Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ProCon Ebooks -- Handout Guide: Race

This is the new home of eight, pages of links to ebooks to provide background for argument and ProCon paprs.

Pro Con Sources Race and Ethnicity Issues

Where to Go

Back to the ProCon Rseources Welcome page.

Other Pro-Con Pages

Pro-Con Sources for International Issues

Pro-Con Sources All Around the World

Pro-Con Sources for National Political and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Work and Money Issues

Pro-Con Education Sources

Pro-Con Sources for Family, Gender, and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Criminal Justice

Pro-Con Sources for Health and Medicine

Pro-Con Sources for Biology, Agriculture, Food, and Nutrition

Pro-Con Sources for Energy, Technology, and Computers

Sources for Books

GILFind: the library catalog.

Ebook Central, the library's biggest ebook database.

EBooks on EBSCOHost and Academic EBooks on EBSCOHost S

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete: General and scholarly magazine and journal articles on every imaginable subject.

CQ Electronic Library: Reports provide depth for current events issues.

JSTOR
: Scholarly, full-text, humanities and social science (includes history and religion) articles.

ProQuest News and Newspapers: Your source for newspaper articles.

And Don't Forget...

Clarkston Library Content or...

Handouts 4 U: handouts for you!

Selected Pro/Con Sources -- Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration

If you need information, a starting place, or background for a pro-con/argument or persuasive speech and if you are interested in a topic dealing with race, ethnicity, or immigration, try one of the books below or search for information in the numerous databases listed in the sidebar. These books are nearly all electronic and just a click away to any student, faculty, or staff who is logged into the library via iCollege or the library's own page. There are also some open access titles available through OApen and InTechOpen. Sources here are also as current as possible.



Race in the United States
America in Denial: How Race-Fair Policies Reinforce Racial Inequality in America Ebook Central
Asian American Society : An Encyclopedia EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Black in America: The Paradox of the Color Line Ebook Central
Black Privilege: Modern Middle-Class Blacks with Credentials and Cash to Spend Ebook Central
The Business of Race: How to Create and Sustain an Antiracist Workplace—And Why it’s Actually Good for Business O'Reilly Higher Education
Citizen Brown: Race, Democracy, and Inequality in the St. Louis Suburbs Ebook Central
Environmental Racism in the United States and Canada: Seeking Justice and Sustainability Ebook Central
Getting Smart About Race: An American Conversation EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Inclusive Conversations O'Reilly Higher Education
It's Time to Talk about Race at Work : Every Leader's Guide to Making Progress on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Ebook Central
Indigenous Environmental Justice Ebook Central
The New Noir : Race, Identity, and Diaspora in Black Suburbia Ebook Central
Nice Racism: How Progressive White People Perpetuate Racial Harm Ebook Central
No Common Ground: Confederate Monuments and the Ongoing Fight for Racial Justice Ebook Central


Race in the United States Continued
On Account of Race: The Supreme Court, White Supremacy, and the Ravaging of African American Voting Rights Ebook Central
One Drop: Shifting the Lens on Race Ebook Central
Prison Land: Mapping Carceral Power Across Neoliberal America Ebook Central
Prisoners of Politics: Breaking the Cycle of Mass Incarceration Ebook Central
Racial Stasis: The Millennial Generation and the Stagnation of Racial Attitudes in American Politics EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Racism in America: A Reader Ebook Central
Racism in America: a Reference Handbook Ebook Central
The Sisters Are Alright O'Reilly Higher Education
The Sum of Us: What Racism Costs Everyone and How We Can Prosper Together Ebook Central
Understanding Diversity: An Introduction Ebook Central
White Privilege Ebook Central
White Privilege Unmasked : How to Be Part of the Solution Ebook Central
Why Race Still Matters Ebook Central


Immigration -- The Southern Border
Baby Jails: The Fight to End the Incarceration of Refugee Children in America Ebook Central
Border Policing: A History of Enforcement and Evasion in North America Ebook Central
Border Towns and Border Crossings: a History of the U. S. -Mexico Divide Ebook Central
Caging Borders and Carceral States: Incarcerations, Immigration Detentions, and Resistance Ebook Central
Crisis on the Border : An Eyewitness Account of Illegal Aliens, Violent Crime, and Cartels Ebook Central
Divided by the Wall : Progressive and Conservative Immigration Politics at the U. S. -Mexico Border Ebook Central
Divided Peoples: Policy, Activism, and Indigenous Identities on the U. S. -Mexico Border Ebook Central
Love in the Drug War: Selling Sex and Finding Jesus on the Mexico-US Border Ebook Central
On the Border: Portraits of America's Southwestern Frontier Ebook Central
The River and the Wall Ebook Central

Immigration -- Refugees and Assylum
America's Arab Refugees: Vulnerability and Health on the Margins Ebook Central
Race-ing Fargo: Refugees, Citizenship, and the Transformation of Small Cities Ebook Central
Refugees in America: Stories of Courage, Resilience, and Hope in Their Own Words Ebook Central
Somalis in the Twin Cities and Columbus: Immigrant Incorporation in New Destinations JSTOR

Immigration -- Other Issues
Abolish ICE: The Case for Abolition Ebook Central
Blaming Immigrants: Nationalism and the Economics of Global Movement EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Border Brokers: Children of Mexican Immigrants Navigating U. S. Society, Laws, and Politics Ebook Central
Borders of Belonging: Struggle and Solidarity in Mixed-Status Immigrant Families Ebook Central
Court of Injustice: Law Without Recognition in U. S. Immigration Ebook Central
The Criminalization of Immigration: Truth, Lies, Tragedy, and Consequences Ebook Central
Deconstructed: An Insider's View of Illegal Immigration and the Building Trades Ebook Central
Demystifying Shariah: What It Is, How It Works, and Why It's Not Taking over Our Country Ebook Central
Immigrant California : Understanding the Past, Present, and Future of U. S. Policy Ebook Central
Migrating to Prison: America’s Obsession with Locking Up Immigrants Ebook Central
Permeable Borders: History, Theory, Policy, and Practice in the United States Ebook Central
Protect, Serve, and Deport: The Rise of Policing as Immigration Enforcement JSTOR
The Undocumented Americans Ebook Central


White Supremacy, Hate Groups, and the Alt. Right
Against Hate Ebook Central
Charlottesville: White Supremacy, Populism, and Resistance Ebook Central
Confessions of a Free Speech Lawyer: Charlottesville and the Politics of Hate Project Muse
The Far Right Today Ebook Central
Hate Groups and Extremist Organizations in America : An Encyclopedia Ebook Central
Hate Inc.: Why Today’s Media Makes Us Despise One Another Ebook Central
Identity Politics in the United States Ebook Central
Islamophobic Hate Crime: A Student Textbook Ebook Central
Islamophobia: History, Context and Deconstruction Sage Knowledge
It Can Happen Here: White Power and the Rising Threat of Genocide in the US Ebook Central
The Ku Klux Klan in the Heartland Ebook Central
Religious Intolerance in America Ebook Central