Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston - Deep Archive: On Display -- June 2007

This board features older display pages from the summer of 2006 to January of 2010

On Display -- June 2007

Featured Web Sites

Billboard.com
The web version of Billboard, the music industry's popular trade magazine. Billboard features charts for a variety of popular genres, articles about artists, reviews, and pieces on the music business.
http://www.billboard.com/
bbcom/index.jsp

Dead Media Project Working Notes
This site lists articles, email, and tidbits on the media often used to store and view nonprint. Much of the media/technology used for nonprint is threatened by obsolescence which in turn may make large portions of media inaccessible and its content lost.
http://www.deadmedia.org/
notes/index.html

Forces of Good
This popular culture e-zine offers articles on movies, television, music, video games, and comics. The feature articles are front and center. Archive articles have links in the grey strip on the left of the main page, and you can find the Reviews through a link in a small strip near the top of the page. This 'zine offers no blogs or fora.
https://web.archive.org/
web/20070405144031/
http://www.forcesofgood.com/

Gramophone
An online version of a well known classical music magazine that offers: news from the world of classical music, album and performance reviews, fora, podcasts, and more.
http://www.gramophone.co.uk/

Arts: Movie Reviews
Curlie.org

A meta page listing a variety of sites that offer reviews for movies and DVD recordings of movies from all genres and many different countries.
http://www.curlie.org/
Arts/Movies/Reviews/

Pop Matters
"PopMatters is an international magazine of cultural criticism. Our scope is broadly cast on all things pop culture, and our content is updated daily, Monday through Friday." This site covers: music, film, television, DVD's, comics and more. The site also features blogs that allow comments.
http://www.popmatters.com/

Rolling Stone
This magazine features news, reviews, and interviews from the worlds of pop music, pop culture, and general news as well, all in a bloglike format that encourages inclusion in Deli.cio.us and comments. The web site has daily rock and roll news plus multimedia presentations.
http://www.rollingstone.com/

TV Guide
This online version of the popular magazine, features: television listings for the large networks (Eastern time), television and entertainment news, reviews of TV programs, an assortment of TV and entertainment related blogs, and a fora where users can discuss entertainment and television.
http://www.tvguide.com/

Variety.com
This web site and its magazine are the top trade journal for the entertainment industry as a whole. Variety covers music, film, and television, with emphasis on the business rather than their artistic aspects, though it includes both reviews and blogs.
http://www.variety.com/

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Luther Vandross

Dogs and More Dogs

Why TV is not Our Fault

Arabic, the Complete Course

Learn to Dance Salsa

Getting Opera

Neil Young Nation

Popaganda

Federico Fellini: His Life and Work

Crime Television

Kite Runner

1001 Albums

Chasin' the Bird

Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.

Books about nonprint media displayed on a cart

Books in a glass display case

Left wall of the display

Middle wall of the display

Right wall of the display

To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE

All Things Nonprint

This display celebrates the Jim Cherry Learning Resource Center's nonprint collection as well as books about nonprint. Nonprint media include everything from television shows and movies to DVD's, music and the recorded spoken word.

DVDs

The Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare. DVD. BBC & Time Life Films, 2000.
DVD PR2754 .B655 2000

A dramatization of all 37 of Shakespeare’s plays, featuring some of Britain’s most distinguished actors and directors.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Dogs and More Dogs: The True Story of Man's Best Friend. DVD. WGBH, 2004
DVD SF422.5 .D64 2004

John Lithgow narrates this insightful look at how dogs evolved from fierce wolves to playful pets--and why there are so many types of dogs today.--Container.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

English Grammar. DVD. Video Aided Instruction, 2004.
DVD PE1112 .E476 2004

A series[i]sic[/i] helps you understand the complicated English grammar topics and prepare for many verbal standardized tests, such as SAT, TOEFL, GED and GRE.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Great Speeches. DVD. Educational Video Group, 2001.
DVD PN6121 .G75 2001

Presents famous speeches, each with an introduction detailing the time, place and events surrounding it.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

SalsaCrazy's Learn to Salsa Dance. DVD. SalsaCrazy.com, 2004.
DVD GV1796. S245 S35 2004

Learn the basics of salsa dancing with detailed explanations. Gives insider tips and secrets to help you improve as a dancer.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

To Kill a Mockingbird. Screenplay by Horton Foote. Produced by Alan J. Pakula. Directed by Robert Mullgan. DVD. Universal, 2005.
DVD PN1997 .T656 2005

Ranked 34 on the American Film Institute's list of the 100 Greatest American Films, To Kill a Mockingbird is quite simply one of the finest family-oriented dramas ever made. A beautiful and deeply affecting adaptation of the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel by Harper Lee, the film retains a timeless quality that transcends its historically dated subject matter (racism in the Depression-era South) and remains powerfully resonant in present-day America with its advocacy of tolerance, justice, integrity, and loving, responsible parenthood. It's tempting to call this an important "message" movie that should be required viewing for children and adults alike, but this riveting courtroom drama is anything but stodgy or pedantic.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Kill-Mockingbird-
Gregory-Peck/dp/B00008XFAQ

CDs

Arabic, the Complete Course: the Basics. Living Language/Random House, 2005
CD PJ6307 .A7232 2005

With Teach Yourself it's possible for virtually anyone to learn and experience the languages of the world, from Afrikaans to Zulu, Ancient Greek to Modern Persian, Beginner's Latin to Biblical Hebrew. Follow any of the Teach Yourself Language Courses Audiopacks at your own pace or use them as a supplement to formal courses. These complete courses are professionally designed for self-guided study, making them one of the most enjoyable and easy to use language courses you can find.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Yourself-Arabic-Complete
-Course-package/dp/0071434534

Babyface. MTV Unplugged Epic/Sony, 1997.
CD MR4 .B119 Sg3Vo

Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds is an extraordinary gifted singer/songwriter/producer, and 10-time Grammy winner. His music has made an incredible imprint on the evolution of Rhythm & Blues and Pop music throughout the world.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Babyface-MTV-Unplugged-NYC-1997/dp/B00005NGA0

Build Your Baby's Brain -- Through the Power of Music. Sony Music, 1998.
CD MR3 .B868

In a truly forward-minded move, Georgia Gov. Zell Miller has initiated a program in league with Sony that, over the next year, will provide a classical recording to every newborn in the state. Some 110,000 babies in Georgia will receive a CD or cassette titled "Build Your Baby's Brain--Through The Power Of Music." The compilation features such stimulating chestnuts as Mozart's "Eine Kleine Nachtmusik," Beethoven's "Fyr Elise," and Bach's "Air On The G String."
Source: Bambarger, Bradley. "Keeping Score." Billboard 29 August, 1998: 60-61.

Carroll, Lewis. Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. CD. Tantor Media, 2002.
CD PR4611 .A72 2002

A little girl falls down a rabbit hole and discovers a world of nonsensical and amusing characters.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Head Automatica. Popaganda. Warner Bros Recrds, 2006.
CD MR5 .P81

Popaganda, the follow-up to Head Automatica’s 2004 beat-laden debut Decadence, recalls the crisp, punchy brightness of early Elvis Costello And The Attractions. From the opening blast of lead track "Graduation Day," Popaganda, produced by Howard Benson (My Chemical Romance, All American Rejects) is a literate, impassioned homage to its influences—but without being derivative.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Popaganda-
Head-Automatica/dp/B000FIMG90

Hosseini, Khaled. The Kite Runner. CD Simon & Schuster Audio, 2003.
CD PS3608 .O525 K582 2003b

In his debut novel, The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini accomplishes what very few contemporary novelists are able to do. He manages to provide an educational and eye-opening account of a country's political turmoil--in this case, Afghanistan--while also developing characters whose heartbreaking struggles and emotional triumphs resonate with readers long after the last page has been turned over. And he does this on his first try.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Kite-Runner
-Khaled-Hosseini/dp/0743545230

Music of Vietnam. Celestial Harmonies, 1994.
CD MR3 .M974.2

Surveys the range of musical styles in Vietnam, from traditional folk music to music that has absorbed Western influences. Volume 2 is a performance of ceremonial court music from Vietnam’s ancient capital, Hue.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Preservation Hall Jazz Band. New Orleans. CBS Records, 1987.
CD MR3 .N42.3

At a moment when musical streams are crossing with unprecedented frequency, it’s crucial to remember that throughout its history, New Orleans has been the point at which sounds and cultures from around the world converge, mingle, and resurface, transformed by the Crescent City’s inimitable spirit and joie de vivre. Nowhere is that idea more vividly embodied than in the Preservation Hall Jazz Band, which has held the torch of New Orleans music aloft for more than 50 years, all the while carrying it enthusiastically forward as a reminder that the history they were founded to preserve is a vibrantly living history.
Source: https://www.preservationhalljazzband.com/about/

Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft. Frankenstein. CD. Sound Room Pub., 2002.
CD PR5397 .F72 2002

A monster assembled by a scientist develops a mind of his own as he learns to loathe himself and hate his creator.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Vivaldi, Antonio. The Four Seasons. CD Decca, 2006.
CD MR2 .V836 Ci4V9

This is the finest recording of the Four Seasons, bar none (and it has recently been re-released with some additional Vivaldi concertos on the CD). The playing is as elegant and meticulous as one could ask for. I was smitten with this recording one lovely fall afternoon at a record store in San Francisco and purchased it on the spot. It embodies the baroque spirit, calling forth elegance and style with due attention to ornament and dynamic energy.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Vivaldi-Four-Seasons-
Marriner-Academy/dp/B00004C8TB

Books About Music

'80s & 90s Rock: Melody Line, Chords, and Lyrics for Keyboard, Guitar, Vocal. Milwaukee, WI: Hal Leonard, 1999.
M1630.18 .A1335 1999

62 terrific rock songs, all in a handy paperback!
Source: http://www.amazon.com/80s-90s-Rock-Paperback-Songs/ dp/0793598249/ref=sr_1_1/103-7455058-1299021?ie= UTF8&s=books&qid=1181570630&sr=1-1

Chong, Kevin. Neil Young Nation as Lived and Narrated by Kevin Chong. Berkeley, CA: Greystone Books, 2005.
ML420. Y75 C55 2005

In 2004, Chong was nearing 30 and having a hard time with his second novel. He decided to stave off maturity a little longer by following the trail of fellow Canadian Young from Winnipeg to Thunder Bay and Toronto, then down to California.
Source: "Neil Young Nation: A Quest and Obsession (and a True Story)." Kirkus Reviews 73.18 (15 September 2005):1009.

Craig, Seymour. Luther: The Life and Longing of Luther Vandross. New York: Harper, 2005.
ML420. V272 S49 2005

Seymour, a music critic for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, has written the first biography (unauthorized) of R&B singer-songwriter Luther Vandross. Drawing on past interviews with his subject as well as new discussions with his friends, colleagues, and associates, he covers the musician's life and career right up to his continuing rehabilitation from a stroke in 2003. Vandross gained fame as a singer's singer through his background vocal work in the 1970s before becoming a Grammy Award-winning star.
Source: Perone, James E. "Luther: The Life and Longing of Luther Vandross (Book)." Library Journal 129.12 (15 July 2004).

Dimery, Robert Editor. 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die. New York: Universe, 2006.
ML156.9 .A18 2006

Many reference works are highly enjoyable to browse, and some are downright addictive! Case in point: these two delightful compilations of all the awesome albums to hear and books to read before departing Planet Earth. Organized chronologically (Albums are sorted by decade and Books by century), the two volumes devote a page-long entry to each album and/or book summarizing what makes it exceptional.
Source: Roncevic, Mierela. "Short Takes." Library Journal 131.9 (2006).

Dobkin, Matt. Opera: A Guide for the Cultured but Confused. New York: Pocket Books, 2000.
MT95 .D63 2000

His knowledgeable style reflects a lot of time spent at opera houses, both as a fan and as an opera and classical music critic for Time Out New York magazine. Dobkin, also a composer and recorder of rock music, gears this book toward twenty- and thirtysomethings who already enjoy other forms of theater and musical entertainment but do not attend opera productions because they feel that they do not know enough to enjoy it.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Getting-Opera-Guide-Cultured-Confused
/dp/0671041398/ref=sr_1_1/103-7455058-1299021?ie=UTF
8&s=books&qid=1181571607&sr=1-1

Doclreiter, Michael. Score Reading: A Key to the Music Experience. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 2000.
MT85 .D4713 2000

Score reading provides insights into the musical structure of a work that are difficult to obtain from merely listening. Many listeners and amateurs derive great pleasure from following a performance with score in hand to help them better understand the intricacies of what they are hearing. This guide includes practice examples of increasing difficulty taken from scores of well-known works from various periods.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Score-Reading-Key-Music-Experience/dp/
1574670565/ref=sr_1_1/103-7455058-1299021?ie=UTF8&s= books&qid=1181571552&sr=1-1

Farinella, David John. Producing Hit Records: Secrets from the Studio. New York: Schirmer Trade Books, 2006.
ML3790 .F365 2006

"Producing Hit Records" takes a behind the scenes look with today's top record producers at what it takes to sit in the big chair. Producers talk about how they got into the field, how they continue to get work, how they motivate artists to come up with that great take and what it's like to work in an industry that's constantly changing.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Producing-Hit-Records-Secrets-Studio/dp
/0825672996/ref=sr_1_1/103-7455058-1299021?ie=
UTF8&s=books&qid=1181570996&sr=1-1

Hanson, Matt. Reinventing Music Video: Next-Generation Directors, Their Inspiration and Work. Burlington, MA: Focal Press, 2006.
PN1992.8 .M87 H36 2006

This is a unique title; no current showcase of the best contemporary music videos exists, despite the area being a popular, flourishing hub of creative activity. If you want to succeed in this area, you need this book! Reinventing Music Videos provides a showcase of the best of the next generation of international music video directors, who are creating work for best-selling and cutting-edge music artists.
Source: https://www.amazon.com/Reinventing-Music-Video-Next-generation-inspiration/dp/0240808347/

King, Saphreem A. Gotta Get Signed: How to Become a Hip-Hop Producer. New York: Schrimer Trade Books, 2005.
ML3790 .K465 2005

Provides a history of hip-hop and explains the steps to becoming a producer, covering such topics as building a studio, assembling a production team, and promoting the music.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

MaLay, Thomasin Editor. Musical Voices of Early Modern Women: Many-headed Melodies. Burlington, VT: Aldershot Hants, 2005.
ML82 .M798 2005

Many-headed melodies looks to address early modern women's musical activities across a broad spectrum of cultural events and settings...
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Musical-Voices-
Early-Modern-Women/dp/0754637425

Mack, Beverly B. Muslim Women Sing: Hausa Popular Song. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2004.
ML3503 .N6 M32 2004

In this study, the author draws on a twenty-five yearlong familiarity with northern Nigeria to introduce her readers to Hausa women's songs and poems from the period 1960-1980. The book consists of two parts. Part One, consisting of six chapters, provides an analysis of songs and singers in their social and literary contexts, while Part Two presents the texts of thirty-five songs in English translation.
Source: Lidwien, Kapteijns. "Muslim Women Sing: Hausa Popular Song." International Journal of African Historical Studies 39.1 (2006).

Pendergast, Roy M. Film Music: A Neglected Art: A Critical Study of Music in Films. New York: W.W. Norton, 1992.
ML2075 .P73 1992

If you love great films, and love well crafted, magnificent film scores, this book is for you. To fully appreciate this book, you must read music, but the descriptive text is also excellent. The 3 and 4 staff musical scores clearly show how famed Hollywood composers create mood and deal with the psychology of important scenes in well known films.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Film-Music-Neglected-Critical-Study/dp/
039330874X/ref=sr_1_2/103-7455058-1299021?ie=UTF8
&s=books&qid=1181570786&sr=1-2

Perkins, William Eric Editor. Droppin' Science: Critical Essays on Rap Music and Hip Hop Culture. Philadelphia, PA: Temple University Press, 1996.
ML3531 .D77 1996

Perkins, a faculty fellow at the W.E.B. DuBois House at the University of Pennsylvania, has assembled a collection of essays about rap music and hip hop culture. He provides an introductory history of rap, followed by articles about the pioneering contributions of female and Latino American rappers. Essays dealing with the political and economic contexts of rap, gangsta rap, rap with a message, and the racism inherent in rap's crossover to white America form the second part of the book.
Source: : http://www.amazon.com/Droppin-Science-Critical-Culture-Perspectives
/dp/1566393620/ref=sr_1_1/103-7455058-1299021?ie=UTF8
&s=books&qid=1181569802&sr=1-1

Priestly, Brian. Chasin' the Bird: The Life and Legacy of Charlie Parker. New York: Oxford U. Pr., 2006.
ML419 .P4 P72 2006

As one pillar upon which jazz was built, Charlie Parker (1920-55) deserves a comprehensive biography. The need is doubly important owing to the myths and misconceptions surrounding the saxophonist's life and career. Here, British jazz critic Priestley has updated and, more valuably, expanded his fine but rather brief Charlie Parker (1984), drawing on much new archival material that includes essential interviews located since the 1980s. The author has always shown a flair for cutting through the haze and cogently relaying crucial information, and he continues that habit here.
Source: Kenz, William "Chasin' the Bird: The Life and Legacy of Charlie Parker." Library Journal 131.4 (2006).

Rhodes, Lisa L. Electric Ladyland: Woman and Rock Culture University of Pennsylvania Press, 2005.
ML82 .R54 2005

Electric Ladyland sets itself apart from other book-length studies of women and rock music in two primary ways. First, the book is focused on a rather [short] span of time, the decade from 1965 to 1975, a period that saw dramatic changes in the meaning of rock and in the broader definition of sexual politics in the United States. Second, and more important , the author, Lisa L. Rohodes is not primarily concerned -- as have been the amority of authors who address the subject -- with the achievements of a pantheon of female performers.
Source: Waksman, Steve. "Electric Ladyland: Women and Rock Culture." Journal of American History 92 (2006): 1516-1517.

Sethna, Dhun H. Classical Music for Everybody: A Companion to Good Listening. Sierra Madre, CA: Fitzwilliam Press, 1997.
MT6 .S415 1997

"Good music is a personal interpretation of experience, shaped and endowed with meaning, ordered by a particular intelligence and a particular sensitivity" writes Dhun H. Sethna in the first chapter of Classical Music for Everybody. "This book challenges the listeners to reach out and examine the music, and then reexamine themselves, so that it becomes a joint effort to make sense of life--a shared world created through sound, to be imagined, explored and interpreted."
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Classical-Music-Everybody-Companion-
Listening/dp/0964410338/ref=sr_1_1/103-7455058-1299021?
ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1181571484&sr=1-1

Southern Rock Guitar Play-Along vol 36. Milwaukee, WI: Hal Leonard, 2006.
M126 .S735 2006

The Guitar Play-Along Series will help you play your favorite songs quickly and easily! Just follow the tab, listen to the CD to hear how the guitar should sound, and then play along using the separate backing tracks. The melody and lyrics are also included in the book in case you want to sing, or to simply help you follow along.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Southern-Rock-Guitar-Play-Along-36/
dp/0634084003/ref=sr_1_1/103-7455058-1299021?ie=UTF8
&s=books&qid=1181570522&sr=1-1

Sting (Musician). Broken Music: a Memoir. New York: Delta, 2005.
ML420 .S847 A3 2005

This memoir has little to do with the Police or Sting's solo career and is in no way a typical rock-star biography. Broken Music documents the life of Sting (born Gordon Sumner) from his youth in the British industrial city of Wallsend through the New Wave trio's early history. His life unfolds like a wandering melody seeking to break free of the bleak gravity of his parents' lives, and that is the book's predominant theme.
Source: Puterbaugh, Parke. "Broken Music (Book)." Rolling Stone Issue 937 (11 December 2003):218.

Women of R&B: Piano, Vocal, Guitar. Milwaukee, WI: Hal Leonard, 2005.
M1630.18 .W599 2005

Whitney Houston, Toni Braxton, En Vogue, Mary J. Blige, and more. The twenty titles include: All Cried Out Always Be My Baby Count on Me Don't Let Go (Love) Exhale (Shoop Shoop) Fantasy For You I Will It's All About U Kissing You Un-Break My Heart What About Us You're Making Me High and more![i]sic[/i]
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Women-R-Piano-Vocal-Chords
/dp/0769218717/ref=sr_1_1/103-7455058-1299021?
ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1181570698&sr=1-1

Books About Film and Television

Bone, Jan and Ron Johnson. Understanding the Film: An Introduction to Film Appreciation. Lincolnwood, IL: NTC Publishing Group, 1997.
PN1994 .B564 1997

The authors, Bone and Johnson, cover every aspect of film, from the people who make movies to the people who review them to the people who go to see them. The chapters are digestible segments outlining each element of the film experience, yet overlap enough to give the whole thing unity.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Understanding-Film-
Introduction-Appreciation/dp/0844223492

Carr, Jay Editor. The A List: The National Society of Film Critics' 100 Essential Films. Cambridge, MA: Da Capo Press, 2002.
PN1995 .A33 2002

The ritual of list making in our entertainment media has yielded few definitive surveys, but The A List is the genuine article. Written with conviction, authority, and a refreshing diversity of styles by 41 members of the esteemed National Society of Film Critics, this compilation of 100 mini-essays endeavors to explain why these 107 films (accounting for a few appropriate couplings and trilogies) are required viewing for anyone to be "film literate." Debate is inevitable (Enter the Dragon and Jailhouse Rock created Bruce Lee and Elvis as icons--does that make them "essential" films?), but the inclusions are eloquently justified through personal anecdote, engaging analysis, and astute reassessment.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/List-National-Society-Critics-Essential
/dp/0306810964/ref=sr_1_1/103-7455058-1299021?ie=UTF8&s
=books&qid=1181569661&sr=1-1

Hanson, Peter. The Cinema of Generation X: A Critical Study of Films and Directors. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., 2002.
PN1993.5 .U6 H34 2002

With his newest book, critic, filmmaker, and journalist, Peter Hanson, presents a serious, informative examination of filmmakers of Generation X whom Hanson identifies as filmmakers born between 1961 and 1971.
Source: Weiner, Robert G. "The Cinemal of Generation X: A Critical Study." Journal of Popular Culture 37: 352-353 (2003).

Kezich, Tullio. Federico Fellini: His Life and Work. New York: Faber and Faber, 2006.
PN1998.3 .F45 K49 2006

Corriere della Sera film critic Kezich (Dino, 2004) first met Fellini (1920-93) after a screening of The White Sheik at the 1952 Venice Film Festival, forming a lifelong friendship that enables the author to knowledgeably discuss the director's working methods and discreetly allude to his complicated personal life.
Source: "Federico Fellini: His Life and Work." Kirkus Reviews 73.24: 1311. (15 December 2005).

Lyman, Rick. Watching Movies: The Biggest Names in Cinema Talk About the Films that Matter Most. New York: Times Books, 2003.
PN1993.5 .U6 L96 2003

In a collection of interviews with some of the most important names in film, notable directors, actors, screenwriters, cinematographers, and other film industry professionals discuss the seminal movies that had a profound influence on their own careers.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Meehan, Eileen R. Why TV Is Not Our Fault: Television Programming, Viewers, and Who's Really in Control. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2005.
PN1992.3 .U5 M35 2005

This book dispels the myth that the television industry is just giving viewers the programming they want to see and, thus, we as viewers are _responsible_ for the existence of shows like Fear Factor and yet another Survivor. In fact, Meehan explains, viewers exert no demand in the market. She also counters the idea that TV programs reflect our culture directly. Introducing us to the political economy of television, Meehan covers programming, corporate strategies, advertising, network _competition,_ and organizations that seek more industry accountability. She tells us why TV isn't our fault_and who's really to blame.
Source: ttps://www.amazon.com/Why-Not-Our-Fault-Institutions/dp/0742524868/

Morrow, Robert W. Sesame Street and the Reform of Children's Television. Baltimore, MD: John Hopkins University Press, 2006.
PN1992.77 .S43 M67 2006

Morrow (history, Morgan State Univ.) presents a scholarly narrative tracing the origins of children's educational television as exemplified by Sesame Street. Source: Ewald, Laura. "Sesame Street and the Reform of Children's Television."
Source: Ewald, Laura. "Sesame Street and the Reform of Children's Television." Library Journal 130.20 (15 December 2005).

Rainer, Peter Editor. Love and Hisses: The National Society of Film Critics Sound off on the Hottest Movie Controversies. San Francisco: Mercury House, 1992.
PN1995 .L66 1992

This collection presents differing opinions of top American critics on selected films, with reviews situated back to back. For instance, Richard Schickel loved almost everything about Terms of Endearment (1983), while Pauline Kael liked only Shirley MacLaine's lead performance. Critics included are all members of the National Society of Film Critics, and the films were chosen because, according to editor Peter Rainer, they "define the ways these writers approach both movies and criticism." The reviews are all reprints, which Rainer cites as a benefit, since they were written without any intention of debate.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Love-Hisses-National-Society-Controversies
/dp/1562790315/ref=sr_1_1/103-7455058-1299021?ie=UTF
8&s=books&qid=1181569434&sr=1-1

Rothman, Jack. Hollywood in Wide Angle: How Directors View Filmmaking. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2004.
PN1993.5 .U65 H594 2004

Here are two different takes on helming a Hollywood film. Rothman, a respected social scientist and film buff, deconstructs the trials and tribulations of getting a Hollywood film made, drawing on the testimonies of more than 30 anonymous directors. While he focuses on the myriad compromises that directors are forced to make to gratify the profit machine, Rothman eventually incorporates shades of optimism-namely, in how directors are able to work around the system, managing to reach acceptable artistic compromises and find creative gratification.
Source: Tierno, Michael. "Hollywood in Wild Angle: How Directors View Filmmaking." Library Journal 130.2 (1 February 2005).

Schaefer, Eric. "Bold! Shocking! True!:" A History of Exploitation Films, 1919-1959. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1999.
PN1995.9 .S284 S33 1999

Eric Schaefer's readable history of exploitation movies begins with a description of what the genre ain't--the rabid "nudie pics" of Russ Meyer (Faster, Pussycat, Kill! Kill!) and the drecky, knowing arthouse flicks made by Andy Warhol and Paul Morrissey (Andy Warhol's Dracula). Though these camp movies are sometimes labeled "exploitation," they do not exactly fit Schaefer's definition. For him, exploitation is the brand of movie that puts nudity and antisocial behavior up on the screen in the name of civic-mindedness and healthy social conscience--and with a wink. Between 1919 and 1959, sexual hygiene and antidrug movies with kicky, lascivious titles such as No Greater Sin (1939), Call Girls (1959), Nudist Land (1937), and Paroled from the Big House (1938) traveled through the country outside regular theater chains, advertising themselves as "shocking" yet educational.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Bold-Daring-Shocking-True
-Exploitation/dp/0822323745/ref=sr_1_1/103
-7455058-1299021?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1181569542&sr=1-1

Snauffer, Douglas Crime Television. Westport, CT: Praeger, 2006.
PN1992.8.D48 S63 2006

Crime dramas have been a staple of the television landscape since the advent of the medium. Along with comedies and soap operas, the police procedural made an easy transition from radio to TV, and starting with Dragnet in 1952, quickly became one of the most popular genres. Crime television has proven to be a fascinating reflection of changes and developments in the culture at large. In the '50s and early '60s, the square-jawed, just-the-facts detectives of The Untouchables and The FBI put police work in the best light possible. As the '60s gave way to the '70s, however, the depictions gained more subtle shading, and The Streets of San Francisco, The Rockford Files, and Baretta offered conflicted heroes in more complex worlds.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Crime-Television-Praeger-
Collection/dp/0275988074

Standish, Isolde. A New History of Japanese Cinema: A Century of Narrative Film. New York: Continuum, 2005.
PN1993.5 .J3 S72 2005

Within the framework of Japan's culture, politics, and history, Standish (convenor of Asian & African cinema, Univ. of London) analyzes in depth many Japanese films of the last 100 years--most of which were never exported and thus haven't been written about much in the United States.
Source: Liebman, Roy. "A New History of Japanese Cinema: A Century of Narrative Film." Library Journal 130.6 (1 April 2005).

Torriano, Berry. The 50 Most Influential Black Flims: A Celebration of African-American Talent, Determination, and Creativity. Seacaucus, NJ: Citadel Press, 2001.
PN1995.9 .N4 B43 2001

Despite the inference of its title, The 50 Most Influential Black Films is a thoughtful study of black images in motion pictures from 1894 to the present. It is organized by decades, starting with the silent era in the 1900s and leading up to the independent efforts of the 1990s.
Source: Mattison, Booker T. "The 50 Most Influential Black Films: A Celebration of African-American Talent, Determination, and Creativity." Black Issues Book Review 4.2: 260 (Mar/April 2002).

Zook, Kristal Brent. Color by Fox: the Fox Network and the Revolution in Black Television. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
PN1992.8 .A34 Z66 1999

In the early 1990s before Party of Five and Ally McBeal Fox Television carved out its niche by producing and airing black TV shows, beginning with Keenan Ivory Wayans's In Living Color. Network executives had realized that African-American viewers were a huge segment of the total TV audience and jumped to position themselves as "urban" and to establish Fox's reputation as a network that was hip and different. Yet, as Zook demonstrates in this engaging but somewhat slight account, which began as a doctoral dissertation, black writers' and producers' efforts to confront race-relevant issues were often stymied by executives who tended to prefer straightforward sitcoms that appealed to both whites and blacks.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Color-Fox-Revolution-Television-Institute/dp
/0195106121/ref=sr_1_1/103-7455058-1299021?ie=UTF8&s
=books&qid=1181572011&sr=1-1

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information