Advocates for Youth
"Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people
make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training,
and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in
the United States and the developing world."
Amnesty International
"Founded in London in 1961, Amnesty International is a Nobel Prize-winning grassroots activist
organization with over 1.8 million members worldwide. Amnesty International undertakes research and action
focused on preventing and ending grave abuses of the rights to physical and mental integrity, freedom of conscience
and expression, and freedom from discrimination, within the context of its work to promote all human rights."
City Kids.com
"CityKids’ mission is to engage and develop diverse young people to positively impact their lives,
their communities and the world. We accomplish that mission through programs that help young people ages
13 to 19 to use their voices for positive change. "
Georgia Mutual Assistance Consortium
"GMAAC (Georgia Mutual Assistance Association Consortium, Inc.) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1984
to address the needs of the people in the various refugee communities as they start a new life in the
United States. GMAAC’s objective is to build stronger diverse communities by facilitating the social, emotional adjustment,
and cultural transition of refugees and immigrants throughout the Metropolitan Atlanta area." Note: this web page no longer exists.
My Sistahs
"My Sistahs is a Web site created by and for young women of color to provide information and
offer support on sexual and reproductive health issues through education and advocacy. Through
monthly features, message boards, and online peer education young women receive information
on activism, culture, sexual health, and other issues that are important to them." Note this web page no longer exists.
Youth Activism.com
"This site aims to prove that MINORS can play a MAJOR ROLE. Our national
nonprofit clearinghouse also provides help and information to parents, mentors, teachers, principals,
policy makers and other adult allies who want to collaborate with youth to achieve
positive community change."
YouthPride
"YouthPride is a place where you will become empowered as a gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, or questioning youth.
At YouthPride you will no longer feel alone, invisible, condemned, and unsafe simply because you are queer. Note: a Twitter feed appears to be all that is left of this site.
To see more displays in the deep archive, visit the Welcome to the Deep Archive page.
To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE
Biddulph, Steve. 1998. Raising boys : why boys are different - and how to help them become happy and well-balanced men.
Berkeley, CA: CelestialArts.
Australian family therapist Biddulph (Manhood) joins the chorus of counselors calling
for a focused, supportive approach to parenting boys. Citing such gender specific risks facing boys
as a higher percentage of learning disabilities to greater threats of violence and suicide, Biddulph
maps out parenting strategies for three distinct stages of growth, from birth to six years, from
six to 14, and from 14 to adult.
Publisher's Weekly August 3, 1998. 245(31) 80.
Chang, Jeff. 2005. Can't stop won't stop: A history of the hip-hop generation. New York: St. Martin's Press.
Hip-hop is the culture of youth and today's teens have never known a world without it. The phenomenon is explored as urban social
history in this scholarly work -- fascinating well researched and never dull.
School Library Journal. April 2006 (Supplement). 52 84.
Fountas, Angela J. (Editor). 2005. Waking up American: Coming of age biculturally: First-generation women reflect on identity.
Emeryville, CA: Seal Press.
"Where are you from?" In one of the best of the recent anthologies by new immigrants, young women
writers answer that question with immediacy and wit, displaying honesty about pain, anger, and prejudice at home and outside.
Rochman, Hazel. Sept. 15, 2005. Booklist 102(2) 12-13.
Gurian, Michael. 2000. What stories does my son need?: A guide to books and movies that build character in boys. New York: Jeremey P. Tarcher/Putman.
Lists and describes books and movies that will positively impact the development of young boys,
highlighting the important ethical lessons and offering character-shaping
experience.
Description from GIL entry.
Hernandez, Daisy and Bushra Rehman. 2002. Colonize this! : Young women of color on today's feminism. New York: Seal Press.
A collection of writings by women of color introduces new themes
of family and mixed ethnicity into the ongoing conversation about feminism and feminist values.
Description from GIL entry.
Jacob, Iris. (Editor). 2002. My sisters voices: Teenage girls of color speak out. New York: 1st Owl Books.
...Jacob solicited works from teens across the country, writing thousands of letters to friends,
English teachers, and social organizations. The result is a stirring collection
of essays and poems detailing the coming-of-age experiences of a diverse group of young women identified
by name, age, and ethnicity. Jacob and company tackle
such issues as interracial friendships, poverty, oppression, and family.
Gold, Sara and others. March 25, 2002. Publishers Weekly. 249(12) 55-56.
Mahdi, Ali Akbar (Editor). 2003. Teen life in the Middle East. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.
Looks at the life of teenagers living in the Middle East, covering such topics as family life, a typical day, education, entertainment, and religion.
Description from GIL entry.
Saffron, Lisa. 1996. "What about the children?": Sons and daughters of lesbian and gay parents talk about their lives. New York: Cassel.
"What about the children?" -- a concern commonly expressed about children raised by lesbian and gay parents -- is here addressed through the life
stories of twenty sons and daughters of lesbians or gay men. With a combination of humour(sic) and serious reflection they examine the effect of their
upbringing on their adult lives and the place of sexuality of their parents in perspective.
Open Source Technology Group. 2004. What about the children -- OSTG 2004.
http://ostg.pricegrabber.com/search_books2.php/book_id=10222269. Accessed 21 June 2006.
Seo, Danny. 1997. Generation react: Activism for beginners. New York: Ballantine Books.
Are you idealistic, energized, and wondering how you too can make a difference? If so, then Generation
React is the book for you. Danny shares his hard-won skills and years of experience in a step-by-step gude that makes changing the world a little bit
easier.
Description from the publisher, Ballantine Books.
Suarez-Orozco, Carola. 2002. Children of immigration. Cambrige, MA: Harvard.
Carola and Marcelo Suarez-Orozoco....have spent two decades researching and studying immigration. The result of
their work and experiences,
this book addresses how immigrant children fare in America.
Issacson, Sandra. March 1, 2001. Library Journal. 126(4) 118-119.
Watkins, Christine (Editor). 2005. Teen sex. Detroit, MI: Greenhaven Press.
This book is great for debate material or as a writing prompt for persuasive essays. This collection is for mature
readers with critical-thinking(sic) skills needed to understand and evaluate the materials.
Sullivan Edward and others. June 2002. School library journal 48(6) 160.
Click on the thumbnail images below to see larger versions.
Display created by Mo Gittemeier
Web site created by Eileen H. Kramer
Back to the top of the page.
