Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ProCon Ebooks -- Handout Guide: Work and Money

This is the new home of eight, pages of links to ebooks to provide background for argument and ProCon paprs.

Pro Con Work and Money Issues

Where to Go

Back to the ProCon Rseources Welcome page.

Other Pro-Con Pages

Pro-Con Sources for International Issues

Pro-Con Sources All Around the World

Pro-Con Sources for National Political and Social Issues

Pro-Con Education Sources

Pro-Con Sources for Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration

Pro-Con Sources for Family, Gender, and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Criminal Justice

Pro-Con Sources for Health and Medicine

Pro-Con Sources for Biology, Agriculture, Food, and Nutrition

Pro-Con Sources for Energy, Technology, and Computers

Sources for Books

GILFind: the library catalog.

Ebook Central, the library's biggest ebook database.

EBooks on EBSCOHost and Academic EBooks on EBSCOHost S

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete: General and scholarly magazine and journal articles on every imaginable subject.

CQ Electronic Library: Reports provide depth for current events issues.

JSTOR
: Scholarly, full-text, humanities and social science (includes history and religion) articles.

ProQuest News and Newspapers: Your source for newspaper articles.

And Don't Forget...

Clarkston Library Content or...

Handouts 4 U: handouts for you!

Selected Pro/Con Sources -- Work and Money Issues

If you need information, a starting place, or background for a pro-con/argument or persuasive speech and if you are interested in a topic related to work and money, try one of the books below or search for information in the numerous databases listed in the sidebar. These books are nearly all electronic and just a click away to any student, faculty, or staff who is logged into the library via iCollege or the library's own page. There are also some open access titles available through OApen and InTechOpen. Sources here are also as current as possible.

Poverty, Minimum Wage, and Universal Basic Income
The Case for Universal Basic Income Ebook Central
The Economics of Belonging: A Radical Plan to Win Back the Left Behind and Achieve Prosperity for All Ebook Central
Poorly Understood: What America Gets Wrong about Poverty Ebook Central
Poverty and Welfare in America: Examining the Facts Ebook Central
Poverty in the United States: A Documentary and Reference Guide EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Reinventing the Welfare State: Digital Platforms and Public Policies Ebook Central


Work and Working Conditions
Creative Control: The Ambivalence of Work in the Culture Industries Ebook Central
Despotism on Demand: How Power Operates in the Flexible Workplace Project Muse
Digital Nomads : In Search of Freedom, Community, and Meaningful Work in the New Economy Ebook Central
Empire's Labor: The Global Army That Supports U.S. Wars Project Muse


Work and Working Conditions Continued
Equity O'Reilly Higher Education
Ghost Work: How Amazon, Google, and Uber Are Creating a New Global Underclass Ebook Central
Hiring for Diversity: The Guide to Building an Inclusive and Equitable Organization Ebook Central
How to Be an Ally: Actions You Can Take for a Stronger, Happier Workplace O'Reilly Higher Education
It's Time to Talk about Race at Work: Every Leader's Guide to Making Progress on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Ebook Central
Porn Work: Sex, Labor, and Late Capitalism Ebook Central
Precarious Claims: The Promise and Failure of Workplace Protections in the United States OApen
Same Players, Different Game : An Examination of the Commercial College Athletics Industry Ebook Central
Well-Being and Mental Health in the Gig Economy: Policy Perspectives on Precarity JSTOR
Working from Home O'Reilly Higher Education
Working from Home for Dummies O'Reilly Higher Education
Work Together Anywhere O'Reilly Higher Education


Future of Work
The Digital Economy Ebook Central
The Future of Work: Robots, AI, and Automation Ebook Central
The Globotics Upheaval : Globalization, Robotics, and the Future of Work Ebook Central
The Innovation Ultimatum : How Six Strategic Technologies Will Reshape Every Business in The 2020s Ebook Central
Our Working Future Ebook Central
Rise of the Robots: Technology and the Threat of a Jobless Future Ebook Central


Companies that Make History
Kingdom of Nokia: How a Nation Served the Needs of One Company JSTOR
Lessons from the Titans: What Companies in the New Economy Can Learn from the Great Industrial Giants to Drive Sustainable Success O'Reilly Higher Education
No Filter : The Inside Story of Instagram Ebook Central
Power Play: Tesla, Elon Musk, and the Bet of the Century Ebook Central
Sears in Chicago: A Century of Memories Ebook Central
Samsung Rising: The Inside Story of the South Korean Giant That Set Out to Beat Apple and Conquer Tech Ebook Central


Other Work and Money
At What Cost Modern Capitalism and the Future of Health Ebook Central
BigLaw: Money and Meaning in the Modern Law Firm Ebook Central
Golden Gates: Fighting for Housing in America EBSCOHost eBook Collection
The Hidden History of Monopolies O'Reilly Higher Education
Inequality and Opportunity: The Relationship Between Income Inequality and Intergenerational Transmission of Income JSTOR
Making of a Democratic Economy O'Reilly Higher Education
Manufacturing Decline: How Racism and the Conservative Movement Crush the American Rust Belt Ebook Central
The System: Who Rigged It, How We Fix It Ebook Central
Ultimate Price: The Value We Place on Life Ebook Central
Why are Artists Poor: The Exceptional Economy of the Arts OApen
Women's Work: Stories from Pioneering Women Shaping Our Workforce Ebook Central
The Youth Unemployment Crisis: A Reference Handbook EBSCOHost eBook Collection