Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Sexual Discrimination

Sexual Discrimination: Manuscript Collections

LGBTQ Institute's Jim Allen Papers, 1956-2015 (Q149)
The LGBTQ Institute's Jim Allen papers, 1956-2016 (bulk 1989-1993), includes articles, clippings, correspondence, flyers, petitions, and protest ephemera and photographs of the many protests ACT UP organized in Atlanta. The materials relate to the many challenges posed to people with HIV during the height of the AIDS crisis.

Lynn Hesse Papers, 1985; 2011 (W104)
Lynn Hesse is a former policewoman of DeKalb County, Georgia, as well as a playwright, dancer and short story author. The collection primarily documents the sex discrimination case of plaintiff Marsha Cofield, police officer, in 1985 against DeKalb County Government, but also includes some of Hesse's artistic works and her biography and resume.

Maria Helena Dolan Papers (Q134)

Carl Owens Collection on Cracker Barrel Records, 1991-2002 (Q129)
Carl Owens was a social worker and member of Queer Nation who lived in Atlanta, Georgia. He began the "Buy One" campaign as a response to Cracker Barrel's policy that was discriminatory against its LGBT employees. The "Buy One" campaign was an effort urging gays, lesbians, and friends of LGBT to buy a single share of Cracker Barrel stock, creating pressure on management to be transparent about its policies towards gay and lesbian employees, thus stopping the discrimination.

9to5 Atlanta Working Women Records, 1972-2009 (L2005-08)
The records, 1972-2009 (bulk 1984-2006), of non-profit organization 9to5 Atlanta Working Women consist primarily of correspondence, grant and funding proposals, meeting minutes and agendas, surveys and reports, membership records, campaign and project materials, photographs, reference files, and audio-visual material. The collection documents the major campaigns and activities of 9to5 while also detailing the day to day functioning of a major non-profit organization. The collection contains an assortment of reference/statistics files, including news clippings, reports and surveys, factsheets, pamphlets, booklets, legislative documents, and organizational resources related to non-profits and social organizing as well as major campaigns and legislation. Although the collection documents primarily the work of and interactions between the national board and Atlanta 9to5, the collection also includes administrative and campaign files from other state chapters.

Sexual Discrimination: Oral Histories

Eleanor Babcock, April 19, 2004 (W008)
Eleanor Hope Crisler Babcock, born in 1931 in Atlanta, Georgia, has worked as a homemaker, substitute teacher, mortgage loan counselor, and insurance claims clerical supervisor. In addition to membership in various women's rights organizations, she has been an active member of the Georgia Conservancy, the Georgia Harmony Barbershop Chorus, and the United Methodist Church. Active throughout the late 1970s and early 1980s in Georgia People of Faith for ERA, Housewives for ERA (HERA), the Georgia chapter of NOW, and ERA Georgia, Inc., Babcock also lobbied Georgia legislators and marched in Washington, D.C. in support of the Equal Rights Amendment. She recounts her attempts to get a credit card in her own name, and the lengths she had to go to in order to do so.Babcock has written a book, Yellow Topaz: A Historical Memoir,  about her own life experiences.

Lynn Hesse, September 23, 2010 (W071)
Lynn Hesse is a former policewoman of Dekalb County, Georgia, as well as a playwright, dancer, and short story author. Born in 1951 in Chanute, Kansas, she moved with her parents to the Buckhead area of Atlanta when she was a pre-teenager. After reading The Feminist Mystique by Betty Friedan at the approximate age of 15, she self-identified as a feminist. Hesse graduated through Clayton County Academy and went to work for Georgia State University as a police officer (post-certified) in circa 1977, and subsequently became a DeKalb County police officer, rising through the ranks of Master Officer and Field Training Officer to Sergeant. During her tenure as a Dekalb County Police Officer, she was denied her application for promotional testing and her compensation for arrests was diverted to other male officers. She and several other female officers were equally discriminated against. When a class action suit could not be organized, policewoman Marsha Cofield filed an individual law suit, in which Lynne Hesse was actively involved. Cofield won her case. Following her law enforcement career, Hesse has focused on her artistic pursuits which include dance and writing. In 1996, she was graduated (cum laude) in Dance from Georgia State University. She has created an "oral history performed in dance," and play she wrote, based on her own short story, was staged at Emory's Schwartz Center.

Lynn Hesse, February 2, 2012 (W071)

Sexual Discrimination: Periodicals

Women's Printed Collections: Periodicals

  • Sex Discrimination in Education Newsletter (Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan, Department of Psychology), 1975-1976 (Box S-2)

Sexual Discrimination: Pamphlets

Women's Printed Collection: Pamphlets

  • Directories -- Anti-Discrimination agencies -- U.S (Box D-1)
  • Discrimination in consumer credit -- Law and legislation -- U.S. (Box D-2)
  • Discrimination in employment--Law and legislation--U.S. (Box D-2)
  • Discrimination in employment--U.S. (Box D-2)
  • Education - see also Sexual discrimination against women--Law and legislation (Box E-1)
  • Equal Employment Opportunity Commission--U.S. (Box E-1)
  • Equal Opportunity (Box E-1)
  • Equal pay for equal work--Law and legislation--United States (Box E-1)
  • Equal pay for equal work--Washington (State) (Box E-1)
  • Joint ownership of personal property--United States (Box J/K-1)
  • Marital property reform (Box M-1)
  • Married women--Legal status, laws, etc.--U.S.--Georgia (Box M-1)
  • Sex differences in education (Box S-1)
  • Sex discrimination against women--Education (Box S-1)
  • Sex discrimination against women--Higher education (Box S-1)
  • Sex discrimination against women--Trade unions (Box S-1)
  • Sex discrimination against women--Law and legislation (Box S-1)
  • Sex discrimination in consumer credit (Box S-1)
  • Sex discrimination in employment (Box S-1)
  • Sex discrimination in insurance--United States (Box S-1)
  • Sexism--Great Britain (Box S-2)
  • Sexism--United States (Box S-2)
  • Sexism in educational tests (Box S-2)
  • Sexual division of labor (Box S-2)
  • Surveys--Women--U.S. (Box S-2)
  • Women--Employment (Box W-1)
  • Women--Employment--Developing countries (Box W-1)
  • Women--Employment--United States--Statistics (Box W-1)
  • Women--Legal status, laws, etc. (Box W-2)
  • Women's rights (Box W-6)
  • Women's rights--Great Britain (Box W-6)

Sexual Discrimination: Digital Collections

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880

Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory