Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Mental Health

Mental Health: Manuscript Collections

Franklin Abbott Papers 1960-2010 (Q108)
Franklin Abbott, who has practiced psychotherapy in Atlanta since 1979, is a writer, poet, artist, and gay activist. His papers, 1907-1910, 1933, 1942, 1950-2014 [bulk, 1960-2010], include correspondence, writings and poetry, printed material, photographs, audio-visual recordings, and sound recordings that relate to Abbott's friendships and family, his creative works and his relationships with other artists, his exploration of spirituality, leadership in the Atlanta gay community, work as a psychotherapist, and activism.

Maria Helena Dolan Papers

Mental Health: Oral Histories

Franklin Abbott, September 30, 2011 (Q101)
Franklin Abbott was both in 1950 in Birmingham, Alabama and raised in Buffalo, New York and Nashville, Tennessee. He attended Mercer College in Macon County in the 1960s, and later attended graduate school where he qualified as a therapist. For decades, Abbott has been associated with the Radical Fairies adn Gay Spirit Visions, both spiritual gay men’s groups. In addition to serving the community through spiritual practices and therapy, he is a writer and co-founder of the Atlanta Queer Literary Festival. Abbott's books include Boyhood: Growing Up Male, Men and Intimacy: Personal Accounts, and Pink Zinnia: Poems and Stories. Abbott continues both his literary work and therapy practice.

June Dobbs Butts, January 29, 2016 (W071)
Therapist and family counselor June Dobbs Butts was born on June 11, 1928 in Atlanta, Georgia. She is the youngest daughter of Irene and John Wesley Dobbs, one of Atlanta's most prominent African American leaders before the Civil Rights Movement. Butts is also the aunt of the late Honorable Maynard Jackson, Atlanta's first black mayor. Butts received her B.A. degree in sociology from Spelman College in 1948, setting a national education record -- six sisters graduating from the same college. That same summer, Butts worked with her close friend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Then, in the fall of 1948, she entered the Teacher's College of Columbia University in New York City, where she received her Ed.D. degree in family life education. Butts' professional career began in 1950 as a professor in the psychology department at Fisk University. She went on to work at Tennessee State University, Howard University College of Medicine and Meharry Medical College, where she was also a researcher. While serving on the Board of Directors of Planned Parenthood in the 1970s, Butts met famed sex researchers Masters and Johnson, who invited her to join their staff at the Reproductive Biology Research Foundation (later called Masters and Johnson Institute) in St. Louis, Missouri. There, Butts became the first African American to be trained as a sex therapist by Masters and Johnson. She later served as a visiting scientist at the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) in Atlanta. Butts resides in Atlanta. She is the mother of three children (one deceased), and one granddaughter (Biographical note adapted from The History Makers website).

Lynn Carrigan, November 7, 2014 (W071)

Karuna Counseling Oral History Project
Established in 1974, the original mission of Karuna Counseling was to provide high quality, compassionate care for women. Over the years the practice has grown, developed and expanded its focus, and it now provides holistic psychotherapy services to men, women, adolescents, families, couples, businesses, and organizations in the Atlanta, Georgia area.

Gus Kaufman (Q101)
Gus B. Kaufman, Jr., Ph.D. is a clinical psychologist who has practiced at An Open Space for twenty years. He has co-founded five non-profit organizations, including Men Stopping Violence, and published many chapters and articles.

Susan Levy

Sarah Lopez, September 5, 2014 (Q101)
Sarah Lopez, Ph.D. is a bilingual psychologist in clinical practice in Atlanta since 1982. Her ongoing commitment extends beyond the office to include social/cultural issues that create and maintain suffering such as injustice, violence, and oppression. An early responder to the mental health needs of the AIDS epidemic, she has co-facilitated a weekly pro bono HIV/AIDS therapy group for 21 years.

Mental Health: Periodicals

Mental Health: Pamphlets

Mental Health: Digital Collections

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory