Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ProCon Ebooks -- Handout Guide: Technology

This is the new home of eight, pages of links to ebooks to provide background for argument and ProCon paprs.

ProCon Resources -- Technology, Environment, and Computers

Where to Go

Back to the ProCon Rseources Welcome page.

Other Pro-Con Pages

Pro-Con Sources for International Issues

Pro-Con Sources All Around the World

Pro-Con Sources for National Political and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Work and Money Issues

Pro-Con Education Sources

Pro-Con Sources for Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration

Pro-Con Sources for Family, Gender, and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Criminal Justice

Pro-Con Sources for Heath and Medicine

Pro-Con Sources for Biology, Agriculture, Food, and Nutrition

Sources for Books

GILFind: the library catalog.

Ebook Central, the library's biggest ebook database.

EBooks on EBSCOHost and Academic EBooks on EBSCOHost

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete: General and scholarly magazine and journal articles on every imaginable subject.

ABI Inform Collection for when science means business.

Medline with Full Text, research articles for biology, medical, and veterinary topics.

Biology Database: for more biology articles, including ecology-related topics.

ProQuest News and Newspapers: Your source for newspaper articles.

Science Direct Mostly full text, scholarly, science articles from Elsevier.

And Don't Forget...

Clarkston Library Content or...

Handouts 4 U: handouts for you!

Selected Pro/Con Sources -- Energy, Environment,Technology, and Computers

If you need information, a starting place, or background for a pro-con/argument or persuasive speech on a technology, computer, or environmental technology topic, including climate change, ttry one of the books below for an introduction or search for information in the numerous databases listed in the sidebar. These books are nearly all electronic and just a click away to any student, faculty, or staff who is logged into the library via iCollege or the library's own page. There are also some open access titles available through OApen and InTechOpen. Sources here are also as current as possible.

Energy
Bringing Fusion to the U.S. Grid National Academies Press
Coal Ebook Central
Decentralized Energy: A Global Game Changer OApen
Dictionary of 21st Century Energy Technologies, Financing & Sustainability EBSCOHost eBook Collection
The Geopolitics of the Global Energy Transition OApen
Learning from Fukushima: Nuclear power in East Asia JSTOR
The Technological and Economic Future of Nuclear Power OApen
Technological Lessons from the Fukushima Dai-Ichi Accident JSTOR
Wind Turbine Syndrome: A Communicated Disease JSTOR


Technology of Manufactured Items
American Lucifers: The Dark History of Artificial Light, 1750-1865 Ebook Central
Compact Disc Ebook Central
Craft: An American History Ebook Central
Fashion and Materiality: Cultural Practices, Global Contexts Ebook Central
Genuine Fakes: How Phony Things Teach Us about Real Stuff Ebook Central
Full Spectrum: How the Science of Color Made Us Modern Ebook Central
Hats: A Very UNnatural History Ebook Central
Putting on the Dog: The Animal Origins of What We Wear Ebook Central
Secondhand:Travels in the New Global Garage Sale Ebook Central
The Shaping of Us: How Everyday Spaces Structure Our Lives, Behavior, and Well-Being Ebook Central


Computers -- Social Media and Gaming
Digital Souls: A Philosophy of Online Death Ebook Central
Gamer Nation: Video Games and American Culture Ebook Central
Global Smartphone: Beyond a Youth Technology JSTOR
The Twittering Machine Ebook Central
Understanding Video Games: The Essential Introduction Ebook Central
Young People, Social Media and Health OApen
Your Post has been Removed: Tech Giants and Freedom of Speech Springer Link


Computers -- Privacy and Economics
Blockchain EBSCOHost eBook Collection
The End of Forgetting: Growing up with Social Media Ebook Central
The Everyday Life of an Algorithm Springer Link
Net Neutrality Ebook Central
Net Neutrality and the FCC: Legal Issues and Matters of Debate Ebook Central
None of Your Damn Business: Privacy in the United States from the Gilded Age to the Digital Age Ebook Central
The State of Open Data: Histories and Horizons OApen
Take Control of Your Online Privacy, 4th Edition O'Reilly Higher Education
Tech Giants, Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Journalism OApen
Terms of Disservice: How Silicon Valley is Destructive by Design Ebook Central


Computers -- Artificial Intelligence and Security
97 Things About Ethics Everyone in Data Science Should Know O'Reilly Higher Education
The Age of Algorithms Ebook Central
Atlas of AI : Power, Politics, and the Planetary Costs of Artificial Intelligence Ebook Central
Coding Democracy : How Hackers Are Disrupting Power, Surveillance, and Authoritarianism EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Cyber Forensics: Examining Emerging and Hybrid Technologies Ebook Central
Cyberwarfare: An Introduction to Information-Age Conflict EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Demystifying Internet of Things Security: Successful IoT Device/Edge and Platform Security Deployment OApen
Ethical Hacking Ebook Central
The Ethics of Cybersecurity Springer Link
Grokking Artificial Intelligence Algorithms O'Reilly Higher Education
Myths and Realities of Cyber Warfare: Conflict in the Digital Realm Ebook Central
Smart Cities For Dummies O'Reilly Higher Education
This Is How They Tell Me the World Ends : The Cyberweapons Arms Race Ebook Central
Zero to AI O'Reilly Higher Education


Computers -- Automation and Robotics
AI For Lawyers : How Artificial Intelligence Is Adding Value, Amplifying Expertise, and Transforming Careers EBSCOHost Ebook Central
Cyborg Mind: What Brain–Computer and Mind–Cyberspace Interfaces Mean for Cyberneuroethics OApen
Fiber: The Coming Tech Revolution--And Why America Might Miss It Ebook Central
A Human Algorithm: How Artificial Intelligence Is Redefining Who We Are Ebook Central
Robotics: Legal, Ethical and Socioeconomic Impacts InTechOpen
Talk to Me: How Voice Computing Will Transform the Way We Live, Work, and Think Ebook Central
Technology Trap JSTOR


Pollution and Solid Waste
Choked: Life and Breath in the Age of Air Pollution Ebook Central
Clearing the Air: The Beginning and the End of Air Pollution Ebook Central
Environmental Health: Management and Prevention Practices InTechOpen
Environmental Racism in the United States and Canada: Seeking Justice and Sustainability Ebook Central
Every Breath You Take: Exploring the Science of Our Changing Atmosphere Ebook Central
Quality Unknown: The Invisible Water Crisis Ebook Central
Sustainable Solid Waste Management Ebook Central
Trash Talk: An Encyclopedia of Garbage and Recycling around the World Ebook Central


Climate Change
Achieving the Paris Climate Agreement Goals Springer Link
After Cooling: On Freon, Global Warming, and the Terrible Cost of Comfort Ebook Central
Antarctica: What Everyone Needs to Know Ebook Central
The Arctic: What Everyone Needs to Know Ebook Central
Biodiversity and Health in the Face of Climate Change Springer Link
Climate Change Adaptation in Coastal Cities: A Guidebook for Citizens, Public Officials and Planners JSTOR
Climate Change and Natural Disasters: Transforming Economies and Policies for a Sustainable Future OApen
Climate Change and the Nation State : The Case for Nationalism in a Warming World Ebook Central
Climate Change Evidence and Causes: Update 2020 National Academies Press
Climate Change: The Science of Global Warming and Our Energy Future Ebook Central
Communicating Climate Change: A Guide for Educators JSTOR
Earth 2020: An Insider’s Guide to a Rapidly Changing Planet OApen
The Green New Deal and Beyond: Ending the Climate Emergency While We Still Can Ebook Central
Health of People, Health of Planet and Our Responsibility: Climate Change, Air Pollution and Health OApen
How to Avoid a Climate Disaster: The Solutions We Have and the Breakthroughs We Need Ebook Central
Living with Climate Change O'Reilly Higher Education
Living with Environmental Change: Waterworlds Ebook Central
Transportation and the Culture of Climate Change : Accelerating Ride to Global Crisis Ebook Central
Understanding and Responding to Global Health Security Risks from Microbial Threats in the Arctic National Academies Press


Sustainability
Animal Advocacy and Environmentalism: Understanding and Bridging the Divide Ebook Central
A Better Planet: Forty Big Ideas for a Sustainable Future Ebook Central
Cycling for Sustainable Cities Ebook Central
Emerging Green Technologies Ebook Central
Environment Ebook Central
Environmental Management of Air, Water, Agriculture, and Energy Ebook Central
Fashion Media and Sustainability: Encouraging Ethical Consumption via Journalism and Influencers JSTOR
The Future of Mobility: Scenarios for the United States in 2030 JSTOR
An Introduction to Sustainable Tourism Ebook Central
New Mobilities: Smart Planning for Emerging Transportation Technologies Ebook Central
Sustainable Futures: An Agenda for Action Ebook Central
Unlocking Sustainable Cities: A Manifesto for Real Change EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection


Other Science Topics
Citizen Science: Innovation in Open Science, Society and Policy OApen
Dangerous Science: Science Policy and Risk Analysis for Scientists and Engineers OApen
Essentials in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Ebook Central
Louisiana's Response to Extreme Weather Springer Link
Math Without Numbers Ebook Central
Natural Disasters: a Reference Handbook Ebook Central
Notable Natural Disasters Ebook Central
Numbers Don't Lie : 71 Stories to Help Us Understand the Modern World Ebook Central
Reaching for the Moon: A Short History of the Space Race Ebook Central
Rethinking Readiness: A Brief Guide to Twenty-First-Century Megadisasters Ebook Central
Spacefarers: How Humans Will Settle the Moon, Mars, and Beyond Ebook Central
Why Icebergs Float: Exploring Science in Everyday Life OApen