Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston - Deep Archive: On Display -- May 2007

This board features older display pages from the summer of 2006 to January of 2010

On Display -- May 2007

Featured Web Sites

American Sign Language Browser
This site contains an online ASL video dictionary.
https://www.signingsavvy.com

Deaf Linx
The goal of this comprehensive directory of resources in the areas of Deaf Culture, American Sign Language, Deaf Services, Deaf History, Deaf Education, etc. is "to provide educational information in order to fight audism and empower the Deaf Community."
www.deaflinx.com

Deaflympics
"The games are sanctioned by the International Olympic Committee, IOC. But unlike the athletes in all other IOC sanctioned games, including the Olympics, the Paralympics and the Special Olympics, the Deaflympians cannot be guided by starter's guns, bullhorn commands or referee whistles. Nor can they experience the crucial sense of inclusion in other general games because they cannot just strike up a conversation or in other ways communicate instantly or in a practical manner with fellow hearing athletes."

Their mission is "To cherish the value the spirit of Deaflympics where Deaf athletes strive to reach the pinnacle of competition by embracing the motto of PER LUDOS AEQUALITAS (Equality through sports) and adhering to the ideals of Olympics."
http://www.deaflympics.com/

Deaf President Now
"In March 1988, Gallaudet University experienced a watershed event that led to the appointment of the 124-year-old university's first deaf president. Since then, Deaf President Now (DPN) has become synonymous with self-determination and empowerment for deaf and hard of hearing people everywhere."
https://web.archive.org/web/
20070220032114/
http://pr.gallaudet.edu/dpn/

DeafNation
This site contains news and events related to the Deaf and Hard of Hearing community.
http://www.deafnation.com/

Dogs for Better Lives
This organization rescues dogs from animal shelters, trains them to be service dogs, and places them with deaf and hard of hearing people. These hearing dogs can alert their owners to sounds such as doorbells, telephones, alarm clocks, smoke alarms, etc.
https://www.dogsforbetterlives.org/

Friends of Libraries for Deaf Action (FOLDA)
"The mission of the Friends of Libraries for Deaf Action (FOLDA) is to promote library access and quality library resources for the deaf community globally."
http://www.foldadeaf.net/home/index.html

Georgia Council for the Hearing Impaired, Inc (GACHI)
GACHI is a statewide service center for Georgia’s deaf, hard-of-hearing, late-deafened and deaf-blind citizens.
http://www.gachi.org/

Perimeter College American Sign Language Pathway
In addition to studying American Sign Language (ASL), students can pursue a career in this nationally recognized Sign Language Interpreting Program.
https://perimeter.gsu.edu/
program_manager/american-sign-language/

Note: Georgia Perimeter College is now Perimeter College at Georgia State University

History Through Deaf Eyes
This Gallaudet University project [Now at the National Endowment for the Humanities] was established to promote the understanding of Deaf History. The project is composed of a PBS documentary film, traveling exhibit and book.
https://www.neh.gov/
explore/history-through-deaf-eyes

Laurent Clerc National Deaf Education Center (at Gallaudet University)
Gallaudet University's Laurent Clerc National Deaf Education Center "has been mandated by Congress to develop, evaluate, and disseminate innovative curricula, instructional techniques and strategies, and materials. The aim of the Clerc Center is to improve the quality of education for deaf and hard of hearing children and youth from birth through age 21."
http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/

National Association of the Deaf (NAD)
Since its founding in 1880, this organization has promoted and defended the rights of deaf and hard of hearing people in the United States.
http://www.nad.org

Rainbow Alliance for the Deaf
"The Rainbow Alliance of the Deaf (RAD) is a nonprofit organization established in 1977. The purpose of this Alliance is to establish and maintain a society of Deaf Gays and Lesbians to encourage and promote the educational, economical, and social welfare; to foster fellowship; to defend our rights; and advance our interests as Deaf Gay and Lesbian citizens concerning social justice; to build up an organization in which all worthy members may participate in the discussion of practical problems and solutions related to their social welfare."
http://www.deafrad.org/

Everyone Here Spoke Sign Language

Lend Me an Ear

Shall I Say a Kiss?

Deaf Hearing Boy

Deaf Women

What's your sign for pizza?

Buddhas in Disguise

When the Phone Rings my Bed Shakes

1000 Signs of Life

The Deaf Mute Howls

Surviving in Silence

Sweet Bells Jangled

Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.

All Three Panels

Book Truck

Display Case

Left Panel

Middle Panel

Right Panel

To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE

Deaf Culture and History in two Alphabets

This display covers the lives, culture, and history of deaf people in the United States and to a lesser extent other parts of the world as well as American Sign Language and signing in general.

Books

1,000 Signs of Life: Basic ASL for Everyday Conversation. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 2004.
HV2474 .A12 2004

Here’s the succinct handbook that will allow everyone to enjoy the beauty and functionality of American Sign Language. 1,000 Signs of Life: Basic ASL for Everyday Conversation illustrates a potpourri of intriguing and entertaining signs that can be grasped quickly and used to communicate with anyone familiar with ASL, deaf or hearing. Organized alphabetically in 17 categories, this handy paperback offers common signs for animals, food, clothes, people, health and body, the time, days of the week, seasons, colors, quantities, transportation and travel, and many more practical topics.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/bookpage/SOLbookpage.html

Armstrong, David F. Original Signs: Gesture, Sign, and the Sources of Language. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1999.
P116 .A754 1999

Original Signs employs a more expansive notion of language that takes into account the full range of human communicative behavior. By making no strict separation between language and gesture, this thought-provoking work reveals that the use by deaf people of signs to create a fully formed language is also a natural facet of communication development for hearing people.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/OS.html

Ballin, Albert. The Deaf Mute Howls. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1998.
HV1624.B35 A3 1998

Originally published in 1930, The Deaf Mute Howls flew in the face of the accepted practice of teaching deaf children to speak and read lips while prohibiting the use of sign language. The sharp observations in Albert Ballin’s remarkable book detail his experiences (and those of others) at a late 19th-century residential school for deaf students and his frustrations as an adult seeking acceptance in the majority hearing society.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/0734.html

Beattie, Rod. G. (Editor). Ethics in Deaf Education. San Diego, CA: Academic, 2001.
HV2430 .E84 2001

Ethics in Deaf Education" introduces and clarifies, in a structured manner, the many possible ethical considerations concerning the provision of educational services and habilitation for young children with hearing losses. The decisions that parents or guardians make on behalf of their children, often based on the contributions of educators, habilitation/rehabilitation specialists, and the deaf and medical communities, deserve an airing in a comprehensive manner. What are the issues concerning amplification, implantation, visual communication systems, and sign languages? What technological route should the parents take? What language should they be trying to develop in their child?
Source: https://www.amazon.com/Ethics-Deaf-Education-First-Years/dp/0120835223/

Branson, Jan and Don Miller. Damned for Their Difference: The Cultural Construction of Deaf People as "Disabled:" A Sociological History. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 2002.
HV2380 .B685 2002

In Damned for Their Difference, Jan Branson and Don Miller have written an important and provocative book that contributes to the growing debate in disability history about the nature of difference and how it is culturally defined. Their subject is the "cultural construction of deaf people as disabled" in Britain from the seventeenth-century to the present and to a lesser extent in Australia for the modern period.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/ reviews/DFTDrevw2.html

Brueggemann, Brenda Jo and Susan Burch (Editors). Women and Deafness: Double Visions. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 2006.
HV2545 .W65 2006

Edited by professors Brenda Jo Brueggemann and Susan Burch, Women and Deafness: Double Visions is an anthology of essays by learned authors discussing deafness and deaf identity in the context of women’s studies, and vice versa. Pieces contemplate why Helen Keller, perhaps the most famous deaf woman of all, is remembered primarily as a champion specifically of the blind; the issue of mothers raising their children according to oralist dictates "like ordinary hearing children", the significance and impact of the Deaf American Beauty Pageant, and much more. A welcome and much-needed contribution addressing serious gaps in both women’s studies and deaf studies reference shelves.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/ reviews/WADrevw.html

Coffey, Wayne R. Winning Sounds Like This: A Season with the Women’s Basketball Team at Gallaudet, the World’s Only University for the Deaf. New York: Three Rivers Press, 2003.
GV885.43 .G25 C64 2003

Sportswriter Coffey of the New York Daily News got permission to accompany Washington, DC's Gallaudet University women's basketball team for the 1999-2000 season. This is a team chronicle with a twist: the Bison players are all deaf. Their hearing coach, whose first language was American Sign Language, coaches with sign language and gestures instead of using a whistle. The Division III Bisons compete against hearing teams, and their success transforms fan curiosity into respect.
Source: Ruffle, Kathy. "Winning Sounds Like This (Book)." Library Journal 127(3) February 15, 2002. p152.

Davis, Morris Joseph. Shall I Say a Kiss?: The Courtshhip Letters of a Deaf Couple, 1936-1938. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1999.
HV2534.D38 A3 1999

Shall I Say A Kiss? opens a window into the lives of two working-class, Jewish, British, Deaf people in the 1930s. This striking book reveals a consistent, journal-like account of the "lived" experience of Deaf people during the tumultuous times just prior to World War II. Because the correspondence is mainly composed of Eva’s letters, the focus sharpens even further as a record of the life and opinions of a young, working-class, Deaf woman about to embark upon marriage and life in a new country.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/SISAK.html

Dunai, Eleanor C. Surviving in Silence : A Deaf Boy in the Holocaust : the Harry I. Dunai Story. Washington, D.C. : Gallaudet University Press, 2002.
DS135.H93 D863 2002

Surviving in Silence is one of the few published memoirs of a Deaf Jewish Holocaust survivor, and perhaps the first by a major press in any language. As such, it makes a significant contribution to Deaf History and Holocaust History.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/reviews/SISrevw.html

Glyndon, Howard. Sweet Bells Jangled: Laura Redden Searing: A Deaf Poet Restored. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 2003.
PS2797.S3 A6 2003

Laura Redden Searing (1839-1923) defied critics of the time by establishing herself as a successful poet, a poet who was deaf. She began writing verse at the Missouri School for the Deaf in 1858, and, under the pseudonym Howard Glyndon, soon found herself catapulted into national prominence by her patriotic Civil War poems.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/bookpage/SBJbookpage.html

Groce, Nora Ellen. Everyone Here Spoke Sign Language: Hereditary Deafness on Martha's Vineyard. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1985.
HV2561.M49 G76 1985

From the seventeenth century to the early years of the twentieth, the population of Martha's Vineyard manifested an extremely high rate of profound hereditary deafness. In stark contrast to the experience of most deaf people in our own society, the Vineyarders who were born deaf were so thoroughly integrated into the daily life of the community that they were not seen--and did not see themselves--as handicapped or as a group apart.
Source: https://www.amazon.com/Everyone-Here-Spoke-Sign-Language/dp/067427041X/

Hafer, Jan Christian and Robert M. Wilson. Come Sign with Us: Sign Language Activities for Children. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1996.
HV2474 .H32 1996

Now, the new, completely revised Come Sign With Us offers more follow-up activities, including many in context, to teach children sign language. The second edition of this fun, fully illustrated activities manual features more than 300 line drawings of both adults and children signing familiar words, phrases, and sentences using American Sign Language (ASL) signs in English word order.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/2794.html

Hepner, Cherly M. Seeds of Disquiet: One Deaf Woman's Experience. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1992.
HV2534.H43 A3 1992

In her autobiography, Seeds of Disquiet, Cheryl Heppner writes of experiencing severe hearing loss twice…. Seeds of Disquiet celebrates her accomplishments, the most significant of which, perhaps, was her reconciliation with her loved ones from her former life with her new outlook.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/2854.html

Hermann, Dorothy. Helen Keller: A Life. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1998.
HV1624.K4 H47 1998

What ultimately won me over, however, was the manner in which the author spoke of Helen Keller in connection with other disabled people, disabled women in particular. The Keller she wrote about was a woman with her own deaf-blind reality, a reality Herrmann reported was just as valid as any nondisabled reality. Without denying the very real limitations of Keller's life, Herrmann was able to bring her subject to life as a passionate, vital woman, albeit one whose life might always remain somewhat of an enigma. Herrmann's astute observations and articulation of them changed my mind about her subject. No longer a shadowy disabled saint, Helen Keller became both my foremother and sister.
Source: http://www.raggededgemagazine.com/0199/c199br.htm

Hoffman, Martha. Lend Me an Ear: The Temperament, Selection, and Training of the Hearing Dog. Wilsonville, OR: Doral, 1999.
HV2509 .H63 1999

Just as there are Seeing Eye' dogs that help the visually impaired, so that are Hearing Ear' dogs that aid the visually impaired. In Lend Me an Ear: Temperament, Selection and Training of the Hearing Ear Dog, author Martha Hoffman draws from her more than twenty-five years of experience as the training director for the Hearing Dog Program to write a 220 page compendium on how to select and train an effective hearing ear dog.
Source: https://www.amazon.com/Lend-Me-Ear-Temperament-Selection/dp/1617811211/

Holcomb, Roy K., Holcomb, Samuel K., and Thomas K. Holcomb. Deaf Culture Our Way: Anecdotes from the Deaf Community. San Diego, CA: DawnSign Press, 1994.
HV2380 .H643 1994

Using humorous stories with illustrations, this classic collection brings deaf culture to life through personal experiences and practical day-to-day information. Various aspects of the deaf world are illuminated through anecdotes, updated in this edition to include new stories about the foibles of the latest communication technologies, including VRS, videophones, email, and instant messaging. Also provided is classroom material for teachers that can be used as excellent supplemental reading for deaf studies, ASL, or interpreting classes, as well as a springboard for discussions about deaf culture.
Source: https://www.amazon.com/Deaf-Culture-Our-Way-Anecdotes/dp/158121149X/

Jankowski, Katherine A. Deaf Empowerment: Emergence, Struggle, and Rhetoric. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1997.
HV2530 .J35 1997

Employing the methodology successfully used to explore other social movements in America, this meticulous study examines the rhetorical foundation that motivated Deaf people to work for social change during the past two centuries. In clear, concise prose, Jankowski begins by explaining her use of the term social movement in relation to the desire for change among Deaf people and analyzes the rhetoric they used, not limited to spoken language, to galvanize effective action.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/2908.html

Jepson, Jill (Editor). No Walls of Stone: An Anthology of Literature by Deaf and Hard of Hearing Writers. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1992.
PS508.D43 N6 1992

No Walls of Stone is a unique collection of short fiction, essays, verse, and drama entirely by deaf and hard of hearing writers. This volume presents a rich variety of superb work by such well-known authors as Robert Panara, Anne McDonald, David Wright, and Jack Clemo, and exciting contributions by other previously unpublished, gifted writers.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/2855.html

Joyner, Hannah. From Pity to Pride: Growing Up Deaf in the Old South. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 2004.
HV2561.S74 J68 2004

From Pity to Pride examines the experiences of a group of wealthy young men raised in the old South who also would have ruled over this closely regimented world had they not been deaf…. In this unique and fascinating history, Hannah Joyner depicts in striking detail the circumstances of these so-called victims of a terrible "misfortune."
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/bookpage/FPTPbookpage.html

Katz, Eileen et. al. Deaf Women's Lives: Three Self Portraits. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 2005.
HV2373 .D43 2005

Three deaf women with widely varying stories share their experiences in this unique collection, revealing not only the vast differences in the circumstances of their lives, but also the striking similarities…. The combined effect of these three Deaf women’s stories, despite the variation in their experiences, reveals the common thread that weaves through the lives of all deaf individuals.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/bookpage/ DWLbookpage.html

Laborit, Emmanuelle. The Cry of the Gull. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1999.
PN2638.L22 A313 1999

Emmanuelle Laborit begins her autobiography The Cry of the Gull with this simple explanation of the difference sign language made in her life. She learned this at the age of seven, and the second important discovery for this young French girl came soon after, when she realized that being deaf could be a positive part of her identity.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/0726.html

Lane, Harlan L. A Deaf Artist in Early America: The Worlds of John Brewster Jr. Boston: Beacon Press, 2004.
ND237.B8634 L36 2004

Lane's unprecedented biography both vividly and comprehensively explores Brewster's worlds: he was a seventh-generation descendant of William Brewster, who led the Pilgrims on the Mayflower voyage; he was a member of the Federalist elite; a Deaf man; and, finally, an artist.
Source: https://www.amazon.com/Deaf-Artist-Early-America-Brewster/dp/0807066168/

Lane, Harlan L., Hoffmeister, Robert and Ben Bahan. A Journey into the Deaf-World. San Diego, CA: DawnSign Press, 1996.
HV2380 .L27 1996

In this comprehensive and engrossing study, three distinguished scholars of Deaf culture—one hearing, one deaf, and one coda (child of deaf adults)—offer clear, penetrating insights into the existence and makeup of the deaf world, the community whose natural language—American Sign Language in the United States—is manual and visual.
Source: hhttps://www.amazon.com/Journey-Into-Deaf-World-Harlan-Lane/dp/0915035634/

Lane, Leonard G. Gallaudet Survival Guide to Signing. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1990.
HV2475 .L36 1990

Now the standard sign language book for more than 200,000 people has been completely revised and updated! American Sign Language (ASL) experts updated this brand-new edition to present more than 500 of the most current ASL signs in use today, including cross-references for multiple words expressed by a single sign.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/2772.html

Lang, Harry G. A Phone of Our Own: The Deaf Insurection Against Ma Bell. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 2000.
HE8846.A55 L35 2000

In 1964, of the more than 85 million telephones in the United States and Canada, less than one percent were used regularly by deaf people. If they didn't ask their hearing neighbors for help, they depended upon their hearing children, some as young as three years old, to act as intermediaries for business calls or medical consultations. In that same year, three enterprising deaf men, Robert H. Weitbrecht, James C. Marsters, and Andrew Saks, started the process that led to deaf people around the world having an affordable phone system that they could use.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/POOO.html

Lucas, Ceil, Bayley, Robert, and Clayton Valli. What's Your Sign for Pizza?: An Introduction to Variation in American Sign Language. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 2003.
HV2474 .L835 2003

This introductory text celebrates another dimension of diversity in the United States Deaf community — variation in the way American Sign Language (ASL) is used by Deaf people all across the nation. The different ways people have of saying or signing the same thing defines variation in language. In spoken English, some people say "soda," others say "pop," "Coke," or "soft drink." In ASL, there are many signs for "birthday," "Halloween," "early," and of course, "pizza."
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/bookpage/WYSbookpage.html

Miller, R. H. Deaf Hearing Boy: A Memoir. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 2004.
HQ759.912 .M55 2004

Born in 1938, R. H. Miller was the oldest of four hearing boys with deaf parents in Defiance, Ohio, a small agricultural community. Deaf Hearing Boy is Miller’s compelling account of the complex dynamics at work in his family, including the inter-generational conflicts in which he found himself, the oldest child of deaf adults (CODA), caught in the middle.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/bookpage/DHBbookpage.html

Monaghan, Leila et. al. (Editors). Many Ways to Be Deaf: International Variation in Deaf Communities. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 2003.
HV2395 .M36 2003

Deaf communities around the world are as diverse as any other communities, but share their primary means of communication as the one commonality: the use of their native Signed Languages. One of the most remarkable examples of human perseverance is the ability of Deaf communities to pass on, throughout time immemorial, the knowledge and use of Sign Language and their cultures in spite of the Aristotelian dictum that those who cannot hear or speak cannot learn. Since the history of civilization has been recorded, learned individuals and those in positions of power continue to be swayed by that line of reasoning despite plentiful evidence disproving that faulty logic.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/reviews/MW2BDrevw4.html

Neisser, Arden. The Other Side of Silence: Sign Language and the Deaf Community in America. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1990.
HV2545 .N44 1990

In widely varying encounters, Neisser heard Deaf individuals recall how their teachers suppressed ASL, how linguists foster conflicting theories, and how various institutions of the deaf dilute ASL to suit hearing patrons. This seminal book reveals the warmth, creativity, and resilience of Deaf people, and offers an update of the community today.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/2798.html

Ollerenshaw, Kathleen Dame. To Talk of Many Things: An Autobiography. New York: Palgrave, 2004.
HV2717.O55 A3 2004

To Talk of Many Things is a remarkable account of a remarkable life. This story covers two world wars and the near sixty years that followed in a life dominated by mathematics and public service. Profoundly deaf from birth, Dame Kathleen has never seen her condition as an obstacle. She traveled widely through Europe between the wars, was a wartime don at Somerville College, Oxford, served on national education committees from the 1950s onwards, has been at various times on the Boards of the Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester Polytechnic and Lancaster and Salford Universities and in the 1990s chased total eclipses of the sun around the world.
Source: ttps://www.amazon.com/Talk-Many-Things-Autobiography/dp/0719069874/

Padden, Carol and Tom Humpries. Inside Deaf Culture. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2005.
HV2545 .P35 2005

In this absorbing story of the changing life of a community, the authors of Deaf in America reveal historical events and forces that have shaped the ways that Deaf people define themselves today. Inside Deaf Culture relates Deaf people's search for a voice of their own, and their proud self-discovery and self-description as a flourishing culture.
Source: https://www.amazon.com/Inside-Deaf-Culture-Carol-Padden/dp/0674022521/

Peters, Cynthia. Deaf American Literature: From Carnival to the Canon. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 2000.
HV2471 .P38 2000

"The moment when a society must contend with a powerful language other than its own is a decisive point in its evolution. This moment is occurring now in American society." Cynthia Peters explains precisely how American Sign Language (ASL) literature achieved this moment by tracing its past and predicting its future in Deaf American Literature: From Carnival to the Canon.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/bookpage/DALbookpage.html

Ryan, Donna F. and John S. Schuchman (Editors). Deaf People in Hitler's Europe. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 2002.
HV2746 .D43 2002

As we understand from the Introduction, there is a commonality in suffering and a commonality in the scholarship that studies such suffering. The efforts of researchers and students of the Holocaust leading to books such as Deaf People in Hitler’s Europe have brought together survivors and scholars who might not otherwise have met, to our collective loss. In the ultimate analysis, we are given signal insights about the nature of life (and death) as a Deaf person under Hitler, and of life as a Deaf Jew under Nazism, and of the perversions that were enacted and implemented as part of legislation.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/reviews/DPHErevwA.html

Schein, Jerome Daniel and David A. Stewart. Language in Motion: Exploring the Nature of Sign. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1995.
HV2474 .S355 1995

This enjoyable book first introduces sign language and communication, follows with a history of sign languages in general, then delves into the structure of ASL. Later chapters outline the special skills of fingerspelling and assess the academic offshoot of artificial sign systems and their value to young deaf children.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/2880.html

Schrader, Steven L. Silent Alarm: On the Edge with a Deaf EMT. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1995.
RA645.6.G4 S37 1995

For 15 years, Steven Schrader worked as a firefighter and an Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) in Atlanta, Georgia. There, he faced the day-to-day stress created by having to deal with nonstop human catastrophe, one moment administering to terribly hurt accident victims, the next talking down a suicidal person from a rooftop. Added to these difficulties were his own personal struggles, not the least being the bias he experienced because of his severe hearing loss. Silent Alarm presents his no-frills, stunning account of survival in a profession with a notoriously high burn-out rate, and the good that he did as a topnotch EMT.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/2888.html

Shroyer, Edgar H. and Susan P. Shroyer. Signs Across America: A Look at Regional Differences in American Sign Language. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1984.
HV2474 .S476 1984

Signs Across America provides a fascinating and unique look at regional variations in American Sign Language. The authors contacted native signers in 25 states to find out their signs for 130 selected words. The results--more than 1,200 signs--are illustrated in this book.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/2745.html

Stewart, David Alan. Deaf Sport: The Impact of Sports Within the Deaf Community. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1991.
HV2551 .S74 1991

Deaf Sport describes the full ramifications of athletics for Deaf people, from the meaning of individual participation to the cultural bonding resulting from their organization. Deaf Sport profiles noted deaf sports figures and the differences particular to Deaf sports, such as the use of sign language for score keeping, officiating, and other communication.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/2819.html

Taylor, Irene. Buddhas in Disguise: Deaf People of Nepal. San Diego, CA: DawnsignPress, 1997.
HV2855.9 .T39 1997

Accompanied by photographs, these stories shed light on the deaf culture and community in Nepal.
Source: ttps://www.amazon.com/Buddhas-Disguise-Deaf-People-Nepal/dp/09150355964

Van Cleve, John Vickrey (Editor). Deaf History Unveiled: Interpretations from the New Scholarship. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1993.
HV2367 .D4 1993

Deaf History Unveiled features 16 essays, including work by Harlan Lane, Renate Fischer, Margret Winzer, William McCagg, and other noted historians in this field. Readers will discover the new themes driving Deaf history, including a telling comparison of the similar experiences of Deaf people and African Americans, both minorities with identifying characteristics that cannot be hidden to thwart bias.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/2857.html

Van Cleve, John Vikcrey and Barry A. Crouch. A Place of Their Own: Creating the Deaf Community in America. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1989.
HV2530 .V36 1989

Using original sources, this unique book focuses on the Deaf community during the 19th century. Largely through schools for the deaf, deaf people began to develop a common language and a sense of community. A Place of Their Own brings the perspective of history to bear on the reality of deafness and provides fresh and important insight into the lives of deaf Americans.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/2786.html

Wright, Mary Herring. Sounds Like Home: Growing up Black and Deaf in the South. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1999.
HV2534.W75 A3 1999

Mary Wright’s description of growing up would be significant even if she were a hearing child in that she describes childhood in rural North Carolina in the 1920s and l930s in an African-American family of modest but stable means as property owners and farmers. She describes her family, school, and social life in simple and compelling detail…. Wright’s objective in writing Sounds Like Home was to "chronicle my experiences growing up as a deaf person" for her children and also for "deaf people" to dissuade prejudices and stereotypes (p. ix).
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/SLHreview.html

Zazove, Philip. When the Phone Rings, My Bed Shakes: Memoirs of a Deaf Doctor. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1993.
R154.Z39 A3 1993

Born almost totally deaf, Philip Zazove has spent his entire life beating the odds first by excelling in public schools during an era when most deaf children went to special schools, then by aspiring to become a medical doctor. When the Phone Rings, My Bed Shakes is the remarkable story of his determination and achievement in realizing his dreams.
Source: http://gupress.gallaudet.edu/2865.html

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information