Skip to main content

ProCon Ebooks -- Handout Guide: Health

This is the new home of eight, pages of links to ebooks to provide background for argument and ProCon paprs.

Pro Con Resources -- Health, Bioethics and Agriculture

Where to Go

Back to the ProCon Rseources Welcome page.

Other Pro-Con Pages

Pro-Con Sources for International Issues

Pro-Con Sources All Around the World

Pro-Con Sources for National Political and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration

Pro-Con Sources for Family, Gender, and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Criminal Justice

Pro-Con Sources for Energy, Technology, and Computers

Sources for Books

GILFind: the library catalog.

Ebook Central, the library's biggest ebook database.

EBooks on EBSCOHost and Academic EBooks on EBSCOHost

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete: General and scholarly magazine and journal articles on every imaginable subject.

ABI Inform Collection for when science means business.

Medline with Full Text, research articles for biology, medical, and veterinary topics.

Biology Database: for more biology articles, including ecology-related topics.

ProQuest News and Newspapers: Your source for newspaper articles.

Science Direct Mostly full text, scholarly, science articles from Elsevier.

And Don't Forget...

Clarkston Library Content or...

Handouts 4 U: handouts for you!

Selected Pro/Con Sources -- Health, Life Science, and Agriculture

If you need information, a starting place, or background for a pro-con/argument or persuasive speech on a health, medical/bioethics, or agriculture topic,try one of the books below for an introduction or search for information in the numerous databases listed in the sidebar. These books are nearly all electronic and just a click away to any student, faculty, or staff who is logged into the library via iCollege or the library's own page. There are also some open access titles available through OApen and InTechOpen. Sources here are also as current as possible.

Preventive Health Care
Digital Health Promotion: A Critical Introduction Ebook Central
Essentials for Health Protection: Four Key Components EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Everyday Technologies in Healthcare Ebook Central
The Health Benefits of Foods: Current Knowledge and Further Development InTechOpen
Healthy Buildings: How Indoor Spaces Drive Performance and Productivity Ebook Central
One Planet, One Health JSTOR
The Slippery Slope of Healthcare : Why Bad Things Happen to Healthy Patients and How to Avoid Them EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Smoking: Prevention, Cessation and Health Effects InTechOpen
Successful Aging: A Neuroscientist Explores the Power and Potential of Our Lives EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Vaccination Controversies: A Reference Handbook ABC-Clio


Health Policy and Economics
The Case for Medicare for All Ebook Central
Economics of Health and Medical Care EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Health Care Off the Books: Poverty, Illness, and Strategies for Survival in Urban America EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Not What the Doctor Ordered: Liberating Caregivers and Empowering Consumers for Successful Health Reform EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Pandemics and Polarization: Implications of Partisan Budgeting for Responding to Public Health Emergencies EBSCOHost eBook Collection


Medical and Bioethics
Beyond Price: Essays on Birth and Death OApen
Bioethics: Medical, Ethical and Legal Perspectives InTechOpen
The Ethics of Vaccination OApen
Euthanasia: The "Good Death" Controversy in Humans and Animals InTechOpen
Global Bioethics: Perspective for Human Survival InTechOpen
Legal and Ethical Essentials of Health Care Administration Ebook Central
Reflections on Bioethics InTechOpen


Health and Disease -- Infectious Disease
Emergence of Infectious Diseases OApen
Emerging Infections 10 EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Reopening K-12 Schools During the COVID-19 Pandemic National Academies Press
Zika Virus Ebook Central
Zika Virus Disease: From Origin to Outbreak Ebook Central


Health and Disease -- Cancer
Fast Facts: Prostate Cancer Ebook Central
Like Any Other Woman: The Lived Experience of Gynaecological Cancer JSTOR
Malignant: How Bad Policy and Bad Evidence Harm People with Cancer Project Muse


Health and Disease -- Other
Addressing Sickle Cell Disease: A Strategic Plan and Blueprint for Action National Academies Press
The Alchemy of Disease: How Chemicals and Toxins Cause Cancer and Other Illnesses Ebook Central
The Challenges in Elder Care IntTech Open
The Digital Doctor: Hope, Hype, and Harm at the Dawn of Medicine’s Computer Age O'Reilly Higher Education
Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology InTechOpen
Heavy Metal Toxicity in Public Health InTechOpen
Opioid Epidemic: What Everyone Needs to Know EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Pharma: Greed, Lies, and the Poisoning of America Ebook Central
Safety and Health for Workers: Research and Practical Perspective InTechOpen
SIDS Sudden Infant and Early Childhood Death: The Past, the Present and the Future JSTOR
Steroids and Doping in Sports: a Reference Handbook Ebook Central
Tattooed Skin and Health OApen
Textbook of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery OApen


Life Sciences
Altered Inheritance: CRISPR and the Ethics of Human Genome Editing Ebook Central
Conservation Biology in Sub-Saharan Africa OApen
Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds & Shape Our Futures Ebook Central
The Fall of the Wild : Extinction, De-Extinction, and the Ethics of Conservation EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Gene Drives at Tipping Points: Precautionary Technology Assessment and Governance of New Approaches to Genetically Modify Animal and Plant Populations OApen
Genetic Engineering: An Insight into the Strategies and Applications InTechOpen
Heritable Human Genome Editing National Academies Press
Life Changing: How Humans Are Altering Life on Earth Ebook Central
Mammals of the Southeastern United States Ebook Central
Protecting Pollinators: How to Save the Creatures That Feed Our World Ebook Central
Rainforest: Dispatches from Earth's Most Vital Frontlines Ebook Central
Unfit for Purpose: When Human Evolution Collides with the Modern World Ebook Central


Agriculture
Bioeconomy: Shaping the Transition to a Sustainable, Biobased Economy OApen
Can We Feed the World Without Destroying It? Ebook Central
Climate Smart Food Springer Link
Integrating Food into Urban Planning JSTOR
On an Empty Stomach: Two Hundred Years of Hunger Relief Project Muse
Pyrrhic Progress: The History of Antibiotics in Anglo-American Food Production OApen


Food
Coffee: A Global History Ebook Central
The Culinary Turn: Aesthetic Practice of Cookery OApen
Food Adulteration and Food Fraud Ebook Central
Food and Drink - Good Manufacturing Practice, 7th Edition O'Reilly Higher Education
Food Cultures of the United States: Recipes, Customs, and Issues Ebook Central
Food Fights: How History Matters to Contemporary Food Debates EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Handbook of Food Safety EBSCOHost eBook Collection
How to Eat : All Your Food and Diet Questions Answered Ebook Central
Natural: How Faith in Nature's Goodness Leads to Harmful Fads, Unjust Laws, and Flawed Science Ebook Central
Pure Adulteration: Cheating on Nature in the Age of Manufactured Food Ebook Central
Sameness in Diversity: Food and Globalization in Modern America Ebook Central
The Uncertainty Mindset: Innovation Insights from the Frontiers of Food Ebook Central