Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Child and Maternal Health

Child and Maternal Health: Manuscript Collections

Archdiocese of Atlanta Pro-Life Newsletter Collection, 1977-1993 (W046)
In September 2001, the Special Collections Department of Georgia State University's Library accepted the Catholic Archdiocese of Atlanta's offer of this collection of newsletters reflecting the anti-abortion and pro-life beliefs of some Americans, including Georgians and other Southerners. The collection includes newsletters (1977-1993) produced by state organizations (Florida, Georgia, Minnesota, New York, Ohio and Pennsylvania ) as well as national organizations (including Americans United for Life, National Right to Life Committee, Stop Planned Parenthood, and Feminists for Life of America) and individuals.

Nancy N. Boothe Papers, 1980-2009 (W079)
The Nancy N. Boothe papers, 1980-2009 [bulk 1990-1997], are composed of articles, notes, reports and a wide variety of feminist publications. Much of the material documents the U.N. Fourth World Conference on Women, which Ms. Boothe attended as Executive Director of Atlanta's Feminist Women's Health Center. Artifacts, artwork and textiles relate to the conference and to other women's and health issues.

Committee on Women, Population and the Environment Depo Diaries Records, 1999-2008 (W114)
Formed in 2001, the Committee on Women, Population, and the Environment is a multi-racial alliance of feminist community organizers, scholarly activists, and health practitioners committed to promoting the social and economic empowerment of women in a context of global peace and justice; and to eliminating poverty. The collection consists of correspondence, minutes, and printed materials pertaining to the organization and activities of the Depo Diaries, a national storytelling project documenting the contraceptive Depo-Provera.

Georgians for Choice Records, 1974-2008 (W078)
Formed in 1986, Georgians for Choice brought together a number of women's organizations in an effort to greater impact the protection and expansion of women's reproductive freedom in Georgia. The records consist of correspondence and printed material, as well as minutes and agendas, financial records, legal records, photographs, audio-visual records, and artifacts including textiles, that document the legislative, organizational, advocacy, and educational work of the organization.

Beth Judy Collection of Girl Vigilante Records,1989-1992; undated (W087)
The Girl Vigilantes were an anonymous group of political activists (men and women) in Atlanta, Georgia, who used images and action to draw attention to reproductive rights and other social issues. They specialized in public statements, usually visual, that combined powerful imagery, wit, and surprise.

NARAL Pro-Choice Georgia Records,1964; 1973-2006 (W072)
Incorporated in 1980 as the Georgia Abortion Rights Action League (GARAL), NARAL Pro-Choice Georgia was the Georgia affiliate of the National Abortion Rights Action League (NARAL). Its records, 1964, 1980-2006, document the direction and administration of the organization, its involvement in the political process in the state, the projects and programs it undertook to further its mission, and materials it gathered regarding reproductive health and rights, activism in Georgia, and political issues.

Planned Parenthood of Alabama and Mississippi Records (W144) IN PROCESS: Please contact the archivist for access

Planned Parenthood of East Central Georgia Records, 1965-2005 (bulk 1970-1999) (W156) IN PROCESS: Please contact the archivist for access
Planned Parenthood of East Central Georgia was founded in Augusta, Georgia, in October of 1968 as Augusta Area Planned Parenthood
Associates, Inc. providing family planning services and education. The Augusta based organization's records, 1965-2005 (bulk 1970-1999),
reflect its administration, mission, projects, and daily operations of the facility.

Planned Parenthood Southeast Records, 1955-2011 (Bulk 1972-2008) (W084)
Founded in 1964, Planned Parenthood Southeast provides voluntary family planning services and education. The Atlanta-based organization's records, 1955-2011 (bulk 1972-2008), reflect its administration, projects, daily operations, and engagement with legislative issues, as well as that of its predecessors, Planned Parenthood of the Atlanta Area and Planned Parenthood of Georgia.

Leola Reis Papers, 1997-2013 (W175) IN PROCESS: Please contact the archivist for access
the Leola Reis Papers are comprised of articles, marketing materials, and correspondence. Much of the material refers to Reis' marketing position at Panned Parenthood of Georgia / Southeast. Additional materials refer to Reis' volunteer work with multiple organizations relating to reproductive rights and sex education.

Judy Tabb Papers, 1981-2008 (W157) IN PROCESS: Please contact the archivist for access

Elaine Taylor Klaus Papers, 1989-2007 (W154)  IN PROCESS: Please contact the archivist for access
Elaine Taylor-Klais served on the NYC Commission on the Status of Women, the Planned Parenthood Federation of America, and the Governor’s Council for Maternal and Infant Health for the state of Georgia. She also founded one of the largest independent PACs in Georgia, Vote Choice. The Elaine Taylor-Klaus papers consist of correspondence, phone logs, meeting agendas, minutes, artifacts, videos and printed materials.

Child and Maternal Health: Oral Histories

Elaine Taylor-Klaus (W071)
Elaine Taylor-Klaus served on the NYC Commission on the Status of Women, the Planned Parenthood Federation of America, and the Governor’s Council for Maternal and Infant Health for the state of Georgia. One of Taylor-Klaus’ most notable acts for the Pro- Choice movement was her creation of one of the largest independent PACs in Georgia, Vote Choice.

Child and Maternal Health: Periodicals


 

Child and Maternal Health: Pamphlets

Women's Printed Collections: Pamphlets

  • Motherhood (Box M-1)
  • Parenting--United States--Handbooks, manuals, etc. (Box P/Q-1)

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory