The Cooks' Thesaurus
The Cook's Thesaurus is a cooking encyclopedia that covers thousands of ingredients and kitchen tools. Entries include pictures, descriptions, synonyms, pronunciations, and suggested substitutions. Note: this site has not received a revision in at least a year.
Home -- Cooking – Recipe Collections
If you need a recipe and Recipe Source is not enough, try this collection of links to pages of recipe collections. The collections include everything from hot sauce to recipes for IBS to institutional/miltary cooking.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer
Infobrary – Recipes
An eclectic source of recipes that includes sections devoted to diabetic recipes, bread machine, Jello recipes, and zucchini recipes among others. The web site has a 2005 copyright date, but looks modern with a strikingly clean design.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer
This colorful and lavish site features photos, videos, and of course recipes along with crafts and tips on household management. Recipes are sorted into a few categories and there is a search engine that gives tantalizing images along with the results. Given all the bells and whistles, this site may load slowly on older machines and slow connections.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer
Recipe Source is the modern reincarnation of SOAR, the Searcheable Online Archive of Recipes, which began at UC Berkeley in 1993. "From our start with around 10,000 recipes we've grown the collection to 7 times that size, and had our pages accessed millions of times from around the world."
Source: and Eileen H. Kramer
Recipes of the Damned
This site features a collection of "real scary recipes from vintage cookbooks." Foods go in and out of fashion, and what was once delectable (or may still be to some) is now disgusting. Read older entries in the archive and the newest food related news on the blog. This site is not for the squeamish or faint of heart. Rcipes are modern enough that adventurous readers might be tempted to try them.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer
This Upstate New York State based supermarket has long run a food and cooking encyclopedia from its web site. Glide your mouse over Cooking to see a menu of categories and then click on an ingredient or technique. More menus appear on the screen. Fruits and vegetables include information on purchasing and links to recipes with that ingredient.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer
Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.
To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE
Is your mouth watering yet? Well it will be soon when you read about the wonderful and diverse assortment of food and cookbooks in this display. There are books or recipes, food history, ethnic cuisines, and even books to help those who think they are too busy to cook.
American Institute for Cancer Research.
The New American Plate Cookbook: Recipes for a Healthy Weight and a Healthy Life.
Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 2005.
Call Number: TX715 .N51157 2005
We all want great-tasting meals, but we also want meals that help us maintain a healthy weight and live longer, healthier lives. Marrying the art and science of food, The New American Plate Cookbook is the first cookbook designed to accomplish all three goals. A team of cooks, nutritionists, food writers, scientists, and others who are passionate about food collaborated to create 200 recipes, from appetizers to desserts, that combine sound nutrition with culinary ingenuity.
Dough: Simple Contemporary Bread.
London, England: Kyle Cathie, 2005.
Call Number: TX769 .B373 2005
Each of the five chapters begins with a slightly different dough - White, Olive, Brown, Rye and Sweet - and from this 'parent' dough you can bake a vast variety of breads really easily. Try making Fougasse for lunch, bake a Ciabatta to impress, create Tomato, Garlic & Basil Bread for a delicious canape or show off with home-made Doughnuts - each recipe is a delight.
The 5:30 Challenge: 5 Ingredients, 30 Minutes, Dinner on the Table.
New York: Simon and Schuster Paperbacks, 2005.
Call Number: TX833.5 .B4877 2005
Long commutes and busy schedules leave us all wondering the same thing, but don't worry, because The 5:30 Challenge is the perfect solution to creating healthy and delicious meals in a snap!
The Essential Baker: The Comprehensive
Guide to Baking with Chocolate, Fruit,
Nuts, Spces, and Other Ingredients.
Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2007.
Call Number: TX763 .B575 2007
Bloom, the author of eight cookbooks whose work has appeared in Bon Appetit, Gourmet and Food + Wine, adopts an unusual approach in this exhaustive and tantalizing look at baking.
Brown, Celia Brooks.
World Vegetrian Classics: Over 220 Essential International Recipes for the Modern Kitchen.
London, England: Pavilion, 2005.
Call Number: TX837 .B848 2005
Bringing together over 220 genuine recipes, 'World Vegetarian Classics'sic is the definitive collection of vegetarian cuisine from around the globe. Organized by area, every continent is featured, and all the recipes are not just classic dishes of each area, adapted for the vegetarian, but historically vegetarian in their own right.
Barbecue America: A Pilgrimage in Search of America's Best Barbecue.
Alexandria, VA: Time-Life Books, 1999.
Call Number: TX840 .B3 B76 1999
This cookbook perfectly portrays the simple fact that to many people, barbecue is not just a way of cooking, but rather a way of life. This cookbook contains America's best barbecue recipes from coast to coast.
The Arab Table: Recipes and Culinary Traditions.
New York: William Morrow, 2005.
Call Number: TX725 .A7 B75 2005
The Arab Table' by May S. Bsisu, a native of Kuwait, the wife of a Palestinian (and resident of Lebanon for several years) and current resident of Cincinnati is a personal account of Arab cooking, based less on scholarship than on her experiences and experiences of her family and close friends. Source: http://www.amazon.com/review/
The Garden-fresh Vegetable Cookbook.
North Adams, MA: Storey Publishing, 2005.
Call Number: TX801 .C438 2005
This detailed, seasonally arranged guide is packed with informative tips on both growing and cooking with a variety of produce, as well as hundreds of interesting—though simple and homey—recipes.
Dangerous Tastes: The Story of Spices.
Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 2000.
Call Number: TX406 .D35 2000
Dangerous Tastes explores the captivating history of spices and aromatics: the fascination that they have aroused in us, and the roads and seaways by which trade in spices has gradually grown.
Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2006.
Call Number: TX715.2 .S68 D85 2006
No southern food enthusiast should be without this gathering of 1,300 flavorful recipes for such classic dishes as fried chicken, cornbread, pickled watermelon rinds, and sweet potato pie.
Edge, John T.
Hamburgers & Fries: An American Story.
New York: Putnam, 2005.
Call Number: TX749.5.B43 E335 2005
The author continues his celebration of American cuisine with a history of backyard barbecues, fast-food restaurants, and gourmet burgers, in a volume complemented by fifteen recipes.
Twinkie, Deconstructed: My Journey to
Discover How the Ingredients Found in
Processed Foods are Grown, Mined (yes
Mined), and Manipulated into
What America Eats.
New York: Hudson Street Press, 2007.
Call Number: TX553.A3 E85 2007
From the phosphate mines in Idaho to the corn fields in Iowa, from gypsum mines in Oklahoma to the vanilla harvest in Madagascar, Twinkie, Deconstructed is a fascinating, thoroughly researched romp of a narrative that demystifies some of the most common processed food ingredients-where they come from, how they are made, how they are used-and why.
Freedman, Paul. Editor.
Food: The History of Taste.
Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 2007.
Call Number: TX353 .F668 2007
This richly illustrated book is the first to apply the discoveries of the new generation of food historians to the pleasures of dining and the culinary accomplishments of diverse civilizations, past and present.
Morton's Steak Bible: Recipes & Lore from the Legendary Steakouse.
New York: Clarkson/Potter Publishers, 2006.
Call Number: TX749.5 .B43 F75 2006
Morton’s Steak Bible offers indispensable tips, steakhouse lore, and more than 100 irresistible recipes perfect for meat lovers, grillers, and fans of their seventy restaurants worldwide.
Not Your Mother's Slow Cooker Recipes for Two.
Boston: Harvard Common Press, 2007.
Call Number: TX827 .H392 2007
Provides instructions for using a small-capacity slow cooker and recipes for meals designed for two people, including the main course and quick accompaniments.
Kitchen Mysteries: Revealing the Science of Cooking.
New York: Columbia University Press, 2007.
Call Number: TX651 .T3713 2007
In "Kitchen Mysteries," This Herve´ offers a second helping of his world-renowned insight into the science of cooking, answering such fundamental questions as what causes vegetables to change color when cooked and how to keep a souffle from falling.
Gastronomy: Exploring the Science of Flavor.
New York: Columbia University Press, 2006.
Call Number: TX546 .T5513 2006
One of the founders of molecular gastronomy, which brings the instruments and experimental techniques of the lab into the kitchen, the author blends practical tips and provocative suggestions with serious discussions—about how the brain perceives tastes, for example, and how chewing affects food.
A Short History of the American Stomach.
Orlando, FL: Harcourt, 2008.
Call Number: GT498 .S76 K48 2008
From the secret history of Puritan purges to interviews with Amish black-market raw-milk dealers, this is the story of America told by way of the American stomach.
LaBelle Cuisine: Recipes to Sing About.
New York: Broadway Books, 1999.
Call Number: TX715 .L127 1999
"From the time I was a little girl, I knew there were two things in this world I wanted to do: sing and cook." So says singer-diva Patti LaBelle, whose first cookbook, LaBelle Cuisine, confirms her passion for good food and her skill at producing it.
Dinner for Eight: 40 Great Dinner Party Menus for Friends and Family.
New York: St. Martin's Press, 2005.
Call Number: TX737 .L39 2005
Dinner for Eight is the perfect primer for any newly minted home cook who wants to begin inviting friends over, but it's also rich with fresh ideas for any seasoned chef.
Look Dude, I Can Cook!: Four Years of College Cooking Made Easy.
Minneapolis, MN: Syren Book Co., 2007.
Call Number: TX715 .M11557 2007
Though it's not the first of its kind, Madden's starter cookbook handily distinguishes itself with faithful classics like black bean soup and marinated steak that get more sophisticated as the book progresses. Madden gives neophytes good habits to follow early, calling for fresh ingredients instead of prepared cheese sauce, canned or other ready-made accoutrements, and using basics like pasta salad and burgers to build confidence before tackling more advanced recipes like French-Style Beef Bourguingnon.
Hungry Planet: What the World Eats.
Berkeley, CA: Ten Speed Press, 2005.
Call Number: TX353 .M43 2005
A photographic collection exploring what the world eats featuring portraits of thirty families from twenty-four countries surrounded by a week’s worth of food.
How to Pick a Peach: The Search for Flavor From Farm to Table.
Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2007.
Call Number: TX391 .P37 2007
Equal parts cookbook, agricultural history, chemistry lesson and produce buying guide, this densely packed book is a food-lover's delight. California food writer Parsons (How to Read a French Fry) begins with a fascinating tale of agribusiness trumping our taste buds en route to supplying year-round on-demand produce, and how farmer's markets are bringing back both appreciation of, and access to, local and seasonal foods.
Perry, Luddene and Dan Schultz.
A Field Guide to Buying Organic.
New York: Bantam Books, 2005.
Call Number: TX369 .P47 2005
Perry, a teacher and consultant to the organic food industry, and freelance writer Schultz skillfully guide readers through the complexities of organic food production, distribution and consumption to help informed purchasing decisions.
Sweets: Soul Food Desserts & Memories.
Berkeley, CA: Ten Speed Press, 2006.
Call Number: TX773 .P574 2006
In this sweetly sentimental cookbook, Pinner shares "plain old down-home confections" and her childhood memories of the lively women who created them: Mama, "My My" (her grandmother), "Aints" Lula and Pinky, "Cud'n" Flossie and more.
Ice Cream: The Delicious History.
Woodstock, NY: Overlook Press, 2006.
Call Number: TX795 .P69 2006
From ice harvesting to gelato, to the origin of the sundae and the ice cream soda, to Baked Alaska (first called "Alaska, Florida" of all things) and ice cream bombes, Powell mixes together everything ice cream for a sweet, breezy blend of food history, personal anecdote and cookbook.
Vegan World Fusion Cuisine: Healing Recipes and Timeless Wisdom from our Hearts to Yours.
Kapaa, HI: Thousand Petals Pub., 2005.
Call Number: TX837 .R45 2005
Here we have beautifully presented recipes that are delicious, fun, easy to prepare and healthy.
Remnick, David Editor.
Secret Ingredients: The New Yorker Book of Food and Drink.
New York: Random House, 2007.
Call Number: PN6071 .G3 S43 2007
An compilation of essays, fiction, and cartoons on the world of food and drink from the pages of The New Yorker features contributions by Susan Orlean, Calvin Trillin, Joan Didion, Anthony Bourdain, John Cheever, and Roald Dahl.
Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey, and Lebanon.
New York: Knopf, 2006.
Call Number: TX725 .A7 R63 2006
In the 1960s Claudia Roden introduced Americans to a new world of tastes in her classic A Book of Middle Eastern Food. Now, in her enchanting new book, Arabesque, she revisits the three countries with the most exciting cuisines today — Morocco, Turkey, and Lebanon.
The Eastern and Central European Kitchen: Contemporary & Classic Recipes.
Northampton, MA: Interlink Books, 2007.
Call Number: TX723.5 .A1 R69 2007
The fresh ingredients and unfamiliar flavor combinations of Central and Eastern Europe are capturing the imaginations of gourmet stores and restaurants in the West today. We're enjoying dishes such as goulash, stroganoff, pierogi and borscht as we feast on a wealth of culinary traditions that stretches back for generations. Silvena Rowe turns to countries such as Hungary, the Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Poland, Georgia, Russia, and the Ukraine for her inspiration.
Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal.
Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2001.
Call Number: TX715 .S2968 2001
A journalist explores the homogenization of American culture and the impact of the fast food industry on modern-day health, economy, politics, popular culture, entertainment, and food production.
New York: Stewart Tabori & Chang, 2005.
Call Number: TX807 .S39 2005
The salad days are here! Barbara Scott-Goodman proves that there's no limit to the ways in which nature's freshest ingredients can be combined to make healthy, great-tasting salads for every palate, for every diet, and for every part of the meal. In Sensational Salads, she offers 70 unique and imaginative recipes for low-calorie, high-flavor dishes using greens, vegetables, fruits, and grains, as well as meats and seafood.
Two for the Road: Our Love Affair with American Food.
Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2006.
Call Number: TX715 .S84435 2006
A culinary memoir chronicles the authors’ quest for authentic American cookery during their more than thirty years on the road, offering a glimpse of the unusual eateries, unforgettable characters, and unique food they have encountered along the way.
Kitchen Literacy: How We Lost Knowledge of
Where Food Comes from and Why We Need to Get it Back.
Washington, DC: Island Press, 2008.
Call Number: TX645 .V55 2008
The rise of commercial farming and processed foods has given shoppers a tremendous variety to choose from, but this convenience has also fostered a "covenant of ignorance" among consumers and manufacturers, historian Vileisis (Discovering the Unknown Landscape: A History of America's Wetlands) posits in this meticulous chronicle of the culinary disconnect.
Guerilla Cooking: The Survival Manual for People
Who Don't Like to Cook or Don't Have Time to Cook.
New York: Wyatt Book, 1996.
Call Number: TX714 .W262 1996
Fast-strike meals that are cheap, bold, and fun – that's guerilla cooking. And this cookbok is the field manual to waging unconventional warfare in the kitchen.
Source: Walsh, Mel. "Introduction."
The All New Good Housekeeping Cookbook.
New York: Hearst Books, 2001
Call Number: TX714 .G6615 2001
Compiles more than fifteen hundred recipes, as well as preparation and storage techniques for items including vegetables, meats, soups, breads, and desserts.
Delilah's Everyday Soul: Southern Cooking with Style.
Piladelphia, PA: Running Press, 2006.
Call Number: TX715.2 .S68 W555 2006
In Delilah’s Everyday Soul, chef Delilah Winter shares the Southern-inspired recipes that helped earn her the devotion of many, including television’s Oprah Winfrey, the NFL’s Donovan McNabb, and music’s Patti LaBelle. Sharing more than 100 of her favorite recipes and the stories behind them, Delilah reaches back to her roots and forward to future generations of soul food lovers with her fun, eclectic recipes.
Wood, Rebecca Theurer.
The New Whole Foods Encyclopedia: A Comprehensive Resource for Healthy Eating.
New York: Penguine/Arkana, 1999.
Call Number: TX369 .W67 1999
If you eat natural foods, or want to learn more about them, reading The New Whole Foods Encyclopedia will be a treat. The book is an invitation to learn the lore, health properties, and use of more than a thousand familiar and unusual foods and herbs.
Back to the top of the page.