On Display at Clarkston - Deep Archive: On Display -- July 2009

Websites and Articles

Barlyn, Suzanne. "The Dummying of America." Fortune 1 May 1995: 28.
Comments on the trend in dummies in motion pictures and books. The films Forrest Gump and Dumb and Dumber; Mutual Funds for Dummies, one of a series of Dummies titles from IDG Books Worldwide; The Complete Idiot's Guides, from Macmillan Publishing; Why playing the dumb card seems to work.
Source:Business Source Complete

Donadio, Rachel. "Dumbing Up." Mew York Times 24 September 2006: Section 7. p. 31.
Takes a behind the scenes look at the For Dummies phenomenon including a history of the books and how they are produced.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Dummies.com Making Everything Easier.
http://www.dummies.com
Offers articles and videos to answer questions and improve skills in fields ranging from Office 2007 to Bhuddism.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Foege, Alec & Gabrielle Saveri. "Nobody's Fool." People Magazine 2 February 1998: 63-64.
Profiles publisher John Kilcullen, creator of the guide book series that began 1991's `DOS for Dummies.' His business failure, prior to the publication; The success of his series and IDG Books Worldwide, in Foster City, California; Figures; How he came up with the idea; The importance of a good sense of humor in his business and life;
Source: Academic Search Complete

Funding Universe.com IDG Books Worldwide.
http://www.fundinguniverse.com/
company-histories/
IDG-Books-Worldwide-Inc-
Company-History.html
Gives a history of IDG Books which hit a bonanza of profitiability with the early For Dummies books.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Hall, Dennis. "Modern and Postmodern Wedding Planners: Emily Post’s Etiquette in Society (1937) and Blum & Kaiser’s Weddings for Dummies (1997)." Studies in Popular Culture 24.3(2002): 37-48. Studies in Popular Culture. 15, July 2009.
https://www.jstor.org/
stable/23414965
In a comparative analysis of Emily Post’s classic counsel on the conduct of a wedding enunciated in the late 1930s and that of a current favorite, Weddings for Dummies, published in the late 1990s, we get a sense of two distinct narrative structures and approaches to the cultural necessity of sense making.
Source: Dennis Hall

Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.

To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE

This display highlights the For Dummies books, the popular manuals that give the basics on academic subjects and that can teach you to do just about anything. For Dummies feature a straight forward style and clear examples. They point out helpful tips and warn about common pit falls. For Dummies books are available at all Perimeter College at Georgia State University libraries.

Mathematics, Science, and Electronics

Byrnes, David. AutoCad 2009 for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ:Wiley, 2008.
Call Number: T385 .B945 2006
An introduction to the drafting software covers every aspect of this program, from the basics to more advanced applications, and furnishes the latest features, including Internet-driven design capabilities.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Ewards, C.C. TI-83 Plus Graphing Calculator for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2004.
Call Number: QA331 .E33 2004
This friendly guide will help you explore your TI-83 Plus Graphing Calculator and use it for all it’s worth, and that’s a lot.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Edwards, C.C. TI-89 Graphing Calculator for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2005.
Call Number: QA75 .E39 2005
TI-89 For Dummies is the plain-English nuts-and-bolts guide that gets you up and running on all the things your TI-89 can do, quickly and easily.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Gookin, Dan. . Buying a Computer for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2004.
Call Number: QA76.5 .G62863 2004
A guide to shopping for computers at retailers, discount stores, and on the Web. Discusses hardware and software basics, computer needs, comparison shopping, service and support, and the right questions to ask before purchasing.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Gookin, Dan. Word 2007 for Dummies. Indianapolis, IN: Wiley, 2006.
Call Number: Z52.5.M52 G6696 2007
An essential resource for everyone who wants to hit the ground running with Word 2007 and make the most of all the new features
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Lyle, D.P. Forensics for Dummies Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2004.
Call Number: HV8073 .L93 2004
A plain-English primer on crime scene investigation that's a must for fans of CSI or Patricia Cornwell.
Source: hnttp://www.dummies.com

Maran, Stephen P Astronomy for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2005.
Call Number: QB63 .M38 2005
An accessible guide to the wonders of the night sky, now updated From asteroids to black holes, from quasars to white dwarfs, this new edition of Astronomy For Dummies takes backyard stargazers on a grand tour of the universe.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Rathbone, Andy. Upgrading & Fixing PCs for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2007.
Call Number: TK7887 .R38 2007
Covers upgrades for gaming, digital video, and entertainment! Transform your PC into a glitch-free, turbocharged, multimedia machine Want to add punch to your PC? This handy reference helps add power to your old computer.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

To return to the top of the page, please click here.

Rozakis, Laurie E. Vocabulary for Dummies. New York: Hungry Minds, 2002.
Call Number: PE1449 .R695 2002
Shows how to use vocabulary to communicate effectively in any situation and includes tips for remembering when and how to use the right word.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Ryan, Mark. Calculus for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2003.
Call Number: QA303.2 .R86 2003
Well, the good news is that you can master calculus. It's not nearly as tough as its mystique would lead you to think. Much of calculus is really just very advanced algebra, geometry, and trig. It builds upon and is a logical extension of those subjects. If you can do algebra, geometry, and trig, you can do calculus.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Siegfried, Donna Rae. Anatomy and Physiology for Dummies. New York: Wiley, 2002.
Call Number: QP34.5 .S526 2002b
Some people think that knowing about what goes on inside the human body can sap life of its mystery, which is too bad for them, because anybody who’s ever taken a peak under the hood knows that the human body, and all its various structures and functions, is a realm of awe-inspiring complexity and countless wonders.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Smith, Bud & Peter Frazier. Creating Web Graphics for Dummies New York: Wiley, 2003.
Call Number:T385 .S62195 2003
The only starter guide on Web graphics that covers static images, such as buttons and banners, as well as photos, animation, and video.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Young, Jargaret Levine & Carol Baroudi. The Internet for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2007.
Call Number: TK5105.875.I57 L48 2007
Covers hardware, software, servers, e-mail, search engines, online shopping and auctions, resources for children, parental guidance, and privacy.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

To return to the top of the page, please click here.

Finance and Careers

Arata, Michael J. Preventing Identity Theft for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2004.
Call Number: HV6679 .A73 2004
Explains how to minimize the risk of identity theft, respond to stolen identity, obtain and repair credit and insurance reports, deal with junk mailers and telephone solicitors, and protect one’s computer from spam and hackers.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Benna, Ted & Breanda Watson Newman. 401(k)s for Dummies. New York: Wiley, 2003.
Call Number: HD7105.4 .B46 2003
This simple, plain-English guide shows you how to manage your accounts, minimize your risks, and maximize your returns.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Kennedy, Joyce Lain. Job Interviews for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2008.
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 K393 2008
An updated job hunter’s handbook. Explains how to prepare for a job interview and present the right appearance. Suggests ways to answer frequently asked questions, and tells how to decide if you really want the job and the proper ways of following up.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Lindsell-Roberts, Sheryl. Business Writing for Dummies. Foster City, CA: IDG Books, 1999.
Call Number: HF5718.3 .L563 1999
Equipped with Sheryl Lindsell-Roberts' sage and friendly guidelines and her Six Steps of effective business writing, prepare yourself to be a great business writer!
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Murphy, Paul A. & Michael Meadhra. Banking Online for Dummies. Foster City, CA: IDG Books Worldwide, 1999.
Call Number: HG1711 .M87 1999
Standing in long lines at the bank is a thing of the past. Discover the ways to save yourself time and money by banking online.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

To return to the top of the page, please click here.

Tyson, Eric. Personal Finance for Dummies. New York: Wiley, 2003.
Call Number: HG179 .T97 2003
Discusses financial health, debt management, and taxes; offers advice on investing in mutual funds, retirement accounts, and real estate; and explores insurance, planning for life changes and children’s education, and hiring financial advisors.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Tyson, Eric & Ray Brown. Mortgages for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2004.
Call Number: HG4655 .T95 2004
The book tells you how to evaluate your creditworthiness, determine your borrowing power, and shop for a lender, as well as covering the various types of loans.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Zetlin, Minda. Telecommuting for Dummies. New York: Hungry Minds, 2001.
Call Number: HD2336.3 .Z47 2001
This book gives you all the necessary information for switching from cubicle to home office while still advancing in your career status.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

To return to the top of the page, please click here.

Home, Health, and Recreation

Allen, Pam, Tracy L. Barr, & Shannon Okey. Knitting for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2008.
Call Number: TT820 .A515 2008
Learn to knit basic stitches with ease, decipher patterns and work with multiple colors, and knit in the round.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Biere, Danny & Pat Hurley. Home Theater for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2009.
Call Number: TK7881.3 .B75 2009
Home Theater For Dummies, 3rd Edition shows you how to plan a home theater system and choose components that fit your budget and your room.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Blum, Marcy & Kaiser, Laura Fisher. Wedding Planning for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2005.
Call Number: HQ7245 .B66 2005
Covers the ins and outs of planning a wedding, including the ceremony, reception sites, wedding attire, food, entertainment, photography, and budgeting.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Browning, Beverly A. Grant Writing for Dummies. Foster City, CA: IDG Books, 2001.
Call Number: HG177.5.U6 B76 2001
Provides advice for searching for grants, choosing the wording for grant applications including cover letters and action plans, writing the evaluation criteria section, and preparing for a deadline.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Carey, James & Morris Carey. Home Maintenance for Dummies. Foster City, CA: Wiley, 2000.
Call Number: TH4817.3 .C34 2000
This friendly book covers everything from plumbing to painting, with handy calendars to ensure nothing falls through the cracks -- including the cracks!
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Cruise Vacations for Dummies. Foster City, CA: IDG Books, 2005.
Call Number: G550 .C8
Whether you’re a veteran cruiser or have never set foot on an ocean-going vessel, this is the book for you. Up-to-date and comprehensive, it will guide you through everything from choosing a cruise to clearing Customs on your return.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Doyle, John & Ray Lischner. Shakespeare for Dummies. Foster City, CA: IDG Books, 1999.
Call Number: PR2976 .D694 1999
Shakespeare is not only the greatest writer who ever lived, he’s also a great entertainer—once you get a handle on his wild plots and witty wordplay.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Havala, Suzanne. Vegetarian Cooking for Dummies. New York: Wiley, 2001.
Call Number: TX837 .H38 2001
Provides basic information on cooking techniques, ingredients, and nutrition; and includes simple and complex recipes for vegetarian dishes from breakfast to dessert.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Inlander, Charles B., Karla Morales, & The People's Medical Society. Family Healh for Dummies. Foster, CA: IDG Books, 1998.
Call Number: RA777.7 .I55 1998
If youre like most people, you probably take your health for granted. But in this day and age, with the ever-changing state of health care, losing sight of your health can be a dangerous prospect. Now theres a book that can help you and your family maintain good health.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Millar, Bryan & Eve Adamson. Cooking Basics for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2004.
Call Number: TX714 .M549 2004
A guide to cooking for the absolute beginner includes updates on the latest culinary trends; instructions for preparing low-fat, vegetarian, and ethnic dishes; and forty new recipes.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Neoporent, Liz. Fitness Walking for Dummies. Foster City, CA: IDG Books, 2002.
Call Number: RA781.65 .N47 2000
Fitness Walking For Dummies is for anyone who wants to start an exercise program but may not have the knowledge or motivation to do it. If you're already a walking fanatic, you'll find out how to become a better fitness walker.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Neoporent, Liz, Suzanne Scholsberg, & Shirley J. Archer. Weight Training for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2006.
Call Number: GV546 .N47 2006
Weight Training For Dummies, Third Edition, is packed with all the information you need to start your own personalized weight training program and get yourself into peak condition fast.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Rinzler, Carol Ann. Nutrition for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2006.
Call Number: TX355 .R535 2006
This edition of Nutrition for Dummies has been updated with the latest revisions of the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, new recommended daily allowances for all the nutrients a healthy body needs, plus the real low-down on all the conflicting opinions about vitamins and minerals, protein, fats, and carbs.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Rinzler, Carol Ann & Martin W. Graf. Controlling Cholesterol for Dummies. New York: Wiley, 2002.
Call Number: RC632 .H83 .R34 2002
Offers a guide for reducing cholesterol by adopting a healthy lifestyle that combines a low-fat diet and exercise, and includes information on alternative options for cutting cholesterol using vitamins, supplements, and prescription medications.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Rosen, David & Caryn Mladen. Free $ for College for Dummies. New York: Wiley, 2003.
Call Number: LB2337.4 .R65 2003
Provides information about scholarships, loans, and grants, listing the fields of study they cover, the eligibility requirements, and the application procedures.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Sclar, Deanna and John O'Dell. Auto Repair for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2009.
Call Number: TL152 .S42 2009
A reference guide covering the many parts of a vehicle provides step-by-step instructions for automotive repair and maintenance, as well as a list of ten important preventive maintenance measures and ten ways to save fuel.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Spadafori, Gina. Dogs for Dummies. Indianapolis, IN: Wiley, 2001.
Call Number: SF426 .S64 2001
Dogs For Dummies, 2nd Edition, is for you if you are looking to adopt a dog, trying to improve the relationship with the one you have, or attempting to come up with fun things to do with your canine companion.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Sullivan, Erin E. Study Abroad for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2004.
Call Number: LB2376 .S855 2004
Study Abroad For Dummies is for any student who wants to find out about another country’s customs, languages, and people by living in that country for an extended period of time.
Source: http://www.dummies.com

Webb, Tamilee & Lori Seeger. Workouts for Dummies. Foster City, CA: IDG Books, 1998.
Call Number: GV481 .W36 1998
Presents a collection of simple fitness workouts, information on proper technique, tips on exercise preparation, and specialized exercises for trouble areas.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

To return to the top of the page, please click here.

Back to the top of the page.