Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender and Sexuality Collections: Subject Guide: Pride

Pride: Manuscript Collections

Maria Helena Dolan Papers (Q134)
Maria Helena Dolan is an activist, author and columnist. She helped to expand Atlanta's Pride March during the 1970s, and received national recognition for her "Defiant Dyke" speech at Atlanta's 1978 Anita Bryant protest. Her papers include newspaper clippings, reports, publications, textiles and artifacts, and they thoroughly document LGBTQ+ history locally, nationally and internationally.

LGBTQ Institute's Jim Allen Papers (Q149)
The LGBTQ Institute's Jim Allen papers, 1956-2016 (bulk 1989-1993), includes articles, clippings, correspondence, flyers, petitions, and protest ephemera and photographs of the many protests ACT UP organized in Atlanta. The materials relate to the many challenges posed to people with HIV during the height of the AIDS crisis.

Note: Photographs from the LGBTQ Institute's Jim Allen Papers can be accessed in Digital Collections

Pride: Oral Histories

Berl Boykin

Dave Hayward

 

Pride: Periodicals

Atlanta Pride: Official Guide
Bay Windows: The A-Z Guide to LGBT Pride (Boston, MA)
GD2K Pride Guide
(Orlando, FL)
Official Magazine of Atlanta Pride
Pride Magazine
(Atlanta, GA)
Pride South Florida: Pride Guide (Fort Lauderdale, FL)

Pride: Digital Collections

Atlanta Journal Constitution Photographs

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory