Atlanta Women's Network
The Atlanta Women's Network (AWN) was founded in 1979 as an outgrowth of the Feminist Action Alliance. It provides an arena for professional Atlanta women to further and achieve their goals through education and relationship building, with the aim of strengthening the influence of women in Atlanta business. Members meet for monthly luncheons with guest speakers. Other formal and informal meetings, gatherings and service opportunities provide members with opportunities to develop valuable resources through education and networking. An elected board of directors governs AWN and establishes committees as needed; board positions include a president, two vice presidents, a treasurer, and a secretary. Sponsors serve in an advisory capacity. The network is a member of the International Alliance.
ERA Georgia
ERA Georgia, Inc. was formed in Atlanta (Ga.) in 1973 for the purpose of securing ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) by the Georgia General Assembly. It began under the name Georgia Coalition for the ERA and became Georgia Council for the ERA before incorporating in 1978 as ERA Georgia, Inc. A number of Action members became members of ERA Georgia: Beth Schapiro became an officer on its executive board.
Georgia Women's Political Caucus (GWPC)
The Georgia Women's Political Caucus was established during the National Women's Political Caucus Southeast meeting that took place in Atlanta in 1979. Beth Schapiro was elected Administrative Vice Chair, serving alongside Linda Hallenborg (Kurtz) and Lucy Draper. The organization focused on fundraising, membership, political action, coalition building, and public relations practices. Mirroring the mission of the National organization, GWPC's work focused on promoting women's participation in government.
Special Collections and Archives
Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives
Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law
Archives for Research on Women
Phone: (404) 413-2880
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
