The 1960's

Bambara, Toni Cade. Gorilla My Love.
Vintage Books, 1992.
Call #: PS3552.A473 G6 1992
n these fifteen superb stories, this essential author of African American fiction gives us compelling portraits of a wide range of unforgettable characters, from sassy children to cunning old men, in scenes shifting between uptown New York and rural North Carolina.
http://books.google.com

Copper, Susan.
Over Sea, Under Stone.
Harcourt, Brace & World, 1965.
Call #: Atlanta Juv. PZ7.C7878 Ov2
Three children on vacation in Cornwall find an ancient manuscript which sends them on a dangerous quest that entraps them in the eternal battle between the forces of the Light and the Dark.
htp://gilfind.gsu.edu

LeGuin, Ursula K. A Wizard of Earthsea.
Parnassus Press, 1968.
Call #: Atlanta Juv. PZ7.L5215 Wi
A boy grows to manhood while attempting to subdue the evil he unleashed on the world as an apprentice to the Master Wizard.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

L'Engele Madeleine. A Wrinkle in Time.
Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1962.
Call #: Dunwoody PZ7.L5385 Wr 1962
It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger. "Wild nights are my glory," the unearthly stranger told them. "I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me sit down for a moment, and then I'll be on my way. Speaking of ways, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract."
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Lipsyte, Robert. The Contender.
Harper & Row, 1967.
Call #: Atlanta Juv. PZ7.L67 Co
Harlem high school dropout escapes from a gang of punks into a boxing gym, where he learns that being a contender is hard and often discouraging work, but that you don't know anything until you try.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Zindel, Paul. The Pigman: A Novel.
HarperCollins, 1968.
Call #: Dunwoody PS3576.I518 P54 1992
A teenage boy and girl, high school sophomores from unhappy homes, tell of their bizarre relationship with an old man. Two lonely high school students befriend a strange old man, Mr. Pignati. An intensely moving story of believably alienated young people.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

The 1970's

Andrews, V.C. Flowers in the Attic.
Pocket Books, 1979.
Call #: PS3551.N454 F47 1979
They were a perfect family, golden and carefree—until a heartbreaking tragedy shattered their happiness. Now, for the sake of an inheritance that will ensure their future, the children must be hidden away out of sight, as if they never existed. Kept on the top floor of their grandmother’s vast mansion, their loving mother assures them it will be just for a little while.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Blume, Judy. Are you there God? It's me, Margaret.
Bradbury Press, 1970.
Call #: Atlanta Juv. PZ7.B6265 Ar
Faced with the difficulties of growing up and choosing a religion, a twelve-year-old girl talks over her problems with her own private God.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Childress, Alice. A Hero Ain't Nothing' But a Sandwich.
Coward-McCann, 1972.
Call #: DeKalb County Public Library
The life of a thirteen-year-old Harlem black boy on his way to becoming a confirmed heroin addict is seen from his viewpoint and from that of several people around him.
http://dekalb.polarislibrary.
com/polaris/

Cormier, Robert. The Chocolate War.
Dell-Laurel Laf, 1974.
Call #: Dunwoody PS3553.O653 C46 2002
This chilling portrait of an all-boys prep school casts an unflinching eye on the pitfalls of conformity and corruption in our most elite cultural institutions.
http://books.google.com

Hamilton, Virginia. M.C. Higgins, The Great.
Macmillan, 1974.
Call #: Atlanta Juv. PZ7.H1828 Mac
As a slag heap, the result of strip mining, creeps closer to his house in the Ohio hills, fifteen-year-old M.C. is torn between trying to get his family away and fighting for the home they love.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

McKinley, Robin. Beauty: A Retelling of the Story ofBeauty & the Beast..
Harper & Row, 1978.
Call #: Atlanta Juv. PZ8.M1793 Be
When Beauty hears this story—for her father had picked the rose to bring to her—her sense of honor demands that she take up the Beast’s offer, for "cannot a Beast be tamed?"
http://books.google.com

Taylor, Mildred D. Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry.
Puffin Books, 2004.
Call #: PS3570.A9463 R63 2004
he story of one African American family fighting to stay together and strong in the face of brutal racist attacks, illness, poverty, and betrayal in the Deep South of the 1930s. In Mississippi, during the Great Depression of the 1930's the Logans are one of the few Black families who own their own land. Nine-year-old Cassie Logan doesn't understand why her parents attach so much importance to this, any more than she understands the Night Riders, white men who terrorize her people.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

The 1980's

Adams, Douglas. The Ultimate Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.
Del Rey, 2002.
Call #: PR6051.D3352 A6 2002
In this collection of novels, Arthur Dent is introduced to the galaxy at large when he is rescued by an alien friend seconds before Earth's destruction, and embarks on a series of amazing adventures with his new companion.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Block, Francesca Lia. Weetzie Brat.
HarperCollins, 1989.
Call #: Atlanta Juv. PZ7.B61945 We 1989
Follows the wild adventures of Weetzie Bat and her Los Angeles friends, Dirk, Duck, and My-Secret-Agent-Lover-Man.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Cisneros, Sandra. The House on Mango Street.
Random House, 1994.
Call #: PS3553.I78 H6 1994
The House on Mango Street is the remarkable story of Esperanza Cordero, a young Latina girl growing up in Chicago, inventing for herself who and what she will become.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Garden, Nancy. Annie on my Mind.
Farrar, Straus, Giroux, 1982.
Call #: Atlanta Juv. PZ7.G165 An 2013
iza puts aside her feelings for Annie after the disaster at school, but eventually she allows love to triumph over the ignorance of people.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Jones, Diana Wynne. Howle's Moving Castle.
Eos, 2008.
Call #: Atlanta Juv. PZ7.J684 Hp 2008
Eldest of three sisters in a land where it is considered to be a misfortune, Sophie is resigned to her fate as a hat shop apprentice until a witch turns her into an old woman and she finds herself in the castle of the greatly feared wizard Howl.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Meyers, Walter Dean. Fallen Angels.
Scholastic Inc., 1988.
Call #: Atalnata Juv. PZ7.M992 Fal 1988
eventeen-year-old Richie Perry, just out of his Harlem high school, enlists in the Army in the summer of 1967 and spends a devastating year on active duty in Vietnam.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Paulson, Gary. Hatchet.
Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 2001.
Call #: Dekalb County Public Library
After a plane crash, thirteen-year-old Brian spends fifty-four days in the wilderness, learning to survive initially with only the aid of a hatchet given him by his mother, and learning also to survive his parents' divorce.
http://dekalb.polarislibrary
.com/polaris/

Young Adult Literature Web Pages

Bartle, Lisa R.
Database of Award Winning Children's Literature.
Lisa R. Bartle
http://www.dawcl.com/
A search engine that lets you search for children's fiction and memoir for a wide variety of ages, including young adult (Set the reader's age to 14+). The database includes books published as long ago as the 1920's and as recently as 2016.
http://www.dawcl.com/

Curlie
"Arts Literature Children's Young Adult" Curlie.
http://dmoztools.net/
Arts/Literature/
Children%27s/Young_Adult/. A static but reasonably current collection of sites that feature reviews of young adult literature. Alas, there is at least one dead link in the list.
Eileen H. Kramer

Strickland, Ashley.
"A Brief History of Young Adult Literature." CNN
http://www.cnn.com/
2013/10/15/living/
young-adult-fiction-
evolution/index.html
A history of young adult literature from the 1940's to the present century.
Eileen H Kramer

"Young Adult"
ThoughtCo
ThoughtCo
https://www.thoughtco.com/young-adult-books
-4133212
YA books aren't just for teens anymore. Explore annotated book lists and articles about young adult books that readers of every generation can enjoy.
https://www.thoughtco.com/
young-adult-books
-4133212

Young Adult Library Services Association.
YALSA Book Finder
Young Adult Library Services Associaton
http://booklists.yalsa.net/
A search engine that lets users look for books that are on YALSAs lists of excellent young adult literature. Note: there are almost no business books or books from a Christian viewpoint in the database.
Eileen H Kramer

Young Adult Library Services Association Best Fiction for Young Adults Committee.
Best Fiction for Young Adults.
Young Adult Library Services Assocation
http://www.ala.org/
yalsa/
best-fiction-young-adults YALSA’s Best Fiction for Young Adults Committee presents fiction titles published for young adults in the past 16 months that are recommended reading for ages 12 to 18.
http://www.ala.org/
yalsa/
best-fiction-young-adults

To see past displays, please visit the JCLRC's Display Archives.

Young adult literature; books by, for, or about adolescents, has endured for more than a generation, and it's not just for kids. This display features young adult books published from the nineteen sixties to the current decade, as well as a few well-curated web sites. There is both nostalgia and an invitation to explore.

The 1990's

Chbosky, Stephen. The Perks of Being a Wallflower.
Gallery Books, 1999.
Call #: Dunwoody PS3553.H3469 P47 2012
A haunting coming of age novel told in a series of letters to an unknown correspondent reveals the life of Charlie, a freshman in high school who is a wallflower, shy and introspective, and very intelligent. It's a story of what it's like to grow up in high school, tracing a course through uncharted territory in the world of first dates, family dramas and new friends.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Cisneros, Sandra. Woman Hollering Creek and Other Stories.
Vintage Books, 1992.
Call #: PS3553.I78 W66 1992
From the author of the widely acclaimed The House on Mango Street comes a story collection of breathtaking range and authority, whose characters give voice to the vibrant and varied life on both sides of the Mexican border. The women in these stories offer tales of pure discovery, filled with moments of infinite and intimate wisdom.
http://books.google.com

Draper, Sharon M. Tears of a Tiger.
Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 1994.
Call #: Newton PZ7.D78325 Te 1994
The death of high school basketball star Rob Washington in an automobile accident affects the lives of his close friend Andy, who was driving the car, and many others in the school.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Ortiz, Judith. An Island like You: Stories of the Barrio.
Puffin Books, 1996.
Call #: Augusta State University JUV PZ7.O765 Is 1996
Twelve stories about young people caught between their Puerto Rican heritage and their American surroundings.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Pullman, Philip. The Golden Compass.
Random House, 1996.
Call #: PR6066.U44 G65 1996
Accompanied by her daemon, Lyra Belacqua sets out to prevent her best friend and other kidnapped children from becoming the subject of gruesome experiments in the Far North.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Rowling, J.K. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone.
A.A. Levine Books, 1997.
Call #: PR6068.O93 H37 2008
Rescued from the outrageous neglect of his aunt and uncle, a young boy with a great destiny proves his worth while attending Hogwarts School for Wizards and Witches.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

   

Back to the top of the page.

The 2000's

Abdel-Fattah, Randa. Does my Head Look Big in This?
Orchard Books, 2005.
Call #: tlanta Juv. PZ7.A15892 Doe 2007
Year Eleven at an exclusive prep school in the suburbs of Melbourne, Australia, would be tough enough, but it is further complicated for Amal when she decides to wear the hijab, the Muslim head scarf, full-time as a badge of her faith--without losing her identity or sense of style.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Alexie, Sherman. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian.
Little, Brown, 2007.
Call #: Atlanta Juv. PZ7.A382 Ab 2007
Budding cartoonist Junior leaves his troubled school on the Spokane Indian Reservation to attend an all-white farm town school where the only other Indian is the school mascot.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Bray, Libba. Going Bovine.
Delacorte Press, 2009.
Call #: PS3602.R3954 G65 2009
n an attempt to find a cure after being diagnosed with Creutzfeldt-Jakob's (aka mad cow) disease, Cameron Smith, a disaffected sixteen-year-old boy, sets off on a road trip with a death-obsessed video gaming dwarf he meets in the hospital.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Cohn, Rachel and David Levithan. Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist.
Knopf, 2006.
Call #: Dunwoody PS3603.O387 N53 2008
High school student Nick O'Leary, member of a rock band, meets college-bound Norah Silverberg and asks her to be his girlfriend for five minutes in order to avoid his ex-sweetheart.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Collins, Suzanne. Catching Fire.
Scholastic Press, 2009.
Call #: PS3603.O4558 C38 2009
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Green, John. An Abundance of Katherines. .
Dutton Books, 2006.
Call #: PS3607.R432928 A28 2006
When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton's type is girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact. On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun -- but no Katherines.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Green, John. Looking for Alaska: A Novel.
Dutton Children's Books, 2005.
Call #: PS3607.R432928 L66 2005
Sixteen-year-old Miles' first year at Culver Creek Preparatory School in Alabama includes good friends and great pranks, but is defined by the search for answers about life and death after a fatal car crash.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

Luen, Gene and Yang Lark Pien. American Born Chinese.
Square Fish, 2009.
Call #: Atlanta PN6727.Y36 A54 2009
Alternates three interrelated stories about the problems of young Chinese Americans trying to participate in the popular culture.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Myers, Walter Dean. 145th Street: Stort Stories.
Dell Laurel-Leaf, 2001.
Call #: PS3563.Y48 A623 2001
A salty, wrenchingly honest collection of stories set on one block of 145th Street. We get to know the oldest resident; the cop on the beat; fine Peaches and her girl, Squeezie; Monkeyman; and Benny, a fighter on the way to a knockout. We meet Angela, who starts having prophetic dreams after her father is killed; Kitty, whose love for Mack pulls him back from the brink; and Big Joe, who wants a bang-up funeral while he's still around to enjoy it. Some of these stories are private, and some are the ones behind the headlines. In each one, characters jump off the page and pull readers right into the mix on 1-4-5.
http://books.google.com

Myers, Walter Dean. Dope Sick.
Amistad, 2009.
Call #: PS3563.Y48 D67 2009
Seeing no way out of his difficult life in Harlem, seventeen-year-old Jeremy "Lil J" Dance flees into a house after a drug deal goes awry and meets a weird man who shows different turning points in Lil J's life when he could have made better choices.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

   

Myers, Walter Dean. Riot.
Ergmont USA, 2009.
Call #: PS3563.Y48 R56 2009
During a long hot July in 1863, the worst race riots the United States has ever seen erupt in New York City. Earlier that year, desperate for more Union soldiers, President Abraham Lincoln instituted a draft–a draft that would allow the wealthy to escape serving in the army by paying a $300 waiver, more than a year’s income for the recent immigrant Irish. And on July 11, as the first drawing takes place in Lower Manhattan, the city of New York explodes in rage and fire.
http://books.google.com

Myers, Walter Dean and Christopher Myers.. Autobiography of my Dead Brother.
Source
Call #: Amistad, 2005.
Jesse uses his sketchbook and comic strips to make sense of his home in Harlem and the loss of a close friendship.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Peters, Julie Anne. Rage: A Love Story.
Alfred A. Knopf, 2009.
Call #: PS3566.E75535 R34 2010
t the end of high school, Johanna finally begins dating the girl she has loved from afar, but Reeve is as much trouble as she claims to be as she and her twin brother damage Johanna's self-esteem, friendships, and already precarious relationship with her sister.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Selznick, Brian. The Invention of Hugo Cabret: A Novel in Words and Pictures.
Scholastic Press, 2007.
Call #: PS3569.E586 I58 2007
When twelve-year-old Hugo, an orphan living and repairing clocks within the walls of a Paris train station in 1931, meets a mysterious toyseller and his goddaughter, his undercover life and his biggest secret are jeopardized.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

2010 and Beyond

Alire, Benjamin Saenz. Aristotle and Dante Discover Secrets of the Universe.
Simon & Schuster, 2012.
Call #: PS3569.A27 A75 2012
Fifteen-year-old Ari Mendoza is an angry loner with a brother in prison, but when he meets Dante and they become friends, Ari starts to ask questions about himself, his parents, and his family that he has never asked before.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Allende, Isabel. Maya's Notebook: A Novel.
Harper, 2013.
Call #: PQ8098.1.L54 C8313 2013
After the death of her beloved grandfather, nineteen-year-old Maya Vidal, turning to drugs, alcohol, and petty crimes, becomes trapped in a war between assassins, the police, the FBI, and Interpol, until her grandmother helps her escape to the remote island of Chiloé, off coast of Chile where she tries to make sense of her life.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Allende, Isabel. Ripper: A Novel.
Harper, 2014.
Call #: PQ8098.1.L54 D4713 2014
A fast-paced mystery involving a brilliant teenage sleuth who must unmask a serial killer in San Francisco through Ripper, the online mystery game she plays with her beloved grandfather and friends around the world.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Boles, Philana Marie. Glitz.
Viking, 2011.
Call # PS3602.O653 G65 2011
Sixteen-year-old orphan Ann Michelle runs away from her grandmother's house in Toledo, Ohio, with a new friend who is intent on seeking her own fame while the teenagers follow a hip-hop musician to New York City.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Brown Jennifer Hate List.
Litle Brown and Company, 2010.
Call # PS3602 .R6985 H38 2010
Sixteen-year-old Valerie, whose boyfriend Nick committed a school shooting at the end of their junior year, struggles to cope with integrating herself back into high school life, unsure herself whether she was a hero or a villain.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Carlton-Trujillo, E. E. Fat Angie.
Candlewick Press, 2013.
Call # PS3603.H3767 F38 2014
Fat Angie's sister was captured in Iraq, she's the resident laughingstock at school, and her therapist tells her to count instead of eat. Can a daring new girl in her life really change anything?
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Chibbaro, Julie and Jean-Marc Suerville Sovak. Deadly.
theneum Books for Young Readers, 2011.
Call #: PS3603.H543 D43 2011
n the early nineteen-hundreds, sixteen-year-old Prudence Galewski leaves school to take a job assisting the head epidemiologist at New York's Department of Health and Sanitation, investigating the intriguing case of "Typhoid Mary," a seemingly healthy woman who is infecting others with typhoid fever.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

   

Back to the top of the page.

Danforth, Emily M. The Miseducation of Cameron Post.
Balzer + Bray, 2012.
Call #: PS3604.A5234 M57 2013
n the early 1990s, when gay teenager Cameron Post rebels against her conservative Montana ranch town and her family decides she needs to change her ways, she is sent to a gay conversion therapy.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Dashner, James. The Scorch Trials.
Delacorte Press, 2010.
Call #: PS3604.A83 S46 2010
After surviving horrific conditions in the Maze, Thomas is entrapped, along with nineteen other boys, in a scientific experiment designed to observe their responses and gather data believed to be essential for the survival of the human race.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Horner, Emily. A Love Story Starring my Dead Best Friend.
Dial Books, 2010.
Call #: PS3608.O764 L68 2010
Cass tries to sort out her feelings of love, seventeen-year-old Cass, a spunky math genius with an introverted streak, finds a way to memorialize her dead best friend.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Katcher, Brian. Almost Perfect.
Delacorte Press, 2010.
Call #: PS3611.A7884 A5 2010
With his mother working long hours and in pain from a romantic break-up, eighteen-year-old Logan feels alone and unloved until a zany new student arrives at his small-town Missouri high school, keeping a big secret.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Keplinger, Kody. The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend: A Novel.
Poppy, 2010.
Call # PS3611.E695 D84 2011
Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper starts sleeping with Wesley Rush, a notorious womanizer who disgusts her, in order to distract her from her personal problems, and to her surprise, the two of them find they have a lot in common and are able to help each other find more productive ways to deal with their difficulties.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Lewis, John, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell. March: Book One.
Top Shelf Productions, 2013.
Call # E840.8.L43 A3 2013
This graphic novel is Congressman John Lewis' first-hand account of his lifelong struggle for civil and human rights, meditating in the modern age on the distance traveled since the days of Jim Crow and segregation.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Lo, Malinda Ash.
Little, Brown and Co., 2010.
Call # PS3612.O22 A84 2009
n this variation on the Cinderella story, Ash grows up believing in the fairy realm that the king and his philosophers have sought to suppress, until one day she must choose between a handsome fairy cursed to love her and the King's Huntress whom she loves.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

   

Back to the top of the page.

Lockhart, E. We Were Liars.
Delacorte Press, 2014.
Call #: PS3560.E4835 W4 2014
A beautiful and distinguished family. A private island. A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy. A group of four friends -- the Liars -- whose friendship turns destructive.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Medina, Meg. Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick your Ass.
Candlewick Press, 2013.
Call # PS3613.E338 Y37 2013
One morning before school, some girl tells Piddy Sanchez that Yaqui Delgado hates her and wants to kick her ass. Piddy doesn't even know who Yaqui is, never mind what she's done to piss her off. Word is that Yaqui thinks Piddy is stuck-up, shakes her stuff when she walks, and isn't Latin enough with her white skin, good grades, and no accent. And Yaqui isn't kidding around, so Piddy better watch her back.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Myracle, Lauren. Shine.
Amulet Books, 2011.
Call #: PS3613.Y73 S55 2011
When her best friend falls victim to a vicious hate crime, sixteen-year-old Cat sets out to discover the culprits in her small North Carolina town.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Nelson, Jandy. I'll Give you the Sun.
Dial Books, 2014.
Call # PS3614.E44573 I45 2014
A story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal told from different points in time, and in separate voices, by artists Jude and her twin brother Noah
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Palacio, R. J. Wonder.
Alfred A. Knopf, Inc., 2012.
Call #: PS3616.A33864 W66 2012
August Pullman was born with a facial deformity that, up until now, prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid -- but his classmates can't get past Auggie's extraordinary face.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Perez, Ashley Hope. Out of Darkness.
Carolrhoda Lab, 2015.
Call #: Atlanta Juv. PZ7.P4255 Ou 2015
Naomi Vargas and Wash Fuller know about the lines in East Texas as well as anyone. They know the signs that mark them. They know the people who enforce them. But sometimes the attraction between two people is so powerful it breaks through even the most entrenched color lines. And the consequences can be explosive.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Peters, Julie Anne. By the Time you Read this, I'll be Dead.
Hperion, 2010.
Call #: PS3566.E75535 B93 2010
High school student Daelyn Rice, who's been bullied throughout her school career and has more than once attempted suicide, again makes plans to kill herself, in spite of the persistent attempts of an unusual boy to draw her out.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

Reynolds, Jason. As Brave as You.
Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 2016.
Call #: PS3618.E9753 A8 2016
When two brothers decide to prove how brave they are, everything backfires--literally.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Riggs, Randsom, John J. McGurk, and Doogie Horner. Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.
Quirk Books, 2011.
Call #: PS3618.I3985 M57 2011
After a family tragedy, Jacob feels compelled to explore an abandoned orphanage on an island off the coast of Wales, discovering disturbing facts about the children who were kept there.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Schmidt, Gary D. Okay for Now.
Clarion Books, 2011.
Call #: PS3569.C51548 O33 2011
As a fourteen-year-old who just moved to a new town, with no friends, an abusive father, and a louse for an older brother, Doug Swieteck has all the stats stacked against him until he finds an ally in Lil Spicer--a fiery young lady.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Smith, Andrew. Grasshopper Jungle: A History.
Dutton Books, 2014.
Call #: PS3619.M543 G73 2014
Austin Szerba narrates the end of humanity as he and his best friend Robby accidentally unleash an army of giant, unstoppable bugs and uncover the secrets of a decades-old experiment gone terribly wrong.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Taylor, Liani. Days of Blood & Starlight.
Little, Brown and Company, 2012.
Call #: PS3620 .A956 D39 2012
The otherworldly Karou struggles to come to terms with who and what she is, and how far she'll go to avenge her people.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Thomas, Angie. The Hate U. Give.
HarperCollins, 2017.
Call #: PS3620.H62463 H38 2017
ixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Wilson, G. Willow. Alif the Unseen.
Grove Press, 2012.
Call #:PS3623.I584 A75 2012
In an unnamed Middle Eastern security state, a young Arab-Indian hacker shields his clients, dissidents, outlaws, Islamists, and other watched groups, from surveillance and tries to stay out of trouble. Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.