Special Collections and Archives Public Health Subject Guide: Aging

Margery R. "Jerry" Downey Papers, 1975-2001 (W055)
Margery R. Downey was involved with ERA Georgia during the 1970s and 1980s and has been a long-time member of the League of Women Voters in Montclaire, N.J. and in Savannah, Georgia. The papers consist of files relating to the League of Women Voters of Georgia, the Older Women's League (National and Metro Atlanta), efforts to pass the Equal Rights Amendment in Georgia, and various other women's issues -- in particular women and aging.

Charlee C.Lambert Papers 1955-2013 (W140)
Born in Madison County, Florida, Charlee Collins Lambert started her career as a playwright, director and advocate for the elderly at age 62. For two decades, her production company produced her plays nationally, promoted the education of professionals and the public about elder abuse, domestic violence, and the changing shape of families, and promoted dialogue about the realities of these complex issues. Much of her writing style included inviting the audience to participate in role-play, and she would write the plays based on these invented scenarios. Some of her commissions included AT&T, Legal Aid, the Medical Ethic Committee at Emory University, and the Office of Aging in Georgia; when performed, all of her plays were accompanied by a post-performance discussion with the audience. She was the co-founder of Georgia’s Council on Elderly Abuse and Neglect and managed its Victim Assistance Line through the Atlanta Legal Aid Society. She served as an expert witness in elder abuse cases, as a consultant on elder abuse, and was on the Board of Advisors for the Fuqua Center for Late Life Depression. She passed away in 2015, aged 92.

Charlee Lambert, January 20, 2013 (W071)
Born in Madison County, Florida, Charlee Collins Lambert started her career as a playwright, director and advocate for the elderly at age 62. For two decades, her production company produced her plays nationally, promoted the education of professionals and the public about elder abuse, domestic violence, and the changing shape of families, and promoted dialogue about the realities of these complex issues. Much of her writing style included inviting the audience to participate in role-play, and she would write the plays based on these invented scenarios. Some of her commissions included AT&T, Legal Aid, the Medical Ethic Committee at Emory University, and the Office of Aging in Georgia; when performed, all of her plays were accompanied by a post-performance discussion with the audience. She was the co-founder of Georgia’s Council on Elderly Abuse and Neglect and managed its Victim Assistance Line through the Atlanta Legal Aid Society. She served as an expert witness in elder abuse cases, as a consultant on elder abuse, and was on the Board of Advisors for the Fuqua Center for Late Life Depression. She passed away in 2015, aged 92.

Charlee Lambert, May 11, 2013 (W071)

Women's Printed Collections: Periodicals

• Alliance for Displaced Homemakers: Newsletter (Oakland, CA: Alliance for Displaced Homemakers), 1975
• Crone Chronicles (Kelly, WY : Crone Chronicles), 1993
• Elder Abuse Report (Worcester, MA: University Center on Aging, University of Massachusetts Medical Center), 1986
• The Owl Observer: The Voice of Mid-life and Older Women (Washington, DC: Older Women's League), 1991
• The Owl Observer: The Voice of Mid-life and Older Women (Washington, DC: Older Women's League), 1999; 2001
• Sage (Atlanta, GA: Sage Women's Educational Press), 1984-1995
• Women & Aging Letter / National Policy and Resource Center on Women and Aging (Waltham, MA: Editorial Office, Heller School, Brandeis University), 1996

Women's Printed Collections: Pamphlets

• Aged Women (Box A-1)
• Older women--Health and hygiene--Great Britain (Box O-1)
• Older Women's League (Box O-1)
• Widowhood (Box W-1)
• Women--Pensions--United States (Box W-3)
• Women--Retirement--United States (Box W-3)

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory