Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender and Sexuality Collections: Subject Guide: Sports

Sports: Manuscript Collections

Gregg Daugherty Papers, 1979-1990 (Q162)
Daugherty was a member of the Hotlanta Softball League (HSL) for 16 years as a player, coach and (two term) league secretary. He played for the teams of the Bar on Peachtree and Armory and coached the teams of the Prince George Inn and Blake’s on the Park. He was inducted into the HSL Hall of Fame in 2013. While playing on the Armory Angels Softball team, Daugherty and his teammates were approached to create a new version of the camp drag troupe, The Armorettes. The main focus of this troupe was to promote AIDS fundraising in Atlanta, the United States, and Canada. He was a member of the Armorettes for six years as they traveled around the country competing in softball tournaments at the same time that they performed in AIDS fundraisers. The Armorettes were members of Hotlanta Softball League and not only did they raise significant funds for AIDS charities but they also were HSL league champions and won several national and Canadian tournaments.

Lorraine Fontana Papers, 1947-2014 [bulk 1968-2010] (Q110)
Together with other feminists, Lorraine Fontana founded the Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance. She played softball as a member of the ALFA Omegas.

Jim Heverly Papers
Jim Heverly was the co-owner of Atlanta's Etcetera magazine. His papers include a full run of the magazine, and an extensive collection of photographs taken by staff photographers.

Sports: Oral Histories

Gregg Daugherty, interviewed by Hillery RInk, May 1 and 11, 2018, and by Morna Gerrard, June 29 and July 27, 2018
Daugherty was a member of the Hotlanta Softball League (HSL) for 16 years as a player, coach and (two term) league secretary. He played for the teams of the Bar on Peachtree and Armory and coached the teams of the Prince George Inn and Blake’s on the Park. He was inducted into the HSL Hall of Fame in 2013. While playing on the Armory Angels Softball team, Daugherty and his teammates were approached to create a new version of the camp drag troupe, The Armorettes. The main focus of this troupe was to promote AIDS fundraising in Atlanta, the United States, and Canada. He was a member of the Armorettes for six years as they traveled around the country competing in softball tournaments at the same time that they performed in AIDS fundraisers. The Armorettes were members of Hotlanta Softball League and not only did they raise significant funds for AIDS charities but they also were HSL league champions and won several national and Canadian tournaments.

Lorraine Fontana, interviewed by Hillery Rink, October 29 and December 10, 2012
Together with other feminists, Lorraine Fontana founded the Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance. She played softball as a member of the ALFA Omegas.


Frances Pici, interviewed by Lorraine Fontana, June 7, 2014
Pici was a member of the ALFA Omegas softball team.

Sports: Periodicals

Compete: the Gay Sports Magazine
Sports Out Loud

Sports: Digital Collections

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory