir. Jeremy Silberston and David Thacker. Acorn Media, 2003 DVD.
Call Number: Call Number: DVD PN1992.77.F67 F67 2003
English Detective Christopher Foyle solves crimes on the home front while he reluctantly sits out on World War II.
Back to the top of the page.
Wajda Andrzej. Koch Lorber Films, 2009. DVD.
Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .K38 2009
Follows the fictional stories of four families, separated from one another in the confusion of September 1939, when the Soviets and Germans invaded Poland, through the Soviet occupation in 1945 when the truth of the massacre gets suppressed.
Ultimate National Geographic World War II Collection.
Perf. Tom Brokaw, Robert D. Ballard, and Peter Coyote. National Geographic, 2002. DVD.
Call Number: DVD D743 .U43 2002
Special features: (Pearl Harbor) Behind the scenes on the Ballard Expedition; survivor stories; interactive maps of Japanese bombing runs. (The Battle for Midway) Bonus program "Combat cameramen"; interactive battle and timeline; trivia quiz; diagrams & statistics of US & Japanese battle forces.
Back to the top of the page.