Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston - Deep Archive: On Display -- April 2009

This board features older display pages from the summer of 2006 to January of 2010

On Display -- April 2009

Featured Web Sites

2nd Avenue Poets
https://web.archive.org/web/
20070726225405/
https://2ndavepoetry.com/

An ever growing e-book that features work by at least twenty contemporary poets along with intriguing photos and in a clean, print friendly format.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Academy of American Poets
Poets.org: Poems, Bios, & More
http://www.poets.org/

A site about how to read and write poetry. The site recommends books, offers a dictionary of poetics, lets users create their own poetry notebooks, and of course offers plenty of poetry by well known, living poets.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

The Atlantic
http://www.theatlantic.com

A monthly magazine of ideas that also publishes one to three poems in each issue. To reach the poetry select the Current Issue or Back Issues under Magazine.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

The Cortland Review: An Online Literary Magazine in Real Audio
http://www.cortlandreview.com/

The Cortland Review publishes poetry and short fiction, both solicited and by open submission.
Source: Source: http://www.cortlandreview
.com/about.php

Google
Google Books
http://books.google.com

Google offers full text books, book excerpts, and book citations. This of course includes poetry. The full text books arrive as .pdf files locked in a frame. To find only full text books, use Google Books’ Advanced Search.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Gulf Coast Poets
Sol Magazine.
http://sol-magazine-projects.org/

Twin e-zines (The other is called Ampersand) that publish poetry along with some other creative writing in crisp looking .pdf format. This web site has not received an update in more than five years.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Harris, Jana
Switched On Gutenberg
http://www.switched-ongutenberg.org/

Poetry by contemporary poets, handsomely illustrated, and made accessible to whoever wishes to read it, is what this e-journal offers.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg
http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

Project Gutenberg offers full text books for free. These include poetry books of course. Nearly all the books at Project Gutenberg were published before 1924. Make sure to select HTML files of your favorite title without any compression.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Reichhold, Jane
AHAPoetry.com
http://www.ahapoetry.com/

A site which celebrates the shorter forms of poetry, particularly haiku and tanka. The Seashell Game is an online poetry contest. This web site has not received an update since 2014.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Ygdrassil: A Magazine of the Poetic Arts.
http://www.synapse.
net/~kgerken/

Each issue features a contemporary poet and his/her works, which often include background essays and some creative prose.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Poetry books in the glass case

How to Find a Poem in a Magazine

A poetry contest in the center panel

Poetry anthologies featured on the right panel

Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.

To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE

Celebrating Poetry

This displays poetry: recently published poetry available in the library's collection, National Poetry Month, and how to find a poem in magazines and anthologies.

Contemporary Women Poets

Cisneros, Sandra. Loose Woman: Poems. New York: Vintage Books, 1994.
Call Number: PS3553 .I78 L66 1995

Cisneros deftly explores the consequences of being Hispanic and a woman-in particular, being the tough, independent free-spirited "loose woman" of her title. The poems that result are brilliant and shimmering and sharp-tongued and just occasionally a little too similar.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Clampitt, Amy. The Collected Poems of Amy Clampitt. New York: Knopf, 1997.
Call Number: PS3553 .L5 N47 1997

Collected here for the first time three years after Clampitt's death, these works represent some of the best poetry written in late- 20th-century America.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Dove, Rita. Grace Notes: Poems. New York: Norton, 1991.
Call Number: PS3554 .O884 G7 1991

With this her fourth book of poems, Rita Dove expands her role as a leading voice in contemporary American letters. The title of the collection serves as an umbrella for the intimate concerns expressed in the forty-eight poems; in music, grace notes are those added to the basic melody, the embellishments that—if played or sung at the right moment with just the right touch—can break your heart.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Giovanni, Nikki. The Prosaic Soul of Nikki Giovanni. New York: Perennial, 2003.
Call Number: PS3557 .I55 A6 2003

For the first time, the collected prose of national treasure Nikki Giovanni.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Hacker, Marilyn. Selected Poems 1965-1990. New York: W.W. Norton, 1994.
Call Number: PS3558 .A28 A6 1994

It's a tangled inner life that Hacker is opening up for our inspection, and these are beautiful and brave poems.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Kumin, Maxine. The Long Marriage: Poems. New York: W.W. Norton, 2002.
Call Number: PS3521 .U638 L63 2002

This is the first book of poems to emerge after that accident in July 1998, and its contents display an even more developed richness of spirit than do previous works.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Olds, Sharon. Blood, Tin, Straw. New York: Knopf, 1999.
Call Number: PS3565 .L34 B58 1999

Presents a collection of poems whose imagery draws upon the elements of "blood," "tin," "straw," "fire," and "light."
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Oliver, Mary New and Selected Poems. Boston: Beacon Press, 1992.
Call Number: PS3565 .L5 N47 1992

There is no complaint in Ms. Oliver's poetry, no whining, but neither is there the sense that life is in any way easy . . . These poems sustain us rather than divert us.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Loose Women     Poemsy by Amy Clampitt

The Prosaic Soul of Niki Giovanni

Ostriker, Alicia. No Heaven. Pittsburgh, PA: University of Pittsburgh Press, 2005.
Call Number: PS3565 .S84 N6 2005

In her newest collection of clarion poems intimate and worldly, Ostriker writes about her life as a wife, mother, and grandmother with tenderness, but she is also edgy, erotic, funny, and ornery.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Plath, Sylvia. The Collected Poems. New York: Harper & Row, 1981.
Call Number: PS3566 .L27 A17 1981

Sylvia Plath died in 1963, and even now her outsize persona threatens to bury her poetry--the numerous biographies and studies often drawing the reader toward anecdote and away from the work. It's a relief to turn to the poems themselves and once more be jolted by their strange beauty, hard-wrought originality, and acetylene anger.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Rogers, Pattiann. Firekeeper: Selected Poems. Minneapolis, MN: Milkweed Editions, 2005.
Call Numer: PS3568 .O454 F57 2005

One of America’s major contemporary poets, Pattiann Rogers is known for her penetrating perception, striking imagery, and intricate sense of the often elusive connections between humankind and their world.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Ryan, Kay. Say Uncle: Poems. New York: Grove Press, 1991.
Call Number: PS3568 .Y38 S29 1997

Witty, charming, serious and delightful, Ryan's fifth book of poems is also remarkably specialized. Beginning from single observations or sayings or from single facts of science or folklore, the poems seek compression, consonance, cute rhymes, and moral lessons; usually they stop short on single remarks. All are brief, irregularly rhymed, arranged in very tight acoustic patterns, and confined to very short lines (normally of no more than six syllables).
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Walker, Alice. Revolutionary Petunias & Other Poems. New York: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1973.
Call Number: PS3573 .A425 R4

These poems are about revolutionaries and lovers-about how, both in revolution and in love, loss of trust and compassion robs us of hope.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Lady with a dulcimer from The Magic Circle

Poetry Anthologies

Chang, E. Editor. American Poetry: The Next Generation. Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press, 2004.
Call Number: PS591 .A76 A83 2004

This exciting anthology of work by up-and-coming writers is the first to profile a new generation of Asian American poets.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Conniff, Richard. The Devil's Book of Verse: Masters of the Poison Pen from Ancient Times to the Present Day. New York: Dodd and Mead, 1983.
Call Number: PN6110 .S27 D48 1983

A compilation of satire, humor, malediction and general whinging on just about any subject imaginable. Taunts and complaints can be extremely amusing.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Engle, Paul. Editor. Reading Modern Poetry. Glenview, IL: Scott Foresman, 1968.
Call Number: PR1175 .E57 1968

This collection feature clusters of fairly short works by twentieth century poets. An extremely dry, critical essay precedes each cluster. If you are reading poetry for leisure or just in search of a poem you like, skip the essays.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Harmon, William. Editor. Top 500 Poems. New York: Columbia University Press, 1992.
Call Number: PR1175 .C4917 1992

A chronological compilation that tells "the story of poetry in English." Harmon enhances each entry with pertinent information about the work and the poet; his insight adds much to the enjoyment of the collection.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Harrington, Mildred P. et. al. Our Holidays in Poetry. New York: H. W. Wilson, 1929.
Call Number: PN6111 .H4 H25

In our library work with chldren it has been difficult to find holiday poems, including more modern poems which both have literary merit and are easily comprehensible to chldren. This present volume, compiled from the series of holiday poetry booklets, is an attempt to meet this need.
Source: Harrington, Mildred P. "Preface."

Hatshorne, Grace. For Thee Alone: Poems of Love. Freeport, NY: Books for Libraries Press, 1969.
Call Number: PN6110 .L6 H4 1969

...A selection of the best poems of Love and lovers in the English language as well as a few notable translations.
Source: Source: Hartshorne, Grace. "Preface."

Hodnett, Edward. Poems to Read Aloud. New York: Norton, 1967.
Call Number: PR1175 .H6 1967

You are not likely to find a way of spending your leisure that is so pleasant, so easy, so inexpensive, and so rewarding as reading poetry aloud. It is a pity it is not more widely enjoyed. Poems to Read Aloud aims to make that enjoyment more accessible, for as far as I can discover, this anthology is the first one specifically devoted to poems to be read aloud by the general reader.
Source: Hodnett, Edward. "To the Reader."

Lieberman, Elias. Editor. Poems for Enjoyment. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1931.
Call Number: PR1175 .L46

Poems for Enjoyment, as its name implies, treats poetry as a living art and not as a convenient object for literary dissection. The book is intended for those students in high school and in junior college who honestly aspire to discover for themselves the magic that lurks in poetry.
Source: Lieberman, Elias. "Foreward."

The Devil's Book of Verse Cover Page Image     Our Holidays in Poetry Cover Page Image

Rita Dove's Gracenotes

Miller, E. Ethelbert. Editor. Beyond the Frontier: African-American Poetry for the 21st Century. Baltimore, MD: Black Classic Press, 2002.
Call Number: PS591 .N4 B45 2002

A vibrant collection of Black poetry that delights and amazes with moments of reflection, solitude, rebirth and love.
Source: http://www.blackclassicbooks.com/

Morrison, James Dalton. Masterpieces of Religious Verse. New York: Haper, 1948.
Call Number: PN6110 R4 M6

A large selection of inspirational, religious, and patriotic poetry. Most of the poems are reasonably short, and although there is Christian poetry, many of the themes are universal such as war, peace, friendship, forgiveness, and repentance.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Nims, John Frederick. Editor. The Harper Anthology of Poetry. New York: Harper & Row, 1981.
Call Number: PR1175 .H298 1981

A rich and varied sampling of great poetry from ancient and/or medieval times to the the 1970's. There are short analyses in the back of the book and the anthology arranges poems chronologically.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Untermeyer, Louis. The Magic Circle; Stories and People in Poetry. New York: Harrcourt Brace, 1952.
Call Number: PN6110 .N17 U6

In these pages are story-poems of adventure, gallant and ghostly.
Source: Untermeyer, Lous. "Introduction."

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information