Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender and Sexuality Collections: Subject Guide: Spirituality

Spirituality: Manuscript Collections

Franklin Abbott Papers, 1907-1910; 1933; 1942; 1950-2014 (Q108)
Franklin Abbott, who has practiced psychotherapy in Atlanta since 1979, is a writer, poet, artist, and gay activist. His papers include correspondence, writings and poetry, printed material, photographs, audio-visual recordings, and sound recordings that relate to Abbott's friendships and family, his creative works and his relationships with other artists, his exploration of spirituality, leadership in the Atlanta gay community, work as a psychotherapist, and activism.

Gay Spirit Visions Records (Q127)
Gay Spirit Visions organizes gatherings for gay men to explore their spirituality and identity in a safe, nurturing, and sacred environment. The records mostly detail the planning, financing, and recording of retreats, and include correspondence, financial records, flyers, invitations, programs, audiovisual materials, and photographs dating from 1978-2010.

Cal Gough Papers

Lorraine Fontana Papers (Q110)
Lorraine Fontana is an activist for the LGBTQ community and has fought for social justice since her early college days. Her papers, 1947-2014 (bulk 1968-2010), include correspondence, conference materials, flyers, notes, programs and publications, representing her activities in Atlanta, New York, and elsewhere.

Bob Strain Papers (Q165)
Classically trained pianist Bob Strain served as a council member of the Gay Spirit Visions (GSV), an organization that organizes gatherings for gay men to explore their spirituality and identity in a safe, nurturing, and sacred environment. His papers, 1994-2014, undated, include correspondence, newsletters, poems, and photographs related to Bob Strain's involvement with the organizations he served, including Gay Spirit Visions (GSV) and the Atlanta Radical Faeries Circle.

Randy Taylor Papers

Andrew Wood Papers, 1987-2014 (bulk 1988-2014) Q121
Andrew Wood is a graphic designer and gay activist. His papers consist of flyers, newspaper clippings, correspondence, t-shirts, bumper stickers, as well as extensive materials relating to the Atlanta chapter of ACT-UP.

Spirituality: Oral Histories

Franklin Abbott, interviewed by Wesley Chenault, September 30, 2011
Franklin Abbott, who has practiced psychotherapy in Atlanta since 1979, is a writer, poet, artist, and gay activist. His papers include correspondence, writings and poetry, printed material, photographs, audio-visual recordings, and sound recordings that relate to Abbott's friendships and family, his creative works and his relationships with other artists, his exploration of spirituality, leadership in the Atlanta gay community, work as a psychotherapist, and activism.

Franklin Abbott, interviewed by Jason Ezell, December 14, 2015

Gay Spirit Visions Oral History Project
Established as an all-volunteer group of men in 1989, Gay Spirit Visions is committed to creating safe, sacred space that is open to all spiritual paths, wherein men who love men may explore and strengthen spiritual identity. Every year GSV holds retreats and conferences that are attended by men from all over the United States.

Jeff Willard, interviewed by Hillery Rink, March 18, 2014
Social Activist Jeff Willard was born in St. Louis, MO. A volunteer for the ACLU of Georgia and Georgia Equality, he also serves on the board of the Jewish Community Relations Council of Atlanta, and is Co-Chair of the Social Action Committee for Temple Beth Tikvah. He was the Regional Co-Chair of the Social Action Committee for the New Jersey West Hudson Valley Council of the Union for Reform Judaism. He also served on the Union for Reform Judaism's National Commission for Social Action. He lives in Alpharetta, GA with his partner.

Andrew Wood, interviewed by Andy Reisinger, June 24, 2014 and August 19, 2014
Andrew Wood is a graphic designer and gay activist. His papers consist of flyers, newspaper clippings, correspondence, t-shirts, bumper stickers, as well as extensive materials relating to the Atlanta chapter of ACT-UP.

Don Young interviewed by Hillery Rink, April 18, 2014
Don Young was a member of the Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Atlanta.

Spirituality: Periodicals

Amazing Grace?
BASIC: Brothers and Sisters in Christ
Brother Song: A Journal for Brothers of the Earth
Brother: The News Quarterly of the National Organization for Men
Changing Men: Issues in Gender, Sex, and Politics
The Bridge?
EroSpirit: A Monthly Journal Dedicated to Love, Balance, and Integrity
Fae Raves
Faerie Home Companion
Gay Satsang: Newsletter of the Gay Spiritualists Supportive Alliance
In Unity?
Journey?
M. Gentle Men for Gender Justice
New Man?
New Men's Culture Magazine?
Queer Pagans Newsletter
RFD (Radical Faerie Digest)
Second Stone: America's Gay & Lesbian Christian Newsjournal
Short Mountain Goatzette
The Storm: A Journal for Free Spirits?
Visionaries
White Crane: Journal for the Exploration of Gay Men's Spirituality
Wingspan: Journal of the Male Spirit

Spirituality: Digital Collections

Franklin Abbott Papers
Gay Spirit Visions Records

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory