Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Environment

Environment: Manuscript Collections

Ed Arnold Papers, 1976-2009 
Ed Arnold served as executive director of the Atlanta chapter of Physicians for Social Responsibility. His papers consist of office files, meetings minutes, conferences, workshops, campaign flyers, project information, audio and visual materials, periodicals, and artifacts documenting his environmentalism and antinuclear activism. (Y006)

Bobbie Wren Banks Papers

Sam Collier Papers, 1985-2008 
Sam Collier was a key member of the Sierra Club in the Southeast, working to protect the environment. The Sam Collier papers, 1985-2008, contain correspondence, reports and surveys, meetings and agendas, grant and funding proposals, and newspaper articles related to preserving the environment. (Y009)

Maria Helena Dolan Papers

Diana Eidson Papers 2010-2012 
Diana Eidson was Assistant Director of Lower Division Studies at Georgia State University’s English Department while working on her doctorate in Composition and Rhetoric. Her papers consist of printed material including flyers, protest chants, and booklets, and correspondence and notes, relating to social justice events such as Occupy Atlanta/Occupy GSU (Georgia State University) and Fair Food Justice. (Y004)

Georgia WAND Records

Joan O. King Papers 1975-2010 
Correspondence and printed material such as fact sheets and articles on the nuclear power industry. Much of the collection contains articles and letters written by Mrs. King, regarding the hazardous nature of the nuclear industry, including reactors, radioactive material, and nuclear repository sites such as Yucca Mountain. (Y003)

Betsy Rivard Papers,1990-2006 (W099)
Caroline (Betsy) Rivard is a political activist working on environment issues pertaining to nuclear materials. Her papers, 1990-2006, consist of articles, meeting agendas and notes, and printed reflecting Rivard's service as a board member of Women's Action for New Directions (WAND) and Women Legislators' Lobby (WiLL).

 

Environment: Oral Histories

Amy Ray, April 13, 2011 (W071)
Amy Ray was born in Decatur, Georgia in 1964. She graduated from Emory University in 1986. She had a passion for music and began performing with friend Emily Saliers as a teenager. The pair later formed the Indigo Girls. As a singer-songwriter, Ray also pursues a solo career, releasing albums under her own name, and has founded a record company, Daemon Records. She supports grassroots activist causes, in particular those relating to the environment, human rights and women’s issues.

Emily Saliers, September 26, 2011 (W071)
Emily Saliers was born in 1963 in New Haven, Connecticut.  She moved to Georgia at age 9, where her father Don Saliers became a professor of theology at Emory University.   She began her post-secondary education at Tulane University before transferring to Emory University, where she and Amy Ray formed the band The Indigo Girls in 1985.

Environment: Periodicals

Women's Printed Collections: Periodicals

  • As the South Goes -- : The Newsletter of Project South: Institute for the Elimination of Poverty & Genocide (Atlanta, GA: The Project)
  • Co/Motion Makers: Engaging Youth in Action for Social Change (Washington, D.C.: Alliance for Justice)
  • Feminists for Animal Rights (New York, N.Y.: Feminists for Animal Rights)
  • National Audubon Society. Population and Habitat Campaign.
  • Population and Habitat Update (Boulder, CO: Population & Habitat Campaign, National Audubon Society)
  • Political Environments: A Publication of the Committee on Women, Population, and the Environment (Amherst, MA: Committee on
    Women, Population, and the Environment)
  • WAND Atlanta Quarterly Newsletter (Dunwoody, GA: Women's Action for New Directions, Atlanta)
  • WAND Bulletin (Boston, MA: Women's Action for New Directions/ PAC)
  • WHY Connections (New York, N.Y.: World Hunger Year)

Environment: Pamphlets

Women's Printed Collections: Pamphlets

  • Atlanta WAND (Box A-1)

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory