Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project: C

Carroll, Jennifer

Interviewee: Jennifer Carroll
Interviewer: Terri Wilder
Date of Interview:
Extent:
Note: Carroll was originally interviewed for the Activist Women Oral History Project

 

Biography:
Hair stylist Jennifer Carroll was diagnosed with HIV in 1990. Since the late 1990s, she has educated her salon’s clients about the illness, and has worked alongside educators in Troup and Rockdale counties to talk to young people about STDs and the importance of abstinence.

Abstract:
Jennifer Carroll begins her interview by talking about the unusual circumstances surrounding her HIV diagnosis in 1990. She explains that she was silent about the disease for almost a decade after her diagnosis. Her second husband encouraged her to speak out about her story and become a voice for the disease and others like her. She began by talking to clients at her hair salon about her story and found that it allowed a space for them to open up to her. She went on to become an HIV advocate and educator in her local school system, speaking out and connecting with people whenever she can. Carroll also talks about her experience with doctors and medications and the logistics of pregnancy and giving birth to a son, who is HIV negative.

Carson, John

Interviewee: John Carson
Interviewer: Hillery Rink
Date of Interview: May 6, 2014
Extent: 40 pages: 1 audio file

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory