Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender and Sexuality Collections: Subject Guide: Arts

Arts: Manuscript Collections

Franklin Abbott Papers, 1907-1910; 1933; 1942; 1950-2014 (Q108)
Franklin Abbott, who has practiced psychotherapy in Atlanta since 1979, is a writer, poet, artist, and gay activist. His papers include correspondence, writings and poetry, printed material, photographs, audio-visual recordings, and sound recordings that relate to Abbott's friendships and family, his creative works and his relationships with other artists, his exploration of spirituality, leadership in the Atlanta gay community, work as a psychotherapist, and activism.

Ken Anderson Papers, 1986-2014 (Q155)
Ken Anderson is a novelist, poet and playright from Atlanta, Georgia. He is especially known for his works, The Intense Lover, Someone Bought the House on the Island, Hasty Hearts, and the play, Mattie Cushman: A Psychodrama. He also served as a professor of English at Georgia Highlands College, formerly known as Floyd College in Rome, Georgia.

Atlanta Feminist Women's Chorus Records, 1980-2009 (W100)
The Atlanta Feminist Women's Chorus (AFWC) was an all-woman singing group that performed in Atlanta, the Southeast and the United States from 1981-2009. The AFWC records document the formation and life of this unique southern musical group as well as its interaction with the rest of Atlanta and the LGBT community.

Gayle Austin Papers, 1879-2010 (W093)
Gayle Austin was coordinator and literacy manager for the Women's Project in New York City before becoming a professor of Communication at Georgia State University. Her scholarly interests included gender and performance, dramaturgy, and interdisciplinary forms of performance. She also authored feminist theory plays.

M.Charlene Ball Papers. 1977-2004 [bulk 1988-1994] (Q102)
M. Charlene Ball worked as the Administrative Coordinator of the Women's Studies Institute at Georgia State University. She writes about feminist revisionist archetypal theory, revisionist Jungian theory, lesbian writing, and the writing of borderland authors. Her papers reflect her work at Georgia State University and her involvement in the Atlanta Feminist Women's Chorus (AFWC).

H. Foster Corbin Papers

Maria Helena Dolan Papers (Q134)
Maria Helena Dolan is an activist, author and columnist. She helped to expand Atlanta's Pride March during the 1970s, and received national recognition for her "Defiant Dyke" speech at Atlanta's 1978 Anita Bryant protest. Her papers include newspaper clippings, reports, publications, textiles and artifacts, and they thoroughly document LGBTQ+ history locally, nationally and internationally.

Jim Elledge Papers, 1827-2015 [bulk 1971-2006] (Q145)
Jim Elledge is the author of Henry Darger, Throwaway Boy: The Tragic Life of An Outsider Artist, published in 2013, a finalist for the Lambda Literary Award for gay memoir/biography and for the Publishing Triangle nonfiction award. A published poet, Elledge retired as professor of English from Kennesaw State University in Georgia.

EstroFest, Inc. Records, 1997-2004 (W081)
Established in 1999, EstroFest Productions, Inc. produced and sponsored programs that promoted and affirmed the creative talents and technical skills of women in the visual, performing and fine arts. EstroFest was active until the end of 2003.

Lorraine Fontana Papers, 1947-2014 [bulk 1968-2010] (Q110)
Lorraine Fontana is an activist for the LGBTQ community and has fought for social justice since her early college days. Her papers include her personal artwork.

Lynn Kear Papers
Writer Lynn Kear's published works include biographies on Hollywood actresses Kay Francis, Agnes Moorehead, Evelyn Brent, Laurette Taylor, as well as books on reincarnation. Her crime fiction novel, Black Hearted Bitch, was a runner-up in the Lesbian Mystery / Thriller category in the 2013 Rainbow Awards, and its sequel, Kiliing Rosa was a runner-up in the 2014 Rainbow Awards.

Collin Kelley Papers
Collin Kelley is a prize-winning poet, a novelist, playwright, journalist and editor and one of the best-known and most active figures in Atlanta's literary community. In 2011, he was chosen to join the Georgia Center for the Book's Advisory Council.

Other Voices, Inc. Records, 1980-1985 (W141)
Other Voices, Inc., a feminist theater company founded in 1980 by Janet Metzger, Lorraine Lombardi, Carmella Cardina and Jayne Pleasants, produced work in Atlanta through 1985.

Pici Papers
Writer and performer Pici was one of the founding members of Red Dyke Theatre (1974-1978).

Seven Stages Records

Sisters of No Mercy Records, 1978-1984 (W083)
The Sisters of No Mercy, feminist theater troupe, performed for more than three years in the early 1980s. 

Arts: Oral Histories

Franklin Abbott, inetrviewed by Wesley Chenault, September 30, 2011, and Jason Ezell, December 14, 2015
Franklin Abbott, who has practiced psychotherapy in Atlanta since 1979, is a writer, poet, artist, and gay activist. His papers include correspondence, writings and poetry, printed material, photographs, audio-visual recordings, and sound recordings that relate to Abbott's friendships and family, his creative works and his relationships with other artists, his exploration of spirituality, leadership in the Atlanta gay community, work as a psychotherapist, and activism.

Ken Anderson, interviewed by Stephen Zietz, September 12, 2014
Ken Anderson is a novelist, poet and playright from Atlanta, Georgia. He is especially known for his works, The Intense Lover, Someone Bought the House on the Island, Hasty Hearts, and the play, Mattie Cushman: A Psychodrama. He also served as a professor of English at Georgia Highlands College, formerly known as Floyd College in Rome, Georgia.

Collin Kelley, interviewed by Franklin Abbott,

Frances Pici, interviewed by Lorraine Fontana, June 7, 2014
Pici was a member of Red Dyke Theater.

Arts: Periodicals

Art & Understanding: The Journal of Literature and Art About AIDS
Blackheart: A Journal of Writing and Graphics by Black Gay Men
Evergreen Chronicles: A Journal of Gay and Lesbian Literature
Harrington Gay Men's Fiction Quarterly
Insightout Books?
The James White Review: A Gay Men's Literary Quarterly
Lambda Book Report: A Review of Contemporary Gay and Lesbian Literature
Lambda Rising Book Report
Lesbian Review of Books
Midtowner Arts and Newsmagazine
Out on Film programs
Paid My Dues: A Quarterly Journal of Women in Music
Wiggisnatch: An Alternative Realities Literary Magazine

 

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory