About.com Black History Month
This slickly commercial site, offers links to a variety of black history related
topics including: the Harlem Renaissance, the civil rights movement, Jim Crow,
and more. There are also quizzes and articles.
https://www.thoughtco.com/
black-history-month-p2-1779248
Black Baseball
"Long before Jackie Robinson stepped on the field for the Dodgers,
black baseball had amassed a history all its own."
https://web.archive.org/web/
20060113030445/
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/
features/1997/blackbaseball/frame.html
Black History
A web site built to supplement and promote a television show that features
biographies of famous and innovative African Americans.
https://www.biography.com/
black-history-month
Black History Month
A web site packed with articles, speech excerpts, photos, and video clips celebrating the
civil rights struggle and commemorating Black History Month
hhttps://web.archive.org/web/20090320145921
/http://www.history.com/minisites/
blackhistory/
Forgotten Genius
"Against all odds, African-American chemist Percy Julian became one
of the great scientists of the 20th century."
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/julian/
InfoPlease Black History Month
A commerical site with numerous links to articles on:
black history, Black History Month, biographies of famous African
Americans, political issues facing African Americans today, and more.
http://www.infoplease.com/spot/bhm1.html
Powerful Days in Black and White
"Shocking photos brought the civil-rights struggle to all America. Relive it now
through the eyes of photojournalist Charles Moore."
https://web.archive.org/web/20060104103808
/http://www.kodak.com/
US/en/corp/features/
moore/mooreIndex.shtml
This is for thumbnail images
These last five images are thumbnails of the actual display. To see the full size images,
click on the thumbnails. Full size images appear in a separate window.
To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE
This exhibit keeps alive the memory of black history and celebrates Black History Month with books on everything from black poetry and baseball to slavery and the civil rights movement. All books in the case are still available for check out, and books with jackets displayed on the boards are usually upstairs on the shelves. Just look for their call numbers.
Battle, Thomas C. and Donna M Well,s Edidtors. Legacy: Treasures of Black History. Washington, DC:
National Geographic, 2006.
E185.53.W3 M66 2006
Source: From its Introduction by the revered and distinguished
John Hope Franklin to the bibliography and extensive index that complete
it, Legacy represents a major new contribution to African-American history.
The Black experience and its impact on our nation's culture and
character come alive in twelve chapters that sweep from ancient Africa and
the slave trade to such key eras as the Civil War, Emancipation, and
Reconstruction; the Harlem Renaissance and the Jim Crow Era; and the modern
Civil Rights and Black Power/Black Arts movements.
Source:
http://books.google.com
Clarke, Cheryl. "After Mecca": Women Poets and the Black Arts Movement. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2005.
PS310.N4 C48 2005
Discusses works by Gwendolyn Brooks, Audre Lorde, Ntozake Shange,
and other poets in a study of links between the Black Arts
Movement and black female writers in the 1960s and early 70s.
Source: Ayoub, Nina C. "New Scholarly Books." Chronicle of Higher Education 51(21)
January 28, 2005 pA18-A21.
Collier-Thomas, Bettye and V.P. Franklin, Editors. Sisters in the Struggle:
African American Women in the Civil Rights-Black Power Movement. New
York: New York University Press, 2001.
E185.61 .S615 2001
Sisters in the Struggle…is an impressive collection of essays that
chronicles black women's pivotal role in postwar freedom struggles. The anthology
pays particular attention to African American women who were
part of defining the national trajectory of black liberation movements but
have been marginalized within the large body of civil rights literature.
Source: Joseph, Peniel E. "Sisters in the Struggle: African American Women in the Civil Rights--Black Power
Movement." Journal of American History 92 2005 p304-305.
Collins, Lisa Gail, Editor. The Art of History: African American
Women Artists Engage the Past. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2002.
N6538.N5 C65 2002
Lisa Gail Collins sets out to redress an imbalance
in the attention paid to Black artists within
African American culture. Compared with, say music, visual art
by African Americans, especially women, has received little
attention, she argues. Even African American critics and historians
have neglected this important aspect of the visual arts.
Source: Lambirth, Andrew et. al. "Reviews." Art Book 10(2) March 2003 p48-49.
Harrison, Ira E. and Faye V. Harrison, Editors. African-American
Pioneers in Anthropology. Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press, 1999.
GN17.3.U6 A37 1999
African-American Pioneers in Anthropology, a collection of
essays edited by Ira E. Harrison and Faye V. Harrison, examines
a crucial and hitherto-neglected topic in the history of science: the intellectual
impact of African-American scholars in anthropology.
Source: Tucker, Jennifer. "African-American Pioneers in Anthropology (Book)"
ISIS: Journal of the History of Science in Society 95 2004 p322-234.
Hine, Darlene Clark. A Shining Thread of Hope:
The History of Black women in America. New York: Broadway Books, 1998.
E185.86 .H68 1999
This book is the first comprehensive historical text to
chronicle the varied experiences of African American women
from colonial times until the present. African American
women have been oppressed by race, gender, class,
and conditions that have led to their invisibility in history.
They have been neglected in books about the African
American experience and overlooked by most accounts of women
in American history. Their absence is not due to lack of evidence.
The authors have synthesized the vast amount of research completed
by individual scholars over the past 20 years into a readable "story"
about individuals and groups.
Source: Salem, Dorothy C. "A Shining Thread of Hope" Historian 63(1) Fall2000.
Holway, John. The Complete Book of Baseball’s Negro Leagues: The
Other Half of Baseball History. Fern Park, FL: Hastings House Publishers, 2001.
GV875.N35 H65 2001
These two volumes contribute a good deal to the ongoing
examination of the Negro Leagues. Holway,
one of the deans of black baseball history, provides the
most complete statistical accounting yet of the game's
segregated half. The obvious by-product of painstaking research,
The Complete Book of Baseball's Negro Leagues presents a quick overview
of African American participation from 1859 to 1882 and then
an annual accounting through 1948, the year after
Jackie Robinson entered the major leagues.
Source: Cotrell, R.C. "The Complete History of Baseball's Negro
Leagues Cool Papas and Double Duties (Book Review)" Library Journal 126(19)
November 15, 2001.
Litwack, Leon F. Trouble in Mind: Black Southerners in the Age of Jim Crow. New York: Vintage Books, 1999.
E185.6 .L58 1999
Building on his Pulitzer Prize-winning study BEEN
IN THE STORM SO LONG: THE AFTERMATH OF SLAVERY
(1979), Leon Litwack recounts the experiences of black Americans in
the South during the heyday of racial segregation in TROUBLE
IN MIND: BLACK SOUTHERNERS IN THE AGE OF JIM CROW. Litwack has
done impressive research in the primary sources on black-white relations between 1877
and 1915, and he takes the reader back into a largely vanished world where
whites exercised absolute power over their black population.
Source: Gould, Lewis L. "Trouble in Mind: Black Southerners in the Age of Jim Crow."
Magill Book Reviews Februrary 1, 1999.
Powell, Richard J. Black Art: A Cultural History. London: Thames & Hudson, 2002.
N6538.N5 P64 2002
An excellent publication--a comprehensive, well-illustrated,
well-written book. Previous edition published as Black Art
and Culture in the 20th Century in 1997.
A good choice for students recommended by university professors.
Source: Sutton, Cheryl. "Art, Fine Books." Black Issues Book Review 7(6)
Nov/Dec 2005 p29-31.
Reed, Betty Jamerson. The Brevard Rosenwald School: Black
Education and Community Building in a Southern Appalachian Town,
1920-1966. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., 2004.
LC2852.B73 R44 2004
The Brevard Rosenwald School: Black Education and
Community Building in a Southern Appalchian Town, 1920-1966 is the
story of a school faculty and community employing ingenuity in their struggle to
overcome the handicaps of racialized institutional neglect
in educating African Americans in the Appalachian Soth during the Jim Crow ear.
Source: Davis, David L. "The Brevard Rosenwald School: Black Education and Community Building
in a Southern Appalachian Town, 1920-1966." Journal of Southern History 71
May 2005 p484.
Souls Looking Back: Life Stories of Growing up Black. New York: Routledge, 1999.
E185.625 .S675 1999
A moving collection of 16 autobiographical essays by university
students, edited by Andrew Garrod, Janie Victoria Ward, Tracy L.
Robinson and Robert Kilkenny. The book, which features the voices of
biracial, African-Caribbean and African-American young people,
shares the experiences and candid reflections of a group that's often misunderstood.
Source: "Souls Looking Back (Book Review)" Ebony 56(1) November 2000 p21.
Tate, Gayle T. Unknown Tongues: Black Women’s Political Activism in the
Antebellum Era, 1820-1860. East Lansing, MI: Michigan State University Press, 2003.
E185.9 .T38 2003
Tate demonstrates a clear mastery of a number of
disciplines [history and political science] as well as skill in employing
them, dissecting and explaining the actions of African American women between 1830 and 1860.
Source: Jones, Rhett. "Unknown Tongues: Black Women's Political Activism in
the Antebellum Era, 1820-1860 (Book)" Journal of African American History 89
2004, p183-185.
Theoharis, Jeanne and Komozi Woodard, Editors. Groundwork:
Local Black Freedom Movements in America. New York: New York University, 2005.
E185.61 .G899 2005
The thirteen essays in this important collection examine
grass-roots struggles for racial justice throughout the United States from 1940 to 1980.
Source: Biondi, Martha. "Groundwork: Local Black Freedom Movements in
America." Journal of American History 92 2005 p1033-1034.
Du Bois, W. E. B. The Illustrated Souls of Black Folk. Boulder, CO: Paradigm Publishers, 2005.
E185.6 .D797 2005
This is a beautifully illustrated edition of Du Bois's classic.
Source: Rogers, Michael. "The Illustrated Souls of Black Folk" Library Journal 130(6) April 1, 2005.
Farrington, Lisa E. Creating Their Own Image: The History of
African-American Women Artists. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
N6538.N5 F27 2005
Farrington (art, race, & gender issues, Parsons Sch. of Design) has
produced a captivating and thorough study of a long-ignored aspect
of America's art history. Timed to coincide with a November 10 exhibition
of nearly 50 works at the Parsons Arnold and Sheila Aronson Galleries,
this book centers on the lives and works of female African American artists
and represents an extraordinary range of styles and subjects, with
much of the art relating directly to the artist's gender, ethnic ancestry, and social conditions.
Source: Burt, Eugene C. "Creating Their Own Image: The History of African-American
Women Artists" Library Journal 130(8) May 1, 2005 p82.
Herzog, Melanie. Elizabeth Catlett: In the Image of the People. Chicago: Art Institute of Chicago, 2005.
NB259.C384 H474 2005
Catlett is an artist of conscience and compassion
whose work embodies the consequences of racism, the nature of heroism, and the
meaning of freedom.
Source: Seaman, Donna"Elizabeth Catlett: In the Image of the People
" Booklist 102(11) February 1, 2006 p20.
Jordan, June. Directed by Desire: The Collected Poems of June Jordan. Port Townsend, WA: Copper Canyon Press, 2005.
PS3560.O73 A17 2005
"Odi et Amo," writes Catullus. The late June Jordan's
defiant revision of that slogan is, "I will love who loves me… I will hate who hates me."
Jordan's poetry might best be described as the lyric wing of her political
activism: there are no Catullan excruciations here, only excoriations of those
she hates and dewy celebrations of those she loves.
Source: Chiasson, Dan. "Directed by Desire" Poetry 187(2) Noevmber 2005.
Kenney, William Howland. Jazz on the River. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2005.
ML3508 .K45 2005
Focusing on an aspect of musical history often relegated to a
footnote, Kenney (history & American studies, Kent State Univ.) has
staked out a fresh vantage point for viewing the development of jazz. The influence of the railroads
and the subsequent decline of riverboats as viable commercial carriers
after World War I led to the growth of excursion boats
that employed dance bands to attract business along the Mississippi
and Ohio rivers. Kenney provides a good history of the
Streckfus Line, the most prominent of the tour boat companies,
and nicely describes the interconnection of the Streckfus policies and the
social and economic conditions of the time to paint a convincing
picture of the process of jazz maturing as it spread north
from New Orleans to Memphis, St. Louis, Chicago, and Pittsburgh.
Source: Woodhouse, Mark. "Jazz on the River" Library Journal 130(6) April 1, 2005 p96.
Phinney, Kevin. Souled American: How Black Music Transformed White Culture. New York: Billboard Books, 2005.
ML3479 .P5 2005
Texas journalist Phinney's first book traces the history of race
relations as seen through commingling musical crossovers and
a parade of personalities: from Al Jolson to Louis Jordan,
Billie Holiday to Bonnie Raitt, Zip Coon to Pat Boone.
This comprehensive coverage spans all genres, including blues,
country, gospel, jazz, R&B, ragtime, rock and rap.
Source: "Souled American: How Black Music Transformed White Culture"
Publishers Weekly 252(26) June 27, 2005 p51.
Wallinger, Hanna. Pauline E. Hopkins: a Literary Biography. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2005.
PS1999 .H4226 Z94 2005
Since the rediscovery of Pauline Elizabeth Hopkins (1859–1930), marked
in part by Ann Allen Shockley's 1972 biographical essay and the Schomburg
reprinting of her novels, there has been a virtual explosion in Hopkins scholarship,
including a growing number of journal articles, significant attention in a number of
book-length studies, and a 1996 collection of essays. Yet with all this attention,
there has been no single-author extended study of Hopkins's life and
work—until now. Hanna Wallinger's book fills this gap, providing a
long awaited and much needed resource for Hopkins scholars.
Source: Bergman, Jill. "Pauline E. Hopkins: A Literary Biography." Legacy 23(1) 2006 p98-99.
West, Dorothy. Where the Wild Grape Grows: Selected Writings, 1930-1950.
Amherst, MA: University of Massachusetts Press, 2005.
PS3545 .E82794 W48 2005
In this book, Professors Mitchell and Davis provide a carefully
researched profile of West and her circle that serves as an
introduction to a well-edited, representative collection of her out-of-print,
little-known, or unpublished writings, supplemented by many
family photographs. The editors document West's "womanist"
upbringing and her relationships with her mother, Rachel Benson West,
and other strong-minded women, including her longtime companion Marian Minus.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Where-Wild-Grape-Grows-1930-1950/dp/1558494715
White, Shane. The Sounds of Slavery: Discovering African American
History through Songs, Sermons, and Speech. Boston: Beacon Press, 2005.
E443 .W59 2005
More than ever we work, walk and drive to the beat of different drummers.
We create our own soundtracks. So did the communities of slaves trying to make a life
for themselves in foreign lands. And because their cultures and those of their captors
were so radically different, the collision of those soundtracks created cultural
dissonances that American music is still trying to resolve. The Sounds of
Slavery tries to reconstruct the aural universe of these slaves--the
sounds they made and the sounds they heard. It calls us to roll
down the windows of history, to take off our headphones so that we can
listen to the sounds of their past and ours.
Source: Tabery, Gena Caponi. "The Sounds of Slavery: Discovering African American History
through Songs, Sermons, and Speech" Christian Century 122(19)
September 20, 2005 p40-41.
Barber, John T. The Black Digital Elite:
African American Leaders of the Information Revolution. Westport, CT: Praeger, 2006.
E185.615 .B297 2006
Despite talk of a digital divide along lines of race and class,
media analyst Barber asserts that African Americans have been
actively involved in the development and progress of information technology.
He offers profiles of 26 black Americans who have made significant contributions to the
advancement of technology…
Source: Bush, Vanessa. "The Black Digital Elite: African American Leaders
of the Information Revolution" Booklist 103(8) December 15, 2006 p9.
Berry, Mary Frances. My Face Is Black Is True: Callie House and the Struggle for Ex-slave Reparations. New York: Vintage Books, 2005.
E185.97.H825 B47 2006
The call for reparations by the descendants of African-American
slaves elicits intense emotions among people on all sides of the
political spectrum. One irrefutable fact is that the issue is of contemporary
importance. In this book Mary Frances Berry, the former head
of the United States Civil Rights Commission under President Bill Clinton,
demonstrates African-American requests for compensation for centuries of
unpaid servitude have been a salient part of the political scene since
Emancipation. In doing so, Berry refutes many of the
arguments posed today by those opposed to reparations. But despite the
obvious political leanings of the author, My Face is Black is sophisticated history.
Berry illustrates the complexity of the reparations struggle within the black community whose
stratification along class lines often prevented the articulation of grievances posed by its poorest members.
Source: Pye, David Kenneth. "My Face Is Black Is True: Callie House
and the Struggle for Ex-Slave Reparations"
Georgia Historical Society Quarterly 90(2) 2006 p301-303.
Franklin, John Hope. Mirror to America: The Autobiography of
John Hope Franklin. New York: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 2005.
E175.5.F73 A3 2005
True to its title, Mirror to America simultaneously tells the
compelling life story of Franklin and details nearly nine decades of
American history. The author, a famed historian who played
a significant role in the Brown v. Board of Education case,
speaks candidly and thoroughly about his life experiences.
Source: Cooke, Nicole. "Mirror to America: The Autobiography of John
Hope Franklin" Library Journal 131(5) March 15, 2006 p110.
Jordan, Diann, Editor. Sisters in Science: Conversations with
Black Women Scientists About Race, Gender, and their
Passion for Science. West Lafayette, IN: Purdue University Press, 2006.
Q141 .S556 2006
Author Diann Jordan took a journey to find out what
inspired and daunted black women in their desire to become scientists
in America. Letting 18 prominent black women scientists talk for themselves,
Sisters in Science becomes an oral history stretching across decades and disciplines and desires.
Source:
http://www.amazon.com/Sisters-Science-Diann-Jordan/dp/1557533865
Parks, Gordon. A Hungry Heart: A Memoir. New York: Atria Books, 2005.
TR140.P35 A3 2005b
Parks (b. 1912) is the textbook definition of a "Renaissance Man." Perhaps
best known as the author of The Learning Tree (he later wrote the
screenplay and directed the film), he is also a photographer of note,
having been hired as Life magazine's first African American photographer in
the late 1940s. Prior to that, he worked as a musician, a
Civil Conservation Corps member, and a photographer for the Farm
Security Administration. After his success with The Learning Tree,
Parks went on to produce Shaft and other Hollywood films. This memoir,
published on the eve of his 94th birthday and in conjunction with a new
collection of his art, Eyes with Winged Thoughts: Poetry & Images, will
sweep readers along on the amazing adventures of a man who refused to accept the bigotries
of his time. Parks's personal life gets brief attention, which has been an amazing journey as well.
Source: Enright, Jan Brue. "A Hungry Heart: A Memoir" Library Journal
131(1) January 1, 2006 p19.
Porter, Horace A. The Making of a Black Scholar: From Georgia to the Ivy League. Iowa City, IA: University of Iowa Press, 2003.
E185.97.P67 M35 2003
Long before there were endowed chairs and Ivy League dream teams, before
there were collegiate bidding wars to attract Black talent, there were ad hoc thought committees
bent on proving that the term Black scholar was not an oxymoron.
At least since the days when Frederick Douglass stole literacy from a children's primer, education
has been as central to Black American life as improvisation is to jazz. Successive
generations of Black children have had the axiom of education-is-salvation instilled
as an elder tapped them on the temple promising, "Once you get it up here, nobody can take it away from you."
Horace Porter's memoir The Making of a Black Scholar details a largely
under-explored area in African American autobiographical narratives.
Source: Cobb, William Jelani. "A Scholar's Life Told Strictly by the Book"
Crisis 110(3) May/Jun 2003 p47.
Ridlon, Florence. A Black Physician’s Struggle for Civil Rights. Albuquerque, NM: University of New Mexico Press, 2005.
R695.M35 R53 2005
The sociologist, Florence Ridlon, has chronicled the life of
a remarkable individual, the African American physician, Edward C. Mazique.
Ridlon states openly in the introduction that "much of the book is in Eddie's own words."
Source: Pohl, Lynn Marie. "A Black Physician's Struggle for Civil Rights"
Journal of American History 92 2006 p1505.
Smith, Cheryl A. Market Women: Black Women Entrepreneurs--Past, Present, and Future. Westport, CT: Praeger, 2005.
HD6054.4.U6 S65 2005
Smith has produced an invaluable study of black women entrepreneurs....Smith contends that black
women have historically possessed certain qualities of leadership, rooted in their
personal life experiences, which make them ideally suited for business success
while they nonetheless remain challenged by structural racism and sexism. Smith also
discusses the impact of education for those who have succeeded in the business world.
Part spiritual memoir, part sociological study, this book is written by
an author who is an entrepreneur herself. She argues for a reconsideration of the way
in which this society defines success in business as it rethinks business education
and attempts to expand opportunities for all.
Source
http://www.amazon.com/Market-Women-Entrepreneurs-Present-Future/dp/027598379X
Williams, Heather Andrea. Self-taught: African American Education in
Slavery and Freedom. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 2005.
LC2802.S9 W55 2005
…Discusses how Southern African-Americans sought education during and
after the Civil War, highlighting the efforts that former slaves made on
their own behalf by teaching, building schools, and attending school themselves.
Source: "The Nineteenth Century." History Today 55(5) May 2005 p75.
Duke, Lynne. Mandela, Mobutu, and Me: A Newswoman’s African Journey. New York: Doubleday, 2003.
DT1974 .D85 2003
Duke covered southern Africa as Johannesburg bureau
chief for The Washington Post from 1995 to 1999. Her engaging memoir
provides a close-up look at the fall of Mobutu Sese Seko in the former
Zaire, the ascendance of Nelson Mandela in South Africa, dramatic high points of
South Africa's Truth and Reconciliation Commission, and many poignant vignettes of
everyday African life from Cape Town to Kigali.
Source: Pye, Lucian W. "Mandela, Mobutu, and Me:
A Newswoman's African Journey (Book)" Foreign Affairs 82(5) Sep/Oct2003 p191.
Ficara, John Francis. Black Farmers in America. Lexington, KY: University Press of Kentucky, 2006.
S521.5.A2 F53 2006
Journalist Juan Williams's conscientious and succinct essay in
Black Farmers in America describes the history, the plight and the
mettle of African American farmers and their families. His tightly written prose perfectly amplifies
Ficara's intimate, full-page, black-and-white photographs. Ficara photographed about 60
farm owners from 1999 to 2002 for part of the project.
Source: Reynolds, Clarence V. "The Few and the Very Proud"
Black Issues Book Review 8(6) Nov/Dec2006 p39.
Franklin, John Hope. In Search of the Promised Land:
a Slave Family in the Old South. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
E444 .F825 2006
While presenting the story of the Thomas-Rapier family's search for
freedom and economic security, the authors illuminate an important but
little-known aspect of southern history, the situation of free
blacks and quasi-free slaves in the antebellum South. Anyone who is
interested in black history or southern history will benefit from reading this important work.
Source: Carey, Charles W. Jr. "In Search of the Promised Land: A Slave Family in the
Old South" Magill Book Reviews February 1, 2006.
Mitchell, John Hanson. Looking for Mr. Gilbert: The Reimagined
Life of an African American. Washington, DC: Shoemaker & Hoard, 2005.
F73.9.N4 M58 2005
Mitchell was researching another book in the mid-1970s when he stumbled
upon a photo of Gilbert among 2,000 antique glass plate negatives stored
at an old estate. He first assumed that the photos, mainly of birds and
landscapes, were the work of William Brewster, a wealthy white Bostonian
and renowned ornithologist. A tip soon led Mitchell to believe the photos were
really the work of Brewster's servant, Gilbert, and the author began his long
quest to expose the black man's life.The book spans generations and continents.
Along the way, we learn about Gilbert the photographer, naturalist, curator, musician,
world traveler, gourmet cook, estate manager, entrepreneur, family man, churchgoer and
upper middle-class resident of Cambridge, Massachusetts.
Source: Addison, Eric. "Looking for Mr. Gilbert: The Reimagined
Life of an African American" Black Issues Book Review 7(2) Mar/Arp2005 p54.
Petry, Elisabeth Editor. "Can Anything Beat White?:" A Black
Family’s Letters. Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi, 2005.
PS3531.E933 Z55 2005
Petry offers a mesmerizing look at the everyday lives of a
middle-class African American family in the nineteenth century through a glimpse
of the 400 cards and letters saved by the James family
between 1891 and 1910. The family, who settled in Hartford , Connecticut, just
after the Civil War, demonstrated enterprise and determination, giving rise to several
entrepreneurs, adventurers, and the critically acclaimed novelist, Ann Petry.
Source: Bush, Vanessa. "'Can Anything Beat White?' A Black Family's Letters"
Booklist 102(3) October 1, 2005 p19.
Pybus, Cassandra. Epic Journeys of Freedom: Runaway Slaves of the American
Revolution and Their Global Quest for Liberty. Boston: Beacon Press, 2006.
E450 .P99 2006
This gripping and enlightening book traces the steps of 32 fugitive
slaves who fled their American colonial masters at the onset of the American Revolution
and sought refuge from the British. Pybus (history, Univ. of Tasmania; The Woman Who
Walked to Russia) explains in vivid and eloquent prose how
these fugitives struggled for civil and human rights before, during, and after their escapes.
Source: King, Douglas. "Epic Journeys of Freedom: Runaway Slaves of the
American Revolution and Their Global Quest for Liberty"
Library Journal 131(2) February 1, 2006 p92.
Sokolove, Michael Y. The Ticket Out: Darryl Strawberry and the Boys of Crenshaw. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2004.
GV865.S87 S65 2004
Sokolove, a contributing writer for the New York Times Magazine, has
written a passionate, heartbreaking yet sympathetic look at what happens when schoolyard dreams
meet the "cold-blooded business" of professional baseball.
After writing a 2001 magazine profile on Strawberry, who after
high school quickly rose to superstar status with the New York Mets only
to decline into an ongoing struggle with drugs, Sokolove decided to further
explore "where he came from and what produced this tragic American icon."
He found the answer by looking in depth at the 1979 Crenshaw High
base ball team--"the greatest assemblage of talent in the whole history of high school baseball"--and
the inner city Los Angeles community that produced him.
Source: "The Ticket Out: Darryl Strawberry and the Boys of Crenshaw" Publishers Weekly 251(11)
March 15, 2004 p67.
Walters, Ronald W. Freedom Is Not Enough: Black Voters, Black Candidates, and
American Presidential Politics. Lanham, MD: Rowan & Littlefield, 2005.
JK1924 .W343 2005
Abolitionists and civil rights activists have fought long and hard for
black suffrage and voting rights, arguing that freedom is meaningless without
full citizenship and the right to vote. In this work, published to coincide with
the 40th anniversary of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, Walters
(government & politics, Univ. of Maryland, College Park; White
Nationalism, Black Interests: Conservative Public Policy and the Black Community) examines the
impact of the black vote on presidential elections since the signing of the law.
Source: Barnes, Sherri L. "Freedom Is Not Enough: Black Voters, Black Candidates,
and American Presidential Politics." Library Journal 130(12) July 1, 2005 p100.
Back to the top of the page.
