Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston - Deep Archive: On Display -- February 2008

This board features older display pages from the summer of 2006 to January of 2010

On Display -- February 2008

I AM A MAN

Paul Robeson birthday card

These pictures courtesy of The National Museum of African American History and Culture.

Notable Web Sites

Oxford African American Studies Center
The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
Database no longer available.

African American Biographical Database The African American Biographical Database is a resource of first resort when you are looking for biographical information, including photographs and illustrations, for African Americans.
http://research.library.gsu.edu/
DB_AdvPS

Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=zblr

Digital Library of Georgia -- Integrated in All Respects
"Integrated in All Respects" consists of Ed Friend's film of the twenty-fifth anniversary of the Highlander Folk School in Monteagle, Tennessee during Labor Day weekend in 1957 and the Georgia Commission on Education's propaganda broadside that features Friend's photographs and stills from his film.
Digital Library of Georgia

Digital Library of Georgia – The Blues, Black Vaudeville, and the Silver Screen
The online collection consists of selected correspondence, financial records, contracts, and advertising materials from the Douglass Theatre's records in the Middle Georgia Archives' Charles Henry Douglass business records, and it documents the amusements available to Macon's African American population and the business dealings of this African American entrepreneur from 1912 to the 1930s.
http://dlg.galileo.usg.edu
/douglass/about.php

National Museum of African American History and Culture
This museum seeks to help all Americans remember, and by remembering, this institution will stimulate a dialogue about race and help to foster a spirit of reconciliation and healing.
http://nmaahc.si.edu/

National Civil Rights Museum
The National Civil Rights Museum, located at the Lorraine Motel, the site of Dr. Martin Luther King's assassination, chronicles key episodes of the American civil rights movement and the legacy of this movement to inspire participation in civil and human rights efforts globally, through our collections, exhibitions, and educational programs.
http://www.civilrightsmuseum.org/

The Official Web Site of Malcolm X
The Official Web Site of Malcolm X has everything you want to know about this historical figure. Read his biography and read inspirational quotes from this talented speaker. Browse the photo gallery for pictures of Malcolm X throughout his life!
http://www.cmgww.com
/historic/malcolm
/index.htm

PBS: Eyes on the Prize
Eyes on the Prize is an award-winning 14-hour television series produced by Blackside and narrated by Julian Bond. Through contemporary interviews and historical footage, the series covers all of the major events of the civil rights movement from 1954-1985.
http://www.pbs.org/
wgbh/amex/
eyesontheprize/

Inside a Thug's Heart

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

Tracing Oprah's Roots

Creating African Americans

Rivalry

Red Tail Captured

Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.

left panel of the display.

center panel of the display.

right panel of the display

glass case for the display

To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE

Logo for African American Resources display

This display celebrates African American history, literature, and biography through books, GALILEO websites, and other prominent web sites as well. It places particular emphasis on African Americans in entertainment, sports, and on the Civil Rights struggle.

Books

50 Cent. From Pieces to Weight: Once Upon a Time in Southside, Queens. New York: Pocket, 2005.
ML420 .A02 A15 2005.

50 Cent is unflinchingly honest about his mother, his drug past and just about everything else in this raw, literate memoir chronicling his rise from Jamaica, Queens, to the top of the Billboard charts.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Pieces-Weight
-Once-Southside-Queens/dp/0743486447

Ardis, Angela. Inside a Thug’s Heart: With Original Poems and Letters by Tupac Shakur. New York: Dafna Books, 2004.
ML420 .S529A83 2004.

As deceased gangsta rapper Shakur closes in on Jimi Hendrix as the most prolific posthumous recording artist, new books about him proliferate. Ardis, his girlfriend, offers a more-intimate-than -usual perspective, though the acknowledgments may be sounding a note of warning by thanking Tupac's mother, former Black Panther Afeni Shakur, for "allowing this book to see the light of day." Given her efforts to control her son's legacy, this suggests that the contents of this peek inside Tupac's emotional life may be somewhat constrained, and its judgments, softened.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Inside-Thugs-Heart-
Angela-Ardis/dp/0758207891

Beatty, Paul ed. Hokum: An Anthology of African-American Humor. New York: Bloomsbury, 2006.
PN6231 .N5 H65 2006.

Acclaimed novelist Beatty (Tuff; White Boy Shuffle) models this controversial anthology on a "mix-tape narrative dubbed by a trusted... friend." Like a mix-tape, the collection is intensely personal: its encompassing feature is the bright, plaintive, scathingly ironic voice that introduces the volume and its various sections.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Hokum-
Anthology-African-American-Paul-
Beatty/dp/1596911484

Blackburn, Julia. With Billie. New York: Pantheon Books, 2005.
ML420 .H58 B53 2005.

A portrait of singer Billie Holiday as seen through the eyes of friends, lovers, fellow musicians, critics, producers, pimps and junkies, narcotics agents, and others, from her Baltimore childhood to her rise to fame and her tragic death.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Bloom, Harold. Maya Angelou’s I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. Philadelphia, PA: Chelsea House, 2004.
PS3551 .N464 Z77 2004.

In this first of five volumes of autobiography, poet Maya Angelou recounts a youth filled with disappointment, frustration, tragedy, and finally hard-won independence. Sent at a young age to live with her grandmother in Arkansas, Angelou learned a great deal from this exceptional woman and the tightly knit black community there.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
know-Caged-Sings-Blooms-Guides
/dp/0791077683

Brothers, Thomas David. Louis Armstrong’s New Orleans. New York: W.W. Norton, 2006.
ML419 .A75 B78 2006.

As its title indicates, Brothers' book is more about Armstrong's context than his life, more a focused microhistory than a biography. It is motivated by the perennial question, how did Armstrong become the central figure in the most significant musical development in American history?
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Louis-Armstrongs-Orleans-
Thomas-Brothers/dp/0393061094

Dunbar, Paul Laurence. The Complete Stories of Paul Dunbar. Athens, OH: Ohio University Press, 2005.
PS1556 .A4 2005.

The son of former slaves, Paul Laurence Dunbar was one of the most prominent and publicly recognized figures in American literature at the turn of the twentieth century. Thirty-three years old at the time of his death in 1906, he had published four novels, four collections of short stories, and fourteen books of poetry, not to mention numerous songs, plays, and essays in newspapers and magazines around the world.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Complete-Stories-Paul-Laurence
-Dunbar/dp/0821416448

Gates, Henry Louis. Finding Oprah’s Roots: Finding Your Own. New York: Crown Publishers, 2007.
E185.96 G383 2007.

A guide for recovering one’s family heritage through revealing Oprah Winfrey’s roots, and teaches that who we are is startlingly influenced by the paths of our ancestors.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Gobi. Thru My Eyes: Thoughts on Tupac Amaru Shakur in Pictures and Words. New York: Atria Books, 2005.
ML420 .S529 G62 2005.

A collection of fifty rare photographs of the late music icon reflects his pull away from the dark forces that influenced his life, in a volume that features writings by his producer, who witnessed the lighter, more playful side to Tupac’s character.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Harris, Robert L. Jr. and Rosalyn Terborg-Penn eds. The Columbia Guide to African American History Since 1939. New York: Columbia University Press, 2006.
E185.6 .C715 2006.

This book is a multifaceted approach to understanding the central developments in African American history since 1939. It combines a historical overview of key personalities and movements with essays by leading scholars on specific facets of the African American experience, a chronology of events, and a guide to further study.
Source: http://books.google.com

Jefferson, Alexander. Red Tail Captured, Red Tail Free: Memoirs of a Tuskeegee Airman and POW. New York: Fordham University Press, 2005.
D805 .G3 J43 2005.

Jefferson, a Tuskegee Airman who was shot down during World War II and held in a German prison camp for nine months, recalls better treatment as a prisoner of war than as a black citizen in the U.S.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Red-Tail-Captured-Free-
Tuskegee/dp/0823223663

Jordan, Barbara and Sherman, Max ed. Barbara Jordan: Speaking Truth with Eloquent Thunder. Austin, TX: University of Texas Press, 2007.
E838.5 .J6735 2007.

Revered by Americans across the political spectrum, Barbara Jordan was "the most outspoken moral voice of the American political system," in the words of former President Bill Clinton, who awarded her the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1994. Throughout her career as a Texas senator, U.S. congresswoman, and distinguished professor at the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs, Barbara Jordan lived by a simple creed: "Ethical behavior means being honest, telling the truth, and doing what you said you were going to do."
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Barbara-
Jordan-Speaking-
Eloquent-Thunder/dp/0292716370

Kahn, Ashley. The House that Trane Built: The Story of Impulse Records. New York: W.W. Norton & Co., 2006.
ML3792 .K34 2006.

Traces the story of Impulse Records and the pivotal contributions of avant-garde jazz musician John Coltrane in the 1960s and 1970s, explaining how the label was shaped by thirty-eight of his politically charged recordings.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Keys, Alicia. Tears for Water: Songbook of Poems and Lyrics. New York: G.P. Putnam, 2004.
ML54.6 .K48 2004.

The popular musician presents a collection of lyrics for all twenty-eight songs on her CDs "The Diary of Alicia Keys" and "Songs in A Minor," along with a selection of her original poetry.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

King, Martin Luther Jr. The Papers of Martin Luther King Jr. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 1992-
E185.97 .K5 A2 1992.

More than two decades since his death, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s ideas--his call for racial equality, his faith in the ultimate triumph of justice, and his insistence on the power of nonviolent struggle to bring about a major transformation of American society--are as vital and timely as ever. The wealth of his writings, both published and unpublished, that constitute his intellectual legacy are now preserved in this authoritative, chronologically arranged, multi-volume edition.
Source: https://www.ucpress.edu/search.php?q=Papers+of+Martin+Luther+King+Jr.&submit=

Lusane, Clarence. Colin Powell and Condoleezza Rice: Foreign Policy, Race, and the New American Century. Westport, CT: Praeger Publishers, 2006.
E902 .L87 2006.

Lusane has created a groundbreaking analysis of the intersection of racial politics and American foreign policy. This insightful work critically examines the roles played by former Secretary of State Colin Powell and current Secretary of State (and former National Security Advisor) Condoleezza Rice in the construction of U.S. foreign policy, exploring the ways in which their racial identity challenges conventional notions about the role of race in international relations.
Source: http://books.google..com

Morrison, Toni. Paradise. New York: Alfred A Knopf, 1997.
PS3563 O8749 P37 1997.

Toni Morrison's Paradise takes place in the tiny farming community of Ruby, Oklahoma, which its residents proudly proclaim "the one all-black town worth the pain." Settled by nine African American clans during the 1940s, the town represents a small miracle of self-reliance and community spirit.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Paradise-Toni-Morrison/
dp/0679433740

Mosley, Walter. 47. New York: Little, Brown, 2005.
PS3563 .O88456 A15 2005

Number 47, a fourteen-year-old slave boy growing up under the watchful eye of a brutal master in 1832, meets the mysterious Tall John, who introduces him to a magical science and also teaches him the meaning of freedom.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Nelson, Jill. Finding Martha’s Vineyard: African Americans at Home on an Island. New York: Doubleday, 2005.
F72 .M5 N45 2005.

A portrait of the thriving African-American community on the island of Martha’s Vineyard describes the various groups who settled in Oak Bluffs, including vacationing families, local domestics, and multi-generational professionals.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Painter, Nell Irvin. Creating Black Americans: African-American History and Its Meanings 1619 to the Present. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
E185 .P15 2006.

This new study by Princeton historian Painter (Standing at Armageddon, etc.) aims not merely to provide an updated scholarly account of African-American history, but to enrich our understanding of it with the subjective views of black artists, which she places alongside the more objective views of academics.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/gp
/product/0195137566/
ref=cm_rdp_product

Parker, Linda Busby. Seven Laurels: A Novel. Cape Girardeau, MO: Southeast Missouri State University Press, 2004.
PS3616 .A7453 S48 2004.

Set in a small community between Montgomery and Birmingham, this first novel brings home the historic struggle for civil rights through the personal story of one man and his family from the 1950s onward.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Seven-Laurels-Linda-Busby-
Parker/dp/0972430474

Poitier, Sidney. The Measure of a Man: A Spiritual Autobiography. San Francisco, CA: Harper SanFrancisco, 2000.
PN2287 .P57 A3 2000.

The acclaimed actor reveals the depth, passion, and intellectual fervor that have driven his life and career, citing the elements of his childhood that gave him his sense of worth, family, and ethics and how these qualities are essential to spiritual development.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Rampersad, Arnold and Hilary Herbold eds. The Oxford Anthology of African-American Poetry. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
PS591 .N4 O97 2006.

If daring and argument forge identity, Stanford professor Rampersad (Life of Langston Hughes) has succeeded in "allowing black poets to create with their own words a portrait of the African-American people." Neither consonant nor cautious, the diversity of the anthology's subject matter is trumped only by its poetic range: Amiri Baraka's and Sonia Sanchez's experimentation vibrate against the classic lyrics of Langston Hughes and Gwendolyn Brooks, mixing visions and trading trials.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Oxford-Anthology-African-American-Poetry/dp/0195125630

Scott, Jill. The Moments, the Minutes, the Hours: The Poetry of Jill Scott. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2005.
PS3619 .C66 M66 2005.

A collection of poetic works drawn from the personal writings of the award-winning music artist and lyricist explores such themes as love, the self, and the author’s experiences as an African-American woman.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Sunshine, Linda ed. Ray: A Tribute to the Movie, the Music, and the Man. New York: Newmarket Press, 2004.
PN1997.2 .R38 R38 2004.

This handsome book is as much an homage to musical genius Ray Charles as it is a behind-the-scenes look at how a film was made about his life. Although the bulk of the text is made up of the film’s screenplay, it’s the accompanying images of Charles and of Jamie Foxx (who plays Charles in the film), as well as the insightful essays (by Foxx, director Taylor Hackford, music supervisor Curt Sobel, producer Stuart Benjamin and others), that make up the book’s best parts.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Ray-Tribute-Newmarket-Pictorial-
Moviebooks/dp/1557046492

Taylor, John. The Rivalry: Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain and the Golden Age of Basketball. New York: Random House, 2005.
GV884 .A1 T39 1995.

Taylor (The Count and the Confession) offers a vivid account of the fledgling days of the National Basketball Association and the intense competition between two of its biggest early stars: Bill Russell (of the Boston Celtics) and Wilt Chamberlain (of the Philadelphia 76ers).
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Rivalry-Russell-Chamberlain-Golden-Basketball
/dp/1400061148

Tidwell, John Edgar and Cheryl R. Ragar eds. Montage of a Dream: The Art and Life of Langston Hughes. Columbia, MO: University of Missouri Press, 2007.
PS3515 .U274 Z6845 2007.

"Contributors reexamine the continuing relevance of Langston Hughes’s work and life to American, African American, and diasporic literatures and cultures. Includes fresh perspectives on the often overlooked 'Luani of the Jungles,' 'Black Magic,' and works for children, as well as Hughes’s more familiar fiction, poetry, essays, dramas, and other writings"--Provided by publisher.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Vinson, Ben. Flight: The Story of Virgil Richardson, a Tuskegee Airman in Mexico. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2004.
E745 .V56 2004.

Richardson, a Tuskegee Airman unwilling to live with the racial constraints he found upon returning to the U.S. following World War II, eventually relocated to Mexico, joining a community of black expatriates.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Flight
-Virgil-Richardson-Tuskegee-
Airman/dp/1403966184

Wiggins, David Kenneth. Out of the Shadows: A Biographical History of African American Athletes. Fayetteville, AR: University of Arkansas Press, 2006.
GV697 .A1 W534 2006.

This book examines 100 years of race relations, using 20 athletes as a lens on American society. Some names are familiar- Muhammad Ali, Jackie Robinson-but others are mostly unknown today-Jimmy Winkfield, Ora Washington. Each entry contains information about the athlete's career and post-career life, as well as an analysis of the role race played in the individual's success.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Out
-Shadows-Biographical-American
-Athletes/dp/1557288267

Wintz, Cary ed. Harlem Speaks: A Living History of the Harlem Renaissance. Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks Media Fusion, 2007.
PS153 .N5 H267 2007.

For three decades after World War I, Harlem was the site of burgeoning racial and cultural awareness and ambitions among African Americans. In the opening section of this book, Wintz provides the historical context for what became known as the Harlem Renaissance. In separate sections devoted to poetry, music, politics, art, and the phenomenon of the New Negro, contributors profile many of the era's major figures…
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Harlem-Speaks-Living-History-Ranaissance/dp/1402204361

Out of the Shadows        Alicia Keys

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information