Skip to main content

ProCon Ebooks -- Handout Guide: National Issues

This is the new home of eight, pages of links to ebooks to provide background for argument and ProCon paprs.

Pro Con Resources National Political and Social Issues

Where to Go

Back to the ProCon Rseources Welcome page.

Other Pro-Con Pages

Pro-Con Sources for International Issues

Pro-Con Sources All Around the World

Pro-Con Sources for Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration

Pro-Con Sources for Family, Gender, and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Criminal Justice

Pro-Con Sources for Health, Life Sciences, and Agriculture

Pro-Con Sources for Energy, Technology, and Computers

Sources for Books

GILFind: the library catalog.

Ebook Central, the library's biggest ebook database.

EBooks on EBSCOHost and Academic EBooks on EBSCOHost S

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete: General and scholarly magazine and journal articles on every imaginable subject.

CQ Electronic Library: Reports provide depth for current events issues.

JSTOR
: Scholarly, full-text, humanities and social science (includes history and religion) articles.

ProQuest News and Newspapers: Your source for newspaper articles.

And Don't Forget...

Clarkston Library Content or...

Handouts 4 U: handouts for you!

Selected Pro/Con Sources -- National Issues

If you need information, a starting place, or background for a pro-con/argument or persuasive speech and if you are interested in an national social and political topics, try one of the books below or search for information in the numerous databases listed in the sidebar. These books are nearly all electronic and just a click away to any student, faculty, or staff who is logged into the library via iCollege or the library's own page. There are also some open access titles available through OApen and InTechOpen. Sources here are also as current as possible.

American Politics and Government
10% Less Democracy: Why You Should Trust Elites a Little More and the Masses a Little Less Ebook Central
The American Congress: a Reference Handbook Ebook Central
American Government Project Muse
The American Political Party System: a Reference Handbook Ebook Central
Arguing with Socialists Ebook Central
Donald Trump and American Populism Ebook Central
Drawing the Vote: An Illustrated Guide to Voting in America Ebook Central
The Firsts: The Inside Story of the Women Reshaping Congress Ebook Central
Good Reasons to Run: Women and Political Candidacy Ebook Central
The Hardest Job in the World: The American Presidency Ebook Central


American Politics and Government Continued
Hidden History of the Supreme Court and the Betrayal of America O'Reilly Higher Education
How We Vote: Innovation in American Elections Ebook Central
Ideas and Movements that Shaped America: From the Bill of Rights to "Occupy Wall Street" ABC-Clio
In Defense of Public Service O'Reilly Higher Education
Inside the Mind of a Voter: A New Approach to Electoral Psychology Ebook Central
Mitch, Please! How Mitch Mcconnell Sold Out Kentucky (and America, Too) Ebook Central
The Presidential Image: A History from Theodore Roosevelt to Donald Trump Ebook Central
Rigged: America, Russia, and One Hundred Years of Covert Electoral Interference Ebook Central
Surviving Autocracy Ebook Central
Use the Power You Have: A Brown Woman’s Guide to Politics and Political Change Ebook Central
Why Do We Still Have the Electoral College? Ebook Central


Gun Control
The Gun Debate: What Everyone Needs to Know Ebook Central
Hidden History of Guns and the Second Amendment O'Reilly Higher Education


Opioid Crisis, Marijuana Legalization, and the War on Drugs
Marijuana Federalism: Uncle Sam and Mary Jane Ebook Central
Pills, Powder, and Smoke: Inside the Bloody War on Drugs Ebook Central


Abortion
Abortion in the United States: a Reference Handbook Ebook Central
Abortion Wars: The Fight for Reproductive Rights Ebook Central
A Critical Introduction to the Ethics of Abortion: Understanding he Moral Arguments Ebook Central
In Search of Common Ground on Abortion: From Culture War to Reproductive Justice Ebook Central
Reproductive Justice: An Introduction Ebook Central
Tiny You: A Western History of the Anti-Abortion Movement Ebook Central


Other General Social Issues
Evangelical America: an Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Religious Culture Ebook Central
Free Speech and Censorship: Examining the Facts Ebook Central
The Man in the Dog Park: Coming Up Close to Homelessness Project Muse
Multicultural America : A Multimedia Encyclopedia EBSCOHost eBook Collection
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture Ebook Central
Oxford Handbook of U.S. Social Policy EBSCOHost eBook Collection
The Perilous Public Square: Structural Threats to Free Expression Today Ebook Central
The Power Worshippers: Inside the Dangerous Rise of Religious Nationalism Ebook Central
Rap on Trial: Race, Lyrics, and Guilt in America Ebook Central
We the People: Portraits of Veterans in America Ebook Central
Winning the Green New Deal: Why We Must, How We Can Ebook Central


Poverty, Minimum Wage, and Universal Basic Income
The Case for Universal Basic Income Ebook Central
The Economics of Belonging: A Radical Plan to Win Back the Left Behind and Achieve Prosperity for All Ebook Central
Poverty and Welfare in America: Examining the Facts Ebook Central
Poverty in the United States: A Documentary and Reference Guide EBSCOHost eBook Collection


Work and Working Conditions
Despotism on Demand: How Power Operates in the Flexible Workplace Project Muse
Empire’s Labor: The Global Army That Supports U.S. Wars Project Muse
Ghost Work: How Amazon, Google, and Uber Are Creating a New Global Underclass Ebook Central
Precarious Claims: The Promise and Failure of Workplace Protections in the United States OApen
Same Players, Different Game : An Examination of the Commercial College Athletics Industry Ebook Central
Well-Being and Mental Health in the Gig Economy: Policy Perspectives on Precarity JSTOR


Future of Work
The 21st Century at Work: Forces Shaping the Future Workforce and Workplace in the United States JSTOR
The Digital Economy Ebook Central
The Future of Work: Robots, AI, and Automation Ebook Central
The Globotics Upheaval : Globalization, Robotics, and the Future of Work Ebook Central
The Innovation Ultimatum : How Six Strategic Technologies Will Reshape Every Business in The 2020s Ebook Central
Our Working Future Ebook Central
Rise of the Robots: Technology and the Threat of a Jobless Future Ebook Central


Other Work and Money
Golden Gates: Fighting for Housing in America EBSCOHost eBook Collection
The Hidden History of Monopolies O'Reilly Higher Education
Inequality and Opportunity: The Relationship Between Income Inequality and Intergenerational Transmission of Income JSTOR
Lessons from the Titans: What Companies in the New Economy Can Learn from the Great Industrial Giants to Drive Sustainable Success O'Reilly Higher Education
Making of a Democratic Economy O'Reilly Higher Education
Manufacturing Decline: How Racism and the Conservative Movement Crush the American Rust Belt Ebook Central
No Filter : The Inside Story of Instagram Ebook Central
Sears in Chicago: A Century of Memories Ebook Central
The System: Who Rigged It, How We Fix It Ebook Central
Ultimate Price: The Value We Place on Life Ebook Central
Why are Artists Poor: The Exceptional Economy of the Arts OApen
Women's Work: Stories from Pioneering Women Shaping Our Workforce Ebook Central
The Youth Unemployment Crisis: A Reference Handbook EBSCOHost eBook Collection


Political Polarization and Impeachment
The Art of Political Storytelling: Why Stories Win Votes in Post-Truth Politics Ebook Central
Disagreeing Agreeably : Issue Debates with a Primer on Political Disagreement Ebook Central
Don't Burn This Book: Thinking for Yourself in an Age of Unreason Ebook Central
Election Meltdown: Dirty Tricks, Distrust, and the Threat to American Democracy Ebook Central
Federal Impeachment Process: A Constitutional and Historical Analysis Ebook Central
Hidden History of the War on Voting O'Reilly Higher Education
Impeach: The Case Against Donald Trump Ebook Central
Impeachment: A Handbook, New Edition Ebook Central
Impeachment: What Everyone Needs to Know Ebook Central
The Manipulators: Facebook, Google, Twitter, and Big Tech's War on Conservatives Ebook Central
Money in American Politics: an Encyclopedia Ebook Central
The New Student Activists: The Rise of Neoactivism on College Campuses Ebook Central
Primal Screams: How the Sexual Revolution Created Identity Politicss EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
The Three Languages of Politics: Talking Across The Political Divides EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
True Crimes and Misdemeanors: The Investigation of Donald Trump Ebook Central
Unprecedented: A Simple Guide to the Crimes of the Trump Campaign and Presidency Ebook Central
Vexed: Ethics Beyond Political Tribes Ebook Central
We Own the Future: Democratic Socialism—American Style Ebook Central


Press Freedom and Fake News
Are Filter Bubbles Real Ebook Central
Bad News: Why We Fall for Fake News Ebook Central
The Dark Side of Social Media Ebook Central
Detecting Fake News on Social Media Ebook Central
Encyclopedia of Journalism EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Facebook, the Media and Democracy: Big Tech, Small State? Ebook Central
Journalism: Why It Matters Ebook Central
Reality Lost: Markets of Attention, Misinformation and Manipulation Springer Link
Words That Matter : How the News and Social Media Shaped the 2016 Presidential Campaign Ebook Central


Education -- K-12
Homeschooling: The History and Philosophy of a Controversial Practice Ebook Central
If Einstein Ran the Schools: Revitalizing U. S. Education Ebook Central
Reopening K-12 Schools During the COVID-19 Pandemic National Academies Press


Economic and Social Aspects of Higher Education
Being a Presence for Students: Teaching as a Lived Defense of Liberal Education OApen
Campus Counterspaces: Black and Latinx Students' Search for Community at Historically White Universities Ebook Central
The Case against Education O'Reilly Higher Education
The College Dropout Scandal Ebook Central
The College Stress Test: Tracking Institutional Futures Across a Crowded Market Ebook Central
Food Insecurity on Campus: Action and Intervention Ebook Central
The Gig Academy: Mapping Labor in the Neoliberal University Ebook Central
The Impoverishment of the American College Student : The Impoverishment of the American Student Ebook Central


Future of Higher Education
The 160-Character Solution: How Text Messaging and Other Behavioral Strategies Can Improve Education Project Muse
Academia Next: The Futures of Higher Education Ebook Central
Alternative Universities: Speculative Design for Innovation in Higher Education Ebook Central
The Disruptive Power of Online Education: Challenges, Opportunities, Responses EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
The Fifth Wave: The Evolution of American Higher Education Ebook Central
Higher Education in 2040: A Global Approach JSTOR
Learning Online: The Student Experience Project Muse
Open: The Philosophy and Practices that are Revolutionizing Education and Science OApen
Social Media in Higher Education: Case Studies, Reflections and Analysis OApen
Two Cheers for Higher Education: Why American Universities Are Stronger Than Ever--And How to Meet the Challenges They Face Ebook Central