Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston - Deep Archive: On Display -- May 2006

This board features older display pages from the summer of 2006 to January of 2010

On Display -- May 2006

High Museum of Art Atlanta
Atlanta's flagship art museum exhibits masterpieces and offersoccasional jazz concerts and movies. Located near the Arts Center MARTA station.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Metropolitan Museum of Art
Located on the just east of Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Art exhibits art and artifacts from Ancient Egypt to the Twenty-first Century.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE

A view of the High Museum

This is a display about art in Atlanta and any where you can read about it or view it on the web. It features books and two web sites. Book reviews for this display appear courtesy of Book Index with Reviews to which the library no longer subscribes. The image in the logo is by Bruno Pin and available under a Creative Commons license. Adrienne Langston created the original display and web page.


Featured Books

Aesthetics of Emulation in the Visual Arts of Ancient Rome, The by Ellen Perry

Albrecht D├╝rer and the Venetian Renaissance by Katherine Crawford Luber

Animal Anatomy for Artists by Eliot Goldfinger
A detailed guide perfect for all skill levels takes artists step-by-step through the process of depicting realistic animals, from drawings of skeletons and how they move at the joint, to comparisons of shapes and proportions and photographs of live animals.

Art of Reading, The by Loenard S. Marcus
Provides a collection of forty illustrations picked by the nonprofit literacy organization Reading Is Fundamental in order to celebrate the power and joys of reading in young children and includes works by Henry Cole, Mary Azarian, Lois Ehlert, David Kirk, David McPhail, Jerry Pinkney, and Chris Raschka.

Between Union and Liberation: Women Artists in South Africa 1910-1994 by Marion Arnold & Brenda Schmahmann
These essays investigate art made by South African women between 1910, the year of the Union, and 1994, the year of the first democratic election.

Buddhist Sculpture in Clay by Christian Luczanits
Luczanits (Buddhist art, U. of Vienna, Austria) draws on extensive research, including numerous visits to the many temples he documents in the Himalayas in this beautifully illustrated and very thorough survey of clay Buddhist sculpture there.

Common Thread, The: 35 Years of the Peachtree Road Race T-Shirt

De Kooning: An American Master by Mark Stevens & Annalyn Swan
Traces the career of abstract expressionist Willem De Kooning, discussing his personal life with wife Elaine Fried, and his battle with alcoholism and Alzheimer's disease.

Drawing Boundaries: Architectural Images in Qing China by Anita Chung
Chung's (Cleveland Museum of Art) is the first full-length study of Chinese architectural painting--the traditional category known as jiehua, or boundary painting--which enjoyed a resurgence in Qing China (1644-1912).

Forging a Modern Identity: Masters of American Painting Born After 1847 by Michael Crane
After 22 long years of gestation, this book completes
a three-volume series on American paintings in the Detroit Institute of Arts, one of the nation's great museums

Full Bloom: The Art and Life of Georgia O'Keeffe by Hunter Drohojowska-Philip
A portrait of the twentieth-century woman artist discusses such topics as her marriage to art photography pioneer Alfred Stieglitz, the impact of his infidelity on her psyche, and her relocation to New Mexico, where she created her signature works. Reprint. 10,000 first printing..

Gardner's Art Through the Ages by Fred S. Kleiner & Christin J. Mamiya
A comprehensive history of world art reveals how art reflects and participates in the artists' view of the world in which they live, from the prehistoric world through the twentieth century.

Heaven on Earth: Art from Islamic Lands by M. B. Piotrovsky
Highlights from the Islamic art collection of the State Hermitage Museum in St. Petersburg, along with many works from the Nasser Khalili Collection, were exhibited at the Courtauld Institute in London in 2004; this volume is the catalog of that exhibition.

Leonardo by Martin Kemp
Explores the life and work of artist, engineer, inventor, scientist, and Renaissance genius Leonardo da Vinci, looking at the historical figure as well as the ideas underlying his investigations of nature.

Leonardo Da Vinci, Michelangelo and the Renaissance in Florence by David Franklin
This sumptuous exhibition catalog accompanies a 2005 show at the National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa.

Living Image in Renaissance Art, The by Fredrika H. Jacobs

M. C. Escher: Visions of Symmetry by Doris Schattschneider
A new edition of the classic study of the enigmatic artist looks at Escher's notebooks, explains how he developed his symmetrical designs and puzzle-like interlocking of forms, and shows a variety of his drawings.

Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali & the Artists of Optical Illusion by Al Seckel
While aficionados of optical illusion art may be familiar with the work of Dali & Escher, fewer are familiar with the work of 16th-century artist Archimbolo, or with over a dozen contemporary artists who work in this genre.

Masters of Italian Baroque Painting by R. Ward Bissell, Andria Derstine and Dwight Miller
This rare gem of a catalog by Bissell (Univ. of Michigan), Derstine (Detroit Institute of Arts), and Miller (Stanford Univ.) is a model of art historical scholarship and shows that the finest analysis of art can be both accessible to the generalist and comprehensive for the specialist.

Max Ernst: A Retrospective by Metropolitan Museum of Art

Picasso: The Real Family Story by Oliver Widmaier Picasso
Olivier Picasso, the grandson of Pablo Picasso, never knew his famous grandfather. In this newly translated work, he counters Picasso's many critics and sheds new light on his grandfather's relationships with family members, women, politics, and money.

Secrets to Drawing Heads by Allan Kraayvanger
The face and head are the most detailed, individual, and critical aspects of drawing the human form—they can also intimidate the novice into tossing paper and art supplies into a Dumpster. The chief problem, according to Kraayvanger (Figure Drawing Workshop ), is that we see objects in three dimensions but draw them in two. If the brain doesn't make the transition, a portrait becomes hideous, humorous, or both.

Silken Threads: A History of Embroidery in China, Korea, Japan and Vietnam by Young Yang Chung
An authoritative guide to the origins, history, aesthetics, and cultural context of East Asian embroidered textiles features lavish photography and detailed coverage of embroidery traditions, the evolution of the embroidered rank badge, and more.

Surrealism USA by Isabelle Dervaux

Western Influences on Japanese Art by Hiroko Johnson

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information