Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Contraception

Contraception: Manuscript Collections

Archdiocese of Atlanta Pro-Life Newsletter Collection, 1977-1993 (W046)
In September 2001, the Special Collections Department of Georgia State University's Library accepted the Catholic Archdiocese of Atlanta's offer of this collection of newsletters reflecting the anti-abortion and pro-life beliefs of some Americans, including Georgians and other Southerners. The collection includes newsletters (1977-1993) produced by state organizations (Florida, Georgia, Minnesota, New York, Ohio and Pennsylvania ) as well as national organizations (including Americans United for Life, National Right to Life Committee, Stop Planned Parenthood, and Feminists for Life of America) and individuals.

Nancy N. Boothe Papers, 1980-2009 (W079)
The Nancy N. Boothe papers, 1980-2009 [bulk 1990-1997], are composed of articles, notes, reports and a wide variety of feminist publications. Much of the material documents the U.N. Fourth World Conference on Women, which Ms. Boothe attended as Executive Director of Atlanta's Feminist Women's Health Center. Artifacts, artwork and textiles relate to the conference and to other women's and health issues.

Georgians for Choice Records, 1974-2008 (W078)
Formed in 1986, Georgians for Choice brought together a number of women's organizations in an effort to greater impact the protection and expansion of women's reproductive freedom in Georgia. The records consist of correspondence and printed material, as well as minutes and agendas, financial records, legal records, photographs, audio-visual records, and artifacts including textiles, that document the legislative, organizational, advocacy, and educational work of the organization.

Beth Judy Collection of Girl Vigilante Records,1989-1992; undated (W087)
The Girl Vigilantes were an anonymous group of political activists (men and women) in Atlanta, Georgia, who used images and action to draw attention to reproductive rights and other social issues. They specialized in public statements, usually visual, that combined powerful imagery, wit, and surprise.

NARAL Pro-Choice Georgia Records,1964; 1973-2006 (W072)
Incorporated in 1980 as the Georgia Abortion Rights Action League (GARAL), NARAL Pro-Choice Georgia was the Georgia affiliate of the National Abortion Rights Action League (NARAL). Its records, 1964, 1980-2006, document the direction and administration of the organization, its involvement in the political process in the state, the projects and programs it undertook to further its mission, and materials it gathered regarding reproductive health and rights, activism in Georgia, and political issues.

Planned Parenthood of Alabama and Mississippi Records (W144) IN PROCESS: Please contact the archivist for access

Planned Parenthood of East Central Georgia Records, 1965-2005 (bulk 1970-1999) (W156) IN PROCESS: Please contact the archivist for access
Planned Parenthood of East Central Georgia was founded in Augusta, Georgia, in October of 1968 as Augusta Area Planned Parenthood
Associates, Inc. providing family planning services and education. The Augusta based organization's records, 1965-2005 (bulk 1970-1999),
reflect its administration, mission, projects, and daily operations of the facility.

Planned Parenthood Southeast Records, 1955-2011 (Bulk 1972-2008) (W084)
Founded in 1964, Planned Parenthood Southeast provides voluntary family planning services and education. The Atlanta-based organization's records, 1955-2011 (bulk 1972-2008), reflect its administration, projects, daily operations, and engagement with legislative issues, as well as that of its predecessors, Planned Parenthood of the Atlanta Area and Planned Parenthood of Georgia.

Leola Reis Papers, 1997-2013 (W175) IN PROCESS: Please contact the archivist for access
the Leola Reis Papers are comprised of articles, marketing materials, and correspondence. Much of the material refers to Reis' marketing position at Panned Parenthood of Georgia / Southeast. Additional materials refer to Reis' volunteer work with multiple organizations relating to reproductive rights and sex education.

Judy Tabb Papers, 1981-2008 (W157) IN PROCESS: Please contact the archivist for access

Elaine Taylor Klaus Papers, 1989-2007 (W154)  IN PROCESS: Please contact the archivist for access
Elaine Taylor-Klais served on the NYC Commission on the Status of Women, the Planned Parenthood Federation of America, and the Governor’s Council for Maternal and Infant Health for the state of Georgia. She also founded one of the largest independent PACs in Georgia, Vote Choice. The Elaine Taylor-Klaus papers consist of correspondence, phone logs, meeting agendas, minutes, artifacts, videos and printed materials.

 

Contraception: Oral Histories

Nancy Boothe (W071)
As Executive Director of the Atlanta Feminist Women's Health Center, Nancy N. Boothe presented internationally, promoting positive women's health policy. She has commented that the "degree of violence perpetuated against women worldwide is limited only by that which their government refuses to tolerate and when the community says "no more."

Leola Reis (W071)
Leola Reis began her work for Planned Parenthood of Georgia as a clinic counselor and a liaison for judicial bypass (1995-1997). She then became Planned Parenthood of Georgia's Coordinator for Marketing, Communications, and Policy (1997), Vice President for Marketing and Communications (2000), and eventually Vice President for External Affairs.

Kay Scott (W071)
Kay Scott attended Mercy Hospital School of Nursing and worked in healthcare as early as age 15. Scott worked in a women’s health clinic in a Model Cities project in Texas and attended the UCLA School of Medicine before starting at Planned Parenthood in Austin, Texas in 1976. She moved to Atlanta in 1980 where she worked as CEO of  Planned Parenthood Southeast until 2012.

Judith Taylor (W071)
The daughter-in-law of Planned Parenthood Atlanta's founder, Ether Taylor, Judith Taylor helped to found Vote Choice, a Georgia PAC. She was also a founding mother of the Atlanta Women’s Foundation. the first woman to serve as Vice President of the Planning and Allocation Division of the United Way of Metropolitan Atlanta, and the second woman Vice President of its Community and Government Relations Division.

Elaine Taylor-Klaus (W071)
Elaine Taylor-Klaus served on the NYC Commission on the Status of Women, the Planned Parenthood Federation of America, and the Governor’s Council for Maternal and Infant Health for the state of Georgia. One of Taylor-Klaus’ most notable acts for the Pro- Choice movement was her creation of one of the largest independent PACs in Georgia, Vote Choice.

 

Contraception: Periodicals

Women's Printed Collections: Periodicals

  • AACE Newsletter (Atlanta, GA: Activating Awareness for Choice and Equality)
  • Abortion Access Project News (Cambridge, MA: The Abortion Access Project)
  • Abortion Access Project. HAC News (Cambridge MA: Abortion Access Project), circa 2004
  • Abortion Trends (Lakewood, CA: W/W Communications)
  • The Advocate / Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention Coalition of North Carolina
  • The APAC Activist / Atlanta Pro-Choice Action Committee (Atlanta, GA: APAC)
  • Atlanta Pro-Choice Action Committee Update (Atlanta, GA: Atlanta Pro-Choice Action Committee)
  • The Body Politic: Monthly Pro-choice News Report (London: Hutchinson & Co.)
  • Choice: Keeping Abortion Safe, Legal and Accessible (Washington, D.C.: National Abortion Federation)
  • Choice Notes: A Publication of Physicians for Reproductive Choice and Health (New York, N.Y.: Physicians for Reproductive Choice and Health)
  • Choice Words (Atlanta, GA: Republicans for Choice)
  • Clergy Voices: The Newsletter of the Planned Parenthood Federation of America Clergy Advisory Board. (Washington, D.C.: Planned Parenthood Federation of America, Inc.)
  • Collective Voices (Atlanta, GA: SisterSong Women of Color Reproductive Health Collective)
  • Conceptions (Atlanta, GA: Planned Parenthood of the Atlanta Area)
  • Conscience (Washington, D.C.: Catholics for a Free Choice)
  • Conscience: a Publication Dedicated to Reproductive Freedom for Women (Saratoga Springs, NY: Adirondack Religious Coalition for Choice)
  • Defining Issues: An In-Depth Look at Organizing Tools and Public Policy Issues at Home and Around the World / Planned Parenthood
    Federation of America
    (Washington, D.C.: Public Policy Division, Planned Parenthood Federation of America, Inc.)
  • Dispatch (Washington, D.C.: Religious Coalition for Abortion Rights)
  • Faith & Choices (Washington, D.C.: Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice)
  • Faith and Health (Atlanta, GA: Emory University. Interfaith Health Program)
  • Family Planning Perspectives (New York: Alan Guttmacher Institute, etc.)
  • The Fight for Reproductive Freedom: A Newsletter for Student Activists (Amherst, MA: Civil Liberties and Public Policy Program
    at Hampshire College)
  • GARAL News (Decatur, GA: Georgia Abortion Rights Action League)
  • GARAL's Choice News (Atlanta, GA: Georgia Abortion and Reproductive Rights Action League)
  • G-CAPP News (Atlanta, GA: Georgia Campaign for Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention)
  • Georgians for Choice Newsletter (Atlanta, GA: Georgians for Choice)
  • Georgians for Choice Report (Atlanta, GA: Georgians for Choice)
  • Guttmacher Policy Review (New York, N.Y.: Guttmacher Institute)
  • Gwinnett Citizens for Choice (Duluth, GA: Gwinnett Citizens for Choice)
  • Health and Sexuality (Washington, D.C.: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals)
  • Illuminata: Newsletter for the Clergy for Choice Network (Washington, D.C.: Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice)
  • The Insider (Atlanta, GA: Planned Parenthood of Georgia, Inc.)
  • The Insider (Atlanta, GA: Planned Parenthood Southeast, Inc.)
  • The Institute for Reproductive Health Access: [Newsletter] (New York, NY: Institute for Reproductive Health Access)
  • International Society of Abortion Doctors. Focus on Abortion: The Official Bulletin of the International Society of Abortion Doctors
    (ISAD)
    (Castricum, Netherlands: International Society of Abortion Doctors)
  • Kentucky Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice. Voice for Choice: Newsletter of the Kentucky Religious Coalition for
    Reproductive Choice
    (Louisville, KY: Kentucky Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice)
  • Low Income Americans and Reproductive Health Care: Newsletter of the Low-Income Access Project of the Institute for Reproductive
    Health
    (New York, NY: Institute for Reproductive Health Access)
  • Missouri Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice. Update / Missouri Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice (St. Louis,
    MO: Missouri Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice)
  • Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report. (Atlanta, GA: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Centers for
    Disease Control)
  • Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report. CDC Surveillance Summaries (Atlanta, GA: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services,
    Public Health Service, Centers for Disease Control)
  • The MSFC Update: The Newsletter of Medical Students for Choice (Washington, DC: Medical Students for Choice)
  • NAF Reports: A Newsletter to Help You Stay Informed (Washington, D.C.: National Abortion Federation)
  • NARAL Campus Newsletter (Washington, DC : NARAL Campus Organizing Project)
  • NARAL Pro-Choice California Newsletter (San Francisco, CA: NARAL Pro-Choice California)
  • NARAL Pro-Choice Minnesota. Pro-Choice Minnesota News (Saint Paul, MN: NARAL Pro-Choice Minnesota)
  • National Center for the Pro Choice Majority. The Pro Choice Report (Hightstown, NJ: The National Center)
  • National Network of Abortion Funds. NNAF (Amherst, MA: National Network of Abortion Funds)
  • National Right to Life News: Official Publication of the National Right to Life Committee, Inc. (Washington, D.C.: The Committee)
  • New Mexico Right to Choose News (Albuquerque, NM: New Mexico Right to Choose / NARAL)
  • NNAF / National Network of Abortion Funds (Amhurst, MA : National Network of Abortion Funds)
  • Ohio Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice. Update (Columbus, OH: Ohio Religious Coalition for Reproductive
    Choice)
  • Oklahoma's Religious Voice for Choice (Tulsa, OK: Oklahoma Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice)
  • On Fertile Ground / Feminist Women's Health Center (Atlanta, GA: Feminist Women's Health Center)
  • Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health (New York, NY: Alan Guttmacher Institute)
  • Planned Parenthood Review (New York, N.Y.: Planned Parenthood Federation of America)
  • Planned Parenthood Action Letter: A Weekly Report on Public Policy Issues in Washington, the States and the World (Washington,
    D.C.: Planned Parenthood Federation of America, Inc.)
  • Planned Parenthood of Georgia, Inc. Impact (Atlanta, GA: Planned Parenthood of Georgia, Inc.)
  • Pro-Choice / Westchester Coalition for Legal Abortion (White Plains, N.Y.: ProChoice Resource Center of the Westchester Coalition for Legal Abortion)
  • ProChoice Idea (Mamaroneck, N.Y.: ProChoice Resource Center)
  • Pro-life Newsletter (Atlanta, GA: Archdiocese of Atlanta, Pro Life Office)
  • Providing Early Options (Washington, D.C.: National Abortion Federation)
  • Public Affairs Action Letter / Planned Parenthood Federation of America, Inc. Public Affairs Division (Washington, D.C.: Public
    Affairs Division)
  • Religious Coalition for Abortion Rights Newsletter (Washington, D.C.: The Coalition)
  • Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice of Massachusetts. Keeping the Faith for Choice (Brookline, MA: Religious Coalition
    for Reproductive Choice of MA)
  • Reproductive Freedom News (New York, N.Y.: The Center for Reproductive Law and Policy)
  • Reproductive Rights Update (New York, N.Y.: American Civil Librities Union / Reproductive Freedom Project)
  • Republicans For Choice. Choice Words (Atlanta, GA: Republicans for Choice)
  • Republicans For Choice: [Newsletter] (Washington, D.C.: Planned Parenthood Republicans for Choice)
  • Savannah Citizens for Choice [Newsletter] (Savannah, GA: Savannah Citizens for Choice)
  • Update / Atlanta Pro-Choice Action Committee (Atlanta, GA: APAC)
  • Update / Medical Students for Choice (Berkeley, CA: Medical Students for Choice)
  • Voice for Choice (New York, N.Y.). A Voice -- For Choice: Newsletter of the New York Metropolitan Religious Coalition for Abortion Rights (New York, NY: The Coalition)
  • Washington NARAL. Choice News (Seattle, WA: Washington NARAL and Washington NARAL Foundation)

Contraception: Pamphlets

Women's Printed Collections: Pamphlets

  • Committee on Women, Population and the Environment (Box C-1)
  • Condom use -- United States (Box C-1)
  • Contraceptives -- United States (Box C-2)
  • Emergency contraceptives -- United States (Box E-1)
  • Family planning -- Methods -- Handbooks (Box F-1)
  • Human reproductive technology -- Social aspects (Box H-1)
  • Pharmacists -- Attitudes -- Statistics (Box P/Q-1)
  • Reproductive health (Box R-1)
  • Reproductive rights (Box R-1)
  • Sex education -- Methods -- United States (Box S-1)
  • Sexually transmitted diseases (Box S-2)
  • Women -- Health and hygiene (Box W-2)

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory