Franklin Abbott Papers, 1907-1910; 1933; 1942; 1950-2014 (Q108)
Franklin Abbott, who has practiced psychotherapy in Atlanta since 1979, is a writer, poet, artist, and gay activist. His papers include correspondence, writings and poetry, printed material, photographs, audio-visual recordings, and sound recordings that relate to Abbott's friendships and family, his creative works and his relationships with other artists, his exploration of spirituality, leadership in the Atlanta gay community, work as a psychotherapist, and activism.
Atlanta Gay and Lesbian Center Records, 1996-2002; undated (Q124)
The Atlanta Gay and Lesbian Center, formerly The Atlanta Gay Center, served Atlanta's LGBT community from 1976 into the early 2000s. Services of the Center included a helpline, HIV/STD clinic, library, publications, and space for programs and support groups. The Center's records, 1996-2002, undated, contain helpline call logs and printed material including flyers, handbooks, and training materials.
Jeff Cornett Papers, 1984-1993 (Q184)
Jeff Cornett, a nurse and public health activist and trainer, helped battle the AIDS crisis during the 1980s and 1990s in Atlanta, Georgia. The Jeff Cornett papers, 1984-1993, consist of flyers, research papers, posters, medical training materials, 2 videotapes, periodicals, and t-shirts. The majority of the collection relate to the AIDS crisis.
Maria Helena Dolan Papers (Q134)
Maria Helena Dolan is an activist, author and columnist. She helped to expand Atlanta's Pride March during the 1970s, and received national recognition for her "Defiant Dyke" speech at Atlanta's 1978 Anita Bryant protest. Her papers include newspaper clippings, reports, publications, textiles and artifacts, and they thoroughly document LGBTQ+ history locally, nationally and internationally.
Joining Hearts, Inc. Records, 1990-2014 (Q137)
Joining Hearts, Inc. is a 501 (c)(3), all volunteer, non-profit organization that has provided housing support to people living with HIV and AIDS in Atlanta since 1987. The group first worked with AID Atlanta to help raise funds enabling people with AIDS to remain in their homes. Since then, Joining Hearts, Inc. annually holds large fundraising events, with 100% of every dollar raised donated to the beneficiaries. The two main beneficiaries of the organization are AID Atlanta and Jerusalem House.
LGBTQ Institute's Jim Allen Papers, 1956-2016 (Q149)
The LGBTQ Institute's Jim Allen papers, 1956-2016 (bulk 1989-1993), includes articles, clippings, correspondence, flyers, petitions, and protest ephemera and photographs of the many protests ACT UP organized in Atlanta. The materials relate to the many challenges posed to people with HIV during the height of the AIDS crisis.
Note: Photographs from the LGBTQ Institute's Jim Allen Papers can be accessed in Digital Collections
Gil Robison Papers (Q168)
The Gil Robison papers (1973-2011) consist of publications, legislative materials, pamphlets, handbooks and other materials relating to Gay life and AIDS in Atlanta.
Terri Wilder Papers, circa 1996-2007 (Q085)
Terri Wilder is an activist, HIV/AIDS advocate, and social worker who has worked in HIV patient services for over twenty years.
Note: The Terri Wilder Papers can be viewed in Digital Collections
Andrew Wood Papers, 1987-2014 (bulk 1988-2014) Q121
Andrew Wood is a graphic designer and gay activist. His papers consist of flyers, newspaper clippings, correspondence, t-shirts, bumper stickers, as well as extensive materials relating to the Atlanta chapter of ACT-UP.
Note: The Andrew Wood Papers can be viewed in Digital Collections
Franklin Abbott, September 30, 2011 (Q101)
Franklin Abbott was born in 1950 in Birmingham, Alabama and raised in Buffalo, New York and Nashville, Tennessee. He attended Mercer College in Macon County in the 1960s, and later attended graduate school where he qualified as a therapist. For decades, Abbott has been associated with the Radical Fairies adn Gay Spirit Visions, both spiritual gay men’s groups. In addition to serving the community through spiritual practices and therapy, he is a writer and co-founder of the Atlanta Queer Literary Festival. Abbott's books include Boyhood: Growing Up Male, Men and Intimacy: Personal Accounts, and Pink Zinnia: Poems and Stories. Abbott continues both his literary work and therapy practice.
Franklin Abbott, December 14, 2015 (Q101)
Mr. Charlie Brown, March 26, 2019 (Q101)
Mr. Charlie Brown is one of Atlanta's best-know and most beloved drag queens.
Susan Cornutt, October 2, 2019 (Q101)
Susan Cornutt has been living wih AIDS since 1987.
Cleo Creech, June 15, 2020 (Q101)
Cleo Creech is a poet, writer, and AIDS survivor.
Dazon Dixon Diallo, January 10, 2020 (W071)
Dazon Dixon Diallo is founder and president of SisterLove, Inc., which was established in 1989 as the first women's HIV sexual and reproductive justice organization in the southeastern United States.
Maria Helena Dolan, August 14, 2019 (Q101)
Maria Helena Dolan is an activist, author and columnist. She helped to expand Atlanta's Pride March during the 1970s, and received national recognition for her "Defiant Dyke" speech at Atlanta's 1978 Anita Bryant protest. Her papers include newspaper clippings, reports, publications, textiles and artifacts, and they thoroughly document LGBTQ+ history locally, nationally and internationally.
David Garner, May 6, 2019; August 26, 2019 (Q101)
David Garner is an AIDS survivor.
Jeff Graham, August 8, 2014 (Q101)
Jeff Graham served as media coordinator for ACT UP/Atlanta. From 1994-2005, he served as the executive director of AIDS Survival Project, and he has been the Director of Georgia Equality since 2008.
Jeff Graham, September 25, 2014 (Q101)
Hallelujah Heroes Panel on AIDS, November 21, 2013
Panelists include Dave Hayward, Julie Rhoad, Dr. Jesse Peel, and Craig Washington
Allen Jones, September 21, 2010
Allen O. Jones (1937-) graduated from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1960 and served in the U.S. Air Force Reserve until 1965. He was chairman of the Georgia Federation of Young Republicans from 1963 to 1965. While working as an investment banker in the 1970s and 1980s, he owned and operated Shelly's Bar and Restaurant and organized the AIDS fundraising group Helping Hands of Atlanta. In 1992 he founded the Atlanta Executive Network (now the Metro Atlanta Association of Professionals) and served for five years as its first president.
Mark King, January 25, 2023
Mark S. King is an award winning blogger, author, speaker, and HIV/AIDS activist who has been involved in HIV causes since testing positive in 1985. King was named the 2020 LGBTQ Journalist of the Year by the National Lesbian and Gay Journalist Association (NLGJA), which also awarded King their “Excellence in Blogging” honor in 2014, 2016 and 2020. My Fabulous Disease won the 2020 GLAAD Award for Outstanding Blog after five consecutive nominations, and was named one of 2020’s “OUT100” by OUT Magazine. (taken from Mark King's blog: "My Fabulous Disease")
Susan Levy, April 21, 2017
Psychotherapist and friend of Franklin Abbott, Levy worked with AIDS sufferers.
Sarah Lopez, September 5, 2014
An early responder to the mental health needs of the AIDS epidemic, she has co-facilitated a weekly pro bono HIV/AIDS therapy group for 21 years.
Gert McMullin, November 6, 2019 (Q101)
Gert McMullin has worked with the AIDS Memorial Quilt since the 1980's.
Jesse Peel, January 17, 2010
Peel was an Atlanta-based psychotherapist. Witnessing the toll of the AIDS epidemic, he co-founded many of the major AIDS service organizations in Atlanta and Georgia, including AID Atlanta and Positive Impact, a mental health program for people with HIV and their friends, family and caregivers.
Tonya Poteat, June 6, 2008
AIDS activist and educator, Tonia Poteat has worked for the Global AIDS Program at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention where she helped to monitor HIV treatment programs in sub-Saharan Africa and to develop guidelines that low income countries could use to initiate and improve their programs.
Ariane Reeves, September 30, 2019 (Q101)
An AIDS survivor, Reeves also nursed infected individuals.
David Reznik, October 1, 2019
Dr. Reznik is the director of the Oral Health Center of Grady's Infectious Disease Program, and serves as chief of the dental medicine service for the Grady Health System.
Julie Rhoad, August 12, 2019 (Q101)
Julie Rhoad has been the Executive Director of the NAMES Project since 2002.
Julie Rhoad, September 5, 2019 (Q101)
Anthony Ricciardi, January 9, 2021 (Q101)
Anthony Ricciardi was a member of Atlanta's ACT UP chapter.
Gil Robison, October 4, 2019 (Q101)
Jamey Rousey, November 6, 2019 (Q101)
Jamey Roussey is an AIDS survivor, and was actively involved with Atlanta's Buyer's Club
Rickie Smith, March 10, 2017 (Q101)
Rickie Smith has been President of In The Life Atlanta since 2012.
Ken South, June 19, 2020 (Q101)
Ken South began volunteering for AID Atlanta in 1984. Soon after, he became the organization's Executive Director, and served until 1987. After leaving Atlanta, he moved to Washington, D.C. to work with the Presidential Commission on the HIV Epidemic. South has served many non-profit organizations that support the HIV-positive and gay communities.
Ken South, July 2, 2020 (Q101)
Craig Washington, May 29, 2019
Craig Washington is a well-known Atlanta-based activist
Terri Wilder, August 25, 2020 (Q101)
Terri Wilder is an activist, HIV/AIDS advocate, and social worker who has worked in HIV patient services for over twenty years. In her first interview, she talks about he childhood, youth, education, and choice of profession. She also describes her early volunteer work for AID Atlanta.
Terri Wilder, September 1, 2020 (Q101)
In this interview, Wilder talks about her volunteer work at the Grady clinic (1990-1991), educating newly diagnosed AIDS patients. She also describes her move to Minnesota, where she was a part-time AIDS case manager, and her return to Atlanta. She talks about joining the AIDS Survival Project, where she took over the organization's Operation Survive.
Terri Wilder, September 21, 2020 (Q101)
In this interview, Wilder talks about attending meetings of ACT UP New York. She also describes her health issues.
Terri Wilder, October 27, 2020 (Q101)
In this interview, Wilder talks about the influence of her great grandmothers and her aunt. She also describes her work with children and families affected by HIV/AIDS, the AIDS Survival Project, and the Campaign for Microbicides.
Terri Wilder, March 5, 2021 (Q101)
In this interview, Wilder talks about her work with the New York Department of Health and Mount Sinai Hospital. She also describes the consulting work that she has done since 2019. She ends the interview by reflecting on the politics of the Trump administration.
Roddy Williams, August 31, 2018 (Q101)
Roddy Williams has worked for the NAMES Project since ???
Andrew Wood, June 24, 2014 (Q101)
When he moved to San Francisco to attend art school in 1980, Wood joined the thriving organization, the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence Affected by the AIDS epidemic, he returned to Atlanta and started an Atlanta Chapter of ACT/UP.
Andrew Wood, August 19, 2018 (Q101)
The following periodicals can be accessed in the Reading Room in Special Collections:
Art & Understanding: the Journal of Literature and Art about AIDS
The Body Positive: A Magazine About HIV/AIDS
Bridges / Dignity?
Deliveries: THe Newsletter from Project Open Hand Atlanta
The Drumbeat: Black Voices on AIDS
The Healthy Closet
Hepatitis
HIV Plus
Hope Scope: The Hope Clinic -- News and Events
The Journal Of AID Atlanta
Kujisource
Positive Impact Journal
Positively Aware
Poz: Health, Life, HIV
Quilt News: The Newsletter of the NAMES Project Foundation
Survival News
Volunteers: The Newsletter for Volunteers and Supporters
Yes! A Journal of Positive Futures
Special Collections and Archives
Gender and Sexuality Collections: Subject Guide
Phone: (404) 413-2880
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
