Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender and Sexuality Collections: Subject Guide: African American

African American: Manuscript Collections

Maria Helena Dolan Papers (Q134)
Maria Helena Dolan is an activist, author and columnist. She helped to expand Atlanta's Pride March during the 1970s, and received national recognition for her "Defiant Dyke" speech at Atlanta's 1978 Anita Bryant protest. Her papers include newspaper clippings, reports, publications, textiles and artifacts, and they thoroughly document LGBTQ+ history locally, nationally and internationally.

Lorraine Fontana Papers (Q110)
Lorraine Fontana is an activist for the LGBTQ community and has fought for social justice since her early college days. Her papers, 1947-2014 (bulk 1968-2010), include correspondence, conference materials, flyers, notes, programs and publications, representing her activities in Atlanta, New York, and elsewhere.

African American: Oral Histories

Cole, interviewed by Ashley Coleman Taylor, June 6, 2018; June 2?, 2018

Miko Evans, interviewed by Ashley Coleman Taylor, December 5, 2017
Miko Evans is the Founder & CEO of the World's First LGBT EXCLUSIVE Talent Agency and Full-Service Production Company (Meak Productions, Inc)

Chanel Haley, interviewed by Ashley Coleman Taylor, November 13, 2017
Chanel Haley is a transgender woman who serves as Georgia Equality’s transgender inclusion organizer.

Pat Hussain, interviewed by Hillery Rink, March 31, 2017
Pat Hussain helped to establish the first GLAAD chapter in Atlanta, and while working for the Gay and Lesbian Task Force, she helped to  organize the first March on Washington. After attending the 1993 Creating Change 1993 conference, which led to the founding of Southerners on New Ground (SONG), she served as its first co-director (with Pam McMichael). Hussain co-founded Olympics Out of Cobb County.

Pat Hussain, interviewed by Ashley Coleman Taylor, August 28, 2017

Tracee McDaniel, interviewed by Ashley Coleman Taylor, December 14, 2017
Author, Tracee McDaniel, is the CEO and Founder of Juxtaposed Center in Atlanta, Georgia. After many years working as an entertainer, McDaniel became involved in LGBTQ activism - particularly focused on trans homelessness. She was invited to serve on Mayor Kasim Reed's Citizen Review Board.

Tonya Poteat, interviewed by Terri Wilder, June 6, 2008
AIDS activist and educator, Tonia Poteat has worked for the Global AIDS Program at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention where she helped to monitor HIV treatment programs in sub-Saharan Africa and to develop guidelines that low income countries could use to initiate and improve their programs.

Rickie Smith, interviewed by Jenna-Ashley M. Lee, March 10, 2017
Rickie Smith is president of In The Life Atlanta.

Charles Stephens, interviewed by Hillery Rink, July 31, 2012
Stephens is the African-American Gay Outreach Coordinator for AID Atlanta. He is committed to art, social justice, and gay men’s health. Charles has recently contributed to the anthology "For Colored Boys Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow Is Still Not Enough: Coming of Age, Coming Out, and Coming Home" and is co-editing the anthology "Black Gay Genius" about the legacy of Joseph Beam

Charles Stephens, interviewed by Ashley Coleman Taylor, July 10, 2017

Duncan Teague, interviewed by Cal Gough with Randall Cumbaa, November 5 and 7, 2016
Activist, writer and performance artist, Duncan Teague has been actively involved with many organizations, including Second Sunday, the African American Lesbian Gay Alliance (AALGA), AIDS Research Consortium of Atlanta (ARCA), AID Atlanta, and In the Life Atlanta.

Duncan Teague, interviewed by Ashley Coleman Taylor, July 6, 2017

Craig Washington, interviewed by Ashley Coleman Taylor, May 29, 2019
Craig Washington is a licensed social worker, writer and community organizer with extensive experience in counseling, cultural education, advocacy and HIV/AIDS prevention.

African American: Periodicals

Ache: A Free Publication for Black Lesbians
Arise: For Diverse People of African Descent
Black / Out: the Magazine of the National Coalition of Black Lesbians and Gays
Black Sheets?
Blackheart: A Journal of Writing and Graphics by Black Gay Men
Black Lines: Expressions from Black Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgendered Life
BLK
[LGBTQ Institute donation]
The Drumbeat: Black Voices on AIDS
Gay Black Female Magazine
Kujisource
Nyansapo: The Magazine of the National Black Justice Coalition
Pulse: The Heartbeat of Black Gay America
Venus: For People of African Descent in the Life
Venus Magazine for Lesbians and Gays of Color

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory