Skip to Main Content

Georgia Transgender Oral History Project: V

Voor, Riley

Interviewee: Riley Voor 
Interviewer: Ashby Combahee
Date of interview: August 26, 2021

Biography:
Riley Voor (she/her, they/them) grew up in Louisville, Kentucky before moving to Atlanta to attend Georgia Tech. She has been active in the trans community in Midtown and expresses gratitude for community spaces such as the Bakery, My Sister's Room, and Charis Books. Riley has been a member of the Atlanta-based cybersecurity-themed funk band, Two Factor Authentication. She is vocal about intersecting marginalizations, and in particular the  intersection of queerness and neurodiversity.

Abstract:
Riley Voor introduces herself as a graduate of Georgia Tech and a member of the Atlanta-based funk band, Two Factor Authentication. At the time of recording, Riley mentions that she lives in Midtown in Atlanta but that she is originally from Louisville, Kentucky, where she grew up in the suburbs and was raised Catholic. Throughout the interview, Riley stresses gratitude for online spaces that have connected her with peers at the intersection of trans and neurodiverse experiences. On this topic, Riley discusses neurodiversity in relationship to queerness, pointing out the significance and solidarity of living under multiple marginalizations. She also touches on societal debates around who is considered a legitimate trans person. Finally, Riley talks about queer life in Atlanta, noting places like The Bakery, My Sister's Room, and Charis Books as personally meaningful community spaces. She also briefly discusses local activism, mentioning her own participation in the group Communities Over Capitalism.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Gender and Sexuality Collections: Subject Guide

Phone: (404) 413-2880
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory