Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ProCon Ebooks -- Handout Guide: Bio/Ag

This is the new home of eight, pages of links to ebooks to provide background for argument and ProCon paprs.

Pro Con Sources for Biology, Agriculture, Food/Nutrition

Where to Go

Back to the ProCon Rseources Welcome page.

Other Pro-Con Pages

Pro-Con Sources for International Issues

Pro-Con Sources All Around the World

Pro-Con Sources for National Political and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Work and Money Issues

Pro-Con Education Sources

Pro-Con Sources for Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration

Pro-Con Sources for Family, Gender, and Social Issues

Pro-Con Sources for Criminal Justice

Pro-Con Sources for Health and Medicine

Pro-Con Sources for Energy, Technology, and Computers

Sources for Books

GILFind: the library catalog.

Ebook Central, the library's biggest ebook database.

EBooks on EBSCOHost and Academic EBooks on EBSCOHost

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete: General and scholarly magazine and journal articles on every imaginable subject.

ABI Inform Collection for when science means business.

Medline with Full Text, research articles for biology, medical, and veterinary topics.

Agricola, a go-to database for all things agriculture-related.

Biology Database: for more biology articles, including ecology-related topics.

ProQuest News and Newspapers: Your source for newspaper articles.

Science Direct Mostly full text, scholarly, science articles from Elsevier.

And Don't Forget...

Clarkston Library Content or...

Handouts 4 U: handouts for you!

Selected Pro/Con Sources -- Life Science, Agriculture, and Food

If you need information, a starting place, or background for a pro-con/argument or persuasive speech on a topic related to biology, agriculture, food, or nutrition, try a chapter from one of the books below for an introduction or search for information in the numerous databases listed in the sidebar. These books are nearly all electronic and just a click away to any student, faculty, or staff who is logged into the library via iCollege or the library's own page. There are also some open access titles available through OApen and InTechOpen. Sources here are also as current as possible.




Genetics and Molecuar Biology
Altered Inheritance: CRISPR and the Ethics of Human Genome Editing Ebook Central
Gene Drives at Tipping Points: Precautionary Technology Assessment and Governance of New Approaches to Genetically Modify Animal and Plant Populations OApen
Heritable Human Genome Editing National Academies Press
Life Changing: How Humans Are Altering Life on Earth Ebook Central


Conservation, Zoology, and Ecology
Conservation Biology in Sub-Saharan Africa OApen
The Fall of the Wild: Extinction, De-Extinction, and the Ethics of Conservation EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Mammals of the Southeastern United States Ebook Central
Protecting Pollinators: How to Save the Creatures That Feed Our World Ebook Central
Rainforest: Dispatches from Earth's Most Vital Frontlines Ebook Central
Super Fly: The Unexpected Lives of the World's Most Successful Insects Ebook Central
Zoologist's Guide to the Galaxy : What Animals on Earth Reveal about Aliens--And Ourselves Ebook Central


Other Life Science
Ageless: The New Science of Getting Older Without Getting Old Ebook Central
Cooperative Evolution: Reclaiming Darwin's Vision JSTOR
Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds & Shape Our Futures Ebook Central
Nature Remade: Engineering Life, Envisioning Worlds Ebook Central
Unfit for Purpose: When Human Evolution Collides with the Modern World Ebook Central
Your Brain on Exercise Ebook Central


Agriculture
Bioeconomy: Shaping the Transition to a Sustainable, Biobased Economy OApen
Climate Smart Food Springer Link
Integrating Food into Urban Planning JSTOR
On an Empty Stomach: Two Hundred Years of Hunger Relief Project Muse
Pyrrhic Progress: The History of Antibiotics in Anglo-American Food Production OApen


Food Safety
Food Adulteration and Food Fraud Ebook Central
Food and Drink - Good Manufacturing Practice, 7th Edition O'Reilly Higher Education
Handbook of Food Safety EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Pure Adulteration: Cheating on Nature in the Age of Manufactured Food Ebook Central


Nutrition and Hunger
The Economics of Sustainable Food : Smart Policies for Health and the Planet Ebook Central
How to Eat : All Your Food and Diet Questions Answered Ebook Central
The Problem with Feeding Cities: The Social Transformation of Infrastructure, Abundance, and Inequality in America Ebook Central
Why Waste Food? Ebook Central


Food and Culture
Animal, Vegetable, Junk: A History of Food, from Sustainable to Suicidal Ebook Central
Coffee: A Global History Ebook Central
The Culinary Turn: Aesthetic Practice of Cookery OApen
Food Cultures of the United States: Recipes, Customs, and Issues Ebook Central
Food Fights: How History Matters to Contemporary Food Debates EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Hooked: Food, Free Will, and How the Food Giants Exploit Our Addictions Ebook Central
Natural: How Faith in Nature's Goodness Leads to Harmful Fads, Unjust Laws, and Flawed Science Ebook Central
Resetting the Table: Straight Talk about the Food We Grow and Eat Ebook Central
Sameness in Diversity: Food and Globalization in Modern America Ebook Central
The Story of Food in the Human Past: How What We Ate Made Us Who We Are Ebook Central
The Uncertainty Mindset: Innovation Insights from the Frontiers of Food Ebook Central