Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston - Deep Archive: On Display -- March 2009

This board features older display pages from the summer of 2006 to January of 2010

On Display -- March 2009

Featured Web Sites

Centre for Research in Early English Drama
REED Shakespeare.
http://reed.utoronto.ca/
links-for-new-researchers/

Features an annotated list of links to works by about early modern English drama (including Shakespeare) as well as essays and critiques of those works, and biographical information about the Bard.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Gray, Terry A
Mr. William Shakespeare on the Internet.
https://web.archive.org/web/
20060114114229
/http://shakespeare.palomar.edu/

An annotated guide to the scholarly Shakespeare resources available on the Internet. Admittedly, some of the resources are not so scholarly, but that's as may be. Usefulness to students (in the broadest sense) is most often the guiding principle.
Source: http://shakespeare
palomar.edu/

Hylton, Jeremy.
Complete Works of William Shakespeare.
http://shakespeare.mit.edu/

Welcome to the Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare. This site has offered Shakespeare's plays and poetry to the Internet community since 1993. Note: the search engine is currently not working, but the text of the plays is there.
Source: http://shakespeare.mid.edu
and Eileen H. Kramer

Internet Public Library.
Shakespeare Bookshelf.
https://web.archive.org/web/
20070713124638/
http://www.ipl.org/div/shakespeare/shakespeare.html

Full texts of nearly all Shakespeare's works arranged as links on a visually appealing, image map, book shelf. Texts are from the 1914 edition of The Oxford Shakespeare. Note: this is an archived page, so some of the links may not work.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

The Open Directory.
Open Directory -- Shakespeare
-- Authorship.
http://www.curlie.org
/Arts/Literature/
World_Literature/
British/Shakespeare
/Authorship/

Listings of sites that dispute whether William Shakespeare is the author of his sonnets and plays. Note: this is a controversial area within the humanities.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

The New American Shakespeare Tavern.
http://www.shakespearetavern.com/
The New American Shakespeare Tavern is unlike other theaters. It is a place out of time; a place of live music, hand-crafted period costumes, outrageous sword fights with the entire experience centered on the passion and poetry of the spoken word.
Source: http://www.shakespearetavern.com/

Presley, J.M.
Shakespeare Resource Center.
http://www.bardweb.net/
You'll find here collected links from all over the World Wide Web to help you find information on William Shakespeare. There are millions of pages that reference Shakespeare on the Internet. This site aims to make it a little easier to find your sources.
Source: http://www.bardweb.net/

Royal Shakespeare Company.
https://www.rsc.org.uk/
The Royal Shakespeare Company is one of the best known theatre companies in the world, operating under its present name since 1961. However the RSC's roots stretch back to the building of the first permanent theatre in Stratford.
Source: http://www.rsc.org.uk
/press/2774.aspx

Extra -- March Madness and the First Fan

NCAA Division I Men's Bracket
http://www.ncaa.com/
brackets/basketball
/men/

This is the official NCAA men's basketball bracket. Follow the winners and losers as the field narrows from sixty-five [now sixty-eight] to the final four. Note: this is the bracket for the current year which may or may not be available.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

President Barack Obama's March Madness Picks
https://web.archive.org/web/
20090610131643/
https://www.whitehouse.gov/assets/
images/brackets2009c.jpg

This is President, Barack Obama's, picks for the winners in March Madness. Note: this is a .jpg graphic rather than a regular web page.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

President Obama's Entry
https://web.archive.org/web/
20090423013649/
http://games.espn.go.com/
tcmen/entry?entryID=2813746

This is a more legible and less printable version of Barack Obama's bracket picks.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer


first fan

President Barack Obama Fills out NCAA Tournament Bracket
http://sports.espn.go.com/
ncb/ncaatourney09/
news/story?id=3991183

After telling ESPN.com's Andy Katz in October that he would fill out an NCAA tournament bracket if he were elected, the president did just that.
Source: http://sports.espn.go.com/
ncb/ncaatourney09/
news/story?id=3991183

March Madness Takes Over the Whitehouse
http://abcnews.go.com/
Politics/ESPNSports
/story?id=7110802&page=1

An article detailing Barack Obama's picks for winners in the March Madness basketball tournament.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Display Images

Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.

Right panel of the display

Center panel of the display

Front view of the display's glass case

Side view of the display's glass case

To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE

William Shakespeare

This display celebates the life, works, artistry of a writer whom many simply call the Bard. The display includes books of Shakespeare's plays, Shakespeare biographies, and of course critical reviews. There are also Shakespeare web sites with links to yet more sites too.

Ackroyd, Peter. Shakespeare: The Biography. New York: Nan A. Telese, 2005.
PR2894 .A26 2005

Sheds new light on the life of the great Elizabethan playwright and poet, reassessing Shakespeare’s work within the context of sixteenth-century London and Stratford-upon-Avon, as well as his lasting legacy for world literature.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Bloom, Harold and Pamela Loos. Editors. Julius Caesar. New York: Bloom's Literary Criticism, 2008.
PR2808 .J84 2008

Set in the tumultuous days of ancient Rome, this play is renowned for its memorable characters and political intrigue, and it has been captivating audiences and readers since it was first presented more than 400 years ago.
Source: http://www.amazon.com
/Julius-Caesar-Blooms-
Shakespeare-Through/dp
/0791098400/ref=sr_1_1?ie
=UTF8&s=books&qid
=1236633479&sr=1-1

Boyce, Charles. Critical Companion to William Shakespeare: A Literary Reference to his Life and Work. New York: Facts on File, 2005.
Ref PR2892 .B69 2005

More than three thousand entries provide information on Shakespeare’s life and works.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Bryson, Bill. Shakespeare: The World as Stage. New York: Atlas Books, 2007.
PR2895 .B79 2007

A portrait of the Bard is presented in the style of a travelogue based on interviews with actors, the curator of Shakespeare’s birthplace, and academics, in an account that also shares the author’s recollections of his own adventures in Stratford-upon-Avon.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Derrick, Thomas J. Understanding Shakespeare's Julius Caesar: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.
PR2808 .D47 1998.

Discusses different interpretations of the cultural meanings of "Julius Caesar" based on historical reactions to the play, its language, and its symbolism.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Editors of Horizon Magazine. Shakespeare's England. New York: American Heritage Pub. Co., 1964.
PR2910 .H65

Shakespeare is the most autobiographical of all Elizabethan dramatists. If his soul is in his Sonnets, his background and the world in which he lived permeate all he wrote.
Source: "Introduction."

Christopher Marlow Soldier & Spy       Shakespeare on Stage

Edmonston, Paul. Shakespeare's Sonnets. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.
PR2848 .E35 2004

This is an admirably clear book about obscurity. The authors ask many impossible questions, then satisfy our curiosity while leaving them unanswered.
Source: http://www.amazon.com
/Shakespeares-Sonnets
-Oxford-Shakespeare-
Topics/dp/019925611X

Garber, Marjorie B. Shakespeare After All. New York: Pantheon Books, 2004.
PR2976 .G368 2004

Presents an introduction to Shakespeare’s life and times through an extended commentary and presentation of his plays in chronological order.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Hatchuel, Sarah. Shakespeare: From Stage to Screen. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004.
PR3093 .H37 2004

How is a Shakespearean play transformed when it is directed for the screen? Sarah Hatchuel uses literary criticism, narratology, performance history, psychoanalysis and semiotics to analyse how the plays are fundamentally altered in their screen versions.
Source: http://www.cambridge.org
/catalogue/catalogue.asp?
isbn=9780521078986

Honan, Park. Christopher Marlowe: Poet & Spy. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
PR2673 .H57 2005

Christopher Marlowe's life was the most spectacular of any English dramatist. One of the great playwrights of his age, second only to Shakespeare, he was also a secret agent as well as the central figure in a murder mystery. Now, Park Honan offers the most thoroughly researched and detailed biography of Marlowe to appear in over fifty years.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

William Shakespeare       MacBeth

Lukeman, Noah. The Tragedy of Macbeth. Part II, the Seed of Banquo. New York: Pegasus Books, 2008.
PR2878 .M3 .L85 2008

True to the Shakespearean model, its devious plot unfolding in five acts and its speech set to the measure of blank verse, The Tragedy of Macbeth Part II draws bold the tragedy of a powerful man undone by the terrors he imagines and the truths he fails to see.
Source: http://www.amazon.com
/Tragedy-Macbeth-Part-I
I-Banquo/dp/1605980110

Lynch, John T. Becoming Shakespeare: The Unlikely Afterlife that Turned a Provincial Playwright into the Bard. New York: Walker, 2007.
PR1965 .L96 2007

It's easy to assume that William Shakespeare has always held his position at the top of the literary canon. But the truth is not that simple, as Lynch, a professor of English at Rutgers and longtime student of literary history, demonstrates. He ably chronicles how "in three hundred years, William Shakespeare the talented playwright and theatre shareholder had become Shakespeare the transcendent demigod," against whom no slight of literary criticism was too small not to be deemed heresy.
Source: http://www.amazon.com
/Becoming-Shakespeare-
Afterlife-Provincial-Playwright
/dp/0802716784/ref=sr_1_1?
ie=UTF8&s=books&qid
=1236633274&sr=1-1

Mankeiwicz, Joseph L. Director. William Shakespeare's Julius Caesar. Videorecording. Burbank, CA: Warmner Home Video, 2000.
PR2808 .A2 .J78 2000

Shakespearean classic that provides a portrait of the political infighting and lust for power of a turbulent, blood-stained era.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Martindale, Charles and A.B. Taylor. Editors. hakespeare and the Classics. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004.
PR3037 .S56 2004

Shakespeare and the Classics demonstrates that the classics are of central importance in Shakespeare’s plays and in the structure of his imagination.
Source: http://www.cambridge.org
/catalogue/catalogue.asp
?isbn=0521823455

Nuttall, Anthony D. Shakespeare the Thinker. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2007.
PR3000 .N88 2007

Offers a critical analysis of the themes, ideas, and preoccupations exemplified in the body of Shakespeare’s work, including the nature of motive, cause, personal identity and relation, the status of imagination, ethics and subjectivity, and language andits capacity to communicate.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

The Shakespeare Wars       Measure for Measure

Olsen, Kristin. All Things Shakespeare: An Encyclopedia of Shakespeare's World. Westport, CT:Greenwood Press, 2002.
PR2892 .056 2002

Offers two hundred entries describing the material aspects of Shakespeare’s world, discussing clothing, food, animals, occupations, agriculture, and customs of the Renaissance period as they relate to his plays.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Rackin, Phyllis. Shakespeare and Women New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
PR2991 .R33 2005

In focusing on the question of Shakespeare and women in the twenty-first century, Phyllis Rackin has renewed a sense of the feminist agenda within the field of Shakespeare studies.
Source: http://www.amazon.com
/Shakespeare-Women-
Oxford-Topics/
dp/0198186940

Rosenbaum, Ron. The Shakespeare Wars: Clashing Scholars, Public Fiascoes, Palace Coups. New York: Random House, 2006.
PR2970 .R67 2006

Acclaimed journalist Rosenbaum, New York Observer columnist and cultural omnivore (Explaining Hitler), conveys the impassioned arguments of leading directors and scholars concerning how Shakespeare should be printed and performed.
Source: http://www.amazon.com
/Shakespeare-Wars-Clashing-
Scholars-Fiascoes/dp
/0375503390

Rowse, Alfred L. and John Hedgecoe. Shakespeare's Land: A Journey Through the Landscape of Elizabethan England. San Francisco: Chronicle Books, 1987.
PR2915 .R68 1987

The purpose of this book is not to challenge the debatable points of Shakespeare's biolgraphy or to probe his literary repuatation. It is, rather, to present the playwright as a man of his day against the colorful tapestry of his England, the kingdom under Elizabeth I and James I.
Source: "Foreword."

Scott, Mark W. Editor. Shakespeare for Students. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1992.
Ref PR2987 .S47

You'll find a diverse blend of criticism along with plot summaries and character profiles that help further decode these dramatic masterpieces for students.
Source: http://ezproxy.gsu.edu/login?
url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&
sw=w&u=atla29738&v=2.1&it=etoc&id=GALE%7C1PBT&sid=GVRL

Julius Caesar       Julius Caesar again

Shakespeare, William. Julius Caesar. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley Pub., 2006.
PR2808 .A2 .S51 2006

Shakespeare on the Double! Julius Caesar provides the full text of the Bard's play side by side with an easy-to-read modern English translation that you can understand.
Source: "Introduction"

Shakespeare, William. Julius Caesar. Dubuque, IA: W.C. Brown Co., 1970.
PR2808 .A2 .H23

Four hundred years after its first production it is still widley red, translated, and performed in all parts of the world.
Source: "Introduction."

Shapiro, James S. A Year in the Life of William Shakespeare, 1599. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 2005.
PR2907 .S47 2005

A portrait of a year in the life of the bard traces his career in 1599, which marked the building of the Globe Theater, the English invasion of Ireland, and the creation of the plays Henry V,Julius Caesar, As You Like It, and Hamlet.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Williams, John Costumes and Settings for Shakespeare's Plays. Totoaw, NJ: Barnes & Noble Books, 1982.
PR3091 .W48 1982

Successful and valid ways of producing Shakespeare seem to be almost equally numerous: historically acurate reproductions of sixteenth-century theatre; equally acurate reproductions of the period in which a given play is set; productions in nineteenth-century decor, in modern dress, in settings nd costumes deliberately remote from any known historical period, and in pvc -- all of these have appeared in recent years, and every type has pleased at least some audiences and ilumintaed some aspect of Shakespeare's work.
Source: "What This Book is About."

Understanding Shakespeare       Romeo and Juliet



A Year in the Life of Shakespeare       Orson Wells as Othello

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information