Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ProCon Ebooks -- Handout Guide: Family/Gender

This is the new home of eight, pages of links to ebooks to provide background for argument and ProCon paprs.

Pro Con Resources -- Family, Gender, and Social Issues

<

Where to Go

Back to the ProCon Rseources Welcome page.

Other Pro-Con Pages

Pro-Con Sources for International Issues

Pro-Con Sources All Around the World

Pro-Con Sources for National Political and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Work and Money Issues

Pro-Con Education Sources

Pro-Con Sources for Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration

Pro-Con Sources for Criminal Justice

Pro-Con Sources for Health and Medicine

Pro-Con Sources for Biology, Agriculture, Food, and Nutrition

Pro-Con Sources for Energy, Technology, and Computers

Sources for Books

GILFind: the library catalog.

Ebook Central, the library's biggest ebook database.

EBooks on EBSCOHost and Academic EBooks on EBSCOHost

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete: General and scholarly magazine and journal articles on every imaginable subject.

PsycInfo: The gold standard for psychology databases.

ProQuest Social Science Database: Social science and public policy articles are here.

JSTOR
: Scholarly, full-text, humanities and social science (includes history and religion) articles.

ProQuest News and Newspapers: Your source for newspaper articles.

And Don't Forget...

Clarkston Library Content or...

Handouts 4 U: handouts for you!

Selected Pro/Con Sources -- Family and Gender Issues

If you need information, a starting place, or background for a pro-con/argument or persuasive speech and on a topic about gender or family, try one of the books below or search for information in the numerous databases listed in the sidebar. These books are nearly all electronic and just a click away to any student, faculty, or staff who is logged into the library via iCollege or the library's own page. There are also some open access titles available through OApen and InTechOpen. Sources here are also as current as possible, so not every subject receives equal treatment.

Family and Children
Adoption from Care: International Perspectives on Children’s Rights, Family Preservation and State Intervention JSTOR
Child Development, Fourth Edition: A Practitioner's Guide Ebook Central
Children and Mobile Phones : Adoption, Use, Impact, and Control Ebook Central
Children Framing Childhoods: Working-Class Kids’ Visions of Care Ebook Central
The Children of Looked After Children: Outcomes, Experiences and Ensuring Meaningful Support to Young Parents In and Leaving Care OApen
Confronting Child Sexual Abuse: Knowledge to Action OApen
Confronting Inequality: How Policies and Practices Shape Children's Opportunities Ebook Central
Dreams of the Overworked: Living, Working, and Parenting in the Digital Age Ebook Central
Fixing Parental Leave: The Six Month Solution Ebook Central
Handbook on Bullying: Prevalence, Psychological Impacts and Intervention Strategies EBSCOHost eBook Collection
How to Stop Homophobic and Biphobic Bullying: A Practical Whole-School Approach Ebook Central
Lone Parenthood in the Life Course OApen




Family and Children Continued
Love, Money, and Parenting : How Economics Explains the Way We Raise Our Kids Ebook Central
Opting Back In : What Really Happens When Mothers Go Back to Work Ebook Central
Parenting and Child Development: Across Ethnicity and Culture Ebook Central
Parenting Made Complicated: What Science Really Knows about the Greatest Debates of Early Childhood Ebook Central
Predicting Cyberbullying Ebook Central
Reducing Cyberbullying in Schools O'Reilly Higher Education
Teen Spirit: How Adolescence Transformed the Adult World Ebook Central


The Elderly
Ageing and Technology: Perspectives from the Social Sciences OApen
Aging and Older Adulthood Ebook Central
Aging Well: Solutions to the Most Pressing Global Challenges of Aging Springer Link
Care Home Stories: Aging, Disability, and Long-Term Residential Care JSTOR
Elder Abuse: Forensic, Legal and Medical Aspects Ebook Central
The New Sociology of Aging Ebook Central
The Practice of Social Work with Older Adults: Insights and Opportunities for a Growing Profession Ebook Central
Social Isolation and Loneliness in Older Adults: Opportunities for the Healthcare System National Academies Press
What Retirees Want O'Reilly Higher Education


Sexual Behaviors and Education
Birth Control: Your Questions Answered Ebook Central
Getting Off: Sex and Philosophy Ebook Central
Human Sexuality: Function, Dysfunction, Paraphilias, and Relationship Ebook Central
Porn Work: Sex, Labor, and Late Capitalism Ebook Central
Sex-Positive Social Work Ebook Central
Stripping, Sex, and Popular Culture OApen
Unlocking the Love-Lock: The History and Heritage of a Contemporary Custom Ebook Central


Gender Roles and Isues
All Made Up: The Power and Pitfalls of Beauty Culture, from Cleopatra to Kim Kardashian Ebook Central
The End of Gender: Debunking the Myths about Sex and Identity in Our Society Ebook Central
Gender Inequality: a Reference Handbook Ebook Central
Intersections of Ageing, Gender, Sexualities: Multidisciplinary international Perspectives OApen
The Mating Game: How Gender Still Shapes How We Date Ebook Central
Pornification of America : How Raunch Culture Is Ruining Our Society Ebook Central
Reinventing Masculinity O'Reilly Higher Education
Shame on Me: An Anatomy of Race and Belonging Ebook Central
Sidelined: Sports, Culture, and Being a Woman in America Ebook Central
The Sisters Are Alright O'Reilly Higher Education
The Spectrum of Sex: The Science of Male, Female, and Intersex Ebook Central
Still Straight: Sexual Flexibility among White Men in Rural America Ebook Central


Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Issues
Coming Out of the Magnolia Closet: Same-Sex Couples in Mississippi Ebook Central
Communities and Place: A Thematic Approach to the Histories of LGBTQ Communities in the United States Ebook Central
Social Equity and LGBTQ Rights: Dismantling Discrimination and Expanding Civil Rights Ebook Central


Trans and NonBinary Gender Issues
Introduction to Transgender Studies Ebook Central
Non-Binary Lives : An Anthology of Intersecting Identities Ebook Central
Normed Children: Effects of Gender and Sex Related Normativity on Childhood and Adolescence OApen
They/Them/Their : A Guide to Nonbinary and Genderqueer Identities Ebook Central
Trans Love : An Anthology of Transgender and Non-Binary Voices Ebook Central
Transgender: a Reference Handbook Ebook Central


Disability
Ableism: the Causes and Consequences of Disability Prejudice Ebook Central
Autistic Community and the Neurodiversity Movement Stories from the Frontline Springer Link
Autism and the Police: Practical Advice for Officers and Other First Responders Ebook Central
Disability: a Reference Handbook Ebook Central


Animal Rights
Animal (De)liberation: Should the Consumption of Animal Products Be Banned? JSTOR
Animal Experimentation: Working Towards a Paradigm JSTOR
Animal Rights and Welfare Ebook Central
Animal Rights and Welfare: a Documentary and Reference Guide EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Animals and Medicine: The Contribution of Animal Experiments to the Control of Disease OApen
In Search of Canine Justice: Law and Practice in the United States and European Union Ebook Central
Should Animals Have Political Rights? Ebook Central
Why Veganism Matters: The Moral Value of Animals Ebook Central


Substance Abuse and Related Addications
Opioid Crisis: a Reference Handbook Ebook Central
The Wine o'Clock Myth: The Truth You Need to Know about Women and Alcohol Ebook Central


Social Science of Everyday Life
Adornment: What Self-Decoration Tells Us about Who We Are Ebook Central
Fashion and Materiality : Cultural Practices, Global Contexts Ebook Central
Secondhand: Travels in the New Global Garage Sale Ebook Central


Death Dying and Bereavement
Death, Dying, and Bereavement Around the World: Theories, Varied Views and Customs Ebook Central
Handbook of the Sociology of Death, Grief, and Bereavement : A Guide to Theory and Practice Ebook Central
Suicide: The Social Causes of Self-Destruction Project Muse
Understanding Your Grief: Ten Essential Touchstones for Finding Hope and Healing Your Heart Ebook Central


Persuasion and Communication
The Catalyst: How to Change Anyone's Mind Ebook Central
Creep: A Life, A Theory, An Apology OApen
The Hidden Psychology of Social Networks: How Brands Create Authentic Engagement by Understanding What Motivates Us O'Reilly Higher Education
Techniques of Social Influence: The Psychology of Gaining Compliance OApen
Techniques of Visual Persuasion: + Create Powerful Images that Motivate Ebook Central
Why We Act: Turning Bystanders into Moral Rebels Ebook Central


Other Topics
Animal Emotions: How They Drive Human Behavior OApen
Enraged, Rattled, and Wronged : Entitlement's Response to Social Progress Ebook Central
Handbook of Spirituality, Religion, and Mental Health Ebook Central
Out of My Skull: The Psychology of Boredom Ebook Central
Stereotypes: the Incidence and Impacts of Bias Ebook Central
Sway: Unravelling Unconscious Bias Ebook Central
Transforming Trauma: Resilience and Healing Through Our Connections With Animals OApen