January - Formation of ERA Coalition: Georgia Council for the ERA. Peg Nugent, Linda Evans, Anne Deeley, and Nancy Shofner represented Action
March 30 - Annual Fundraising Rummage Sale
April 2 and 8 - meetings held to start Rape Advocate Program at Grady Hospital. Thirteen Action members supported effort as volunteers
April - Reached 30 members
May 4 - First Women in Politics Event
May 7- Ten Action Members accepted as volunteers for the Rape Crisis Center started at Grady
June - Action Feminist Theater Group (Committee) started
June 19 - “Women and Health – It’s Your Body” Seminar at Emory University (sponsored by Action)
July 20-21 & 27-28 – Action sponsored Self Defense Course
August 17th – “Rally Against Rape” sponsored by action. In coordination with Mayor Jackson, Action helped improve “Rape Squad” with city officials.
September - Start of Employment Committee, with focus on Non-Traditional Employment guidance for high schoolers
November 27 - 27th – Action One year Anniversary celebration
Membership grew to approximately 70
Creation of new task forces and committees:
Public Relations Committee: Heather Fenton
Membership Committee: Tobiane Schwartz
Action invited to join the WXIA advisory board. Peg Nugent was the first representative
March 10 - Non-Traditional Career Days, started at Northside High School
June 21 - Georgia Women and Politics 2nd conference at Georgia State University
October - International Women's Year: Festival of Women in the Arts
December 1 - Kennestone Rape Crisis Center opened, with help of Action members, including Sandie Hamilton
Fundraising committee established
ACTION attempted to get funding to produce a film about non-traditional careers. This was unsuccessful
Occupational Awareness and Life Skills workshops:
Non-Traditional Career Days:
April 29 - ACTION sponsored a fundraiser in honor of the Lady Tara Golfers at the West Paces Ferry Racquet Club.
May 22 - ACTION's third Georgia Women in Politics Conference held at Georgia State University
Georgia Women's Forum series of six conferences:
Professional Women's Directory established, listing names, businesses, addresses, and phone numbers of women professionals across Atlanta.
First membership drive took place at the Callenwolde Fine Arts Center.
Rape Task Force developed Project LEARN, taking workshops to high schools:
Non-Traditional Career Day:
May 22 - fourth Women and Politics Conference at Georgia State University
September 29 - Guided by Janet Paulk, ACTION leaders approve proposal to donate the organization's records to Emory University's Special Collections.
October 29 - Women at Work Conference: Designs for Success at Georgia State University.
Eleanor Maine became the first chair of the newly established Speakers Bureau
Education Foundation was established to fund non-political projects through tax-deductable donations and grants
Non-Traditional Career Day:
March 23 - membership drive, ACTION Defined was held at the Garden Gallery Room at Colony Square.
May 13 and June 17 - Instead of the usual Women in Politics Conference, ACTION hosted two smaller intimate workshops with campaign managers (May 13) and candidates (June 17) running for office.
September 30 - Women at Work Conference was held at the Colony Square Hotel. Georgia State University was co-facilitator.
November 4 - FIrst ERA Georgia meeting as held at the Perimeter Mall in Atlanta. Several ACTION members joined and served as officers.
By the end of 1979, ACTION had almost 300 members, and it had opened its first independent office location at 1300 Spring Street, in Atlanta.
Co-sponsored with Discovery Learning, The Women Encounter Math Workshop was a 10-week series aimed at helping women to develop math competency.
Non-Traditional Career Day:
February 27 - Atlanta Women's Network held its first luncheon at the Hyatt Regency Center at Colony Square.
April 24 - membership drive, ACTION Defined was held at the Midtown Community Center at Colony Square
October 13 - Women at Work Conference held at the Colony Square Hotel.
Non-Traditional Career Day:
March 22-23 - ACTION sponsored and helped to host first National Women's Political Caucus Conference in the Southeast. At this conference, the Georgia Women's Political Caucus was established.
April 30 - membership drive, ACTION Defines was held at the Midtown Community Center at Colony Square.
June 2 and September 29 - GWPC and ACTION partnered two "get-togethers" to meet with organizations from across the state to discuss women's issues.
October 2 - ACTION and the Women's Bureau co-sponsored the Southeastern Regional Conference on Alternative Work Patterns held at the Gold Kist Training Center in Atlanta.
October 25 - Women at Work Conference held at the Georgia World Congress Center
March 5 - Georgia Women's Political Caucus and ACTION co-host "get-together" to meet with 25 Atlanta area corporations about opportunties for Atlanta's women
April 18 - ACTION Defined membership drive
Non-Traditional Career Day:
November 14 - "Created Equal Conference" held in partnership with Georgia State University
Membership drive (no date available)
Early 1982 - "Meeting with Mayor Andrew Young, Mayor of Atlanta" was co-sponsored by ACTION and the YWCA of Greater Atlanta, and held at the Women's Commerce Club
September 29 - "Working Together: Companies and Two-Career Couples" conference held at the Dunfey Atlanta Hotel.
November 16 - International Status of Women: A Panel Discussion and dinner was held at the State Twin Towers in Atlanta.
January 18 - Mayor's Reception for women of Atlanta to discuss women's issues
Non-Traditional Career Day:
January 18 - Mayor’s Reception on January 18th for women of Atlanta to meet the mayor and discuss women’s issues
September - Benefit party for Kathleen Dowdy's film, "When Will We Marry"
Childcare booklet published
Special Collections and Archives
Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives
Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law
Archives for Research on Women
Phone: (404) 413-2880
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
