Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Sexuality

Sexuality: Using the Collections

Some of the collections that document human sexuality include explicit materials. These materials are restricted. If you would like to access them, please contact the archivist.

Sexuality: Manuscript Collections

Franklin Abbott Papers, 1907-1910; 1933; 1942; 1950-2014 (Q108)
Franklin Abbott, who has practiced psychotherapy in Atlanta since 1979, is a writer, poet, artist, and gay activist. His papers include correspondence, writings and poetry, printed material, photographs, audio-visual recordings, and sound recordings that relate to Abbott's friendships and family, his creative works and his relationships with other artists, his exploration of spirituality, leadership in the Atlanta gay community, work as a psychotherapist, and activism.

Hugo Berston Papers, 1975-2008
The Hugo Berston papers consist of gay pin up calendars and catalogues, adult literature, advertisements, flyers and gay vacation planners and fans, 1975-2008. The papers include publications and ephemera related to many events organized by and for the gay community in Atlanta, Georgia, including Atlanta Pride Festivals.

Maria Helena Dolan Papers (Q134)

Asha Leong Papers, 1977-2019 (Q171)
Asha Leong is healer, coach and trainer focused on helping queer and trans people of color thrive. She is also an ordained earth-based healer with Awareness Insight Ministries, Inc., and has served various non-profit organizations dedicated to LGBTQ+ issues. In 2012, Leong founded the Sexual Liberation Collective for people who are passionate about healing and sexual liberation. She also serves on the Faculty for the Sex Track at Creating Change. Through her practice, Dreaming Desires, Leong helps queer and trans people of color heal from trauma, create relationships, life plan, name their desires, build queer family and manifest their personal vision of sexual liberation into the world.

Leather Lifestyle Erotica, 1952-1990; undated
The Leather Lifestyle Erotica is comprised of photographs, film, artwork and monographs depicting gay sexuality and in particular, the leather lifestyle. Artists include Tom of Finalnad, Arnell, Quaintance, Luger, and Larry Townsend.

Asha Leong Papers

Sexuality: Oral Histories

June Dobbs Butts, January 29, 2016 (W071)
Therapist and family counselor June Dobbs Butts was born on June 11, 1928 in Atlanta, Georgia. She is the youngest daughter of Irene and John Wesley Dobbs, one of Atlanta's most prominent African American leaders before the Civil Rights Movement. Butts is also the aunt of the late Honorable Maynard Jackson, Atlanta's first black mayor. Butts received her B.A. degree in sociology from Spelman College in 1948, setting a national education record -- six sisters graduating from the same college. That same summer, Butts worked with her close friend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Then, in the fall of 1948, she entered the Teacher's College of Columbia University in New York City, where she received her Ed.D. degree in family life education. Butts' professional career began in 1950 as a professor in the psychology department at Fisk University. She went on to work at Tennessee State University, Howard University College of Medicine and Meharry Medical College, where she was also a researcher. While serving on the Board of Directors of Planned Parenthood in the 1970s, Butts met famed sex researchers Masters and Johnson, who invited her to join their staff at the Reproductive Biology Research Foundation (later called Masters and Johnson Institute) in St. Louis, Missouri. There, Butts became the first African American to be trained as a sex therapist by Masters and Johnson. She later served as a visiting scientist at the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) in Atlanta. Butts resides in Atlanta. She is the mother of three children (one deceased), and one granddaughter (Biographical note adapted from The History Makers website).

Cole
Cole talks about her experiences in the BDSM community.

Chanel Haley, interviewed by Ashley Coleman Taylor, November 13, 2017
Chanel Haley is a transgender woman who serves as Georgia Equality’s transgender inclusion organizer.

Tracee McDaniel, interviewed by Ashley Coleman Taylor, December 14, 2017
Author, Tracee McDaniel, is the CEO and Founder of Juxtaposed Center in Atlanta, Georgia. After many years working as an entertainer, McDaniel became involved in LGBTQ activism - particularly focused on trans homelessness. She was invited to serve on Mayor Kasim Reed's Citizen Review Board.

Jessica McQuain, March 2, 2019
McQuain discusses her bisexuality and feminism. She was interviewed for the Women'sMarch Oral Hsitory Project.

Charles H. Stephens
Stephens talks about his own experiences with sex as an aging man with cancer.

 

Sexuality: Periodicals

The Gender and Sexuality Periodical Collection includes a substantial number of newspapers, magazines and serials that deal with human sexuality. Those that include explicit content are restricted. If you would like to access them, please contact the archivist.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880

Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory