Skip to main content

ProCon Ebooks -- Handout Guide: Around the World

This is the new home of eight, pages of links to ebooks to provide background for argument and ProCon paprs.

Pro-Con Resources -- Global/International Issues

Where to Go

Back to the ProCon Rseources Welcome page.

Other Pro-Con Pages

Pro-Con Sources for International Issues

Pro-Con Sources for National Political and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration

Pro-Con Sources for Family, Gender, and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Criminal Justice

Pro-Con Sources for Health, Life Sciences, and Agriculture

Pro-Con Sources for Energy, Technology, and Computers

Sources for Books

GILFind: the library catalog.

Ebook Central, the library's biggest ebook database.

EBooks on EBSCOHost and Academic EBooks on EBSCOHost

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete: General and scholarly magazine and journal articles on every imaginable subject.

CQ Electronic Library: Reports provide depth for current events issues.

JSTOR
: Scholarly, full-text, humanities and social science (includes history and religion) articles.

ProQuest News and Newspapers: Your source for newspaper articles.

And Don't Forget...

Clarkston Library Content or...

Handouts 4 U: handouts for you!

Selected Pro/Con Sources -- Around the World

If you need information, a starting place, or background for a pro-con/argument or persuasive speech and if you are interested in a topic that involves or occurs in another country or region, try one of the books below or search for information in the numerous databases listed in the sidebar. These are nearly all electronic titles, that are just a click away to any student, faculty, or staff who is logged into the library via iCollege. There are also some open access titles available through OApen and InTechOpen. Sources here are also as current as possible, so not all countries are appear here. For more general international/global issues try Pro-Con Sources for Internatinoal Issues.

Asia -- Except China
Asian Century… on a Knife-edge: A 360 Degree Analysis of Asia's Recent Economic Development OApen
Asia's New Geopolitics: Essays on Reshaping the Indo-Pacific Ebook Central
Becoming Kim Jong Un : A Former CIA Officer's Insights into North Korea's Enigmatic Young Dictato Ebook Centrtal
City on Fire: The Fight for Hong Kong Ebook Central
First, They Erased Our Name: A Rohingya Speaks Ebook Central
Jammu and Kashmir: 1990 and Beyond: Competitive Politics in the Shadow of Separatism Ebook Central
Japan Through the Lens of the Tokyo Olympics OApen
Myanmar's Buddhist-Muslim Crisis: Rohingya, Arakanese, and Burmese Narratives of Siege and Fear Ebook Central
North Korea and South Korea Ebook Central
Samsung Rising: The Inside Story of the South Korean Giant That Set Out to Beat Apple and Conquer Tech Ebook Central
U.S. Strategy in the Asian Century: Empowering Allies and Partners Ebook Central


China
China 204: Economic Challenges of a Rising Global Power Ebook Central
China Dreams OApen
China's Urban Future and the Quest for Stability Ebook Central
Dog Days: Made in China Yearbook 2018 JSTOR
Fateful Decisions: Choices That Will Shape China's Future Ebook Central
Human Rights in China: A Social Practice in the Shadows of Authoritarianism Ebook Central


Africa
Boko Haram and the Drivers of Islamist Violence Ebook Central
Boko Haram and the War on Terror Ebook Central
Contemporary Security Issues in Africa Ebook Central
Energy in Africa: Challenges and Opportunities OApen
Everything You Have Told Me Is True: The Many Faces of Al Shabaab Ebook Central
Darfur Genocide: the Essential Reference Guide Ebook Central
Mining for Change: Natural Resources and Industry in Africa OApen
Overcoming Boko Haram: Faith, Society and Islamic Radicalization in Northern Nigeria Ebook Central
Unlocking Africa's Business Potential: Trends, Opportunities, Risks, and Strategies Ebook Central
A Vision of Africa's Future: Mapping Change, Transformations and Trajectories Towards 2030 OApen
When Victims Become Killers : Colonialism, Nativism, and the Genocide in Rwanda Ebook Central


Afghanistan, Iran, and Iraq
Afghanistan War: a Documentary and Reference Guide Ebook Central
America in Afghanistan : Foreign Policy and Decision Making from Bush to Obama to Trump Ebook Central
Iran and Saudi Arabia Ebook Central
The Iranian Revolution at Forty Ebook Central
Iraq War: the Essential Reference Guide Ebook Central
Warlord Survival: The Delusion of State Building in Afghanistan Ebook Central


Israel
Conflict in the Holy Land: from Ancient Times to the Arab-Israeli Conflicts Ebook Central
Fraternal Enemies: Israel and the Gulf Monarchies Ebook Central
The Israel/Palestine Reader Ebook Central
Prophetic Voices on Middle East Peace: A Jewish, Christian, and Humanist Primer on Colonialism, Zionism, and Nationalism in the Middle East JSTOR


Other Middle East
The Arab Winter: A Tragedy Ebook Central
Away from Chaos: The Middle East and the Challenge to the West Ebook Central
The Closed Circle: Joining and Leaving the Muslim Brotherhood in the West Ebook Central
Encyclopedia of the Middle East EBSCOHost eBook Collection
ISIS: the Essential Reference Guide Ebook Central
Sinews of War and Trade: Shipping and Capitalism in the Arabian Peninsula Ebook Central
Syria in Ruins: The Dynamics of the Syrian Civil War Ebook Central
Syrian Civil War: the Essential Reference Guide Ebook Central
A Theory of ISIS: Political Violence and the Transformation of the Global Order JSTOR
The Unfinished Arab Spring: Micro-Dynamics of Revolts between Change and Continuity Ebook Central
Violence and Militants: From Ottoman Rebellions to Jihadist Organizations Ebook Central
Violent Radical Movements in the Arab World: The Ideology and Politics of Non-State Actors Ebook Central
Watermelon Democracy: Egypt's Turbulent Transition Ebook Central


Europe
Anatomy of a Civil War: Sociopolitical Impacts of the Kurdish Conflict in Turkey JSTOR
Brexit and Beyond: Rethinking the Futures of Europe JSTOR
Brexit for Dummies O'Reilly Higher Education
The Bridge: Natural Gas in a Redivided Europe Ebook Central
From War to Peace in the Balkans, the Middle East and Ukraine Springer Link
Politics of (Dis)Integration OApen
Russia and the Media: The Makings of a New Cold War Ebook Central


The Americas, Arctic, Antarctic, and Australia
Alternative Pathways to Sustainable Development: Lessons from Latin America JSTOR
The Arctic: What Everyone Needs to Know Ebook Central
Arcticness OApen
The Conservative Challenge to Globalization: Anglo-American Perspectives Ebook Central
Exit and Voice: The Paradox of Cross-Border Politics in Mexico OApen
Foreign Policy Issues for America: The Trump Years Ebook Central
Mexican Cartels: an Encyclopedia of Mexico's Crime and Drug Wars Ebook Central
The North American Arctic OApen
Understanding and Responding to Global Health Security Risks from Microbial Threats in the Arctic National Academies Press
Understanding Central America: Global Forces, Rebellion, and Change Ebook Central
Urban Sustainability in the Arctic: Measuring Progress in Circumpolar Cities Ebook Central