AbroadView Magazine
This site is a magazine published by Abroad View. "The Abroad View Foundation is an
international education organization that fosters global awareness and cross-cultural understanding among
study abroad students and international students. Our aim is to promote study
abroad, the acquisition of foreign languages, global awareness, and cross-cultural understanding.
We seek to foster open-minded exploration and inform, challenge, and expand students’ views of
the cultures, environments, and conditions of the world."
Description from the web site itself.
Academic Studies Abroad
"It is our mission to provide you with an
unforgettable study abroad experience combined
with independence, learning and support at an
affordable price. We know that choosing a study abroad program is
a big decision and we want to help you make sure it's the right decision for you."
Description from the web site itself.
Council of Standards for International Educational Travel
"The Council on Standards for International Educational Travel (CSIET) is a private,
not-for-profit organization whose mission is to identify reputable international youth exchange
programs, to provide leadership and support to the exchange and educational communities so that
youth are provided with meaningful and safe international exchange experiences, and to promote
the importance and educational value of international youth exchange."
Description from the web site itself as of late 2006.
International Education Week
"Celebrating and promoting international education and exchange, International Education Week
(IEW) is a joint initiative of the US Department
of State and the US Department of Education to recognize the global exchange environment
between the United States and other countries." Note: this is a recent (November 2018) but archived version of the page.
Description from the web site itself.
iAgora
A searchable index of resources and advice for those who want to study or work abroad. This site caters to students throughout the world.
Eileen H. Kramer
To see larger pictures of the entire display click here and here. To see larger displays of the images to the right, just click on them. Images pop up in separate windows. Logo image courtesy of International Education Week.
To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE
This display covers international education, study abroad, and international travel. It features books and web sites. It invites students to learn more about Georgia Perimeter College's (now Perimeter College at Georgia State University) international programs and also encourages even arm chair tourists to travel, even if only in their imaginations.
The Bradt Travel Guide. Ghana. 2001.
Guilford, CT: Globe Pequot Press
Find yourself alone on a tropical beach, or plunge into the waterfalls of the eastern highlands;
feed the sacred crocodiles at Paga, and marvel at the elephants of Mole National
Park. Or, more soberly, relive the chilling story of the coastal slave forts. Wherever you go,
this is the guide to help you get the most out of your trip.
DT510.2 .B73
Exceprted from the publisher's web site.
https://www.bradtguides.com/. Accessed January 7, 2019.
Castillo-Feliu, Guillermo I. 2002.
Culture and Customs of Chile
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press
Chilean American Castillo-Feli (Spanish, Winthrop U., Rock Hill, South Carolina) discusses
the background and history of the country, followed by coverage of religion,
social customs, broadcasting and print media, literature, the performing arts, and
art and architecture. Includes a chronology and an appendix clarifying features of
Spanish as spoken in Chile.
F3099 .C286 2000
Reference & Research Book News, January 1, 2000.
Leffman, David, Lewis et. al.
2000. China: the Rough Guide.
London: Rough Guides
Explores the sights and attractions of the country, offers advice on
where to stay and eat, and comments on China’s history, politics, environment, and peoples.
DS712 .C453
Description from http://gilfind.gsu.edu.
Michaud, Roland. 2005.
India: Journey through the Heart of a Continent.
New York: Abbeville Press
To say this book features thirty-five years worth of photographs of India hardly describes
this work. The lush photos of people, street scenes, landscapes, and
buildings immerse one in the subcontinent's magic and mystery. There are also
readable, brief articles sandwiched between the pictures.
DS414.2 M53 2005
Description by Eileen H. Kramer.
Nordbye, Masha. Moscow & St. Petersburg.
2003. New York: W.W. Norton
Provides the history and travel information for Moscow, St. Petersburg, and the
Golden Ring in Russia, and includes transportation and restaurant guides, as well as basic Russian vocabulary.
DK597 .N58 2003
Book Index with Reviews
http://bir2.epnet.com. Available throgh GALILEO.
Will, Frederic. 1967. From a Year in Greece.
Austin, TX: University of Texas Press
A terse account of a driving trip through Greece in the mid 1960's. What makes the book unusual for the modern reader is the
presence of the Cold War and Greek dictatorship, the near absence of American tourists, and the remoteness of rural Greek villages. Will
is also content to journey alone in his car, though he meets Greeks in assorted towns and cities and as hitch hikers on country roads.
DF727 .W5
Description by Eileen H. Kramer.
Yapp, Nicholas. 1999. London: the Secrets and the Splendour.
Cologne, Germamy: Konemann
Almost as good as a trip to London, this marvelous book provides an eclectic tour
of one of the world's greatest cities. Not quite a guidebook, but not
a coffee-table tome, either, London is a visual feast with a breezy style to match.
DA679 .Y37 1999
Ross, N. Library Journal, 09/01/1999.
Back to the top of the page.
