Donna Novak Coles Papers, 1968-1984 (W010)
The Donna Novak Coles papers, organized in two series, consists of manuscript materials (notes, correspondence, news clippings, printed materials and publications) related to Coles' participation in the Women's Movement and efforts to ratify the ERA, 1968-1984. Series I contains materials related to Coles' involvement with the League of Women Voters of Georgia, Inc., the bulk of which relates specifically to their state Constitution Revision Committee,1968-1983; Series II contains materials relating to Coles' activities in other women's organizations and their efforts to ratify the ERA in Georgia, 1974-1984.
NOTE: Feminist Action Alliance materials can be found in Series II: ERA/Women's Movement, box 4, folder 7
Anne Deeley Papers, 1975-1983 (W026)
The Anne Deeley papers, 1975-1983, include material from two scrapbooks (dismantled for preservation purposes) of photographs, contact sheets, printed material (flyers, newsletters, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, invitations, programs and registration forms), and letters pertaining to Deeley-Fenton and Associates, Inc., the Atlanta chapter of the Feminist Action Alliance, women and work, and career training. Photographs depict Deeley and her associates, Atlanta Mayor Maynard Jackson, and members of the Atlanta chapter of the Feminist Action Alliance.
Note: Feminist Action Alliance materials can be found in Series II: Feminist Action Alliance, box 1, folders 8-17; textiles
Diane L. Fowlkes Papers, circa 1959-1998 (W018)
The Diane L. Fowlkes papers document Dr. Fowlkes' 25-year career as a professor of Political Science and Women's Studies at Georgia State University. The papers and manuscripts of the collection shed light on many facets of Dr. Fowlkes' career at Georgia State, including her promotions to Associate Professor in 1980 and Full Professor in 1992, her teaching activities, and her committee work (Series II). The collection highlights particularly Dr. Fowlkes' instrumental role in the development of the Women's Studies programs at the university, tracing the progression from the Women's Studies Group in 1974 to the founding of the Women's Studies Institute in 1994 (Series III).
In addition to the materials on Dr. Fowlkes' professional life at Georgia State, a small amount of biographical and personal information documents her life prior to her career as a professor (Series I). Included here are official documents, transcripts, and correspondence of a personal nature in the years leading up to 1973, the year she began her work as an Assistant Professor. The collection provides significant information on Fowlkes' wide-ranging professional activities (Series IV), including her work as a Fulbright Scholar at the Open University in London in 1985-1986, her service on numerous committees and task forces of national Political Science and Women's Studies societies, and her grants. Among the grants that are highlighted in the collection is the Women's Educational Equity Act grant program in 1979-1982. The collection also provides significant information on her professional activities on the Feminist Action Alliance (1974-1976), the American Political Science Association Task Force on Women and American Government (1981-1986), and the National Women's Studies Association's tenth anniversary project (1987).
Materials on Dr. Fowlkes' research and writings form a significant part of this collection (Series V). The collection contains drafts, research notes, and correspondence relating to her numerous papers, articles, and book chapters. Perhaps most significant are the drafts and research notes relating to her book, White Political Women: Paths from Privilege to Empowerment. Materials from the earliest drafts to the final draft are represented in this collection. A small group of artifacts are grouped in Series VI, including awards, business cards, and political and Equal Rights Amendment buttons. Also part of the collection are audio-visual materials (Series VII), including photographs, microfilms, and audio and videotapes relating to her research, writings, and teaching.
NOTE: Feminist Action Alliance materials about the Georgia Women and Politics conferences of 1976 and 1977 can be found in Series IV: Professional Associations, Awards and Grants, box 33, folders 7-8.
Maria Getzinger Jones Papers, 1946, 1967-1998 (W021)
The Maria Getzinger Jones papers consists of artifacts (bumper stickers, jewelry, lapel pins, a letter opener, name tags, a paperweight, pinback buttons, a ribbon), graphic materials (photographs, postcards and posters), and manuscript materials (correspondence, news clippings, notes, printed materials and publications) related to Jones' activism and interest in equal rights and feminism, through organizations such as Atlanta NOW and CLUW. Other issues related to women, circa 1967-2000, and personal materials, starting in 1946, are also included.
NOTE: Feminist Action Alliance materials can be found in Series IV: Women's Organizations and Events, box 4, folder 6.
Beth Schapiro Papers, 1970-1995 (W002)
Beth Susan Schapiro (1949-), political consultant, feminist and social activist, obtained degrees from the University of Maryland (1971, B.S. in education) and Emory University (M.A., Ph.D., 1977; 1979, in political science). From 1971-1979, she taught in both public and private schools and colleges. Schapiro has been active and held offices with several Georgia and national organizations including the Feminist Action Alliance, Inc., ERA Georgia, Inc. (formerly Georgia Council for the ERA), the Women's Political Caucus, and Women Business Owners, Inc. She was campaign manager for a 1974 candidate for Georgia House of Representatives, Kathryn Burke, was an intern for Georgia Representative Eleanor Richardson (1977), and was an aide to Georgia Representative John Hawkins (1978). In 1983, Schapiro managed Linda Hallenborg's Georgia campaign for vice chair of the National Women's Political Caucus. In addition to holding several appointed positions on both the local and state levels, Schapiro was Executive Director of Research Atlanta, 1981-1984, and has since run Beth Schapiro and Associates, a polling and strategic consulting firm in Atlanta, Georgia. In addition to other awards and honors, Beth Schapiro was inducted into the YWCA's Academy of Women Achievers in 1994.
NOTE: Feminist Action Alliance materials can be found in Series I: Organizations and Issues, box 2, folders 3-11 and box 3, folders 1-5.
Special Collections and Archives
Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives
Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law
Archives for Research on Women
Phone: (404) 413-2880
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
