Carol Brown Papers (W133)
The Carol Brown papers , 1993-2012, contain documents, video recordings, and newspaper clippings regarding the Cobb Citizens Coalition, the Olympics Out of Cobb campaign, and its aftermath. It also encompasses Carol Brown’s news reporter badge for the 1996 Atlanta Olympics. The documents include hate mail, national and Cobb County political news, and various artifacts pertaining to the LGBT+ community. The Carol Brown papers also contains the CobbCitizens Coalition and Neighbors Network’s report, “The Shadow of Hatred,” which goes in depth about the history of hate groups and the Ku Klux Klan in Cobb County from 1915, the lynching of Leo Frank, to the early 1990s. The coalition’s 1994 newsletters are also available to demonstrate how they outreached to their members and supporters.
Note: This collection has been digitized and is available in Digital Collections
Maria Helena Dolan Papers (Q134)
Maria Helena Dolan is an activist, author and columnist. She helped to expand Atlanta's Pride March during the 1970s, and received national recognition for her "Defiant Dyke" speech at Atlanta's 1978 Anita Bryant protest. Her papers include newspaper clippings, reports, publications, textiles and artifacts, and they thoroughly document LGBTQ+ history locally, nationally and internationally.
Lorraine Fontana Papers (Q110)
Lorraine Fontana is an activist for the LGBTQ community and has fought for social justice since her early college days. Her papers, 1947-2014 (bulk 1968-2010), include correspondence, conference materials, flyers, notes, programs and publications, representing her activities in Atlanta, New York, and elsewhere.
LGBTQ Institute's Jim Allen Papers (Q149)
The LGBTQ Institute's Jim Allen papers, 1956-2016 (bulk 1989-1993), includes articles, clippings, correspondence, flyers, petitions, and protest ephemera and photographs of the many protests ACT UP organized in Atlanta. The materials relate to the many challenges posed to people with HIV during the height of the AIDS crisis.
Note: Photographs from the LGBTQ Institute's Jim Allen Papers are available in Digital Collections
Carl Owens Collection on Cracker Barrel Restaurants (Q129)
Carl Owens was a social worker and member of Queer Nation who lived in Atlanta, Georgia. He began the "Buy One" campaign as a response to Cracker Barrel's policy that was discriminatory against its LGBT employees.
Ed Scruggs Papers (Q113)
Ed Scruggs(1929-2009) was a gay and civil rights activist from Atlanta, Georgia who was active in the coalition to change the Georgia state flag. The papers are comprised of newspaper clippings, photographs, correspondence, certificates and awards, commemorative materials from president Bill Clinton and information pertaining to the campaign to get the 1994 Olympics out of Cobb county.
Andrew Wood Papers, 1987-2014 (bulk 1988-2014) Q121
Andrew Wood is a graphic designer and gay activist. His papers consist of flyers, newspaper clippings, correspondence, t-shirts, bumper stickers, as well as extensive materials relating to the Atlanta chapter of ACT-UP.
Note: The Andrew Wood Papers are available in Digital Collections
Jeff Graham, August 8, 2014 (Q101)
Jeff Graham served as media coordinator for ACT UP/Atlanta. From 1994-2005, he served as the executive director of AIDS Survival Project, and he has been the Director of Georgia Equality since 2008.
Jeff Graham, September 25, 2014 (Q101)
Pat Hussain, interviewed by Hillery Rink, March 31, 2017
Pat Hussain helped to establish the first GLAAD chapter in Atlanta, and while working for the Gay and Lesbian Task Force, she helped to organize the first March on Washington. After attending the 1993 Creating Change 1993 conference, which led to the founding of Southerners on New Ground (SONG), she served as its first co-director (with Pam McMichael). Hussain co-founded Olympics Out of Cobb County.
Pat Hussain, interviewed by Ashley Coleman Taylor, August 28, 2017
Andrew Wood, June 24, 2014 (Q101)
When he moved to San Francisco to attend art school in 1980, Wood joined the thriving organization, the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence Affected by the AIDS epidemic, he returned to Atlanta and started an Atlanta Chapter of ACT/UP.
Andrew Wood, August 19, 2018 (Q101)
Andrew Wood Papers
Andrew Wood is a graphic designer and gay activist. His papers consist of flyers, newspaper clippings, correspondence, t-shirts, bumper stickers, as well as extensive materials relating to the Atlanta chapter of ACT-UP.
Special Collections and Archives
Gender and Sexuality Collections: Subject Guide
Phone: (404) 413-2880
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
