Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ProCon Ebooks -- Handout Guide: International

This is the new home of eight, pages of links to ebooks to provide background for argument and ProCon paprs.

Pro-Con Resources -- Global/International Issues

Where to Go

Back to the ProCon Rseources Welcome page.

Other Pro-Con Pages

Pro-Con Sources All Around the World

Pro-Con Sources for National Political and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Work and Money Issues

Pro-Con Education Sources

Pro-Con Sources for Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration

Pro-Con Sources for Family, Gender, and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Criminal Justice

Pro-Con Sources for Health and Medicine

Pro-Con Sources for Biology, Agriculture, Food, and Nutrition

Pro-Con Sources for Energy, Technology, and Computers

Sources for Books

GILFind: the library catalog.

Ebook Central, the library's biggest ebook database.

EBooks on EBSCOHost and Academic EBooks on EBSCOHost

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete: General and scholarly magazine and journal articles on every imaginable subject.

CQ Electronic Library: Reports provide depth for current events issues.

JSTOR
: Scholarly, full-text, humanities and social science (includes history and religion) articles.

ProQuest News and Newspapers: Your source for newspaper articles.

And Don't Forget...

Clarkston Library Content or...

Handouts 4 U: handouts for you!

Selected Pro/Con Sources --International Social and Economic Issues

If you need information, a starting place, or background for a pro-con/argument or persuasive speech and if you are interested in an international/global topic, try one of the books below or search for information in the numerous databases listed in the sidebar. These are nearly all electronic titles, that are just a click away to any student, faculty, or staff who is logged into the library via iCollege. There are also some open access titles available through OApen and InTechOpen. Sources here are also as current as possible, so not all countries are appear here. For issues centered in a particular country or region, with the exception of migration to Europe, try Pro-Con Sources All Around the World.

Immigration and Migration
Border Deaths: Causes, Dynamics and Consequences of Migration-related Mortality JSTOR
Enduring Uncertainty: Deportation, Punishment and Everyday Life JSTOR
Finding Ways Through Eurospace : West African Movers Re-Viewing Europe from the Inside EbookCentral
Lande: The Calais 'Jungle' and Beyond JSTOR
Like an Animal: Critical Animal Studies Approaches to Borders, Displacement, and Othering Ebook Central
Migration and Remittances Factbook Ebook Central
Migrants with Irregular Status in Europe: Evolving Conceptual and Policy Challenges OApen
Migration, Terrorism, and the Future of a Divided Europe: a Continent Transformed Ebook Central
Resident Foreigners: A Philosophy of Migration Ebook Central
Structures of Protection? Rethinking Refugee Shelter Ebook Central


Immigration and Migration Continued
Transnational Migration and Border-Making: Reshaping Policies and Identities Ebook Central
Walling in and Walling Out: Why Are We Building New Barriers to Divide Us? Ebook Central
Women and Migration: Responses in Art and History OApen
World of Walls: The Structure, Roles and Effectiveness of Separation Barriers OApen


Development and Human Rights
Actualizing Human Right: Global Inequality, Future People, and Motivation OApen
Combatting Modern Slavery: Why Labour Governance Is Failing and What We Can Do about It Ebook Central
The Coming Good Society: Why New Realities Demand New Rights Ebook Central
Conversations Ebook Central
Dignity Rights: Courts, Constitutions, and the Worth of the Human Person Ebook Central
The Economic Case for LGBT Equality: Why Fair and Equal Treatment Benefits Us All Ebook Central
The International LGBT Rights Movement: A History Ebook Central
Modern Genocide: a Documentary and Reference Guide Ebook Central
Modern Slavery: A Documentary and Reference Guide Ebook Central
Modern Slavery and Human Trafficking InTech Open
SDG1 - No Poverty: Making the Dream a Reality EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
SDG4 - Quality Education: Inclusivity, Equity and Lifelong Learning For All EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Torture and Enhanced Interrogation: a Reference Handbook Ebook Central


Technology as a Social Issue
#HumanRights: The Technologies and Politics of Justice Claims in Practice Ebook Central
The Digital Divide Ebook Central
The Digital Economy Ebook Central
The Future of Change: How Technology Shapes Social Revolutions Ebook Central
Global Smartphone: Beyond a Youth Technology JSTOR
Online Around the World: a Geographic Encyclopedia of the Internet, Social Media, and Mobile Apps Ebook Central
Post-Digital Cultures of the Far Right: Online Actions and Offline Consequences OApen
The Psychology of Silicon Valley: Ethical Threats and Emotional Unintelligence in the Tech Industry OApen
Rethinking sustainable Cities: Accessible, Green and Fair Project Muse
Techlash: The Future of the Socially Responsible Tech Organization Springer Link
Tweeting to Freedom: An Encyclopedia of Citizen Protests and Uprisings Around the World Ebook Central


Other General Social Issues
Behavioral Science in the Global Arena: Addressing Timely Issues at the United Nations and Beyond Ebook Central
COVID-19 in the Global South: Impacts and Responses Ebook Central
Encyclopedia of Ethics EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Geography Today: an Encyclopedia of Concepts, Issues, and Technology Ebook Central
The Good Country Equation O'Reilly Higher Education
International Relations Today O'Reilly Higher Education
Numbers Don't Lie: 71 Stories to Help Us Understand the Modern World Ebook Central
Post-Democracy after the Crises Ebook Central
Small is Necessary: Shared Living on a Shared Planet OApen
Spotlight on Current Events: Essays on Contemporary World Issues Ebook Central
Supertrends: 50 Things You Need to Know about the Future Ebook Central
Sustainable Futures: An Agenda for Action Ebook Central
Ten Years to Midnight O'Reilly Higher Education
Work: A Deep History, from the Stone Age to the Age of Robots Ebook Central
The World: A Brief Introduction Ebook Central


Wealth, Poverty, and Economics
Battling Eight Giants: Basic Income Now Ebook Central
Doing the Right Thing: A Value Based Economy JSTOR
Dull Disasters? How planning ahead will make a difference OApen
Fewer, Richer, Greener: Prospects for Humanity in an Age of Abundance Ebook Central
The Global Economy Ebook Central
Living Well at Others' Expense: The Hidden Costs of Western Prosperity Ebook Central
The Realities and Futures of Work JSTOR
Rethinking Poverty: What makes a good society? JSTOR
Tracing the Consequences of Child Poverty: Evidence from the Young Lives study in Ethiopia, India, Peru and Vietnam JSTOR


National Security and Terrorism
Becoming a European Homegrown Jihadist: A Multilevel Analysis of Involvement in the Dutch Hofstadgroup, 2002-2005 JSTOR
Compassionate Counterterrorism O'Reilly Higher Education
Divided Loyalties: Young Somali Americans and the Lure of Extremism Ebook Central
The Global Spread of Islamism and the Consequences for Terrorism Ebook Central
Homeland Insecurity: Terrorism, Mass Shootings and the Public Ebook Central
Homeland Security: a Reference Handbook Ebook Central
Militant Jihadism: Today and Tomorrow OApen
Pirates: A New History, from Vikings to Somali Raiders Ebook Central
A Practical Introduction to Homeland Security and Emergency Management: From Home to Abroad Sage Knowledge
Road Warriors: Foreign Fighters in the Armies of Jihad Ebook Central
Targeting Top Terrorists: Understanding Leadership Removal in Counterterrorism Strategy EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Terrorism and Developing Countries InTechOpen
Violence in the Name of God: The Militant Jihadist Response to Modernity, Ebook Central


National Security and Cyber Warfare
Confronting an "Axis of Cyber"? China, Iran, North Korea, Russia in Cyberspace OApen
The Hacker and the State: Cyber Attacks and the New Normal of Geopolitics EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Power to the People: How Open Technological Innovation Is Arming Tomorrow's Terrorists Ebook Central
This Is How They Tell Me the World Ends : The Cyberweapons Arms Race Ebook Central