Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston - Deep Archive: On Display -- August 2008

This board features older display pages from the summer of 2006 to January of 2010

On Display -- August 2008

Alternative Fuels

Evans, Robert L. Fueling our Future: An Introduction to Sustainable Energy. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2007.
Call Number: TJ163.2 .E86 2007

One of the most important issues facing humanity today is the prospect of global climate change, brought about primarily by our prolific energy use and heavy dependence on fossil fuels. Fueling Our Future: An Introduction to Sustainable Energy provides a concise overview of current energy demand and supply patterns. It presents a balanced view of how our reliance on fossil fuels can be changed over time so that we have a much more sustainable energy system in the near future. Written in a non-technical and accessible style, the book will appeal to a wide range of readers without scientific backgrounds.
Source: http://www.amazon.ca
/Fueling-Our-Future
-Introduction-Sustainable/
dp/052168448X.

Kallen, Stuart A. (Ed.) What Energy Sources Should be Pursued? Detroit, MI: Greenhaven Press, 2005.
Call Number: TJ163.2 .W45 2005

Essays debate a variety of topics about the subject of energy sources, including the advantages and disadvantages of alternative sources of energy, such as nuclear, solar, wind, and hydrogen power.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu.

Manuel, John. "Battle of the Biofuels." Environmental Health Perspectives 115 (2007): A92-A95.
The author discusses the competition between soybean biodiesel and corn grain ethanol as alternative transportation fuels in the United States. He argues that both require significant energy to produce, both could divert corn and soybeans from the nation's food supply both have adverse environmental impacts.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>

Biodiesel pump being delivered

Fields of rap seed being grown for biofuel

Naylor, Rosamond L. et. al. "The Ripple Effect: Biofuels, Food Security, and The Environment." Environment 49.9 (2007) 30-43.
This article discusses the economic and environmental impacts of switching agricultural food crops to biofuels. The authors argue that the United States exports about half of the global maize trade. They show that crop prices have risen as alternative food and feeds increase in demand.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>

Pahl, Greg. The Citizen-Powered Energy Handbook: Community Solutions to a Global Crisis. White River Junction, VT: Chelsea Green Pub. Co., 2007.
Call Number: TJ163.2 .P33 2007

The Citizen-Powered Energy Handbook is an eloquent appeal for community and regional action to initiate an array of solutions to energy needs until now controlled by large, distant utilities and consortiums. It is time to take back control of the energy and environmental challenges ahead; this book will help people do just that. It is a handbook for anyone ready to take the first steps towards a more sustainable future.
Source: http://books.google.com

Runge, C. Ford and Benjamin Senauer. "How Biofuels Could Starve the Poor." Foreign Affairs 86.3 (2007): 41-53.
The article discusses the effect on food supply that an increase in ethanol production could create. Ethanol is being sought as an alternative to petroleum-based fuels. Ethanol is made from corn. The increased demand for ethanol means less corn will be available as a food source, and food prices will rise. The rise in corn prices could have a deleterious effect on poor and developing nations.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

United States Department of Energy: Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. Alternative Fuels & Advanced Vehicles Data Center http://www.eere.energy.
gov/afdc/

The Alternative Fuels and Advanced Vehicles Data Center (AFDC, formerly known as the Alternative Fuels Data Center) provides a wide range of information and resources to enable the use of alternative fuels (as defined by the Energy Policy Act of 1992), in addition to other petroleum reduction options such as advanced vehicles, fuel blends, idle reduction, and fuel economy.
Source: http://www.eere.energy.
gov/afdc/

United States Department of Energy Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. National Renewable Energy Laboratory http://www.nrel.gov/
Learn about NREL's research and development of renewable fuels and electricity that advance national energy goals to change the way we power our homes, businesses, and cars.
Source: http://www.nrel.gov/

Vaitheeswaran, Vijay V. Power to the People: How the Coming Energy Revolution Will Transform an Industry, Change our Lives, and Maybe Even Save the Planet. New York: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 2003.
Call Number: TJ163.2 .V335 2003

Micropower from fuel cells-big batteries that produce electricity by combining hydrogen fuel and available oxygen-will be our salvation, he asserts, because this technology makes possible small, clean power plants that can be located close to homes and factories, enabling power to flow not from on high but from the grassroots.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Power-People-Revolution
-Transform-Industry/
dp/0374236755

Hybrid Vehicles

American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy. GreenCars.org http://www.greenercars.org/
This official website for ACEEE's Green Book is a unique consumer resource providing Green Scores rating the environmental friendliness of every vehicle on market. Greenercars.org is part of the American Council for an energy Efficient Economy (ACEEE).
Source: http://www.greenercars.org
/about.htm

Anderson, Curtis D. and Judy Anderson. Electric and Hybrid Cars: A History. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2005.
Call Number: TL220 .A53 2005

Far from being a modern conception, electric cars were among the first vehicles on the road. In the formative days of the automobile, a third of cars were electric, and they challenged internal combustion engine-driven vehicles for primacy.... The story of the electric car is a long one, and it is still being written.
Source: http://www.amazon.com
/Electric-Hybrid-Cars-Curtis
-Anderson/dp/
0786418729

Edmunds Inc. Green Car Guide – Edmunds.com http://www.edmunds.com/
fueleconomy/index.html

A site jam packed with articles on buying a fuel efficient conventional car or hybrid, improving gas mileage, using alternative fuels and more. Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Moore, J. William EV World: The Future in Motion http://www.evworld.com/index.cfm
Our objective -- then as now -- is to provide a human face to the topic of sustainable transportation with a focus on the people and policy, as well as technology.
Source: http://www.evworld.com
/general.cfm?page=about

Nerad, Jack. R. The Complete Idiot's Guide to Hybrid and Alternative Fuel. New York: Alpha, 2007.
Call Number: TL216.5 .N47 2007

With the rise in gasoline costs, the hybrid car has exploded into the fastest-growing segment of the American car industry. This book sorts out the dizzying array of choices faced by American motorists. In clear, jargon-free language, Nerad explains the nature of each kind of car and their advantages and disadvantages, so consumers can make a practical choice.
Source: ttps://www.amazon.com/
Complete-Idiots-Hybrid-Alternative-Vehicles/dp/
1592576354/

Nice, Karin and Julia Layton How Hybrid Cars Work http://www.howstuffworks.com
/hybrid-car.htm

How does a hybrid automobile work? What goes on under the hood to give you 20 or 30 more miles per gallon than the standard automobile? And does it pollute less just because it gets better gas mileage? In this article, we'll help you understand how this technology works, and we'll even give you some tips on how to drive a hybrid car for maximum efficiency.
Source: http://www.howstuffworks.com
/hybrid-car.htm

Sherman, Joe. Charging Ahead. New York:Oxford University Press, 1998.
Call Number: TL220 .S54 1998

You'd have to be a fool to market a consumer electric car, let alone challenge the big three auto makers with a little start up company. But MIT graduate James Worden, with his girlfriend and a handful of audacious engineers, did both--and he's well on his way to success.
Source: https://www.amazon.com/
Charging-Ahead-Joe-Sherman/dp/
0195094794/

Sperling, Daniel, et. al. Future Drive: Electric Vehicles and Sustainable Transportation. Washington, DC: Island Press, 1995.
Call Number: TL220 .S65 1995

In Future Drive, Daniel Sperling addresses the adverse energy and environmental consequences of increased travel, and analyzes current initiatives to suggest strategies for creating a more environmentally benign system of transportation. Groundbreaking proposals are constructed around the idea of electric propulsion as the key to a sustainable transportation and energy system.
Source: http://www.amazon.com
/Future-Drive-Electric
-Sustainable-Transportation/
dp/155963328X

Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.

Left panel fo display
Middle panel fo display
Right panel fo display

To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE

The Pain at the Pump

This display features a mixture of articles, websites, and books that cover all aspects of the current energy crisis" from the price on gasoline, to energy supply issues, to conservation, alternative fuels, and hybrid and electric cars. Unlike with most displays, this web page and the physical display itself divid content by topic rather than by form. Hopefully, this makes finding the information you need easier.

Gasoline Prices

Bookman, Jay. "Our Opinions: No Magic Solution for Energy Prices: Short-term Fix of Suspending Federal Gas Tax Won't Alter the Basic Law of Supply and Demand." Atlanta Journal-Constitution 7 May 2008, @Issue: 18A.
But rather than tell the voters the truth -- that high gas prices are the inevitable consequence of too little supply and too much demand, and that the era of cheap energy is over -- our leaders are still trying to pretend that government has a magic solution.
Source: LexisNexis Academic <http://www.lexis-nexis.com>.

Coy, Peter and David Kiley. "Breaking Point." Business Week 9 June 2008: 22-24.
The article reports on the state of the U.S. economy as it deals with falling home values and rising energy prices. It says that many people who were able to avoid credit issues with their home mortgages are being hit by high gas prices.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

Coy, Peter. "High Gas Prices: The Road Ahead." Business Week 11 June 2007: 37.
The article reports on the two battling sides of the fuel debate in the U.S. Many lawmakers are fighting to bring gas prices back down while a smaller camp sees the trend as an ushering in of an economy that embraces expensive energy.
Source:Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

David, Mark. "Atlantans Fume: Gas Tops $4." Atlanta Journal-Constitution 22 May 2008: 1A..
Weep away, Atlanta. Gasoline prices, like that long-ago balloon, are headingskyward. Late Tuesday, they floated over the $4-a-gallon barrier.
Source: LexisNexis Academic .

What we pay for a gallon of gas

Energy Information Administration. Gasoline and Diesel Fuel Update http://tonto.eia.doe.gov/oog/
info/gdu/gasdiesel.asp

Weekly and historical trend data on both gasoline and diesel prices by region of the country. This is NOT the site to use if you would like to know the cheapest service station in your area, but it does offer articles on gasoline pricing and the market for fuel in general.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Gas Buddy Organization Inc. GasBuddy.com http://www.gasbuddy.com
GasBuddy Organization was founded by Dustin Coupal and Jason Toews as a collection of local websites designed to serve the public with everything needed for consumers to easily and freely share gas-pricing information. With the release of the first GasBuddy Organization Inc. website in June 2000 a monumental change began in the way that people shop for gasoline.
Source: http://www.gasbuddy.com/gb_aboutus.aspx

Gas Prices – MSN Autos http://autos.msn.com/everyday/gasstations.aspx
A site that generates a map of gas prices in and around a given zip code. The site has an .aspx extension and may trip computer security on more tightly guarded machines because it makes use of Active X controls.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Grabianowski, Ed and Kevin Bonsor How Gas Prices Work http://www.howstuffworks.com/gas-price.htm
This site explains the workings of the gasoline and crude oil markets, detailing the chain of production as well as taking a second look at the laws of supply and demand.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Herbst, Moira. "4$ Gas? Fat Chance." Business Week Online 26 April 2007: 3.
The main culprit in the price surge is lack of supply. According to analysts, despite tight supply and steady demand, gasoline prices will likely peak soon, meaning relief at the pump is not far off.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

Kalwarski, Tara."The Pain at the Pump Won’t Spoil Summer Vacations." Business Week 16 June 2008: 15.
Several charts are presented that illustrate the overall effect of rising gasoline prices on the vacation habits and plans of Americans, the increase in the cost of traveling in America and the amount of gallons of gasoline that Americans pump per month.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

Kiley, David. "Not Enough Pain from $3 Gas." Business Week Online 22 May 2007: 26.
The article examines the impact of gas prices on the fuel economy of the U.S. President George W. Bush intends to issue an executive order forcing government regulators to impose higher fuel economy standards on the auto industry by the end of 2008. If the U.S. adopted taxes that would keep gas above $4 per gallon for the long term, experts and politicians believe the demand for smaller vehicles would drive the average fuel economy in the U.S. to 35 miles per gallon inside of 10 years.
Source: Academic Search Complete "http://www.ebscohost.com".

Mehring, James. "Pain at the Pump and the Checkout." Business Week Business Week 16 April 2007: 26.
The article offers a report on U.S. consumer spending in 2007. Analysts say higher energy and food prices are threatening to diminish purchasing power. These factors could create a noticeable decline in U.S. consumer spending. The average price for a gallon of gasoline in 2007 is at the highest level since Labor Day weekend of 2006.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

VanHampton, Tudor. "Demand Crowns Diesel, Not Gasoline, Cost King." ENR: Engineering News-Record 16 June 2008: 58-60..
The article deals with the impact of the increasing prices of diesel fuel in the U.S… Arne Ruud of Guy F. Atkinson Construction LLC, comments on the impact of high diesel prices on contractors in the construction industry.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

Wallace, Ed. "The Reason Behind High Oil Prices." Business Week Online 14 May 2008: 9.
The article discusses the author's views about factors behind the rise in oil prices. It is not a supply crisis that explains the sharp spike in oil prices; rather it is unregulated commodities markets and greed that have pushed oil price up, avers the author. The energy executives' prediction about the future price for crude oil had sound backing, says the author.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

Wallace, Ed. "There Is No Gas Shortage Part 2." Business Week Online 23 April 2008: 9.
The author argues that the increases in gasoline prices were influenced by the desire for higher profits in the U.S. He stresses that there is no connection between price, demand and the supply of oil and gasoline based on the report of the Energy Information Administration (EIA).
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

Williams, Mike. "Summer Travel: Putting the Brakes on Summer: Sweating High Gas Prices and a Slumping Economy, Some Who by Habit Head to Panhandle Do a U-turn" Atlanta Journal-Constitution 4 July 2008, Living: 1F.
High gasoline prices and a sour economy are taking a toll on family budgets, and that means business owners in vacation destinations like Florida are sweating over whether the summering hordes will come their way this year.
Source: LexisNexis Academic <http://www.lexis-nexis.com>.

Energy Supply

Bookman, Jay. "Our Opinion: A Special Editorial: Drilling Down on Oil." Atlanta Journal-Constitution 22 June 2008, @Issue: 4C..
Is the current oil crisis a natural phenomenon, the inevitable result of too much demand meeting too little supply? Or is it the consequence of market speculation or of bad government policies? To get at the answers, we decided to drill deep into government data and other sources to see what the numbers told us.
Source: LexisNexis Academic <http://www.lexis-nexis.com>.

Deffeyes, Kenneth S. Beyond Oil: The View from Hubbert’s Peak. New York: Hill and Wang, 2005.
Call Number: TN870 .D375 2005

For those who wonder why certain countries insist on developing nuclear power, geologist Deffeyes has a possible answer: "World oil production has ceased growing." In this sobering, instructive and somewhat apocalyptic book, Deffeyes (Hubbert's Peak) paints a bleak picture of the future of fossil fuels and of what will happen to the world without them. Deffeyes bases his book on the work of M. King Hubbert, who mathematically determined that the world's oil supply would peak in 2000 and then drop steadily thereafter.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Beyond-
Oil-View-Hubberts-Peak/
dp/0809029561

Ethanol and its many fuels

Goodstein, David L. Out of Gas: The End of the Age of Oil. New York: W. W. Norton, 2004.
Call Number: TN870 .G645 2004

In this pithy primer on what might replace oil as civilization's fuel, a Caltech professor explains the fundamentals of energy, engines, and entropy for a mass audience. Goodstein opens with a quote from a geologist who predicted in the 1950s, to derision, that U.S. oil reserves would inevitably be depleted. Applying this reasoning to global reserves, Goodstein warns not only that the last drop will be pumped by 2100 at the latest, but also that peak production, estimated to occur in the current decade, marks the beginning of a global shortage.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Out-Gas-End-Age-Oil/
dp/0393058573

Patterson, J. and A. Pearl. "The End of Cheap Oil: Crossroads for Kyoto." Energy Sources Part B: Economics, Planning & Policy 2(2007): 105-111.
Since the 1970s, concerns over the impact on climate of increasing atmospheric carbon dioxide levels and global fossil fuel consumption have been on the public agenda, yet policy attempts to reduce global greenhouse gas emissions have been unsuccessful. We explore the hypothesis that the end of cheap oil will trigger the change that scientists and governments have sought to accomplish.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

Reed, Stanley. "An Inconvenient Truth About Oil." Business Week 31 Dec. 2007: 55.
The article focuses on predictions about oil from Paul Horsnell, head of commodities research at Barclays Capital in London, England. Horsnell believes that the oil prices will be as high in 2008 as they were in 2007. Horsnell's current position entails studying statistics on world supply and demand.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

"Running Dry." Atlantic Monthly April 2007: 33.
The article discusses the possible depletion of Iran's oil reserves. Iran's oil refineries are outdated, and the government does not have money to build new ones. It could be cheaper for Iran to import gasoline rather than spend money on updated refineries and drilling stations. The Iranian government's claim that they require nuclear power is also discussed.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

Teller, Edward. Energy from Heaven and Earth: In which a Story is Told About Energy from Its Origins 15,000,000,000 Years Ago to its Present Adoescence—Turbulent, Hopeful, Beset by Problems, and in Need of Help. San Francisco: W. H. Freeman, 1979.
Call Number: TJ163.2 .T4

This book has one purpose: to give information on a subject that is controversial and ccomplex. I do not claim to be objective. I have arrived at conclusions and my conclusions influence my presentation. I have a bias. In fact, I have more than one bias. It seems to me proper to disclose at the outset my main conclusions and my principal bias. A real energy problem exists in the United States, in the industrialized democracies, and probably even more critically in the Third World. If we do not solve the problem its consequences will be severe.
Source: Teller Edward. “Introduction.” Energy from Heaven and Earth. San Francisco: W.H. Freeman, 1979.

Yount, Lisa. Energy Supply. New York: Facts on File, 2005.
Call Number: TJ163.2 .Y68 2005

This resource summarizes the main sources of energy, the problems they create at the domestic and global level, and the federal laws that have the most significant effect. The second part of the book presents a selection of books, web sites, techniques, and research suggestions for investigating energy supply and policy issues.
Source: http://www.powells.com/
biblio?isbn=9780816055777

Energy Conservation

Bell, John. "Daydreams and Nightmares: Remaking Modern Transportation." The Humanist 67.1 (2007): 13-16..
The article discusses the true costs of operating automobiles and argues for the rights not to own a car and to have free time.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

Bulik, Beth Snyder. "Will Oil Crisis Force Lasting Behavior Shift?" Advertising Age 79.20 (2008): 12.
The article presents evaluations by several economists as to whether rising gasoline prices in the U.S. in 2008 will create permanent changes in consumer behavior. The economists present a consensus that while some consumers would be more frugal in their travel budgets after the perception of a crisis has passed, the majority would revert to their old habits if prices fall.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

Consumer Reports. Complete Guide to Reducing Energy Costs. Yonkers, NY: Consumer Reports, 2006.
Call Number: TJ163.5.D86 C647 2006

Helps consumers cut their home and auto energy costs by presenting dozens of quick, low-cost ways to save money, with tips on how to select the most energy-efficient products and driving techniques that add extra mileage to every tank.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Should oil be cheap

"Fuel Savings." Consumer Reports June 2008: 46.
The article presents advice on burning less fuel when driving automobiles. The article suggests that the best way to increase fuel economy is to drive at a moderate speed and that 55 miles per hour is the ideal speed. It is also inferred that keeping tires properly inflated and avoiding hard acceleration and breaking will decrease the miles per gallon used.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

"Gas-Saving Gadgets Don’t Work." Consumer Reports/i> July 2008: 48.
The article focuses on devices that claim to improve fuel economy in automobiles. The article reports that the publication's tests of various products, such as the Fuel Genie, Platinum Gas Saver and the Tornado Fuel Saver, did not result in significant improvement in gas mileage. The article talks about tests by the Environmental Protection Agency that also disputed the claims.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

"A Guide to Saving Gasoline." Consumers' Research Magazine Nov. 1990: 23-25.
Offers ways for a motorist to be a consistent and effective gas watcher. Good driving techniques; Buying a new car; Keeping a car in good condition; Buying fuel; More. sic.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

Lundquist, Eric. "Your Mileage Can Vary." eWeek 14 May 2007: 10.
The article focuses on the consequences brought by the increasing gasoline prices in the U.S. He notes that the rising gasoline prices serves as a good prompt for taking stock of high-technology industry programs aimed at increasing energy efficiency in server rooms and decreasing energy consumption on laptop and desktop computers.
Source: Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>

Solheim, Mark. "What You Need to Know About Saving on Gas." Kiplinger’s Personal Finace July 2008: 86.
The author offers cost-saving tips for automobile owners in the U.S. High gasoline prices are finally persuading U.S. drivers to control their consumption. But the price of gas keeps soaring, caused by rising global demand, speculators and the weak dollar, according to the author. He advises car owners to replace sports utility vehicles (SUV) and other high gasoline consumption automobiles. He also suggests that car owners should use alternative fuel as substitute for gasoline-powered vehicles.
Academic Search Complete <http://www.ebscohost.com>.

"Tony." Tony’s Guide to Fuel Saving https://web.archive.org/web/
20080724093142/
http://www.fuelsaving.info/

So whether it is for environmental reasons, or just perfectly reasonable self-interest, most people want to cut down on their use of oil-based fuel - be it automotive petrol (gasoline) or diesel, or fuel for the home. As a professional automotive engineer, I have put these pages together to give some advice on how to save fuel, and how not to waste your money on products of dubious effectiveness.
Source: https://web.archive.org/web/
20080724093142/
http://www.fuelsaving.info/

United States Department of Energy Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. Fuel Economy http://www.fueleconomy.gov/
A meta-site for gas saving tips, comparing mileage ratings, learning about hybrid and flex-fuel cars, and reading the latest articles on saving energy over the road.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information