Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: LGBTQ Youth

LGBTQ+ Youth: Manuscript Collections

Maria Helena Dolan Papers (Q134)
Maria Helena Dolan is an activist, author and columnist. She helped to expand Atlanta's Pride March during the 1970s, and received national recognition for her "Defiant Dyke" speech at Atlanta's 1978 Anita Bryant protest. Her papers include newspaper clippings, reports, publications, textiles and artifacts, and they thoroughly document LGBTQ+ history locally, nationally and internationally.

NARAL Pro-Choice Georgia Records,1964; 1973-2006 (W072)
Incorporated in 1980 as the Georgia Abortion Rights Action League (GARAL), NARAL Pro-Choice Georgia was the Georgia affiliate of the National Abortion Rights Action League (NARAL). Its records, 1964, 1980-2006, document the direction and administration of the organization, its involvement in the political process in the state, the projects and programs it undertook to further its mission, and materials it gathered regarding reproductive health and rights, activism in Georgia, and political issues.

Planned Parenthood Southeast Records, 1955-2011 (Bulk 1972-2008) (W084)

Founded in 1964, Planned Parenthood Southeast provides voluntary family planning services and education. The Atlanta-based organization's records, 1955-2011 (bulk 1972-2008), reflect its administration, projects, daily operations, and engagement with legislative issues, as well as that of its predecessors, Planned Parenthood of the Atlanta Area and Planned Parenthood of Georgia.

LGBTQ+ Youth: Oral Histories

Andrew Wood, June 24, 2014 (Q101)
Born in Atlanta in 1962, Andrew Wood is a graphic designer and gay activist. The son of two doctors, Wood attended public schools in Dekalb County and worked in public radio. When he moved to San Francisco to attend art school in 1980, he joined the thriving  organization, the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence - a charitable group of gay activists who dressed in nuns habits and performed street theater. While in San Francisco, Wood experienced the AIDS epidemic which caused him to return to Atlanta. After the Democratic National Convention in 1988, he and a handful of fellow protesters started an Atlanta Chapter of ACT/UP, in an effort to bring attention to the plight of AIDS sufferers. Wood moved to New Orleans in 1990 and stayed there until 2004 when he returned to Atlanta.

Andrew Wood, August 19, 2014 (Q101)

LGBTQ+ Youth: Periodicals

Gender and Sexuality Periodicals

  • PFLAGpole (Washington, DC), Winter; Spring 2000; Winter 2004

Women's Printed Collections: Periodicals

  • Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays, Atlanta Chapter [PFLAG: Newsletter] (Atlanta, GA: PFLAG), 1998
  • YouthPride (organization). Outloud: A Newsletter for the Friends of YouthPride (Decatur, GA: YouthPride), 2004

 

 

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory