Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Incarceration

Incarceration: Manuscript Collections

Millard Farmer papers, 1960-1995; 2001-2002 (Y002)
Attorney Millard Farmer has fought against the death penalty since the 1960s. His papers primarily comprise legal files and records, the papers include correspondence, photographs, sound recordings, and printed material such as reports, articles, and clippings. 

ForeverFamily Records, 1975-2016 (W120)
The non-profit agency Foreverfamily provides services and support to families and caregivers of children whose parents are incarcerated. Founded in Atlanta in 1987, the organization has agencies in Atlanta and Louisville, Kentucky. Its records, 1987-2009 [bulk, 2003-2009], primarily document the National Advisory Board that explored further expansion of the organization.

Andrew P. McElroy, Sr. Papers, 1884-1935 (l1980-02)

The collection, 1884-1935, Andrew P. McElroy, Sr., is composed of personal letters and clippings chronicling his work in the labor movement and his interest in and service to the inmates of the Atlanta Federal Penitentiary; a number of photographs of workmen, scenes of prison life, and other activities; labor and prison periodicals; and artifacts, specifically, stonemason tools and a variety of convention and parade badges.

American Federation of Government Employees, Local 1145 (Atlanta, GA). Records, 1930s-1970s (L1990-19)

The American Federation of Government Employees (AFGE) was founded in 1932 and is the largest union for federal employees, excluding military and postal. AFGE Local 1145 represents employees at the United States Penitentiary in Atlanta. It is located in regional District 5, and is part of the AFGE Council of Prison Locals.  American Federation of Government Employees, Local 1145 (Atlanta, Ga.) records consist of files and printed material from the term of local president Ralph D. Stancil, circa 1930s-1970s. The records include convention/conference information, membership information/pamphlets, legislative information & research, employee manuals, contracts & supplemental agreements, policy statements, meeting minutes, correspondence (National , member, Congress), grievances & adverse actions, reports, resolutions, elections, constitutions, bylaws, newsletters, and bulletins

 

Incarceration: Oral Histories

Sandra Barnhill, August 7, 2014 (W071)
Sandra Barnhill earned her BA in political science at Georgia State University (1982), and her J.D. at the University of Texas (1984). From 1983 to 1987, she served as a staff attorney for the Southern Prisoners’ Defense Committee. In this role, she represented indigent prisoners in class action challenges to prison conditions and in post-conviction challenges on capital convictions. During this time, Barnhill became frustrated by the lack of support given to imprisoned mothers and their families. In 1987, she founded Foreverfamily (originally named Aid to Imprisoned Mothers (AIM)), which is a nonprofit  Atlanta-based organization advocating for inmate parents and their children. In 2004, the Ford Foundation  recognized Barnhill for her outstanding leadership efforts.

Jeanne Cahill, December 1, 1995 (W008)
Norma Jeanne Taylor, civic activist and businesswoman, was born in Alma, Georgia in 1932. She graduated from Bacon County (GA) High School in 1949, and attended Berry College (Rome, GA), 1949-1951. She went on to attend Jacksonville Jr. and Massey Business Colleges in Jacksonville, Florida (graduating in 1953), and studied business law and elementary psychology at the University of Georgia, Waycross Center, 1957-1958. Jeanne married Al (William Alpheus) Cahill in 1959. She worked as Industrial News editor with the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, 1962-1965, and then with various family businesses until 1972, when she became president of Cahill Properties, Inc., a company specializing in land development and real estate. Appointed in 1972 to the Georgia Commission on the Status of Women, Cahill became chair in 1973, and in 1974 she became the Commission's first and only paid executive director. The position was funded for one year only. She was appointed to the White House Conference on Families in 1979, was a member of the Georgia Coordinating Committee for the Observance of International Women's Year, and was also a member of the board of directors of ERA Georgia, Inc. Active in Democratic politics, Cahill supported Jimmy Carter in both gubernatorial and presidential races and served as a delegate to the 1974 and 1978 Democratic National Conventions. In 1975-1976, she campaigned for a seat in the state House of Representatives, but was unsuccessful in her bid against incumbent Ken Nix. Founder and CEO of Advanced Fitness Systems, 1981-1994, Cahill was also president of the Buckhead Business Association, 1994, vice president of the Epilepsy Foundation of America, 1982-1994, and in 1995 was vice president of the Georgia Student Finance Commission. Cahill has been involved in many civic organizations, including the Georgia Federation of Women's Clubs, the Cobb County (GA) Symphony, N.W. Georgia Girl Scout Council and Leadership Atlanta.

Millard Farmer, March 9, 2012
Born in 1934, noted death penalty defense attorney Millard C. Farmer, Jr. grew up in Newnan, Georgia. A University of Georgia graduate (1956), he worked in the family business and attended Woodrow Wilson College of Law during the evenings. He was admitted to the Georgia Bar in 1967, built a successful practice in Newnan, and was a co-founder of the Bank of Coweta there. Farmer also represented disadvantaged clients, and came to question whether African American defendants could be tried fairly before all-white juries. By 1970, he and his associates were challenging jury composition on the grounds of race. In 1976, he co-founded the Team Defense Project (TDP) with social psychologist Courtney J. Mullin and Morris Dees of the Southern Poverty Law Center. TDP was dedicated to the representation of indigent persons in death penalty cases and enjoyed many high-profile successes in the 1970s and 1980s, notably the case of the “Dawson Five” in Dawson, Georgia. Most of Farmer and Team Defense Project’s work was intended to bring attention to the inequities in the way capital punishment is used, and many of TDP’s litigation strategies, such as jury composition challenges and motion filings it developed, have become widely adopted tactics. Farmer and his colleagues taught and lectured on these strategies to numerous legal groups and audiences. An acknowledged expert in capital cases, Farmer has also represented clients bringing racial discrimination suits. He has received numerous honors from legal and civil liberties advocacy organizations.

Millard Farmer, April 6, 2012

Millard Farmer, May 11, 2012

Millard Farmer, July 13, 2012

Millard Farmer, September 28, 2012

Millard Farmer, November 2, 2012

Incarceration: Periodicals

Women's Printed Collections: Periodicals

  • Georgia Parole Review (Atlanta, GA: State Board of Pardons and Paroles)
  • Interact!: A Human Rights Bulletin About Women Prisoners of
    Conscience (New York, N.Y.: Amnesty International USA),
  • New Beginnings (Decatur, GA: Prison Ministries with Women, Inc.)
  • Newsletter / National Network for Women in Prison (Pasadena, CA: Pacific Oaks CCIP)
  • Report on Parole (Atlanta, GA: State Board of Pardons and Paroles)
  • WLDF News (Washington, D.C.: Women's Legal Defense Fund)
  • The Women's Advocate: Newsletter of the National Center on Women and Family Law (New York: National Center on Women
    and Family Law, Inc.)

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory