Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston - Deep Archive: On Display -- September 2009

This board features older display pages from the summer of 2006 to January of 2010

On Display -- September 2009

Featured Web Sites

Dr. Ruth.com
https://twitter.com/askdrruth

Ruth Westheimer is a psychosexual therapist with a PhD in education. An entire generation of teens and young adults (who are now no longer quite so young) grew up listening to Dr. Ruth's sage advice on her radio program, Sexually Speaking. Dr. Ruth is still giving advice on sexual health and relationships at her web site. and through her Twitter feed.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Food Safety Tips for College Students
https://www.foodsafety.gov/blog/2017
/08/food-safety-checklist-
for-college-students.html

With tons of social activities going on like football games and late night study sessions, it can be easy to forget about food safety, but there is nothing worse than missing out on that huge championship game or major exam all because you are sick from foodborne illness. *inserts sad face emoji* Well, we’ve got you covered! To make your college experience as food safe as possible, simply print off this checklist and be on your way!
Source: https://www.foodsafety.gov/blog/2017
/08/food-safety-checklist-
for-college-students.html

Go Ask Alice
http://www.goaskalice.
columbia.edu

Go Ask Alice! is a health Q&A Internet resource. It works to provide readers with reliable, accurate, accessible, culturally competent information and a range of thoughtful perspectives so that they can make responsible decisions concerning their health and well-being.
Source: http://www.goaskalice.
columbia.edu/about.html#2

Tips for College Health and Safety
http://www.cdc.gov/

Going to college is an exciting time in a young person’s life. It is a time for gaining new knowledge and experiences, both inside and outside the classroom. Here are a few pointers for college students on staying safe and healthy.
Source: http://www.cdc.gov/
Tips for College Health and Safety

Health Care for College Students
http://www.aap.org/
featured/healthcollege.pdf

This PDF document (requires Adobe Acrobat Reader) outlines in a few pages, the main health problems college students face. Topics covered include: infections, injuries, obtaining adequate nutrition, and safe sex.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Health Information
http://health.rutgers.edu/
education/medical-information/

An assortment of pamphlets and fact sheets on diseases and other health concerns of interest to college students, teens, and young adults.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

The Mayo Clinic
http://www.mayoclinic.org/

More than 3,300 physicians, scientists and researchers from Mayo Clinic share their expertise to empower you to manage your health.
Source: http://www.mayoclinic.org

Techniques of Healthy Cooking
15 minute Pilates

Medline Plus
http://www.medlineplus.gov

MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Source: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/
medlineplus/
aboutmedlineplus.html

NOAH: New York Online Access to Health
https://web.archive.org/web/
20090216161656/
http://www.noah-health.org/

NOAH provides access to high quality, full-text, consumer health information in English and Spanish that is accurate, timely, relevant, and unbiased. Note: this is an archived version of the web site which now belongs to England's National Health Service.
Source: http://www.noah-health.org
/en/about/index.php

Vaccines Needed by Teens and College Students
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/
schedules/easy-to-read/
adolescent-easyread.html

Vaccines are not just for babies and young children. As children get older, the protection provided by some early childhood vaccines can wear off. Children also generally develop risks for more diseases as they approach their teen years. For these reasons, older children – including teens - need to receive recommended vaccinations.
Source: https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/easy-to-read
adolescent-easyread.html

Combat Fitness
Pump Up Your Workout

Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.

The glass display case

The display's left panel

The display's center panel

The display's right panel

To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE

It's All About You Health & Wellness

This display is all about staying healthy while you juggle work, school, and family life. It specificallly addresses young adults' health needs: exercise, stress reduction, nutrition, reproductive health, and more.

General Health

Brown, Sally. Live Longer: Boost Your Energy, Strength, and Mobility -- And Feel Young for Life. New York: Penguin Group, 2007.
Call Number: RA776.75 .B7644 2007

Scientists now believe that a human's true lifespan is between 110 and 120 years. Live Longer helps readers approach those triple digits and feel better than they ever dreamed by fighting off illness, cleaning up their lifestyles, defusing their genetic time bombs, and determining their "real age" -and then lowering it. Ideas range from the ordinary to the extreme.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

The Mayo Clinic Plan: 10 Essential Steps to a Better Body & Healthier Life. New York: Time Inc. Home Entertainent Books, 2006.
Call Number: RA776 .M45 2006

Imagine if you could follow a simple, straightforward ten-step plan to a healthier life from the world's leading medical experts? The Mayo Clinic Plan is culled from MAYO CLINIC's current research and world-renowned medical experts, and includes the keys to healthy eating and a healthy lifestyle that are easy to follow.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Roizen, Michael F. et. al. You -- The Owner's Manual: An Insider's Guide to the Body that Will Make you Healthier and Younger. New York: Collins, 2008.
Call Number: RA776 .R723 2008

When it comes to your longevity and quality of life, understanding your internal systems gives you the power, authority, and ability to live a healthier, younger, and better life.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

Nutrition

Bittman, Mark. Food Matters: A Guide to Conscious Eating with More than 75 Recipes. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2009.
Call Number: RA784 .B55 2009

Imagine if you could follow a simple, straightforward ten-step plan to a healthier life from the world's leading medical experts? The Mayo Clinic Plan is culled from MAYO CLINIC's current research and world-renowned medical experts, and includes the keys to healthy eating and a healthy lifestyle that are easy to follow.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Combs, Gerald F. Jr. The Vitamins: Fundamental Aspects in Nutrition and Health. Boston: Elsevier Academic Press, 2008.
Call Number: QP771 .C645 2008

The strength of this book is the clear description of the chemistry of each vitamin and related compounds and of the biochemistry and metabolic functions in the body. For those who want to build their knowledge of vitamins on a chemical and biochemical base, this book will prove excellent.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Culinary Institute of America. Techniques fo Healthy Cooking. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley, 2008.
Call Number: TX820 .T384 2008

Created by the experts at The Culinary Institute of America, Techniques of Healthy Cooking is an indispensable companion in today’s health-conscious world. Drawing on the latest dietary guidelines, it provides detailed information for cooks eager to introduce more flavorful, healthier choices to their menus.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Hendel, Amy. Fat Families, Thin Families: How to Save Your Family from the Obesity Trap. Dallas, TX: BenBella Books, 2008.
Call Number: RM222.2 .H364 2008

Providing practical tips for making healthy changes on a daily basis and recipes that are simple, yet nutritious, enough for the busiest of families, this manual is an invaluable reference for those who tend toward obesity and encourage unhealthy eating habits, as well as families looking to reinforce their already healthy tendencies.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Klapp, Emilia. Your Heart Needs the Mediterranean Diet: Learn How Mediterraneans Have Kept a Healthy Heart for Centuries. Pasadena, CA: Preventive Nutrition Press, 2007.
Call Number: RA784 .K5145 2007

The Mediterranean lifestyle has been proven by scientific research to have health benefits, and now it can be followed easily with this guide that includes tips and recipes.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Litt, Ann Selkowitz. The College Student's Guide to Eating Well on Campus. Bethesda, MD: Tulip Hill Press, 2000.
Call Number: RA784 .L568 2000

Revised and expanded from the original information packed no-nonsense guide for college students. Learn how to beat the Freshman 15, what's in the food you eat and how to manage your special food situation on campus.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Nutrition Made Incredibly Easy! Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2007.
Call Number: RM216 .N86156 2007

Part of the popular Incredibly Easy! Series(TM) , this easy-to-read and comprehensive book covers nutritional fundamentals in chapters ranging from recommended allowances of essential nutrients, vitamins and minerals to the processes that transform food into energy.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Pollan, Michael. In Defense of Food: An Eater's Manifesto. New York: Penguin Press, 2008.
Call Number: RA784 .P643 2008

Food is the one thing that Americans hate to love and, as it turns out, love to hate. What we want to eat has been ousted by the notion of what we should eat, and it's at this nexus of hunger and hang-up that Michael Pollan poses his most salient question: where is the food in our food? What follows in In Defense of Food is a series of wonderfully clear and thoughtful answers that help us omnivores navigate the nutritional minefield that's come to typify our food culture.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Zinczenko David and Matt Goulding. Eat this, Not That! Thousands of Simple Food Swaps that Can Save You 10,20, 30 Pounds or More! Emmaus,PA: Rodale, 2008.
Call Number: RA784 .Z563 2008

This book puts the entire food industry under the spotlight, and arms you with the savvy tricks and insider information it takes to eat well no matter where you are. With Eat This, not That! you're the expert in every eating situation, from the frozen food aisle to your favorite fast food joint to your local sports bar.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

809scatastrophe.jpg 809sspabliss.jpg

Dieting and Weight Loss

Beck, Judith S. The Beck Diet Solution: Train Your Brain to Think Like a Thin Person. Birmingham, AL: Oxmoor House, 2007.
Call Number: RM222.2 .B396 2007

Can thinking and eating like a thin person be learned, similar to learning to drive or use a computer? Beck (Cognitive Therapy for Challenging Problems) contends so, based on decades of work with patients who have lost pounds and maintained weight through Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT).
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Berardi, John. The Metabolism Advantage: An 8-Week Program to Rev Up Your body's Fat-Burning Machine -- at Any Age. Emmaus, PA: Rodale, 2006.
Call Number: RM222.2 .B446 2006

Age-related weight gain is whittled down to size in this guide to boosting metabolism. Berardi's (Scrawny to Brawny) formula is basic: diet, exercise and supplements to build muscle and burn calories.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Raz, Olgah and Amir Kessner. The Bread for Life Diet: The High-on-Carbs Weight Loss Plan. New York: Stewart, Tabori, & Chang, 2005.
Call Number: RM222.2 .R386 2005

Sick of South Beach? Anti Atkins? Desperate for toast with your eggs? Then the Bread for Life Diet is your dream diet. The first new diet to buck the high-protein, low-carb craze, this revolutionary program not only allows you to indulge in the bread you've been denying yourself but actually requires you to: up to 16 slices a day!
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Rosati, Kitty and Robert Rosati. The Rice Diet Solution: The World-Famous, Low-Sodium, Good-Carb, Detox Diet for Quick and Lasting Weight Loss. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2006.
Call Number: RM222.2 .R67 2006

Founded by a pioneering Duke University physician in 1939, the Rice Diet Program has been helping dieters lose weight quickly, successfully, and permanently. Now, this world-renowned, medicallyapproved weight-loss method can help everyone across the world--and not just those who travel to Durham, North Carolina.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Smith, Ian. The Extreme Fat Smash Diet. New York: St. Martin's Griffin, 2007.
Call Number: RM222.2 .S6221 2007

Dr. Ian Smith’s Extreme Fat Smash Diet is safe, fast and ultra-effective—taking his proven weight loss system to its hard core.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Warshaw, Hope S. Eat out, Eat Right: The Guide to Healthier Restaurant Eating. Chicago, IL: Surrey Books, 2008.
Call Number: RA784 .W364 2008

The realistic, informative guidelines in Eat Out, Eat Right enable diners to make healthy menu choices from a wide variety of foods and cuisines, including Mexican, Italian, Chinese, Thai, fast food, and many others.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Full Catastrophe Living Spa Bliss

Exercise and Fitness

Bishop, Jan Galen. Fitness Through Aerobics. San Francisco: Pearson, 2005.
Call Number: RA781.15 .B58 2005

Fitness through Aerobics, Seventh Edition, teaches steps and methodologies for performing all types of aerobic dance exercises, as well as strength and flexibility exercises that contribute to proper technique. Readers like this book for its straightforward, accessible writing style and the wide range of topics and activities it covers.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Denney, Stacy and Kate Hodeson. Fit Mama: A Real-Life Fitness Guide for the New Mom. San Francisco: Chronicle Books, 2007.
Call Number: RG801 .D39 2007

From simple exercises to do with baby to full body cardio workouts, Fit Mama offers an effective, holistic approach to postpartum fitness. Stacy Denney and Kate Hodson know from experience that it doesn't happen overnight. They offer wise counsel on finding the time and energy to shape up gradually at first, and they motivate moms to amp it up as time goes by.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Pallas, Andrew. Beating Sports Injuries. Happague, NY: Barron's Educational Series, Inc., 2002.
Call Number: RD97 .P34 2002

Common sports injuries and their causes are outlined, with recommendations for safety measures, as well as for specific treatments when injuries occur.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Shipside, Steve. Pump Up Your Workout: Smart Ways to Make the Gym Work Harder for You. New York: Perigee, 2008.
Call Number: RA781 .S556 2008

When that initial surge of motivation has passed and the gym routine has become, well, routine, finding a way to banish exercise boredom is essential. Whether weight loss, toning, or increased stamina is the goal, Pump Up Your Workout will help readers defeat treadmill tedium and beat the bulge.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Silver, Julie K. and Christopher Morin. Editors. Understanding Fitness: How Exercise Fuels Health and Fights Disease. Westport, CT: Praeger, 2008.
Call Number: RA781 .U53 2008

This book goes beyond technique and teaches the more petite female how to gain an edge on a bigger or stronger opponent.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Ungaro, Alycea. 15 Minute Everyday Pilates. New York: DK Pub., 2008.
Call Number: RA781 .U542 2008

No time to exercise? No problem! DK's new 15-Minute Fitness series gives you all the tools you need to squeeze regular exercise into your life.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Stress Reduction

Foxman, Paul. Dancing with Fear: Controlling Stress and Creating a Life Beyond Panic and Anxiety. Alameda, CA: Hunter House Inc., 2007.
Call Number: BF575.A6 F68 2007

Based on the author’s years of experience with anxiety, both personally and professionally as a seasoned psychologist, Dancing with Fear uses a recovery approach to treating a widespread problem
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Glanville-Blackburn, Jo. Spa Bliss: Heavenly Ideas for Chilling Out. London: Duncan Baird Publishers, 2008.
Call Number: RA778 .G565 2008

Not everyone has the time or the money for a world famous spa. But with this book, it's easy to recreate the experience at home, with daily treatments designed for a busy lifestyle. On the menu: facials for glowing skin, massage techniques, foot baths, an exhilarating scrub and other wonderfully relaxing ideas that leave you refreshed.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Kabat-Zinn, John. Full Catastrophe Living: Using the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind to Face Stress, Pain, and Illness. New York: Delta Trade Paperbacks, 2005.
Call Number: RA785 .K33 2005

Kabat-Zinn, founder of the Stress Reduction Clinic at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center, is perhaps the best-known proponent of using meditation to help patients deal with illness.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Krista, Alix. The Book of Stress Survival: Identifying and Reducing the Stress in our Life. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1986.
Call Number: BF575.S75 K57 1986

An examination of the causes and effects of stress, showing how to identify and reduce unnecessary and unwanted stress. Provides complete programs for relaxation and "stress-proofing" lifestyles.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Sapolsky, Robert M. Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers. New York: Owl Book, 2004.
Call Number: RA785 .S43295 2006

With wit, graceful writing, and a sprinkling of Far Side cartoons, Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers makes understanding the science of stress an adventure in discovery.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Seaward, Brian Luke. Essentials of Managing Stress. Boston: Jones and Bartlett, 2006.
Call Number: RA785 .S43295 2006

Essentials of Managing Stress takes a streamlined approach to teaching the integration, balance, and harmony of mind, body, spirit and emotions. This holistic approach taken by internationally acclaimed lecturer and author Brian Luke Seaward introduces students to the fundamental theories and applications of the mind-body-spirit phenomenon.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Shealy, C. Norman. 90 Days to Stress-Free Living: A Day-to-Day Health Plan Including Exercises, Diet, and Relaxation Techniques. London: Vega, 2002.
Call Number: RA785 .S52 2002

Take control. No matter if you've spent years building up habits that produce stress, you can turn your mind and body into an oasis of calm in minutes a day.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

Reproductive Health

Gravelle, Karen and Jeniffer Gravelle. The Period Book: Everything You Don't Want to Ask (But Need to Know). New York: Walker & Co., 1996.
Call Number: QP263 .G73 1996

The Period Book is a reassuring must-read for every girl about to have her period, and every parent wishing to prepare a daughter for this important milestone. With more than 300,000 copies sold, The Period Book stands out from the pack by specifically addressing younger girls. And with eleven now the average age at which girls get their period, this supportive and practical approach, providing clear and sensitive answers to common questions, is even more welcome today.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Heffner, Linda J. and Danny J. Schust. The Reproductive System at a Glance. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishing, 2006.
Call Number: QP251 .H39 2006

Exactly as the title says, you get brief but detailed information on hormone production and action on reproductive system development, and the associated disorders. It is brilliant for gaining a basic understanding of the reproductive system. With the aid of colourful pitctures and reasonably simple explanations, this book makes it easy for you to understand the basic principles.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Mucciolo, Gary. Everything You need to Know About Birth Control. New York: Rosen Pub. Group, 2000.
Call Number: RG136.3 M83 2000

Discusses the reproductive system and the various methods of birth control and how they work.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Nalebuff, Rachel Kauder. My Little Red Book. New York: Twelve Books, 2009.
Call Number: HQ796 .N28 2009

Borrowing her title from Mao Tse-tung’s classic, 18-year-old Nalebuff presents her own, very different manifesto: an anthology that she hopes will help bring menstruation "into the arena of acceptable discourse." Ranging in age from teens to seniors, the international contributors speak about their first periods in entries that lead into broader questions of family life, social structure, gender politics, and self-image.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

809scatastrophe.jpg 809sspabliss.jpg

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information