Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Immigration

Immigration: Manuscript Collections

Refugee Women's Network Records, 1989-2012 (W096)
Refugee Women's Network is a national nonprofit organization created by women for women in 1995, that focuses on enhancing refugee and immigrant women's strengths, skills, and courage through leadership training, education and advocacy. Its records, 1989-2012, consist of correspondence, minutes, printed material, financial records, artifacts, textiles, photographs, and sound and audiovisual recordings

Immigration: Oral Histories

Atlanta South Asian Oral History Project Collection, 2017 (Y018)

Immigrant Oral History Project Collection, 1995-1997 (Y014)
The Immigrant Oral History Collection consists of student-conducted oral histories produced as part of Chris Lutz's History classes between 1995-1997. The collection contains 11 oral histories.

In Whose Heart is a Highway: The Buford Highway Oral History Project
In Whose Hearts is a Highway: The Buford Highway Oral History Project is a multi-year initiative of the community-building organization We Love BuHi that aims to document first-person accounts from immigrants, refugees, and their descendants who have lived or worked along the Buford Highway Corridor from 1950 to the present. The mission of the project is to foster a strong and inclusive sense of Buford Highway’s community heritage and identities, a more comprehensive understanding of the past, and an inventory of current needs, challenges, and strengths to generate a shared vision for future change and development in the Buford Highway area. Interviews are permanently housed in Georgia State University Library's Special Collections and Archives Department.

Amy Ray, April 13, 2011 (W071)
Amy Ray was born in Decatur, Georgia in 1964. She graduated from Emory University in 1986. She had a passion for music and began performing with friend Emily Saliers as a teenager. The pair later formed the Indigo Girls. As a singer-songwriter, Ray also pursues a solo career, releasing albums under her own name, and has founded a record company, Daemon Records. She supports grassroots activist causes, in particular those relating to the environment, human rights and women’s issues.

Leola Reis, September 19, 2008 (W071)
Leola Reis began her work for Planned Parenthood of Georgia as a clinic counselor and a liaison for judicial bypass (1995-1997). She then became Planned Parenthood of Georgia's Coordinator for Marketing, Communications, and Policy (1997), Vice President for Marketing and Communications (2000), and eventually Vice President for External Affairs.

Leola Reis, November 25, 2008 (W071)

David Ross, (W071)
Attorney David Ross served on the board of directors of Planned Parenthood of Atlanta from 1987-1990, was board chair from 1991-1992, and went on to serve the Planned Parenthood Federation of America from 1993-1994. Ross played a significant role in establishing a corps of local attorneys representing young women who were seeking judicial bypass after the passage of Georgia's parental notification law.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory