Andersonville National Historic Site
From the Revolutionary War to Operation Iraqi Freedom, American prisoners of war have endured untold hardships, and shown tremendous courage. Andersonville NHS commemorates the sacrifices of these brave Americans through exhibits in the National Prisoner of War Museum; preserves the site of Camp Sumter (Andersonville prison); and manages Andersonville National Cemetery.
Atlanta History Center
Beginning as a group of civic-minded Atlantans – led by prominent attorney Walter McElreath and meeting in each other’s homes, collecting early manuscripts and photos, and publishing research bulletins to "arouse in the citizens and friends of Atlanta an interest in history" – it has turned into a primary source of Atlanta, regional and national history.
Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia is a gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources.
The Georgia Archives identifies and preserves Georgia's most valuable historical documents. Whether you love history, or simply want to know how we serve the citizens of Georgia, we invite you to explore our web site or visit us in the City of Morrow, located just south of Atlanta. We look forward to serving you!
Georgia Historical Society
The oldest cultural institution in the state, and one of the oldest historical societies in the country, GHS fulfills its mission to collect, preserve and share Georgia’s history by presenting a variety of educational programs, authoring publications on Georgia and southern history, and by operating a library and archives at its headquarters, Hodgson Hall , a National Historic Landmark building in Savannah.
Georgia Records Association
The Georgia Records Association (GRA) is a professional organization dedicated to establishing responsible Records Management practices throughout local and state government in Georgia. The Association is committed to providing professional development through continued education and networking, while serving as a source of information and support to all local and state government organizations.
Historic Oakland Cemetery
Less than a mile from the heart of downtown Atlanta, a hidden treasure, a secret sanctuary, welcomes you. This garden cemetery, founded in 1850, is the final resting place of many of Atlanta's settlers, builders, and most noted citizens like Bobby Jones, Margaret Mitchell, and Maynard Jackson. It is also a showplace of sculpture and architecture, and a botanical preserve with ancient oaks and magnolias. Here in this peaceful place the full scope of the city's rich and fascinating history unfolds before you.
Margaret Mitchell House and Museum
Margaret Mitchell, Peggy Marsh to her friends, dubbed her apartment, “The Dump.” Surprisingly, it is in this shabby little apartment on the bottom floor that this petite, yet mighty woman wrote a big 'ol book that sold faster than a duck on a June bug!
Martin Luther King Historical Site
The Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic site was established to preserve and interpret the places where Dr. King was born, worked, worshipped and is buried. Places to visit include the Visitor Center, Ebenezer Baptist Church, The King Center (Freedom Hall), Fire Station No. 6, Dr. King's Birth Home and the restored Birth Home Block.
Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.
To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE
This display gets local with both books and websites on Atlanta and Georgia history from the seventeenth century to the recent past.
Blass, Kimberly S. and Micahel Rose.
Atlanta Scenes: Photojournalism in the Atlanta History Center Collection.
Charleston, SC: Arcadia, 2003.
Call Number: F294 .A857 .A537 2003
Synopsis: Atlanta Scenes: Photojournalism in the Atlanta History Center Collection contains almost 200 image of the Atlanta area, all photographed by some of the city's finest and earliest photojournlists, and all gahered from one place -- the visual arts archives of the Atlanta History Center.
Source: Blass, Kimberly S. and Michael Rose. "Introduction."
Buffington, Perry W. and Kim Underwood.
Archival Atlanta; Electric Street Dummies, the Great
Stonehenge Explosion, Nerve Tonics, and
Bovine Laws: Forgotten Facts and
Well-Kept Secrets from our City's Past.
Atlanta, GA: Peachtree Publishers, 1996.
Call Number: F294 .A857 .B84 1996
Who was Sherman's secret Southern sweetheart? How did medical school parties aid in the discovery of anaesthesia? Does it really rain candy bars in Atlanta? And just what is an "Electric Street Dummy?" Discover the secrets and facts that have made Atlanta one of the world's most intriguing cities.
Burns, Rebecca and Jack Heffron.
Rage in the Gate City: The Story of the 1906 Atlanta Race Riot.
Cincinnati, OH: Emmis Books, 2006.
Call Number: F294 .A89 .N4243 2006
During the hot summer of 1906, anger simmered in Atlanta, a city that outwardly savored its reputation as the Gate City of the New South, a place where the races lived peacefully, if apart, and everyone focused more on prosperity than prejudice. But racial hatred came to the forefront during a heated political campaign, and the city’s newspapers fanned its flames with sensational reports alleging assaults on white women by black men.
Carawan, Guy and Candie Carawan.
Ain't You Got a Right to the Tree of Life?
The People of Johns Island South Carolina,
Their Faces, Their Words, and Their Songs.
New York: Simon and Schuster, 1966.
Call Number: E185.93 .S7 .C3
Ain't You Got a Right to the Tree of Life? presents an oral, musical, and photographic record of the venerable Gullah culture in modern times. With roots stretching back to their slave forebears, the Johns Islanders and their folk traditions are a vital link between black Americans and their African and Caribbean ancestors.
Catron-Sullivan, Stacia and Susan Neill.
Women in Atlanta.
Charleston, SC: Arcadia, 2005.
Call Number: HQ1439 .A7 .C38 2005
Although Southern women are often portrayed as belles, the photographic record suggests the true diversity, complexity, and richness of their lives. In their roles as wives, mothers, teachers, pilots, businesswomen, and reformers, among others, women contributed greatly to the growth and development of the region.
Crutchfield, James Andrew.
It Happened in Georgia
Guilford, CT: TwoDot, 2007.
Call Number: F286.6 .C78 2007
General Sherman marched across it, John Muir walked across it, FDR soaked in its hot springs, and Hank Aaron hit an important home run out of one of its ballparks. Some of the most captivating episodes in Georgia history come to life in this entertaining and informative collection.
To Build Our Lives Together: Community Formation in Black Atlanta 1875-1906.
Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2004.
Call Number: F294 .A89 .N435 2004
After Reconstruction, against considerable odds, African Americans in Atlanta went about such self-interested pursuits as finding work and housing. They also built community, says Allison Dorsey.
Georgia Department of Archives and History.
Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 1982.
Call Number: F287 .G27 1982
Vanishing Georgia comprises nearly 18,000 photographs. Ranging from daguerreotypes to Kodachrome prints, the images span over 100 years of Georgia history.
Georgia Slave Narratives: A Folk History
of Slavery in Georgia from Interviews with
Former Slaves: Typewritten Records
Prepared by the
Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938.
Bedford, MA: Applewood Books, 2006.
Call Number: E445 .G3 .G46 2006
A folk history of Slavery in the United States From Interviews with Former Slaves, by Work Projects Administration.
Goldstein, Jonathan Ed.
Georgia's East Asian Connection, Into the Twenty-First Century.
Carllton, GA: West Georgia College, 1990.
Call Number: F295 .O6 .G462 1990
The Chinese have a saying, "The only thing constant is change." If we are to be prepared for the change occuring in our midst and in the homelands of our East Asian neighbors, we must learn more about them.
Source: Conner, Francis P. "Forward."
Hawley, Scott W. and Kevin L. Crow.
Museums of Atlanta: A Guide for Residents and Visitors.
Yardley, PA: Westholme, 2006.
Call Number: F294 .A83 .H285 2006
The Southeast's Largest Concentration of Collections Atlanta, famous for its hospitality and vibrant corporate community, has experienced unprecedented growth over the past twenty years. Razed by the Union Army almost 150 years ago, today Atlanta is not only the main business and transportation hub in the southeast, it has the distinction of being home to the largest number of museums in the region.
Kaufman, Burton Ira and Scott Kaufman.
The Presidency of James Earl Carter Jr.
Lawrence, KS: The University of Kansas Press, 2006.
Call Number: E872 .K38 2006
As president, Jimmy Carter was "long on good intentions but short on knowledge." The author of this superb book (history, Virginia Tech.(sic)) firmly grounds his research in the massive collections of the Carter Library in Atlanta. He demonstrates convincingly that while Jimmy Carter was certainly "one of the nation's brightest chief executives," he failed to articulate "an overarching purpose and direction for his administration."
Kaufman, David R.
Peachtree Creek: A Natural and
Unnatural Histoyr of Atlanta's Watershed.
Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2007.
Call Number: GB991 .G4 .K38 2007
Kaufman reveals fascinating aspects of Atlanta by examining how Peachtree Creek shaped and was shaped by the history of the area. Street names like Moore's Mill Road and Howell Mill Road take on new meaning. He explains the dynamics of water run off that cause the creek to go from a trickle to a torrent in a matter of hours. Kaufman asks how a waterway that was once people's source of water, power, and livelihood became, at its worst, an open sewer and flooding hazard. Portraying some of our worst mishandling of the environment, Kaufman suggests ways to a more sustainable stewardship of Peachtree Creek.
King, Martin Luther Jr.
The Papers of Martin Luther King Jr.
Berkeley, CA: University of California Press 1992.
Call Number: E185.97 .K5 .A2 1992
The huge library of scholarship on King is enriched, and readers will be enlightened, by the dense compilation of juvenilia and documents presented in this first of 14 volumes. . . . What emerges from this wealth of research is an intellectual and emotional portrait of young Martin. It is a fascinating depiction of how powerfully and positively the black Baptist tradition of social-gospel Christianity shaped character early in this century...
Kruse, Kevin Michael.
White Flight: Atlanta and the Making of Modern Conservatism.
Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2005.
Call Number: F294 .A89 .A233 2005
In this reappraisal of racial politics in modern America, Kevin Kruse explains the causes and consequences of "white flight" in Atlanta and elsewhere. Seeking to understand segregationists on their own terms, White Flight moves past simple stereotypes to explore the meaning of white resistance. In the end, Kruse finds that segregationist resistance, which failed to stop the civil rights movement, nevertheless managed to preserve the world of segregation and even perfect it in subtler and stronger forms.
Black Atlanta in the Roaring Twenties.
Dover, NH: Arcadia, 1997.
Call Number: F294 .A89 .N4463 1997
Long before it came to prominence as the model city of the New South, as well as earning the title “the new Motown,” Atlanta was a hotbed of entertainment, business, and civic life for African Americans.
Politics, Civil Rights, and Law in Black Atlanta 1870-1970.
Charleston, SC: Arcadia, 2000.
Call Number: F294 .A89 .N447 2000
This book returns readers to a tumultuous era in our nation's history as African-American leaders worked tirelessly in Atlanta, Georgia to make civil rights a reality. Showcasing approximately 200 black-and-white photographs, this volume features images of such key figures as Martin Luther King Jr. and Jesse Jackson.
Meyers, Christopher C. Ed.
The Empire State of the South: Georgia History in Documents and Essays.
Macon, GA: Mercer University Press, 2008.
Call Number: F286 .E52 2008
In this volume, students have the opportunity to read Georgia history rather than reading about Georgia history. Encompassing the entirety of Georgia history into the twenty-first century, The Empire State of the South is suitable for all courses on Georgia history.
Ties That Bind: The Story of an Afro-Cherokee Family in Slavery and Freedom.
Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 2005.
Call Number: E99 .C5 .M553 2005
This beautifully written book tells the haunting saga of a quintessentially American family. It is the story of Shoe Boots, a famed Cherokee warrior and successful farmer, and Doll, an African slave he acquired in the late 1790s.
Folkerts, George W. and Lucian Niemeyer.
Trembling Earth: A Cultural History of the Okefenokee Swamp.
Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2005.
Call Number: F292 .O5 .N45 2005
Whenever human or animal feet stepped upon the floating land of Okefenokee, it trembled. This phenomenon gave the swamp its Native American name, Okefenokee, "trembling earth."
This Georgia Rising: Education, Civil Rights, and the Politics of Change in Georgia in the 1940's.
Macon, GA: Mercer University Press, 2007.
Call Number: F291 .N685 2007
This Georgia Rising is a study of Georgia’s political changes in the decade of the Second World War and in the postwar years of the 1940s.
Pollitzer, William S.
The Gullah People and Their African Heritage.
Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2005.
Call Number: E185.93 .S7 .P65 2005
The Gullah-speaking people of the South Carolina and Georgia sea islands have long fascinated scholars and anthropologists because their culture retains a greater African influence than the culture of African Americans generally. Their creolized language, naming practices, handicrafts, musical styles, folktales, and folk beliefs all give strong evidence of the sea islanders' African roots.
Schweitzer, George Keene.
Georgia Genealogical Research.
Knoxville, TN: Regent Court, 1987.
Call Number: F285 .S38 1987
This book features several detailed chapters on Georgia history, more chapters on assorted public records, and then lists of record repositories by Georgie county. This is a useful reource for those interested in tracking down ancestors who resided in this state long ago and family trees that are not spread out all over the country or world.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer
Strayer, Larry M. and Richard A. Baumgartner.
Echoes of Battle: The Atlanta Campaign: An
Illustrated Collection of Union and
Huntington, WV: Blue Acorn Press, 2004.
Call Number: E476.6 E236 2004
Offers a collection of diaries, letters, journals, memoirs, official reports, and wartime photographs of Union and Confederate narratives by combatants who participated in one of the most important campaigns of the Civil War.
Sweet, Julie Anne.
Negotiating for Georgia: British-Creek Relations in the Trustee Era, 1733-1752.
Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2005.
Call Number: E99 .C9 .S94 2005
This study of conflict and compromise, dominance and accommodation, will alter previous judgments about the Georgia Trustee colony-and the role of Tomochichi and the Lower Creeks in ensuring its survival.
Vaeth, Gordon J.
The Man Who Founded Georgia.
New York: Crowell-Coillier Press, 1968.
Call Number: F289 .O369
The Oglethorpe story, as will be seen, was about more than a man and a colony. It was also a story of empires.
Source: Vaeth, J. Gordon. "Introduction."
Wetherington, Mark V.
Plain Folks's Fight: The Civil War and Reconstruction in Piney Woods Georgia.
Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 2005.
Call Number: E559 .W48 2005
In an examination of the effects of the Civil War on the rural Southern home front, Mark V. Wetherington looks closely at the experiences of white "plain folk"--mostly yeoman farmers and craftspeople--in the wiregrass region of southern Georgia before, during, and after the war.
White, Max E. and Jerald T. Milanich.
The Archaeology and History of Native Georgia Tribes.
Gainesville, FL: University of Florida, 2002.
Call Number: E78 .G3 .W54 2002
Spanning 12,000 years, this scientifically accurate and very readable book guides readers through the prehistoric and historic archaeological evidence left by Georgia’s native peoples. It is the only comprehensive, up-to-date, and text-based overview of its kind in print. Drawing on an extensive body of archaeological and historical data, White traces Native American cultural development and accomplishment over the millennia preceding the establishment of Georgia as a colony and state.
The Georgia Gold Rush: Twenty-Niners, Cherokees, and Gold Fever.
Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina Press, 1993.
Call Number: F290 .W54 1993
In the 1820s a series of gold strikes from Virginia to Alabama caused such excitement that thousands of miners poured into the region. This southern gold rush, the first in U.S. history, reached Georgia with the discovery of the Dahlonega Gold Belt in 1829. The Georgia gold fields, however, lay in and around Cherokee territory.
Back to the top of the page.